52 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Travel Hong Kong V5

inachi
post Mar 17 2017, 03:33 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 16 2017, 07:22 PM)
Cathay can get so cheap? I see about 700+ and from penang some more.
Yeah..Remember to always compare them..You will either be surprised at how cheap Cathay is or how exp AA is tongue.gif

This post has been edited by inachi: Mar 17 2017, 03:33 PM
Two5Kid
post Mar 18 2017, 06:58 PM

629 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Mar 17 2017, 01:51 PM)
End March & beginning October are the best time to be in HK. There'll be rain mid April onwards. July/August is damned freaking hot (with constant sprinkle of aircon water). December is good if you want to experience typhoon weather.

Queue wise - HK is a crowded city with lots of visitors from just about everywhere. Used to be even worse 3-4 years ago when the "buyers" from Mainland crosses over every single day. You are expected to queue up for almost everything including lunch and dinner.

Oh btw, get sufficient HKD there (exchange it here) cos the MYR/HKD rates at MCs there are atrocious. They will dip as low as 1.4/1.5
Thanks for the heads up. I was only thinking about Disneyland queues.
inachi
post Mar 18 2017, 08:12 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Two5Kid @ Mar 18 2017, 06:58 PM)
buy it from Klook!
MilesAndMore
post Mar 18 2017, 10:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Mar 17 2017, 01:51 PM)
December is good if you want to experience typhoon weather.
Typhoon in December ? Are you sure about this ?

GI Jie
post Mar 19 2017, 04:06 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 18 2017, 10:42 PM)
Typhoon in December ? Are you sure about this ?
Of course. I experienced it in 2014.
Actually it is not that bad. Strong winds and rain. Most dangerous is the falling branches. Me and the missus purposely walked out onto TST at midnight to see how it was but since we were smack inside HK city, the winds were somewhat blocked off from the many tall buildings. In fact a lot of HK people were out then and there should be tons of photos and news of it in the papers.
I travel to HK at least 3X a year. First time experiencing a typhoon though. And that's why I don't go to HK in December.
GI Jie
post Mar 19 2017, 04:09 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(Two5Kid @ Mar 18 2017, 06:58 PM)
Sorry, don't know about Disneyland cos never been there. Missus and kid prefers shopping. bangwall.gif
aspartame
post Mar 19 2017, 04:16 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Mar 19 2017, 04:06 PM)
Actually it is not that bad. Strong winds and rain. Most dangerous is the falling branches. Me and the missus purposely walked out onto TST at midnight to see how it was but since we were smack inside HK city, the winds were somewhat blocked off from the many tall buildings. In fact a lot of HK people were out then and there should be tons of photos and news of it in the papers.
I travel to HK at least 3X a year. First time experiencing a typhoon though. And that's why I don't go to HK in December.
Some travel sites say peak typhoon probability is in July, August and September. Maybe you got lucky, or unlucky, to experience typhoon in December. BTW, why you go Hong Kong so many times a year? Include Macau? I also like HK a lot.
karen881
post Mar 19 2017, 04:48 PM

21 posts

ugh.. just bought my ticket to HK this dec during christmas. got to pray sad.gif
GI Jie
post Mar 19 2017, 04:50 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 19 2017, 04:16 PM)
Some travel sites say peak typhoon probability is in July, August and September. Maybe you got lucky, or unlucky, to experience typhoon in December. BTW, why you go Hong Kong so many times a year? Include Macau? I also like HK a lot.
I like HK a lot. Flight time is not too long and shopping is fantastic. So is the food and I can curse like them brows.gif Only time I can wind down from work and relax and meet up my many HK friends.
Macau is a no no for me. Been there like for a few hours and that was already too long. Transportation is a major headache and Portuguese food doesn't go down too well with me.
Osaka is also a nice city to visit. Shanghai is quite expensive. I prefer oriental cities and places like Vienna, Paris, London etc is only a one-time-affair for me. Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast is only when I have to visit old friends and relatives (wedding dinners/funerals). I stayed in Sydney for 10 years before coming back to KL.

QUOTE(karen881 @ Mar 19 2017, 04:48 PM)
ugh.. just bought my ticket to HK this dec during christmas. got to pray  sad.gif
Probably an anomaly. HK in December is fun with its many Christmas sales. If this is your first trip, have fun and thank the HK SAR Gomen for restricting the flow of Mainland people from visiting HK. They used to "invade" HK a few years ago. You can spot them from a mile away.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Mar 19 2017, 04:58 PM
MilesAndMore
post Mar 19 2017, 10:36 PM

9,301 posts

Typhoon hitting Hong Kong in December is extremely rare. Typhoon usually hits Hong Kong between July to September. The worst typhoon usually hits in July with the airport closed.

ugh.. just bought my ticket to HK this dec during christmas. got to pray  sad.gif
December is fairly safe to be honest. I have transit through Hong Kong International Airport many times in December.
karen881
post Mar 19 2017, 11:30 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 19 2017, 10:36 PM)
Typhoon hitting Hong Kong in December is extremely rare. Typhoon usually hits Hong Kong between July to September. The worst typhoon usually hits in July with the airport closed.
December is fairly safe to be honest. I have transit through Hong Kong International Airport many times in December.
Really? Good news to me! rclxms.gif Thanks!

MiKE7LIM
post Mar 19 2017, 11:43 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Mar 17 2017, 03:33 PM)
Yeah..Remember to always compare them..You will either be surprised at how cheap Cathay is or how exp AA is  tongue.gif
two time with AA to HK+Macau...return also around rm330-350 only

not really sure how cheap is Cathay? rm700?
Mas RM539 ....
inachi
post Mar 20 2017, 12:02 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(MiKE7LIM @ Mar 19 2017, 11:43 PM)
two time with AA to HK+Macau...return also around rm330-350 only

not really sure how cheap is Cathay? rm700?
Mas RM539 ....
I got it at RM600 that time
Colonel Cabuk
post Mar 21 2017, 01:11 AM

388 posts

Will be stuck in Kwai Chung for two weeks. What's good to do around the area?
inachi
post Mar 21 2017, 12:15 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Colonel Cabuk @ Mar 21 2017, 01:11 AM)
Why only in Kwai Chung?
GI Jie
post Mar 22 2017, 04:22 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(Colonel Cabuk @ Mar 21 2017, 01:11 AM)
There is a humongous shopping centre there which caters for budget clothing. Quite packed with locals.
ticke
post Mar 22 2017, 08:16 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 6 2017, 05:00 PM)
will be traveling to HK for the 1st time in Mid April, solo sweat.gif

any tips for solo traveller? 

will be spending most of the time in the convention center for few days attending seminars & talks, but would like to escape for few hours or night time where to go

staying also near the convention center
visit the red light buildings whistling.gif
XiuKeong
post Mar 22 2017, 09:24 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

Congrats, enjoy the fireworks if you're there during NYE.

I went there for previous NYE and it was awesome.
WallChecker
post Mar 26 2017, 11:36 PM

315 posts

Hi guys, we will be visiting HK for 7D6N including one night in Macau. We have bought most of the attractions/entrance tickets, hotels and ferry paid. We plan to change about RM3k to HKD and just wondering if it is enough for 2pax? Mainly to foods, junks, MTR and other transport around etc.
yahiko
post Mar 27 2017, 09:32 AM

1,215 posts

hi all,

I got 8hour stopover at HK so planning to do to kowloon with the Airport express..
need help: what to eat ( most important biggrin.gif) there..
will only have 3-4hour spend there. do not want to travel far away from the kowloon station.. scare got lost cannot find the walk back.

52 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0368sec    1.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:21 AM