Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

Michael J.
post Jan 9 2012, 05:27 PM

596 posts

Kg_Teratai:

I will get back to you once I'm able to view the photos.

Hmmm... Have you considered asking MPOB officers to advice on management procedures? Otherwise, you could get some booklets on plantation management from them too. If you enjoy reading, I would suggest you look up for books on oil palm plantation management, especially those authored by Hartley, Corley, Tinker, and Piguot.

As for your other questions, I will answer them later in the evening. Have another appointment to attend now.
MrFarmer
post Jan 9 2012, 07:34 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 9 2012, 09:39 AM)
Mr Farmer:

There are some ways to make "educated guesses" of banana varieties, but given that most edible varieties are closely related, it is almost always difficult to be absolutely certain.

The following documents should be of great help to anyone wanting to plant banana commercially. They cover a broad number of topics, from diseases and management, to variety, marketing etc.
http://agroforestry.net/tti/Musa-banana-plantain.pdf
http://www.agroforestry.net/tti/Banana-plantain-overview.pdf

Although quite a read, it is very informative.
Thanks Michael, you are right, quite a long read. Downloaded and saved up. Shall keep me busy during my holidays. Yes, going home for CNY holidays in a week's time!

Happy Chinese New Year. May this year bring us abundance health and wealth.

ikiey
post Jan 9 2012, 08:07 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jan 9 2012, 04:46 PM)
Hi Ikiey,

Thank you for the information.

For the Rhinocaros Beetles or Kumbang Tanduk, how exactly we can confirmed it is the exactly the cause?

Those trees are already 6-7 years old. Is it still considered a young tree?
Hi MJ Joel,

Wow.. This is a lot of information I need to pick up. Thank you also for the word of encouragement.

Actually bro, because last time some of the trees at my dad's kebun also got those holes, n then my father instruct his worker to put this one chemical there, n the week after that, can see the 'kumbang tanduk' died and kering already at the tree... (we go to the farm once a week, cuz we staying in shah alam, the farm in langkap, perak

N about that twisting leaves, that one also some of the trees at our farm have that symptom also... But ours is still young, around 2 years old only, n i think was really caused by the spraying round earlier...

This post has been edited by ikiey: Jan 9 2012, 08:08 PM
Michael J.
post Jan 9 2012, 09:22 PM

596 posts

Kg_Teratai:

Ok, let's go one by one. In your first picture of post 961, the hole in the frond bract is made by rhinoceros beetles. The adults normally bore holes into the heart of the palm, close to the crown. Usually the rhino beetle's damage on palms are not too serious, but the wound does allow other more terrible pests and diseases to come in to kill the palm. You need to buy cypermethrin, mix according to the instructions, and spray the "spear" of the palms, i.e. the frond that looks like a "tanduk" in the center of the palm, till the whole thing is drenched. This will kill some of the adults, and deter others from coming back in. However, this only lasts for maybe 2 months at most, so you would likely need to do this again when you notice any further damage. As long as the new fronds that come out don't have holes, you know you are doing ok.

The next two pictures in post 961 show frond damage. There are two possibilities: (i) Mechanical damage due to beetle attack (ii) Nutrition-linked diseases due to deficiency in boron.

Although both are show similar symptoms, I would say the former is the case, i.e. beetle damage. Reason being the subsequent young fronds are not showing disease symptoms. This disease, is colloquially called "crinkled-leaf", and is particularly found in planting of inland alluvials.

But that doesn't mean your palms are not suffering from boron deficiency. If you look carefully, you would notice light-white colored stripes along the leaves mid-rib. This is another symptom of boron deficiency, called "white-stripe". One could avert this by applying 1kg of borate per palm per year, divided into 4 applications every 3 months (i.e. 250g each round). Spread the borate evenly about 30cm away from the trunk base, all around. Take care not to clump the borate in lumps or heaps.

However, given that Tangkak area is largely inland alluvials, I suspect there could be some levels of chlorine deficiency also. You might like to introduce a little salt to the palms, either using normal rock salt (NaCl), or magnesium salt (MgCl). The former is very cheap to get, while the latter kills two birds with one stone: It also provides magnesium to the palms, aside from chlorine.

Aside from that, I'm wondering how often do you do fertiliser applications? The palms look very yellow, and stunted for 6-7 year old palms. They are what, 4 feet tall? Unless you got youself some dumpy materials, that is not normal. Most oil palm planting materials in Malaysia grow by 30-40cm a year, so for 6-7 year old palms, you should be seeing something closer to 5 feet (trunk base to crown).

Now going on to post 967. Holy cow! The first picture with the bunch having those long-tassle stuff is a hermaphrodite bunch, i.e. it produces male and female flowers on the same bunch. This is very abnormal. If it is one or two bunches, it could be due to stresses like drought, or lack of nutrients etc.; but if you have whole crop full of these things, then you've got some serious problems with the planting materials.

As for the poor fruit set on the other bunches, some of which are abortive or rotting, it is actually two possible things: (i) Poor fruit set due to poor pollination (ii) Insufficient nutrients. My first impression is that you've got a case of insufficient pollination. Reason being that the bunches have too many abortive sockets, but enough formed fruits to rule out the seriousness of other issues. Tell me, do you heavily spray insecticides? Is your field surrounded by older, mature palms? If insecticides are being heavily applied, then it is likely this is killing the pollinating weevils, the wee-little bugs that help make sure pollen is transfered to the female flowers so that fruit set takes place. Secondly, your palms may be putting out insufficient male flowers, and if your field is not surrounded by other older, mature palms, there could be not enough pollen to go around. Do take note that although more female flowers are desired, male flowers are equally needed. Ideally, the ratio should 1 male flower to every 10 female flowers.

I would also like to note that your palms have very acute frond angles. This is not desired, actually, as it hinders the expansion and growth of the bunches, resulting in wedge-shaped bunches with less fruits and lower weights. May not be a problem if pollen supply is sufficient.

As for your other trees, I can't comment too much. The durians seem to having canker, i.e. bark rot. No real cure for this, as far as I know. The young plant has been attacked by a leaf eating insect, most likely from the grasshopper family. Can't tell without looking closer at the bite marks, but the feeding pattern suggest it could be yellow-thigh grasshopper. They are big fellas, yellowish in color, with reddish wings when in flight. If not too big a population, just use a net to catch them. Otherwise, malathion or cypermethrin will also do the trick.

I can't see the termite picture, not sure why. There are a few species, but they usually can be killed and further prevented by using Rogor or Rigour. Just follow the directions on the label. But be careful, as it is also a neurotoxin to humans.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 9 2012, 09:32 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Bro it's great to see you back in action. wondered where you went these few days...haha

What did i tell you guys about the Resident Oil Palm Expert...lolx biggrin.gif

Michael J.
post Jan 9 2012, 09:37 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 2 2012, 06:52 PM)
What's wrong with my pumpkin? Too much water?
This fruit weights 13kg.

Update on pumpkins.
1) Planting on raised bed is definitely (Irrigated on & off, on dry days) better than flat ground / slope (rain fed).
Fruits sizes 6 to 13.5 kg Vs 0.8 to 5 kg.

Personally, I prefer fruit size of 5 ~ 8 kg as I think it's more marketable. Also it spread out the risk.
Our bad fruits
Yup, too much drastic changes in weather, i.e. long drought then suddenly rainy season, or vice versa.

Some of your fruits got eaten by shrews lei. But nonetheless, nice yield!!

Added on January 9, 2012, 9:39 pmPara:

Haaa... Was involved with company strategy planning. And then had to design the whole BioEconomy projects and new EPPs frameworks. Might be adding a couple new NKEAs. So basically, my whole of December was taken up doing these things lor. Following week start PEMANDU lab de.

This post has been edited by Michael J.: Jan 9 2012, 09:39 PM
M_century
post Jan 10 2012, 02:19 AM

114 posts

Just 4 days, and there's already so much update.

The land clearing work will start after CNY holidays.

I'll post photo when the construction starts after clearing works.

MrFarmer, you are more than welcome to visit my farm, and also all the bros here are all welcome. Good to do sharing of knowledge and experience so everyone can improve. So far I only have the theories.
Kg Teratai
post Jan 10 2012, 03:58 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jan 9 2012, 09:32 PM)
Bro it's great to see you back in action. wondered where you went these few days...haha

What did i tell you guys about the Resident Oil Palm Expert...lolx biggrin.gif

Yes. He has provided a lot of information, which I can use to tackle the issues in my farm. How is your durian planting? good progress?

Added on January 10, 2012, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(ikiey @ Jan 9 2012, 08:07 PM)

Actually bro, because last time some of the trees at my dad's kebun also got those holes, n then my father instruct his worker to put this one chemical there, n the week after that, can see the 'kumbang tanduk' died and kering already at the tree... (we go to the farm once a week, cuz we staying in shah alam, the farm in langkap, perak

N about that twisting leaves, that one also some of the trees at our farm have that symptom also... But ours is still young, around 2 years old only, n i think was really caused by the spraying round earlier...
Hi Ikiey

I am sure I will need to have cypermethrin to kill those rhinoceros beetles.

Hi MJ Joel,

I will check if the "crinkled-leaf" show the light-white colored stripes. I will update this during Chinese New Year. If it is confirmed deficiency of boron, I will add this to my fertilizer application plan.

You will be more stunt if I have the photo before the weed control was put in last year Nov. I will call it jungle. Most of the trees are 6-7 feet, I have some are 4 feet tall. Talking about this, I believe I need to perform a count on number of tree. I also don’t have the statistic for fertilizer application. I will share my future fertilizer application plan, if it is useful; I believe others can use the plan accordingly. Of course rock salt (NaCl), or magnesium salt (MgCl) will be in my plan.

I will revisit the hermaphrodite bunch issue again. I am not sure how serious it is now. I will update after 4th Feb.

I believe my farm has never applied insecticides since the oil palm trees are planted. 2 sides of the farm are mature oil palm trees. The other 2 sides are rubber trees and fruit trees. You have a very shape eye; I also feel that my palms have very acute frond angles.

MJ, I have few questions I will like to clarify with you. Then it can be put into my action plan.

1. If I apply cypermethrin to all trees, will it affect the pollinating weevils?
2. How can I improve the pollination?
3. Is it ok to replant young trees to existing 7 years old trees? Others mention that those young tree will not really yields. What is your opinion?

Action plan for oil palm farm.

1. Check the tree if it is suffered from boron deficiency – during Chinese New Year.
2. Apply cypermethrin to settle the rhinoceros beetles - After Chinese New Year.
3. Fertilizer application - I will update the plan later on.

Action plan for durian farm.
1. Cover young durian trees with rubber bag, make a hole on top to allow the tree to grow. – during CNY.
2. Rogor or Rigour for termites – after CNY.
3. weed control
4. Fertilizer application (old trees and young trees) – no ideas yet.

Michael J.
post Jan 10 2012, 08:02 PM

596 posts

Kg_teratai:

To answer your questions-
1. Yes, it does affect them. But if the population is strong enough, you shouldn't face too much trouble. Given your situation, I would rather suggest you do specific spraying for palms instead of broadcast spraying. Do a census, and then proceed with spraying. It is more effective, and cost saving.

2. To improve pollination, there isn't an easy solution other than importing in more weevils from other mature estates. Now that you've mentioned about the surrounding plantings, I can say that the poor fruit set is largely due to insufficient pollen. Your palms are relatively young, so female bunches would tend to be higher. But without sufficient male flowers, there simply won't be enough to go around. You might need to "buy" male flowers from mature plantations, or collect them if you know the owners well enough. Look for freshly opened ones, collect them in a large clean fertilizer bag, and whack the pollen off. Then fill the pollen into a puffer bottle, and gently puff all around your blooming female flowers. This is time consuming, and might be costly, but if you want bigger bunches and better income, have to do this lor. Normally, the palms would stablelize once reaching 10 years old.

Alternatively, you could severely prune every 11th palm in a planting row. This stress will cause the palms to produce mostly male flowers the next year. This is cheaper, but it will cost you nearly all the bunches that palm could produce in the next year. This would work out to be about 30 palms for your 6 acres, or about 6 tons of crop. That's like RM3,300 ringgit? But if this could improve your yield of the remaining palms by just 20%, you'd be seeing a jump from 18kg bunches to 22kg bunches, or RM11,000++ in extra revenue.

3. In the company I worked for, we do supply planting (i.e. replacement of dead palms) up until the original stands are 10 years old. You have to bear in mind, if taken care well, the palms will yield for at least another 12 years or more. If you don't plant, you get nothing; if you plant, at least you can earn something, and make back the cost of supply planting in addition to profits. Just make sure the young palms get additional fertilizer compared to the older stands, and it should be fine. ps: Our cost analysis indicated that if we supply-planted up to age 10, we can still maximise our profits. The scenario might be a little different for various places, but generally should be applicable.
MrFarmer
post Jan 11 2012, 07:15 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 9 2012, 09:37 PM)
Yup, too much drastic changes in weather, i.e. long drought then suddenly rainy season, or vice versa.

Some of your fruits got eaten by shrews lei. But nonetheless, nice yield!!

Thanks Michael.
All along I though it was rodent. Did a Wikipedia on shrew, and they are not rodent. More linked to mole. Anyway those areas that have heavy weeds have this problem. We are clearing off the weeds just as it starts to flower. Harvest fruits as soon as it's mature enough and not wait for it to be fully ripe on field. Hope to reduce this "lost".
This batch is the highest yield to date. It's the batch we we tried on the raised bed. It's about a quarter of an acre, divided into 2 beds. We managed about 1.4 tons. Am waiting for a few more fruits, then shall organize replanting. Am also testing on "ridge" and "hills". Would also like to try Labu Putih (winter melon/gourd) on a fence/ raise structure, but am worry about the secondary roots not able to get nutrient from the soil.

Added on January 11, 2012, 7:23 pm
QUOTE(M_century @ Jan 10 2012, 02:19 AM)
Just 4 days, and there's already so much update.

The land clearing work will start after CNY holidays.

I'll post photo when the construction starts after clearing works.

MrFarmer, you are more than welcome to visit my farm, and also all the bros here are all welcome. Good to do sharing of knowledge and experience so everyone can improve. So far I only have the theories.
Oh yes, we can go for tea close to CNY. I do have just a little experience in land clearing. Say, maybe I' try to get others to meet up, Yam Cha and talk Agri.

Para? Michael? got free time? My treat.
Anyone interested?

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Jan 11 2012, 07:23 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 11 2012, 10:23 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

well CNY should be ok.

where would we be meeting ?

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 11 2012, 07:15 PM)

Oh yes, we can go for tea close to CNY. I do have just a little experience in land clearing. Say, maybe I' try to get others to meet up, Yam Cha and talk Agri.

Anyone interested?
Michael J.
post Jan 12 2012, 08:21 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 11 2012, 07:15 PM)
Thanks Michael.
All along I though it was rodent. Did a Wikipedia on shrew, and they are not rodent. More linked to mole. Anyway those areas that have heavy weeds have this problem. We are clearing off the weeds just as it starts to flower. Harvest fruits as soon as it's mature enough and not wait for it to be fully ripe on field. Hope to reduce this "lost".
This batch is the highest yield to date. It's the batch we we tried on the raised bed. It's about a quarter of an acre, divided into 2 beds. We managed about 1.4 tons. Am waiting for a few more fruits, then shall organize replanting. Am also testing on "ridge" and "hills". Would also like to try Labu Putih (winter melon/gourd) on a fence/ raise structure, but am worry about the secondary roots not able to get nutrient from the soil.

Anyone interested?
Mr Farmer:

If you are concerned, then just try one row first. Growing on fence or trellis works if you don't have watering problems, but if you are face with water issues, then just let it creep.

Yam cha during CNY week is a no-go for me, I'm afraid. Unless you guys would happen to be in Penang or Wesley area lar.
Kg Teratai
post Jan 12 2012, 04:15 PM

85 posts

Hi MJ Joel,

How can I address you more properly? I am not sure if I address you properly. My apology if I call you the wrong name.

It is regard to the Pokok Jantan that I mention in my previous post. Those trees are only produce male flowers and never produce bunch before. It should have enough male flowers for pollination. There are about 20 of them, it is still there. I have only burned down 4 of them. I will examine the trees again. I will try to use the puffer bottle way for those 4 feet trees. Let the worker to be busy. I believe it will be better to import more weevils in the long run. This will happen after I selectively apply the cypermethrin.

Regard the prune 11st tree, how to prune the 11st tree? Is it prune all the leaf?

My oil palm farm is only up to 5 acres and suppose have about 200-250 trees. As it has been abandoned for quite sometimes previously, there are trees died and those pokok jantan. I assumed I only have about 220 trees there. Now I definitely will replant new trees.

Here are my updated plan.

Action plan for oil palm farm.

1. Check the tree if it is suffered from boron deficiency – during Chinese New Year.
2. Apply cypermethrin to settle the rhinoceros beetles - After Chinese New Year.
3. Fertilizer application per tree- Zeolite = 4kg. 2 week later, TE = 100g and Borex = 100g.
4. Pollination matters – puffer bottle way first. Weevils later.

Action plan for durian farm.
1. Cover young durian trees with rubber bag, make a hole on top to allow the tree to grow. – during CNY.
2. Rogor or Rigour for termites – after CNY.
3. weed control
4. Fertilizer application (old trees and young trees) – no ideas yet.

I would like to join the yam cha session if it is at KL area.

Michael J.
post Jan 12 2012, 07:12 PM

596 posts

Kg_teratai:

Hmmm.... You mean your farm had been abandoned for a long while? Ah, now I get the full picture. I was under the impression the farm had been managed all the while.

With the new information you've provided, it clear now that you have a nutritional issue with the palms, along with some pollination issues.

This is my proposed strategy:

No. 1:
Replant the vacant points with new 12-month old seedlings. Based on the standard planting density, you should be planting about 270 palms for your 5 acres, i.e. 54 palms per acre.

Keep the "pokok jantan" only for the time being until your yields begin to improve, and then remove them all. Actually, you just need to keep about 8-10 palms, and can replant the rest. Just make sure those 8-10 palms are well dispersed throughout the field.

No. 2:
You need to start a fertilizer regime. As I've mentioned before, one of the two possible causes for poor bunch formation is nutrition. You would need to dilligently apply potassium-based (K) fertilizers, such as MOP or bunch ash, as these fertilizers are linked to flower and bunch formation. I would say each palm would need 2.7kg of MOP, or 3kg of bunch ash, applied for 4 rounds in a year (i.e. total MOP of 10.8kg per palm, or 12kg bunch ash per palm). Do apply nitrogen-based fertilizers such as urea or ammonium sulphate, according to the recommendations. Hopefullly, in this way, the yield of your palms would improve by early next year, or later in the year.

No. 3
I'm not sure if you do frond pruning, but if you don't, please do so. Leave only two frond below the lowest bunch, and prune everything else below. Ideally, you should have a total of 36-42 fronds on the palm only. Keep the pruned frond butt as close as possible to the trunk. This way, there would be more room for the bunch to "push" so it can expand.

I have to point out again that your palms have very acute frond angles. This creates some complications for not only bunch formation, but in some cases even pollination and harvesting. I'm hoping it isn't genetics, because then it would haunt your for the entire economic lifespan of the palms.

No.4
Manage the field as closely as you can. Since you have some data on yield, you should chart out some expeected yield trends in the ensuing months. This would help you keep track of things. Do note that during drought periods, yields can drop quite a bit. Keep a tight shift on the fertiliser and weeding regimen. This will go very far in ensuring your field gives its best potential. Keep an eye on the pest incidence, and address it as it occurs.

If you do this, you would not need to induce any flowering in any of the other palms. Hopefully in a year or so, your yields would see marked improvements.
MrFarmer
post Jan 12 2012, 07:30 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jan 11 2012, 10:23 PM)
well CNY should be ok.

where would we be meeting ?
Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay brows.gif ) 17th onwards.
Who wants to volunteer to organize?

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer

M_century
post Jan 12 2012, 11:07 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 12 2012, 07:30 PM)
Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay  brows.gif ) 17th onwards.

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer
Count me in, I'm definitely up for any tea session. Preferably Sat and Sun though.
Kg Teratai
post Jan 13 2012, 05:29 PM

85 posts

Hi MJ Joel,

Yes. it has been abandoned for a long time until I start to get involved Nov last year. For your proposed strategy.

No 1.
Yes. If the burn down is time consuming. I will opt for the machinary to bring down the pokok jantan and replant. Also considered to keep some of them accross the farm until the production is stable.

No 2.
The fertilizer definately is in my plan. Where can i get the bunch ash?

No 3.
I can prune those pokok jantan first. I am also worry it is because the genetics that cause the acute frond angles. The seedings were not properly selected previously and I am not sure who is the supplier. If it is the genetics, any chemical staff can do the magics?

No 4.
Yes. I am doing it at this moment. Collecting the yields data.

Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay  ) 17th onwards.

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer
I am ok for 17th-20th. I have to travel on 21th, balik kampung. Location : KL, Cheras or Kajang also can.

bomberkenny
post Jan 15 2012, 10:19 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

I'm also interest to join you guys for a yamcha session, i'm free before friday. Hope paraoptical and Joel won't be shocked to see me again.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 15 2012, 10:21 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

if u guys are meeting up after 19th but b4 cny... then i am up for it... going serious in palm soon
Kg Teratai
post Jan 16 2012, 02:06 PM

85 posts

i believe everyone is rushing on CNY celebration. Should we fix the venue and time first? Then we can confirm participant list.

119 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:59 AM