even if u use surfacer, da paint will come out if u scratch it.
Model Kits Gundam and Mecha Modelling V4
Feb 9 2007, 07:01 PM
548 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Penang, Malaya |
even if u use surfacer, da paint will come out if u scratch it.
Feb 9 2007, 07:06 PM
2,791 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Ipoh/Melaka |
n how do u prevent it frm peeling off? scratch u say?, wat about normal movement of the joints n all, do paint peel off there as well?
Feb 9 2007, 08:30 PM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
This is wat i heard from one modeller:
"To make the paint to stay on the kit, u will need to wash every piece of parts with detergent (those for washing dishes one), make sure there is no oil on the surface of the plastic, then let it dry (1 day?). After tat used surfacer on the kit." By doing the thing above u can make sure the color can stay stronger on the kit! But i personally think it may still be scratch off if by forced (car paint also will fall off lah). The menthod above i myself have not tried it before, so dun flame me ok? I just sharing onli... this is the way we improve our skills right. Sharing info together giving each better option! |
Feb 9 2007, 09:08 PM
hmm to paint the white parts of the gundam, would the white surfacer be enuf or need to apply white paint on top of the white surfacer
Feb 9 2007, 09:41 PM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(300078 @ Feb 9 2007, 08:30 PM) This is wat i heard from one modeller: That's a rather common advice among those who do models actually, especially those 25mm metal miniatures. The reason is to wash off whatever chemical residues that may still be on the plastic. Those r the chemicals that allows the plastic to come off easier from the mold."To make the paint to stay on the kit, u will need to wash every piece of parts with detergent (those for washing dishes one), make sure there is no oil on the surface of the plastic, then let it dry (1 day?). After tat used surfacer on the kit." By doing the thing above u can make sure the color can stay stronger on the kit! But i personally think it may still be scratch off if by forced (car paint also will fall off lah). The menthod above i myself have not tried it before, so dun flame me ok? I just sharing onli... this is the way we improve our skills right. Sharing info together giving each better option! But yeah, scratch too hard also it will come off eventually |
Feb 9 2007, 11:20 PM
2,134 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(whoami123 @ Feb 9 2007, 05:02 PM) Time Machine at Times Square 7th floor got sell all kinds of spray cans.U can find any Mr.Hobby n Topcoat thingy there but better go after CNY, coz they'll import more stuff i guess... btw, forcefully scratch anything painted oso comes out la...... |
Feb 10 2007, 01:06 AM
1,253 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
to avoid the paint being scratch of especially joint area, u can try this, sand of abit at the contact area between the joints parts and the body parts.
made some "space" between the joints and the body parts to avoid contact with each other, hence the paint won't scratch of so easily. especially the knee joint and elbow joint. hope u guys get wut i mean. This post has been edited by StormV: Feb 10 2007, 01:14 AM Attached image(s) |
Feb 10 2007, 03:02 AM
451 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
To avoid scratching the paint on your kit..... dun play play with it all the time. Gatal, gatal go and change pose... sure paint will come off.
Feb 10 2007, 03:42 AM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(jasonlky @ Feb 10 2007, 03:02 AM) To avoid scratching the paint on your kit..... dun play play with it all the time. Gatal, gatal go and change pose... sure paint will come off. thats kinda hard to resist. I always will Change my gundam posing style after sometime ..Since that is the good thing about all those MG and PG. The paint getting scratch off from my modelvery easily. just move my nail slight touch the surface already can make a mark on it. By the way I put a lot of thinner and Spray just a very thin layer of (grey + brown) on it to make weathering effect. Is this d right way?So in order to prevent paint from scratching off.. A) i have to wash the model with detergent B) spray Mr Surfacer? C) Spray with Air brush? D) After Airbrush is there any other coating needed? Usually for gundam modeller... Will you colour the whole gundam... or just Spray some area to be darken? This post has been edited by clivengu: Feb 10 2007, 03:43 AM |
Feb 10 2007, 08:34 AM
Feb 10 2007, 12:39 PM
Feb 10 2007, 12:56 PM
but the akatsuki come wit 2 diff backpacks rite?
aft the Strike Noir, there shouldn't be anymore gundams based on the strike frame.....i'm hoping for a MG Impulse, IJ & Destiny This post has been edited by cajun2de: Feb 10 2007, 01:59 PM |
Feb 10 2007, 01:36 PM
yup, hence da hefty pricetag.
Feb 10 2007, 02:04 PM
48 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kay-Hell |
i think clipping ur nails will be step A! kekekeke
be gentle to ur kits.. it's not meant for being man-handled when u wana pose it.. check all the movable parts before changing pose.. this way u can avoid scratching it.. oso the use of topcoat or clear coat will help a bit.. but it u over do it.. the paint still comes off.. |
Feb 10 2007, 05:37 PM
Dun be so sure there is no Strike frame coming out leh!!! Later u get a coated version, clear version Strike than u even get all sort of rubish!!
QUOTE(leddmirage @ Feb 10 2007, 02:04 PM) i think clipping ur nails will be step A! kekekeke I think wearing a glove may help!!!be gentle to ur kits.. it's not meant for being man-handled when u wana pose it.. check all the movable parts before changing pose.. this way u can avoid scratching it.. oso the use of topcoat or clear coat will help a bit.. but it u over do it.. the paint still comes off.. |
Feb 10 2007, 05:57 PM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(leddmirage @ Feb 10 2007, 02:04 PM) i think clipping ur nails will be step A! kekekeke Well, actually I make sure not to cut my nails when I'm doing these kinda models. After finishing the model, there'll be plenty of cuts and scratches on my nails, from the razor sharp hobby knife when I'm trimming out the smaller parts (maybe its just how I hold the stuff lar). be gentle to ur kits.. it's not meant for being man-handled when u wana pose it.. check all the movable parts before changing pose.. this way u can avoid scratching it.. oso the use of topcoat or clear coat will help a bit.. but it u over do it.. the paint still comes off.. But 300078's suggestion of wearing a glove is good too. Not just the preventing scratching with your nails bit, but help prevents any dirt or grease from your fingers from settling down onto any surface where you might to paint over, resulting in problems for the paint to stick better. |
Feb 10 2007, 06:06 PM
78 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
incase some of you don't know bout this...
XL CNY Sales great sales..modelling tools also got discounts |
Feb 10 2007, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(cajun2de @ Feb 10 2007, 12:56 PM) but the akatsuki come wit 2 diff backpacks rite? YEAH, MG DESTINY SHOULD COME OUT~aft the Strike Noir, there shouldn't be anymore gundams based on the strike frame.....i'm hoping for a MG Impulse, IJ & Destiny QUOTE(leddmirage @ Feb 10 2007, 02:04 PM) i think clipping ur nails will be step A! kekekeke LOL...my nails are clipped b4 assembling my SF MG be gentle to ur kits.. it's not meant for being man-handled when u wana pose it.. check all the movable parts before changing pose.. this way u can avoid scratching it.. oso the use of topcoat or clear coat will help a bit.. but it u over do it.. the paint still comes off.. |
Feb 10 2007, 07:33 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Merseyside RED |
QUOTE(Dark Lynx @ Feb 10 2007, 06:06 PM) incase some of you don't know bout this... although XL got sales but the shop gundam is still way expensive than those Graffiti or Time Machine....so i guess only buy those modelling tools is a good bargain....... XL CNY Sales great sales..modelling tools also got discounts |
Feb 10 2007, 08:04 PM
May go for HGUC kits since their price on those kit is still acceptable!!! GP02 with the Nuke Rockets back pack!!!!
| Change to: | 0.0166sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:18 PM |