Travel Hong Kong V5

MR_alien
post Dec 8 2016, 10:46 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Dec 7 2016, 08:56 PM)
Hey guys,

am going HK in Jan, is Ocean Park recommended? I've been to Disneyland so I am thinkin of doing something else. Also, whats the hipster area in HK? Coffee shops? I am thinking of slow-slow walk around those area and take pictures.. Thanks.
YES, recommended
trick is once u go inside, dnt walk around that park 1st
take the cable car to the other side of the park 1st
enjoy all the ride only ride the train back to this park for views
MR_alien
post Dec 8 2016, 11:03 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Dec 8 2016, 10:55 AM)
Oh. Theres train n cable car inside?
yes, there's a train...kind of a tunnel train
refer to their park map
the cable car is all the way to the other side of the mountain
if u go there 1st, u practically no need to Q for any of the rides

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Dec 8 2016, 10:55 AM)
Yup, that was what I have done...

Went early morning by bus, go in straight away took cable car up to another side, there was not much people still I would say, taking less time to queue up and play around
technically, no Q at all laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 23 2017, 09:38 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Feb 23 2017, 12:34 AM)
5 adults? mean 4 ppl sit in back seat?
5 adult including taxi driver
means 4 passengers only
MR_alien
post Jul 11 2017, 03:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 11 2017, 10:20 AM)
hey guys, got recommendations for clean and cheap place to stay for two? weekends trip only so room dun have to be too big as will be out all day and only come back to sleep at night.
try casa hotel, if cheap enough thn can book
MR_alien
post Jul 14 2017, 09:20 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Jul 14 2017, 04:21 AM)
wow juz now go check agoda for hotel in macau....the price up so much!!

last year april stay at ole london hotel macau around rm300, juz now check need rm6xx fr this oct....jialat...anyone got tips? thank you
which date till which date?
and which hotel?
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2017, 09:09 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Jul 14 2017, 11:31 PM)
Oct 4 in oct 7 out
what are the hotel of your choice?
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2017, 07:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Jul 15 2017, 07:33 PM)
Cheapest is the choice
try traveloka
MR_alien
post Jul 15 2017, 11:10 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 15 2017, 10:25 PM)
sometimes booking direct with the hotel gives better rate and value.need to do some homework to korek the best deals and sometimes this include arguing(in email) with the hotel reservation if they have best rate guarantee lol!(usually it works)
for example regal hotels offer free shuttle from airport to hotel and also hotel to airport
and do register for the hotel membership to get extra discount lol

traveloka do offer good deals when combined with their weekly promo code
expedia/hotels.com/agoda do offer member special pricing/insider deals on hotels and this can be combined with any promo code from banks(CIMB/Maybank/HSBC/etc)
i dnt have any promo code by bank since i dnt own any credit card
so based on anything that doesn't need a credit card is the basic(means everyone can use it)
and i've booked so many hotels before
through agoda with their insider's deal or so called "50%" laugh.gif
and direct hotel booking as well

so far noting beats traveloka combined with their promo code
the price is nowhere near at all
MR_alien
post Jul 16 2017, 09:50 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jul 16 2017, 01:41 AM)
yup nothing beats traveloka for hotels in malaysia mostly
promo code by bank-CIMB/Maybank debit card have code for expedia lol! i dont have credit card as well lol
where do u get such code?...how come i dnt know?
or maybe i use public bank DC
and i booked my hotels mostly intenational, i only booked once locally which is genting
MR_alien
post Sep 20 2017, 09:37 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Gene_89 @ Sep 19 2017, 10:45 PM)
Haha.. Cantonese. This is the funniest part in my HK trip. HK people do really know we are from other country (either Malaysia/Singapore) as our Cantonese really different with them in terms of slang. Even some of the Chinese word, my 2 other friend do not know how to read as I'm banana also. I only know how to speak Cantonese. I'm sure when you ask for something in Cantonese, HK people will react 'Hah?' Coz I remember my friend ask for fried sotong. The HK girl just 'Hah?' 

But I dunno lah, maybe your Cantonese pro den me. Share your experience ya when you back from HK. Looking forward for it. Hehe~
no need slang, even the word KL ppl use are different
HK backside = hao min
KL backside = bin pei(WTF) laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Sep 20 2017, 03:58 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 20 2017, 03:56 PM)

Eh wait, "hao bin/ min" is back woh... and "bin pei" means the 'side' isn't it?

I just know cannot say "tapao" hahahahaha because in HK tapao means 'wrapping a dead body' and they often laugh when Malaysians say this.
HK cantonese = hao min
KL cantonese manyak pattern = bin pei, lan mei laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Oct 16 2017, 02:11 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 16 2017, 11:07 AM)
Yessss agree on Kam Wah! That one wins hands down for me thumbup.gif

Don't go to Australia Dairy Company in the morning. I received advice to go in the evening where there's less people and true enough, I didn't even have to queue at 3pm. Can just walk in and get a seat immediately.

Other than the Polo Bun, none of the other food fascinates me much. Maybe coz I didn't get to visit some of the popular restaurants except for Mak's Noodle. The dimsum there were pretty alright but I'm too used to Malaysian style of being able to dip in sauces which is uncommon in HK hmm.gif
i went australian dairy company early in the morning like 6.30
no queue
MR_alien
post Oct 16 2017, 07:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 16 2017, 05:30 PM)
Are you sure? Friend told me he went there early... as early as before the shop opens and there's already a long queue! Maybe he went on a weekend :3
yes, sure
i didn't say no ppl
i only say no queue
inside almost full house
but when we exit, theres a queue outside laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Oct 16 2017, 09:09 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(lightworks @ Oct 16 2017, 08:39 PM)
but, why bother to eat there, locals never eat, mainly are tourists
not really, when i was eating there
80% are local, only a few tables are clearly tourist

yee shun = now this shop has no locals whatsoever, their milk taste like water laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Oct 16 2017, 09:29 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(lightworks @ Oct 16 2017, 09:23 PM)
basically, the only recommended food from their restaurant is scramble egg.
suggestion from locals, if you really wanna try that similar quality of scramble egg, you may opt for wah sing bing sak, but better service
i would say to try their milk too
that is REAL milk..hot milk
when i went to yee shun, im like am i drinking water flavored milk?..because its tasteless laugh.gif
MR_alien
post May 27 2019, 08:25 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

there's already 5 thread about hong kong

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4064509
MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Nov 22 2019, 01:44 PM)
Aus Dairy not that nice pun, y got Q  puke.gif
u must have ordered wrongly
compared to their competitor that has more branch(yee shun if not wrong)
the quality of aus daily is higher

if u say aus daily not nice, then their competitor is total garbage laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Nov 22 2019, 05:24 PM)
I ordered their bestseller, the breakfast set with the macaroni, scrambled eggs, toast and tea
Macaroni was terrible, scrambled eggs boleh la... the rest was so-so...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
their highlight is milk and egg and pudding
hence the name australian "milk company"/yee shun "milk company" laugh.gif
i don't order others...why?..because the other suit hongkie's taste, not malaysian
ever see malaysian eat macaroni for bfast? laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Dec 29 2023, 09:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(alternativehype @ Dec 29 2023, 03:14 PM)
Done a 5 days trip to HK. Nice cold weather 10-15C

Our TouchNGo/Alipay is useless in HK. Outlets there only accept AlipayHK. It is not totally cashless economy, like Aussie or SG. Still many mom & pop F&B outlets accept cash but not Visa. Street markets all cash sahaja.

MTR tickets also cash.

Quite disappointed in this respect.

Pricing wise, everything super mahal after convert to MYR. Didn't buy stuff, only makan.

Mainland chinese are coming back. Lots of filipinos too. Saw a few malay families. Wonder what they gonna eat since difficult to find halal food?
HK has their own QR payment called FPS
and is only linked to thailand's promptpay only....it's not linked to any other country's QR payment

and hongkie don't really trust QR payment..yet

0.0544sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:57 AM