119 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

chinyen
post Jul 29 2011, 09:37 AM

754 posts

amir, is serai lemongrass? even the price of the plant itself raised a lot. lemon grass drink is now spreading wide in the market...are they difficult to cultivate? how long is it from the harvest?hehe...i can google it but experience from you would be more useful i guess
MrFarmer
post Jul 29 2011, 08:16 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jul 28 2011, 09:15 AM)
MrFarmer:

As with any agriculture business, aside from the direct management of the land and crop, the most important aspect is the marketing part. If you got crop, but no one to take the crop, or got person who take the crop but is lousy pay-master, I'm sure you can imagine the final outcome.

On the bath-tub pond thing, you are quite right. If you put in the proper setup, the biological load is around 40 fish. But again, you really need to consider the nature of the specie, and even the variant you choose. Tilapias are good fish, but make sure you choose the more domicile breed, as cichlids are by nature highly territorial fish. Catfish on the other hand are usually very tolerable of each other.

As for dissolved oxygen level, dripping water by itself does not do much to improve the condition. Water temperature, surface area, mineral content, and biological load (including microbes, algae, nitrates etc.) all influence this. That is why it is more profitable to do land-based aquaculture in cold-water regions (eg. Norway and China) rather than in the tropics, as the dissolved oxygen content in cold-water regions are very high, while the mineral contents tend to more balanced, and the biological load lower.
Thank Michael,
Not too worried about marketing at the moment as I'm just on an experimental stage and my produce is very minimal (most are not maturing yet). We have ready reseller requesting to buy as our farm is located in front of the access road to 4 more farms rclxms.gif Talk about location. We have buyers from the village market, town market and also buyers who buy and send down to Kota Kinabalu. Am also contacting buyers who claim to offer 'higher prices' but wants quality products for the Brunei market.
On the bath-tub pond, I shall re-work like building a roof to lower the water temperature, check if I can increase the water flow (free mountain water by gravity feed). Hopefully the shall also help on the temperature & the biological load. By the way, discussing this with you actually got me thinking that I could re-route the overflow water to run through the small slope of our Yam patch. Those Yam at the top of the slope is growing slower that those growing next to the creek. I think most probably due to water shortage. Also I could most probably increase the land size of the Yam patch to near the water run off. Work on this as soon as I'm back at the farm.

Added on July 29, 2011, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(amirbashah @ Jul 28 2011, 04:18 PM)
I did intercropping with the gaharu trees. It was due to the soil condition of my land plus I got conned by the people supplying the serai. I didnt plough the soil before planting the serai. The soil was really hard and water can't get through. Moreover the supplier promised he would come to my land once a month to fertilize the serai and for weeding. Unfortunately he only went there once or twice in 6 months. That's my sad story.

Is the serai market doing good now? During the time I started the project, the serai was oversupplied causing the price to drop.

I've received a lot of mix reaction regarding gaharu. Some say they can fetch a lot of money but some sceptics dont believe it will happen. Currently I have around 2000-3000 trees on my land. Not sure how many trees survived. I havent visit my land for a few months now and now my land is 'semak' already. rclxub.gif

As far as I know, Serai does not need much maintenance. We planted ours by just making a hole about 1X1 ft 6ft apart and planted a few strand 3 months ago. Did weeding twice and fertilize once. If I remember correctly when we planted, it was about $0.50 per kilo.

Better go check on the Gaharu, here we have people even stealing rubber trees clone. You'll need to do some maintenance otherwise weeds shall grow taller than the trees (vine type) and deprive the Gaharu of sun light. You have workers staying on site?

Added on July 29, 2011, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(chinyen @ Jul 29 2011, 09:37 AM)
amir, is serai lemongrass? even the price of the plant itself raised a lot. lemon grass drink is now spreading wide in the market...are they difficult to cultivate? how long is it from the harvest?hehe...i can google it but experience from you would be more useful i guess
Hi Chenyin, Yes Serai =Lemongrass. I didn't know that you can make drinks out of it. It's suppose to be easy to cultivate, with not much care required. Make a hole, plant 3 ~ 5 strands, water for the first week, harvest ~ 8 months latter. Keep some for replanting.
Say what sort of current market price are we looking at? smile.gif

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Jul 29 2011, 08:29 PM
chinyen
post Jul 30 2011, 08:37 AM

754 posts

yeap instant lemongrass drink now in market...i'v tasted before, not bad. good for health too. cosway is selling them, i guess other similar franchises are selling them too
Michael J.
post Jul 30 2011, 11:09 PM

596 posts

Mr Farmer:

Good idea to reroute it to the yam patch. Fish pond water is rather nutrient rich.
chinyen
post Aug 1 2011, 08:10 AM

754 posts

yam drink you mean? wonder how would it taste
kianwei8
post Aug 2 2011, 01:27 AM

163 posts

To Para :

Nutrient Deficiency Symptoms

This post has been edited by kianwei8: Aug 2 2011, 01:31 AM
kianwei8
post Aug 2 2011, 01:29 AM

163 posts

Para :

Nutrient Deficiency Symptoms

Michael J.
post Aug 2 2011, 08:22 AM

596 posts

Thanks, Kian Wei. Very good visual guide.

In relation to Para's photos, you can see that it matches the "disease" example.

Anyway, Kian Wei, are you still with Dow?
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 2 2011, 08:48 AM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

Kian Wei is with Twin Arrow Fertilizer

Added on August 2, 2011, 8:48 amthanks Kian Wei on the visual guide

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Aug 2 2011, 08:48 AM
Michael J.
post Aug 2 2011, 09:58 AM

596 posts

Ah, super.
amirbashah
post Aug 3 2011, 02:27 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jul 29 2011, 08:16 PM)
Thank Michael,
Not too worried about marketing at the moment as I'm just on an experimental stage and my produce is very minimal (most are not maturing yet). We have ready reseller requesting to buy as our farm is located in front of the access road to 4 more farms  rclxms.gif  Talk about location. We have buyers from the village market, town market and also buyers who buy and send down to Kota Kinabalu. Am also contacting buyers who claim to offer 'higher prices' but wants quality products for the Brunei market.
On the bath-tub pond, I shall re-work like building a roof to lower the water temperature, check if I can increase the water flow (free mountain water by gravity feed). Hopefully the shall also help on the temperature & the biological load. By the way, discussing this with you actually got me thinking that I could re-route the overflow water to run through the small slope of our Yam patch. Those Yam at the top of the slope is growing slower that those growing next to the creek. I think most probably due to water shortage. Also I could most probably increase the land size of the Yam patch to near the water run off. Work on this as soon as I'm back at the farm.

Added on July 29, 2011, 8:24 pm

As far as  I know, Serai does not need much maintenance. We planted ours by just making a hole about 1X1 ft 6ft apart and planted a few strand 3 months ago. Did weeding twice and fertilize once. If I remember correctly when we planted, it was about $0.50 per kilo.

Better go check on the Gaharu, here we have people even stealing rubber trees clone. You'll need to do some maintenance otherwise weeds shall grow taller than the trees (vine type) and deprive the Gaharu of sun light. You have workers staying on site?

Added on July 29, 2011, 8:29 pm
Hi Chenyin, Yes Serai =Lemongrass. I didn't know that you can make drinks out of it. It's suppose to be easy to cultivate, with not much care required. Make a hole, plant 3 ~ 5 strands, water for the first week, harvest ~ 8 months latter. Keep some for replanting.
Say what sort of current market price are we looking at?  smile.gif
It used to be RM2 per kilo. Can't believe the price drop to 50 cents per kilo. Unbelievable.

No I dont have any workers. I used to pay this Indonesian guy to do maintenance but decided not to hire him anymore because of the pay he demanded. Definitely have to do a lot of work or invest a lot of money to clear the land rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by amirbashah: Aug 3 2011, 02:33 PM
chinyen
post Aug 5 2011, 08:31 AM

754 posts

eh, the price dropped? i thought i rmb my mom complained the rise in price..i go check with her again

Added on August 8, 2011, 2:15 pmhaha...it's spring onion..not lemon grass..but s.onion's price has dropped now.

This post has been edited by chinyen: Aug 8 2011, 02:15 PM
kianwei8
post Aug 10 2011, 01:55 AM

163 posts

Para & Michael, you are Welcome !
have been long time unactive at this forum

ya ,i with Twin Arrow fertilizer now , busy here and there to serve Farmer tongue.gif
quackpack
post Aug 11 2011, 08:57 PM

327 posts

After quite sometime, finally manage to properly get stable output from my vermicompost. Now is to find people that are interested in vermicompost..

Also saw some talks on aquaculture, so started raring some soon hook. So far have no issue with water, just need to tackle on what to feed those lazy fish tongue.gif

MrFarmer
post Aug 13 2011, 08:10 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Aug 11 2011, 08:57 PM)
After quite sometime, finally manage to properly get stable output from my vermicompost. Now is to find people that are interested in vermicompost..

Also saw some talks on aquaculture, so started raring some soon hook. So far have no issue with water, just need to tackle on what to feed those lazy fish tongue.gif
Hi Quackpack, maybe can write a How To / Guide to vermicompost? It'll be useful for all of us.

Added on August 13, 2011, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(amirbashah @ Aug 3 2011, 02:27 PM)
It used to be RM2 per kilo. Can't believe the price drop to 50 cents per kilo. Unbelievable.

No I dont have any workers. I used to pay this Indonesian guy to do maintenance but decided not to hire him anymore because of the pay he demanded. Definitely have to do a lot of work or invest a lot of money to clear the land  rclxub.gif
Our Serai, after a couple of months, with no maintenance and no fertilizing, only some weeding.
Also just to share, Gaharu plant-lets, we have people selling for $4.00 per plant here, about 10" tall.

This post has been edited by MrFarmer: Aug 13 2011, 08:48 PM
chinyen
post Aug 15 2011, 10:37 PM

754 posts

hi...interested with vermicompost....with what do you feed them?

Added on August 15, 2011, 10:50 pmanyone here can enlighten me on gluten free flour in Malaysian market now?

This post has been edited by chinyen: Aug 15 2011, 10:50 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 16 2011, 06:27 AM

2,348 posts

hi chinyen,

sorry i missed your post earlier. i dont supply gluten free flour

i am distributing Fertilizers. if you would like to understand about them or maybe solve some of your problems if you are having a farm, please dont hesitate to PM me.

what are you planting right now at your farm ?

QUOTE(chinyen @ Aug 15 2011, 10:37 PM)
hi...interested with vermicompost....with what do you feed them?

Added on August 15, 2011, 10:50 pmanyone here can enlighten me on gluten free flour in Malaysian market now?
Giff
post Aug 17 2011, 03:44 PM

22 posts

anyones know the market price for earthworm, cricket and breadworm??
Zoxoque
post Aug 17 2011, 04:42 PM

227 posts

pertanian = perniagaan = $$$
plan to do some agriculture business, planting / breeding fish in 1-2 years ahead
TSParaOpticaL
post Aug 18 2011, 03:48 PM

2,348 posts

Trial Farm

JackFruit Farm @ Batang Benar.

New leaf size are bigger as compared to the older leaves as vouched by the caretaker and the Jab. Pertanian Officer

The 'tangkai' of the new fruits are thicker on this tree when compared to those that were not using the product

119 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:48 PM