Travel Hong Kong V5

aspartame
post Nov 22 2019, 10:25 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Nov 22 2019, 10:18 AM)
ITs still open though some are going out of business. Not many people are going out especially at the protest hotspot. At least you dont need to queue for a long time if you want to eat. Heard from news there are layoff especially for small businesses. Office workers are generally not impacted as HK is a financial center and basically they work for MNCs. Office/shop rents now are going down which I think is a good thing. Prada is not going to renew their lease for their biggest store in Causeway Bay. Why HS is not impacted? Well this means that the finance structure here is still strong and company listed here are basically MNC or Chinese company. Even Ali Baba is doing their secondary listing here in HK. Its impacted more by the trade war between US and China.
Ok thx. Just curious... do people talk about it in office or when they bump into each other? I see people do not dare to criticise the protesters for the wilful damage of properties for fear for revenge ...are people torn in the opinions/ support for the protest? Are the silent majority supporting this protest(riot)? Are there any prominent figures come out in the news to ask them to stop or everyone is in support or what?

This post has been edited by aspartame: Nov 22 2019, 10:25 AM
tangtang22
post Nov 22 2019, 01:33 PM

213 posts

Just back from a trip to HK. life is still pretty much pretty normal for ur normal citizens, such as foods n malls are still open. In fact, there was no Q for Aus Dairy which explans how much the tourist crowd has gone!

But bear in mind, the situations can change anytime and public transport may be changed anytime due to the situations.

If still going to HK due to earlier commitments, plz buffer more space and time for ur travelling as roads may be closed, trains may be cancelled due to the sudden disruptions.

Be safe and have common sense, enjoy!
gaeria84
post Nov 22 2019, 01:44 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(tangtang22 @ Nov 22 2019, 01:33 PM)
Just back from a trip to HK. life is still pretty much pretty normal for ur normal citizens, such as foods n malls are still open. In fact, there was no Q for Aus Dairy which explans how much the tourist crowd has gone!

But bear in mind, the situations can change anytime and public transport may be changed anytime due to the situations.

If still going to HK due to earlier commitments, plz buffer more space and time for ur travelling as roads may be closed, trains may be cancelled due to the sudden disruptions.

Be safe and have common sense, enjoy!
Aus Dairy not that nice pun, y got Q puke.gif
tangtang22
post Nov 22 2019, 01:48 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Nov 22 2019, 01:44 PM)
Aus Dairy not that nice pun, y got Q  puke.gif
Famous ma...

MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Nov 22 2019, 01:44 PM)
Aus Dairy not that nice pun, y got Q  puke.gif
u must have ordered wrongly
compared to their competitor that has more branch(yee shun if not wrong)
the quality of aus daily is higher

if u say aus daily not nice, then their competitor is total garbage laugh.gif
gaeria84
post Nov 22 2019, 05:24 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 22 2019, 05:14 PM)
u must have ordered wrongly
compared to their competitor that has more branch(yee shun if not wrong)
the quality of aus daily is higher

if u say aus daily not nice, then their competitor is total garbage laugh.gif
I ordered their bestseller, the breakfast set with the macaroni, scrambled eggs, toast and tea
Macaroni was terrible, scrambled eggs boleh la... the rest was so-so... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Nov 22 2019, 05:24 PM)
I ordered their bestseller, the breakfast set with the macaroni, scrambled eggs, toast and tea
Macaroni was terrible, scrambled eggs boleh la... the rest was so-so...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
their highlight is milk and egg and pudding
hence the name australian "milk company"/yee shun "milk company" laugh.gif
i don't order others...why?..because the other suit hongkie's taste, not malaysian
ever see malaysian eat macaroni for bfast? laugh.gif
raist86
post Nov 23 2019, 05:45 PM

1,577 posts

am going HK first week dec for family wedding.. Wedding day is on Sat... Sunday free day.. thought of going to Ocean Park. Is it possible to take train there? or what are the other alternatives? Staying in TST area near Peninsula Hotel... From protest maps, that area seems like don't have much happening on.. issit true?

Otherwise gonna be stuck in hotel only for the days there... GG
raist86
post Nov 25 2019, 03:56 PM

1,577 posts

Anyone has contact for private car hire in Hong kong?
Ryaness
post Nov 29 2019, 01:43 AM

25 posts

Hi. If I plan to go Hong Kong, do I need apply visa? Is it safe to travel like February or march next year?
Jay Chua CC
post Nov 29 2019, 08:39 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(Ryaness @ Nov 29 2019, 01:43 AM)
Hi. If I plan to go Hong Kong, do I need apply visa? Is it safe to travel like February or march next year?
NO. Its visa-free
kokwei1125
post Nov 29 2019, 01:14 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 23 2019, 05:45 PM)
am going HK first week dec for family wedding.. Wedding day is on Sat... Sunday free day.. thought of going to Ocean Park. Is it possible to take train there? or what are the other alternatives? Staying in TST area near Peninsula Hotel... From protest maps, that area seems like don't have much happening on.. issit true?

i heard frm my friend that the chaos only happened over weekend/public holiday..

as normal days, everyone is working as per normal.. not sure how true it is..

i also plan to go to hk during christmas time, cause ticket is quite affordable

but still 50 50 currently
Scby
post Dec 4 2019, 12:39 PM

Hi all, i just bought flight tickets during CNY period in 2020, anyone here shares the same itinerary?
greyshadow
post Dec 4 2019, 02:08 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Hong Kong Disneyland's New Year's Eve countdown are cancelled

https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/hong-ko...s-new-years-eve

for those are planning for it or already booked tickets, do take note

all thanks to the roaches there
aliluya
post Dec 4 2019, 09:25 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(kokwei1125 @ Nov 29 2019, 01:14 PM)
i heard frm my friend that the chaos only happened over weekend/public holiday..

as normal days, everyone is working as per normal.. not sure how true it is..

i also plan to go to hk during christmas time, cause ticket is quite affordable

but still 50 50 currently
well, there are of course risk of unable to get MTR, taxi or uber to places in chaos and mostly during weekend and night time.

if you still pursue, try plan your activity to earlier back before 9pm to your room on weekdays and try avoid heading chaos hotspot during weekend. mostly shop close after 9pm nowadays comparing those days till 12 or 1am.

it's not dangerous for tourist but just cause cumbersome as you will rely totally on public transport. worst case, pickup an uber where they aware how to avoid roads, if uber also not picking up then have to walk.

definitely avoid comment or interfere either rioters or police. just my 2 cents.

plouffle0789
post Mar 20 2023, 12:10 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Dec 4 2019, 09:25 PM)
well, there are of course risk of unable to get MTR, taxi or uber to places in chaos and mostly during weekend and night time.

if you still pursue, try plan your activity to earlier back before 9pm to your room on weekdays and try avoid heading chaos hotspot during weekend. mostly shop close after 9pm nowadays comparing those days till 12 or 1am.

it's not dangerous for tourist but just cause cumbersome as you will rely totally on public transport. worst case, pickup an uber where they aware how to avoid roads, if uber also not picking up then have to walk.

definitely avoid comment or interfere either rioters or police. just my 2 cents.
I plan to go hk on june 2023

Ibis north point hotel or holiday inn express cbd2 nice?
plouffle0789
post Mar 20 2023, 12:14 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Oct 10 2019, 02:24 PM)
i have a question on HK - Macau - Zhuhai

so if i wan to go macau and from there to zhuhai ( or HK to Guangzhou (China))

should i 1st applied China Visa before entry hongkong?
Hi bro,can share your trip experience to macao?

We can use hkd on macao right?
plouffle0789
post Mar 20 2023, 12:17 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Apr 5 2019, 03:44 PM)
The recent trip i kena cursed alot. From the mcd cashier to the airport staff.
The trip before that all okay only. hahaha
Why mcd cashier cursed?

Can we use epayment at hk.??
yong_c3po
post Apr 2 2023, 03:28 PM

Hi everyone,

Any hobby scale model kits shop to recommend in Hong Kong?
I only know of Continental Model, Challenge Model, Wang Kee model shop, Hobby Hobby, UML Hobby and RX88.
Any more that I missed out on?

Thanks!

plouffle0789
post May 25 2023, 12:45 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 23 2019, 05:45 PM)

Hi bro,if i change 4000 hkd cash enough for 5 day trips?

Mostly 500 notes and 100 notes is frequently use right?

52 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 >Top

0.0281sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:09 PM