Fyonne
post Oct 7 2016, 03:01 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(angel82 @ Oct 6 2016, 10:26 PM)
Not many ppl think about going to Kamakura as it quite far from Tokyo city area but there nice for the shrines and beach. Have you try the street food there?
Not much. Too tired for a bite. Did taste few snack like daifuku n green tea ice cream (got lvl). N it white bait meal. Got some sembei as well.

QUOTE(ericlooiz @ Oct 6 2016, 11:33 PM)
oh good to hear that. Any chances of heavy rain tho? Any comment on Omotesando? I found a fair price of place to stay here in airbnb. The owner provides portable Wifi as well.
Sorry if I break any rules in this thread. First time posting here  notworthy.gif
thanks for the input. yeah i googled too and the weather is around that degree. It just the rain that Im worried about because I'm going to spend most of my day taking photos.
Ok got that. Yeah I did googled about the place where i wanted go like shopping, photograph and viewing tokyo skyline. It just the card and train passes im not clear about right now. How many days are you spending there? I'm going for 1 week and right now my plan is to spend the whole week in Tokyo. Is one week enough to travel in Tokyo alone itself? Because if it's more than enough I would like to spend a few days in Yokohama too.
Right now I'm still planning tho. If everything goes well then I'll go on Feb 10 - Feb 17. If not then I'll go than that probably  biggrin.gif
By company. M logo is tokyo metro. Green fan is toei. Those are main 2 u will use the most.

calvintiffy
post Oct 7 2016, 03:04 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Sep 25 2016, 11:03 AM)
Is advisable to go to Arashiyama in the morning and continue to Kinkakuji in the afternoon/evening?
Just came back from Kansai Region. Arashiyama is big man. I don't know how much you want to explore, but it definitely took me a day in Arashiyama.
HJ_Ishimori
post Oct 7 2016, 03:06 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 26 2016, 07:53 PM)
first, i dont think u hv enuf time for disney, normally ppl allocate fullday.
or u only planned to go to their front door??

second, u better study this maps (JR Line - gray)

compared with this widepass maps

Try to purchase Tokyo Metro Subway Pass (single day or 3 days) from Narita/Haneda Airport. (applicable for tourist)
Bliz
post Oct 7 2016, 03:51 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(calvintiffy @ Oct 7 2016, 03:04 PM)
Just came back from Kansai Region. Arashiyama is big man. I don't know how much you want to explore, but it definitely took me a day in Arashiyama.
Is possible, went there last march to Arashiyama for half a day ( until after lunch ) then continue to explore Kinkakuji, if not possible just schedule another visit later on. I will be going to Osaka/Kyoto again during mid of Nov this year biggrin.gif
PhakFuhZai
post Oct 7 2016, 03:52 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

I am juggling between getting a 3 day Kansai thru pass or just topup an ICOCA card,

does using Kansai Thru pass saves more? 3 day pass already costs 5200 Yen, like not much difference than regular fares

This post has been edited by PhakFuhZai: Oct 7 2016, 03:53 PM
Bliz
post Oct 7 2016, 03:56 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Oct 7 2016, 03:52 PM)
I am juggling between getting a 3 day Kansai thru pass or just topup an ICOCA card,

does using Kansai Thru pass saves more? 3 day pass already costs 5200 Yen, like not much difference than regular fares
It is better for u to plan the route for the places u are going, then from google map can get the transport fees, from there on u can calculate if it is worth it. I didn't get the Kansai Thru Pass because it is not worth it for my travel route, instead i rely on Icoca icon_rolleyes.gif
PhakFuhZai
post Oct 7 2016, 04:01 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 7 2016, 03:56 PM)
It is better for u to plan the route for the places u are going, then from google map can get the transport fees, from there on u can calculate if it is worth it. I didn't get the Kansai Thru Pass because it is not worth it for my travel route, instead i rely on Icoca  icon_rolleyes.gif
maybe u re right

I calculate this way: 5200/3 = 1733 Yen per day

if going not more than 5 places a day, and let's assume bus or train fare is fixed at 230 Yen per trip, it is about 1380 Yen (6*230 Yen = 1380, just add one more trip to go back to hotel)

so it is more or less the same
Bliz
post Oct 7 2016, 04:15 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Oct 7 2016, 04:01 PM)
maybe u re right

I calculate this way: 5200/3 = 1733 Yen per day

if going not more than 5 places a day, and let's assume bus or train fare is fixed at 230 Yen per trip, it is about 1380 Yen  (6*230 Yen = 1380, just add one more trip to go back to hotel)

so it is more or less the same
My advice is plan and check the route from google map first, i don't think u can visit 5 places a day ( very rush ), i mostly travel to max of 3 places per day, the transportation cost at Japan is really expensive, better plan properly to save some money ( well if u are cash rich is ok jus buy KTP and save the hassle laugh.gif )
PhakFuhZai
post Oct 7 2016, 04:22 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 7 2016, 04:15 PM)
My advice is plan and check the route from google map first, i don't think u can visit 5 places a day ( very rush ), i mostly travel to max of 3 places per day, the transportation cost at Japan is really expensive, better plan properly to save some money ( well if u are cash rich is ok jus buy KTP and save the hassle  laugh.gif )
that's why
lesser places = cost ineffective for Thru pass

I think I have answered my own question, use ICOCA and topup more money, at least can use it to buy things at convenient stores, and refund the unused balance at the airport icon_rolleyes.gif

MR_alien
post Oct 7 2016, 04:43 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

anyone know where to buy this?
sacwoc
post Oct 7 2016, 05:38 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 7 2016, 03:43 PM)
wat u think... married also can become frenz ma  ranting.gif
and if she bring her cousin out that is another story  brows.gif  wub.gif

---
i tot usually japanese ppl like after work drink
almost like daily gathering  cool2.gif

how u all pay? split AA or boss treat?
Not me lor, cause I am not Japanese.... smile.gif
I prefer to just stay at home.

If its not official, normally AA, or maybe boss pay more. That's why I dont want to go. smile.gif I dont drink but need to pay more....
HMMaster
post Oct 7 2016, 11:36 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(calvintiffy @ Oct 7 2016, 03:04 PM)
Thanks for the info! What did you do/visit at Arashiyama?

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 7 2016, 03:51 PM)
Is possible, went there last march to Arashiyama for half a day ( until after lunch ) then continue to explore Kinkakuji, if not possible just schedule another visit later on. I will be going to Osaka/Kyoto again during mid of Nov this year  biggrin.gif
How you go from Arashiyama to Kinkakuji? notworthy.gif

michlove
post Oct 7 2016, 11:37 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 7 2016, 02:43 PM)
wat u think... married also can become frenz ma  ranting.gif
and if she bring her cousin out that is another story  brows.gif  wub.gif

---
i tot usually japanese ppl like after work drink
almost like daily gathering  cool2.gif

how u all pay? split AA or boss treat?
wahh....not bad...you can still remember my cousin tongue.gif
calvintiffy
post Oct 7 2016, 11:44 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 7 2016, 11:36 PM)
Thanks for the info! What did you do/visit at Arashiyama?
How you go from Arashiyama to Kinkakuji?  notworthy.gif
I went to these places:

* Arashiyama Bamboo Grove (spent roughly 1 hour)

* Arashiyama Monkey Park (spent 1.3h)

* Tenryuji Temple (spent 1-2h)

*Otagi Nenbutsuji Temple (Recommended!) (spent 1.3h)

The thing is, getting around these areas required some walking. Had to go back in the evening to catch dinner.

TIPS: Wake up early and explore more.

HMMaster
post Oct 8 2016, 12:36 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(calvintiffy @ Oct 7 2016, 11:44 PM)
I went to these places:

The thing is, getting around these areas required some walking. Had to go back in the evening to catch dinner.

You go to Arashiyama using train from Kyoto Station?
calvintiffy
post Oct 8 2016, 12:47 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 8 2016, 12:36 AM)
You go to Arashiyama using train from Kyoto Station?
Yeap, JR railway to Arashiyama.
look416
post Oct 8 2016, 02:28 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(calvintiffy @ Oct 7 2016, 11:44 PM)
I went to these places:

Nice for you to have time explore the whole arashiyama. For me, just taking the torokko train and hozugawa boat riding, takes my whole morning gone, which end up didnt have much time in exploring most out for arashiyama.

Tips:
There is this tsukemen festival currently in Tokyo for the whole october. Ten ramen shops for each week, totaling 40 shops for the whole festival. It in shinjuku there. Anyone nearby can go there and enjoy the ramen.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_1eregR7vw

tahfeikei
post Oct 8 2016, 04:09 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,245 posts

i'm confused about the metro 3-day pass. i understand there are multiple companies running the subway lines in tokyo. if i use the 3-day metro card, can it be used on all the different subway lines?
lucaswjk
post Oct 8 2016, 05:13 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Oct 8 2016, 04:09 PM)
i'm confused about the metro 3-day pass. i understand there are multiple companies running the subway lines in tokyo. if i use the 3-day metro card, can it be used on all the different subway lines?
no

lucky it cover whole tokyo inner city...
almost 90%

the one not covered is jr line, haneda, odiba line, part of skytree, odaikyu, other donno

pls study tokyo subway map
tahfeikei
post Oct 8 2016, 05:35 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,245 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 8 2016, 05:13 PM)
no

lucky it cover whole tokyo inner city...
almost 90%

the one not covered is jr line, haneda, odiba line, part of skytree, odaikyu, other donno

pls study tokyo subway map
thanks, so the map will show which line is not covered?

137 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:22 PM