256 Pages « < 222 223 224 225 226 > » Bottom

APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

wjleong15
post Jan 26 2023, 12:01 PM

3,521 posts

Maxis said it accept ApplePay I thought hotlink and maxis app can pay via ApplePay
but in fact only via kiosk and branch
so tricky
BuKeYi
post Jan 26 2023, 03:01 PM

Dame Dame
909 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jan 26 2023, 12:01 PM)
Maxis said it accept ApplePay I thought hotlink and maxis app can pay via ApplePay
but in fact only via kiosk and branch
so tricky
lmao, I know Nandos order online (for take away/ dine-in) can use Apple Pay. So far only this from what I encounter for online payment, others still not support yet. Even shopee remove it, not really sure why

pauper21
post Jan 26 2023, 05:31 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Sep 8 2022, 10:28 AM)
so far so good with Apple Pay in Thailand
McD and 7-11 work with MAE
Just for 7-11 the transaction history not work again and i need to re-enable the transaction history to sync
Maybank Apple pay only can Thailand? I get declined multiple times

BuKeYi
post Jan 27 2023, 09:26 AM

Dame Dame
909 posts

QUOTE(pauper21 @ Jan 26 2023, 05:31 PM)

Did you enable for oversea transaction?
Maybe call Maybank for clarify.
pauper21
post Jan 27 2023, 08:49 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jan 27 2023, 09:26 AM)
Did you enable for oversea transaction?
Maybe call Maybank for clarify.
Physical card can
Sam Leong
post Jan 28 2023, 08:58 AM

679 posts

for me SG also work (TransitLink with Apple Pay)
un.deux.trois
post Jan 28 2023, 11:32 AM

679 posts

Can. I bought suits and shirts at a tailor in Bangkok using Apple Pay. The transaction was more than RM250 and the terminal didn't ask for PIN also.
liberty0480
post Jan 28 2023, 02:36 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(pauper21 @ Jan 27 2023, 08:49 PM)
Physical card can
Not sure if it is related. Apple Pay was supposed to launch in South Korea back in 30 November 2022, however the launch got delayed (still yet to launch as of today) due to concerns on financial data residency by the regulators.

Understand that contactless payments typically works so long that the merchant has a compatible terminal & supports the card network used (Visa / MasterCard), but I wonder if the South Korean authorities has requested for a halt in all Apple Pay transactions upon realising their abovementioned concerns.

From my understanding, blocking Apple Pay transactions based on BIN/IIN ranges (First 6-8 digits of card number; typically identifies the card issuer & country) is not impossible. Checking on my own enrolled cards, Visa/MasterCard typically assigns BIN/IIN that are no longer needed by the previous financial institution (either no longer operates or merged with others) for Apple Pay tokens. Acquirers could easily find out the BIN/IIN ranges used for Apple Pay and proceed to block all transaction originating from these ranges.

Anyways, if you have any idea what error code popped up on the terminal, you can refer to ISO 8583 to look up the meaning behind it.
liberty0480
post Jan 28 2023, 03:30 PM

63 posts

Saw someone posted the following photo (Credits: Amir Azmi & Malaysian Land Public Transport Fans (MLPTF)):

It seems that card payments has been enabled for MRT2's ticket vending machines. Hope that they will decide to enable card payments in the other lines as well (MRT1 IIRC has card terminals but not activated) and would be best if they decides to allow Open-Loop Payments directly at the barriers too!

Glad to see that we are moving towards the right direction of integrating payment cards with public transport for convenience!
PoisonSoul
post Jan 29 2023, 12:44 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(liberty0480 @ Jan 28 2023, 03:30 PM)
Saw someone posted the following photo (Credits: Amir Azmi & Malaysian Land Public Transport Fans (MLPTF)):

It seems that card payments has been enabled for MRT2's ticket vending machines. Hope that they will decide to enable card payments in the other lines as well (MRT1 IIRC has card terminals but not activated) and would be best if they decides to allow Open-Loop Payments directly at the barriers too!

Glad to see that we are moving towards the right direction of integrating payment cards with public transport for convenience!
If they were to do for barriers, EVERY SINGLE train station in KV has to change/upgrade their barriers to be able to read card payments and they have to ensure that once the card/mobile payment taps on the reader, the barrier instantly opens and not tap and wait....... wait....... wait...... open!

As per the post's comment

Cannot embed group post. FB link here to post.

This post has been edited by PoisonSoul: Jan 29 2023, 12:45 AM
liberty0480
post Jan 29 2023, 03:03 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 29 2023, 12:44 AM)
If they were to do for barriers, EVERY SINGLE train station in KV has to change/upgrade their barriers to be able to read card payments and they have to ensure that once the card/mobile payment taps on the reader, the barrier instantly opens and not tap and wait....... wait....... wait...... open!

As per the post's comment
Based on the implementation done overseas (SG, GB & AU), in order to ensure a smooth flow at the barrier, what they have implemented was something called Account-Based Ticketing (ABT). Basically at the backend, there’s a system which records when your card is used (time-stamps, origin, destination) which also keep tracks of how much you owed them and charges your card depending on their own policies (SG for certain cards they will only charge upon reaching certain amount owed, GB & AU IIRC charges the card accordingly after the day ends (after midnight) and stop charging when a cap is reached).

As for the terminal replacements, from what I can find, MRT2 gates are installed with the CR3600 reader from VIX Technology which is EMV Pre-Certified for Visa & Mastercard:

Even for older card readers deployed at LRTs and MRT1, IIRC they are already NFC compliant given that my phone prompts me all the time to unlock for Apple Pay whenever it is in proximity to the reading area. If those terminals are not EMV compliant like the VIX reader above, there is a solution which could be installed into pre-existing terminals called VSAM to make those terminals compliant. The VSAM solution was deployed in Vancouver & Montréal in Canada when they were upgrading their fare collection system to support Open-Loop Payments (OLP).

Lastly, while most of the OLP & ABT deployments I have came across was delivered by a company named Cubic (London, Sydney, NY, Chicago etc.), VIX has deployed a similar project in Dallas. Some articles dated back in 2015 indicates that VIX Technology won the contract to provide Fare Collection System for RapidKL. Hopefully the system deployed in Malaysia could be upgraded to support both OLP & ABT easily.

I hope that the Transportation Ministry / RapidKL sees the benefit of implementing the above and get it done in the current government term :respect:
un.deux.trois
post Jan 30 2023, 12:28 PM

679 posts

Apple Pay is available in ShopeeFood but not outside of it in my Shopee app. That’s weird.
kiddokitt
post Jan 31 2023, 06:19 PM

604 posts

Woohoo! Happy to report I collected my HSBC Visa Platinum today and immediately activated it. And within the hour used it at Dzi Kingdom Pavilion on my Apple Watch. Feels nice to double click it.
PoisonSoul
post Jan 31 2023, 08:52 PM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ Jan 30 2023, 12:28 PM)
Apple Pay is available in ShopeeFood but not outside of it in my Shopee app. That’s weird.
AP is available already as per checked right now for normal Shopee purchases.
pauper21
post Jan 31 2023, 09:23 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 31 2023, 08:52 PM)
AP is available already as per checked right now for normal Shopee purchases.
Sadly not for Visa’s user
PoisonSoul
post Feb 1 2023, 01:20 AM

1,841 posts

Lowyat article on contactless payment

liberty0480 due to our posts, we kena featured lmao.
BuKeYi
post Feb 2 2023, 09:43 AM

Dame Dame
909 posts

when they gonna implement cc/dc payment on public transport, lmao. instead of TnG only
quebix
post Feb 2 2023, 09:51 AM

Gelato Director
1,238 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Feb 2 2023, 09:43 AM)
when they gonna implement cc/dc payment on public transport, lmao. instead of TnG only
yeah, i remember my recent visit to singapore.
i didnt even bring Sing dollars. (just a 3 days trip).

go MRT just tap watch at gantry.
buy food also just paywave.

all very fast, no delay.

This post has been edited by quebix: Feb 2 2023, 09:51 AM
aazzam14
post Feb 2 2023, 04:40 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(pauper21 @ Jan 31 2023, 09:23 PM)
Sadly not for Visa’s user
Just today I can use Apple Pay with Shopee using my Maybank Visa Debit
Steve78
post Feb 2 2023, 04:56 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(aazzam14 @ Feb 2 2023, 04:40 PM)
Just today I can use Apple Pay with Shopee using my Maybank Visa Debit
I was able to make payments with Apple Pay using my Maybank Visa credit card just now.

256 Pages « < 222 223 224 225 226 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:01 PM