Jan 8 2017, 09:03 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Hi guys and gals,
Been driving for a few years but I have no experience driving on a steep slope at all. Want to try for the first time and gain some experience. So, I'm going to drive up and down Genting with 4 people including myself and full of luggages. I'm hoping to drive at a moderate speed. Not too fast, not too slow. Prioritize safety. The car is a Proton Saga BLM. So, when going up: - switch to D2? - turn off air-cond when it gets steep? - need to turn off radio? - what if I need to stop half way? traffic jam? and when going down: - switch to D2? - turn off air-cond too? - any tips on braking? - what if I need to stop half way? traffic jam? Thank you. |
Jan 9 2017, 05:47 AM
133 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
1. off aircon
2. may need to D1 on very steep uphill. 3. keep an eye on temperature. BLM is not nice to drive for genting. |
Jan 9 2017, 11:32 AM
5 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
when going down hill, use engine braking as much you could, recommends D2, you can even switch on aircond and set the temp to max coldness, not to blow yourself cold but just for the sake of getting the compressor to work out on the engine braking assistance.
As for an auto trans car, the thing you need to look after is the brake temperature, hence, reduce prolong braking as the braking power will fade when it gets hot and the brake will not makan. |
Jan 9 2017, 12:01 PM
350 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(randytsx @ Jan 8 2017, 09:03 PM) Hi guys and gals, Get your car serviced before going up. Change engine oil: got makan oil or not? Check radiator water level. Make sure tyres bunga ok, get it pumped to correct pressure and most importantly your brakes. If need replacement please do so. D2 maintain uphill & downhill should be good enough. Do not overspeed and be extra aware of your surroundings.Been driving for a few years but I have no experience driving on a steep slope at all. Want to try for the first time and gain some experience. So, I'm going to drive up and down Genting with 4 people including myself and full of luggages. I'm hoping to drive at a moderate speed. Not too fast, not too slow. Prioritize safety. The car is a Proton Saga BLM. So, when going up: - switch to D2? - turn off air-cond when it gets steep? - need to turn off radio? - what if I need to stop half way? traffic jam? and when going down: - switch to D2? - turn off air-cond too? - any tips on braking? - what if I need to stop half way? traffic jam? Thank you. Slow but reach safely is important. |
Jan 9 2017, 12:03 PM
350 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(goohtj @ Jan 9 2017, 05:47 AM) 1. off aircon He should do fine. I've seen kancil selamba go up.2. may need to D1 on very steep uphill. 3. keep an eye on temperature. BLM is not nice to drive for genting. As long you dont loose your momentum while climbing. Try keeping rpm around 4k should be good enough. |
Jan 9 2017, 04:09 PM
fresh new engine oil semi/fully syn is better. pennzoil mineral with 4,000km raised my blm temp to 90%.. on 5,000rpm . change to semi on my next trip.... no problem . |
Jan 10 2017, 08:15 PM
353 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 28 2016, 09:54 AM) So my warranty is over, thought of buying EO outside but apparently Petronas is selling theirs slightly higher by RM20-30 . Get liqui moly or mobil 1 at lazada during offer, last time I got liqui moly semi syn @ rm99 free shipping. Both good, imo petronas oil are overpriced.These are the prices I got from Proton SC: Syntium 1000 15W-50 RM213 Syntium 3000 5W-40 RM239 I was on Syntium 1000 all the while. Didn't know the difference with Syntium3000 is just about RM26 lol.. Or maybe there's other cheaper EO I should opt for |
Jan 11 2017, 10:03 AM
431 posts Joined: Sep 2015 From: Shah Alam |
Nak tanya bros sini, Saga SV ada ISOFIX tak?
Jan 12 2017, 07:17 PM
895 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Jan 12 2017, 10:43 PM
1,541 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: []- between u n me-[] |
I still using my 2010 blm for the last 7 years, and still using the original absorber. Should i change to new one or only replace once absorber went kaput already?
Jan 13 2017, 04:31 AM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: Ingham NQ Australia |
Jan 13 2017, 09:54 AM
Jan 13 2017, 11:29 AM
353 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Jan 13 2017, 12:28 PM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: Ingham NQ Australia |
On face value replacing coils 2 and 3 should fix it but I'm quite dubious about that and don't like wasting money. If you have your own OBD dongle which are very cheap you could try swapping 1 and 4 for 2 and 3 and check codes again, another short and open message could confirm bad coils. Coils go bad but I'd only expect one at a time, I carry a spare from an old car that I can press into service if needed to get me out of trouble, these coil on plug systems can be fairly interchangeable but cunningly the makers love to fit different connectors in the hope users never find out.
Jan 14 2017, 11:10 PM
85 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
bro, having some issues just now. heard some rumbling sound on my saga FL then went to stop nearby to check the engine but the engine did not shake violenty just the sound je then see temperature higher thn normal 1 bar so stop engine and let it cool down for about 30mins
then came back to open bonet to check the water. pour in some water already full means water no less and checked the dipstick too no leakage no problem. then i try start engine to see how it goes. after minutes i saw there is a slight smoke came out so i quickly turn off the engine. Anyone had problem like this before? |
Jan 15 2017, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(AhJetz @ Jan 14 2017, 11:10 PM) bro, having some issues just now. heard some rumbling sound on my saga FL then went to stop nearby to check the engine but the engine did not shake violenty just the sound je then see temperature higher thn normal 1 bar so stop engine and let it cool down for about 30mins fan working /spinning?then came back to open bonet to check the water. pour in some water already full means water no less and checked the dipstick too no leakage no problem. then i try start engine to see how it goes. after minutes i saw there is a slight smoke came out so i quickly turn off the engine. Anyone had problem like this before? |
Jan 15 2017, 09:28 AM
85 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Jan 15 2017, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(AhJetz @ Jan 15 2017, 09:28 AM) forget to check as that time is already 10pm so i sit car friend to went back home. later will be going to find a nearby workshop to check the problem. any reliable and working today on sunday near sunway university? so many workshops there. to check fan, very simple. start car, on aircon, fan must on automatically . if not replace fan motor.. |
Jan 15 2017, 11:39 AM
any recommended OBD2 for saga flx? thinking to get 1..
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:33 AM |