Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

rexis
post Apr 3 2008, 02:09 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

Perhaps we should look into controlling the vermi diet for the purpose of getting a more well balanced worm compost nutrient.

Like feeding them bone meal for P, if for K... whats is for K?

Or perhaps simply mix them into the vermicompost.

Or just use vermicompost as soil improvement
Michael J.
post Apr 3 2008, 02:40 PM

596 posts

Mmm... Then the vermicompost will become a fortified fertilizer, and not organic fertilizer anymore.

Bro, you've brought up a very good thought: Control the diet of the worms. I agree with you on this point fully. Hmm... Nitrogen will be available throught the breakdown of the manure. Animal bone meal (fowl/mammalian) should add phosphorus, but do note that phosphorus in bone meal can be easily converted to excitable phosphoregen (gasous phosphor) - hence why sometimes you see green glowing lights at graveyards. Potassium is a big problem now.... rock phosphate had always been a major source of potassium. Guano is next important source. Other than that, bunch ash lor.... or you may like to use fish meal instead.

Added on April 3, 2008, 2:43 pmWell, if we want to add worm castings to soil, might as well we just breed the worms and add THEM directly to the soil. Unless if the original soil condition is not suitable at all for worms to live in lar.. then no choice.

This post has been edited by Michael J.: Apr 3 2008, 02:43 PM
mIssfROGY
post Apr 3 2008, 03:44 PM

2,155 posts

hmmm..when we arrive what do we do ark? Got table reserved or sit at some table 1st? Sorry didnt follow this thread closely. Para Para....need your Hp biggrin.gif Shd we all wear the same colour (green for agri) ?? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 3 2008, 05:24 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Apr 3 2008, 03:44 PM)
hmmm..when we arrive what do we do ark? Got table reserved or sit at some table 1st? Sorry didnt follow this thread closely. Para Para....need your Hp biggrin.gif Shd we all wear the same colour (green for agri) ?? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
when reach look around and you will see us...haha

no table reserved but if i reach early i will go get a table for 10

i sms you my no.

any colour shirt can... biggrin.gif
rexis
post Apr 3 2008, 05:35 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Apr 3 2008, 03:44 PM)
Froggy color ehh... later go nando see everyone wear green then how.

Must use something unique, like everyone put a frog on head.

Para, should really figure something out la, I suggest put a notice outside, sth like

Agri Gathering --> Table ##

and inform the counter if anyone come ask about Agri Gathering, they will point them to para.

----

Anyhow just in case, I will bring lots of AgriWorld Magazine and lay them out on table. Should you notice any table with lots(I will make sure its visible from far) of magazine cover with colorful fruits, crops, flowers, etc, that should be the one.
mIssfROGY
post Apr 3 2008, 06:34 PM

2,155 posts

OHhh okies...find for a table with lotsa mags biggrin.gif
Para u got my hp no ark? Dunno isit the same no i gave u last time? Coz hor...i lost my old phone...forgot if i gave u my new or old no tongue.gif Maybe PM me better.

ehz..am i the only gal ark?? Gulp! Btw...i got 1 fella joining smile.gif
ROTiJOHN
post Apr 3 2008, 07:30 PM

www.malaysiamilitarytag.com
937 posts

woot all brothers, i think i cant make it to mid valley edi, got things do..alamak..if you guys coming down melaka do let me know ok?we can discuss vermicompost also..cheers..
kianwei8
post Apr 3 2008, 08:40 PM

163 posts

haha, so what language we wil use? mandarin?manglish?dialect?

cause maybe bring another fres go

This post has been edited by kianwei8: Apr 3 2008, 09:32 PM
Michael J.
post Apr 3 2008, 10:04 PM

596 posts

Haaah... I may also be bringing a property expert along with me. May give some good ideas and advice about land for agri.
ROTiJOHN
post Apr 3 2008, 11:16 PM

937 posts

hahaha, you guys discuss with wat language?chinese?i am not good in english tho
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 4 2008, 08:33 AM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

hopefully we will discuss in English.

as for the seat no worries.

i will be there early like 7.00 - 7.15pm then i will go get a table for 10
i will sms those attending when i get the seat.

so no worries
rexis
post Apr 4 2008, 09:03 AM

3,590 posts

Basically english with a bit of cantonese finishing is the primary language laugh.gif

Oooo... property expert, we really need this kind of expertise, cant simply occupy land mah.

I have a friend with me too, hes just another plain office worker like myself with an outgoing will tongue.gif

Added on April 4, 2008, 10:53 am
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Apr 2 2008, 02:38 PM)
mmm.... interesting... looks like a viable venture, but how good is the market lei? I know castings are used in high value ornamentals as potting media (because "soils" cannot be exported; nothing said about earthworm poop). Frankly speaking, I have not seen earthworm castings being sold on an as-is basis lor.... only one company that is well know is Vermicast, yet they too have limited local volume. Most goes for organic crop and ornamentals.

It'd be nice to explore this avenue.
While "soils" cannot be exported, "sand" can be exported to singapore for them to make more land? Or they imported from somewhere else?

Not too sure about exporting, but i am pretty sure that we can Import "dungs" laugh.gif , theres a local mushroom planter(mat salleh come to invest in Malaysia) who importing tons of horse manure monthly from Holland to plant button mushroom.

Worm casting sure need more scientific explore as well rather then all those DIY at home product. Currently the worm casting market very home grown, nearly no technology involved.

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Apr 3 2008, 02:40 PM)
Mmm... Then the vermicompost will become a fortified fertilizer, and not organic fertilizer anymore.

Bro, you've brought up a very good thought: Control the diet of the worms. I agree with you on this point fully. Hmm... Nitrogen will be available throught the breakdown of the manure. Animal bone meal (fowl/mammalian) should add phosphorus, but do note that phosphorus in bone meal can be easily converted to excitable phosphoregen (gasous phosphor) - hence why sometimes you see green glowing lights at graveyards. Potassium is a big problem now.... rock phosphate had always been a major source of potassium. Guano is next important source. Other than that, bunch ash lor.... or you may like to use fish meal instead.

Added on April 3, 2008, 2:43 pmWell, if we want to add worm castings to soil, might as well we just breed the worms and add THEM directly to the soil. Unless if the original soil condition is not suitable at all for worms to live in lar.. then no choice.
So your worm condo will have night lightings, haha.

Ooo, basically vermiculture enable you to have both worm and worm casting, both are marketable. Just like you can buy compost as well as compost bacteria.

Apply worm compost you get faster effect, apply worms... they need time to settle down and might all die off to produce some quick and expensive N biggrin.gif

(BTW, wahh para, 7-7.15pm u also consider urself early ahh, the appointment is 7pm biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by rexis: Apr 4 2008, 01:58 PM
Michael J.
post Apr 4 2008, 01:58 PM

596 posts

Hey all.... i'm afraid I can't make it after all... An emergency has arisen and I've to rush home to Sepang... Seems like things just keep crashing around me.
mgengan
post Apr 4 2008, 02:11 PM

looking forward to meeting you guys.
SUSvkeong
post Apr 4 2008, 02:27 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

Guys I am interested in the earthworm breeding mentioned by Rexis

Anywhere I can get hold of more information? Thanks!

** OK rexis gave me the link, thanks!!

This post has been edited by vkeong: Apr 4 2008, 02:31 PM
rexis
post Apr 4 2008, 02:37 PM

3,590 posts

Welcome vkeong.

Hey guys, look at how informative our new friend is:

Kopi Luwak LYN Post

It is the most expensive coffee in the world, CSI Las Vegas mentioned in(the killer drink this rare kopi), the 2nd most expensive is Blue Mountain coffee.

And according to MJ, we got parrot coffee too, work like kopi luwak, but just thru parrot only laugh.gif

Unbelievable? Believe it.

(Thanks for the "raw" kopi luwak pic thumbup.gif )

This post has been edited by rexis: Apr 4 2008, 02:39 PM
SUSvkeong
post Apr 4 2008, 02:42 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

Heh thanks for the welcome.. After looking at the information so far, I am really interested to start something now.. the cost is low and so are the requirements..

Now I only need to find a place to do it, I doubt my housemate will let me do rear worms in the apartment lol
rexis
post Apr 4 2008, 02:46 PM

3,590 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 4 2008, 02:42 PM)
Heh thanks for the welcome.. After looking at the information so far, I am really interested to start something now.. the cost is low and so are the requirements..

Now I only need to find a place to do it, I doubt my housemate will let me do rear worms in the apartment lol
LMAO, i doubt people will rent a room to me once they find out their "housemates" are actually a gang of worms.

Rear it as pet, the expand. Sound easy, but unproven market. Potential from zero to space.
ROTiJOHN
post Apr 4 2008, 06:44 PM

937 posts

rexis you know anyone selling land in Melaka?might as well wan to get myself a land..

This post has been edited by ROTiJOHN: Apr 4 2008, 06:45 PM
Dyong
post Apr 4 2008, 06:50 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Apr 4 2008, 02:37 PM)
Welcome vkeong.

Hey guys, look at how informative our new friend is:

Kopi Luwak LYN Post

It is the most expensive coffee in the world, CSI Las Vegas mentioned in(the killer drink this rare kopi), the 2nd most expensive is Blue Mountain coffee.

And according to MJ, we got parrot coffee too, work like kopi luwak, but just thru parrot only  laugh.gif

Unbelievable? Believe it.

(Thanks for the "raw" kopi luwak pic thumbup.gif )
I heard about the premium coffee.
Yet to have a chance to lay my hands and sniff them... hohoho.

Keep the thread alive, I do believe there's a future in agriculture.
Both economically and socially.

119 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:03 AM