119 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

Michael J.
post Jan 12 2012, 07:12 PM

596 posts

Kg_teratai:

Hmmm.... You mean your farm had been abandoned for a long while? Ah, now I get the full picture. I was under the impression the farm had been managed all the while.

With the new information you've provided, it clear now that you have a nutritional issue with the palms, along with some pollination issues.

This is my proposed strategy:

No. 1:
Replant the vacant points with new 12-month old seedlings. Based on the standard planting density, you should be planting about 270 palms for your 5 acres, i.e. 54 palms per acre.

Keep the "pokok jantan" only for the time being until your yields begin to improve, and then remove them all. Actually, you just need to keep about 8-10 palms, and can replant the rest. Just make sure those 8-10 palms are well dispersed throughout the field.

No. 2:
You need to start a fertilizer regime. As I've mentioned before, one of the two possible causes for poor bunch formation is nutrition. You would need to dilligently apply potassium-based (K) fertilizers, such as MOP or bunch ash, as these fertilizers are linked to flower and bunch formation. I would say each palm would need 2.7kg of MOP, or 3kg of bunch ash, applied for 4 rounds in a year (i.e. total MOP of 10.8kg per palm, or 12kg bunch ash per palm). Do apply nitrogen-based fertilizers such as urea or ammonium sulphate, according to the recommendations. Hopefullly, in this way, the yield of your palms would improve by early next year, or later in the year.

No. 3
I'm not sure if you do frond pruning, but if you don't, please do so. Leave only two frond below the lowest bunch, and prune everything else below. Ideally, you should have a total of 36-42 fronds on the palm only. Keep the pruned frond butt as close as possible to the trunk. This way, there would be more room for the bunch to "push" so it can expand.

I have to point out again that your palms have very acute frond angles. This creates some complications for not only bunch formation, but in some cases even pollination and harvesting. I'm hoping it isn't genetics, because then it would haunt your for the entire economic lifespan of the palms.

No.4
Manage the field as closely as you can. Since you have some data on yield, you should chart out some expeected yield trends in the ensuing months. This would help you keep track of things. Do note that during drought periods, yields can drop quite a bit. Keep a tight shift on the fertiliser and weeding regimen. This will go very far in ensuring your field gives its best potential. Keep an eye on the pest incidence, and address it as it occurs.

If you do this, you would not need to induce any flowering in any of the other palms. Hopefully in a year or so, your yields would see marked improvements.
MrFarmer
post Jan 12 2012, 07:30 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jan 11 2012, 10:23 PM)
well CNY should be ok.

where would we be meeting ?
Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay brows.gif ) 17th onwards.
Who wants to volunteer to organize?

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer

M_century
post Jan 12 2012, 11:07 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 12 2012, 07:30 PM)
Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay  brows.gif ) 17th onwards.

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer
Count me in, I'm definitely up for any tea session. Preferably Sat and Sun though.
Kg Teratai
post Jan 13 2012, 05:29 PM

85 posts

Hi MJ Joel,

Yes. it has been abandoned for a long time until I start to get involved Nov last year. For your proposed strategy.

No 1.
Yes. If the burn down is time consuming. I will opt for the machinary to bring down the pokok jantan and replant. Also considered to keep some of them accross the farm until the production is stable.

No 2.
The fertilizer definately is in my plan. Where can i get the bunch ash?

No 3.
I can prune those pokok jantan first. I am also worry it is because the genetics that cause the acute frond angles. The seedings were not properly selected previously and I am not sure who is the supplier. If it is the genetics, any chemical staff can do the magics?

No 4.
Yes. I am doing it at this moment. Collecting the yields data.

Anywhere in KL. Cheras can, Kajang also can (satay  ) 17th onwards.

Attendance
1) Para
2) Kg_teratai
3) M-century (you in?)
4) Mr Farmer
I am ok for 17th-20th. I have to travel on 21th, balik kampung. Location : KL, Cheras or Kajang also can.

bomberkenny
post Jan 15 2012, 10:19 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

I'm also interest to join you guys for a yamcha session, i'm free before friday. Hope paraoptical and Joel won't be shocked to see me again.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 15 2012, 10:21 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

if u guys are meeting up after 19th but b4 cny... then i am up for it... going serious in palm soon
Kg Teratai
post Jan 16 2012, 02:06 PM

85 posts

i believe everyone is rushing on CNY celebration. Should we fix the venue and time first? Then we can confirm participant list.
MrFarmer
post Jan 16 2012, 11:47 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Kg Teratai @ Jan 16 2012, 02:06 PM)
i believe everyone is rushing on CNY celebration. Should we fix the venue and time first? Then we can confirm participant list.
Oh yes, Just reached KL.
Let's see which is a better date / venue / time
19th?
20th?

Venue : How about Old Town White Coffee, Jalan Cheras Opposite Taman Midah? We (Para & me) met there last time

Time : how about Night? 7 or 8 pm? Or afternoon?
M_century
post Jan 17 2012, 02:43 AM

114 posts

night, slightly later will be good, on 20th
Michael J.
post Jan 17 2012, 08:50 AM

596 posts

Hmmm.... If 20th night, then I might be able to come. 19th got some "negotiations" to settle with certain government agencies.

Bomberkenny:
Haaa... In a good way, I hope. Anyway, any good news?
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 17 2012, 11:10 AM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

sorry bros...fate has it i will be in Singapore to settle my brother Uni admission...for this week...

after CNY i am able to attend...

let's see how ..

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jan 16 2012, 11:47 PM)
Oh yes, Just reached KL.
Let's see which is a better date / venue / time
19th?
20th?

Venue : How about Old Town White Coffee, Jalan Cheras Opposite Taman Midah? We (Para & me) met there last time

Time : how about Night? 7 or 8 pm? Or afternoon?
This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 17 2012, 11:12 AM
bomberkenny
post Jan 17 2012, 11:20 AM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 17 2012, 09:50 AM)
Bomberkenny:
Haaa... In a good way, I hope. Anyway, any good news?
We'll talk more after Johnny comes back from Singapore. I can't wait to hear your ideas.

And Johnny, I wonder if you still have your proposal that you wanted to show me 10 years ago?

MrFarmer
post Jan 17 2012, 02:17 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Jan 17 2012, 11:20 AM)
We'll talk more after Johnny comes back from Singapore. I can't wait to hear your ideas.

And Johnny, I wonder if you still have your proposal that you wanted to show me 10 years ago?
Ok, how about:

20th Jan 9.00 pm
Old Town White Coffee, Jalan Cheras, Opposite Taman Midah.

Attedance : Please add your name here, otherwise please add suggestion for date & venue.
Mr. Farmer

TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 17 2012, 02:23 PM

2,348 posts

bro you have to refresh me on the proposal...haha

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Jan 17 2012, 11:20 AM)

bomberkenny
post Jan 17 2012, 02:29 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jan 17 2012, 03:23 PM)
bro you have to refresh me on the proposal...haha
Sorry its a business plan, not a proposal. 10 yrs ago u tried to share your masterplan but i told you i was not ready yet. I was a fresh grad that time i recalled.
Now wished i had sit down with you and listen to your plans, lol
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 17 2012, 05:29 PM

2,348 posts

well we still can come out yum cha and talk with the guys also biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Jan 17 2012, 02:29 PM)
Sorry its a business plan, not a proposal. 10 yrs ago u tried to share your masterplan but i told you i was not ready yet. I was a fresh grad that time i recalled.
Now wished i had sit down with you and listen to your plans, lol
Kg Teratai
post Jan 18 2012, 04:09 PM

85 posts

20th Jan 9.00 pm
Old Town White Coffee, Jalan Cheras, Opposite Taman Midah.

Attedance : Please add your name here, otherwise please add suggestion for date & venue.
Mr. Farmer
Kg Teratai
M_century
post Jan 19 2012, 03:29 AM

114 posts

add me
Michael J.
post Jan 19 2012, 12:18 PM

596 posts

Sorry guys, I need to be excused again this time. Just received directive from the "Big Man".... We've just clinched a RM3 billion deal for aquaculture in Sabah. Need to do the groundwork soon.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jan 19 2012, 04:38 PM

2,348 posts

great job bro... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 19 2012, 12:18 PM)
Sorry guys, I need to be excused again this time. Just received directive from the "Big Man".... We've just clinched a RM3 billion deal for aquaculture in Sabah. Need to do the groundwork soon.

119 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.4281sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:39 AM