Travel Travel to Japan V9, Please Read Page 1 before you post

MR_alien
post Sep 19 2016, 10:12 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

Dec 12 – Arrived At Tokyo midnight, proceed to Airbnb
Dec 13 – Harajuku(Yoyogi park, Meiji Shrine Takeshita Dori + Omotesando Street), Shibuya(Hachiko, Shibuya crossing)
Dec 14 – Hakone
Dec 15 – Disney Sea
Dec 16 – Tsukiji Fish Market, Ginza, Roppongi
Dec 17 – Asakusa, Sensoji Temple. Nakemise Street, Ueno park, Ameyoko Shopping, Akihabara, Tokyo Skytree, sumida park
Dec 18 – Tokyo. Imperial Palace East Garden, Akihabara, Odaiba,
Dec 19 – Shimokitazawa, Shin okubo, Ikebukuro,
Dec 20 – Shinjuku, nakano???, sugamo for ramen(if have enough luck)???

need opinion
since sinjuku is taken out from the 2nd day
which day can i slot the "robot restaurant" in?
what time roughly i can reach shinjuku after done the hakone round trip?
i know disney sea surely cannot since disneysea closes at 10PM, finale also 8PM

another question is, is it possible from the maihama station to disney sea?
because hyperdia ask me to take disney resort line, while google maps ask me to walk laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Sep 19 2016, 10:17 AM
adix4
post Sep 19 2016, 10:17 AM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

Any ideas where I can do a short term rental for wheelchair?

can I borrow one from JR Station and bring it elsewhere for a while and return it back

eg: borrow from Miyajima Guchi station, bring jalan jalan to Miyajima and return it back

travelling with an elderly who can walk, but not really long distance

anyways my itinerary will be

p/s: for short distance eg: from train station to osaka castle, from nijo to nishiki market everything will be by Taxi

This post has been edited by adix4: Sep 19 2016, 10:53 AM
look416
post Sep 19 2016, 11:09 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 19 2016, 10:17 AM)
Any ideas where I can do a short term rental for wheelchair?

can I borrow one from JR Station and bring it elsewhere for a while and return it back

eg: borrow from Miyajima Guchi station, bring jalan jalan to Miyajima and return it back

travelling with an elderly who can walk, but not really long distance

anyways my itinerary will be

p/s: for short distance eg: from train station to osaka castle, from nijo to nishiki market everything will be by Taxi

take out hiroshima and himeji itself. Both place doesnt worth it if you are just going there for one day trip, especially you have elderly who cant really walk for long hours.
spend more days in kyoto and osaka itself is better.
More places that you can go like: kiyomizu, parks, and even temples.
Spend like 3/4 days in kyoto and then rest in Osaka. Plan your stay in Kyoto as well since the train from osaka to kyoto usually takes around 1 hour.
Make sure to take account into your shopping day as well. Shopping usually can just take away your half day or even whole day itself.
Felice821
post Sep 19 2016, 11:10 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(Lingthau @ Sep 18 2016, 02:15 PM)
Travelling to Kansai or Tokyo?
Kansai (Kyoto + Osaka) only. 10D9N.

Itinerary also belum plan. Just sorted out AirBnB yesterday.

This post has been edited by Felice821: Sep 19 2016, 11:11 AM
TSRegentCid
post Sep 19 2016, 11:26 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Sep 18 2016, 10:45 PM)
Would it be better if I were to take out Furano/Biei and change it to Sounkyo instead?
I'm not too sure is it a good idea to visit Furano/Biei around October as its way past the Lavender season. Not many people wrote guides for autumn season for both places.
I didn't told you take out Furano/Biei means it worth to go.
Most of those blog guide writer also been Hokkaido once or twice only.....they also dunno anything...Hokkaido it self I already been there 57 times. Enough to beat any one here to Japan record.

I told you to take out Jozankei because this place was very small and not worth to spend whole day here plus Sounkyo Autumn scenic view are 5 times more prettier than Jozankei too.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 19 2016, 11:26 AM
adix4
post Sep 19 2016, 11:47 AM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Sep 19 2016, 11:09 AM)
take out hiroshima and himeji itself. Both place doesnt worth it if you are just going there for one day trip, especially you have elderly who cant really walk for long hours.
spend more days in kyoto and osaka itself is better.
More places that you can go like: kiyomizu, parks, and even temples.
Spend like 3/4 days in kyoto and then rest in Osaka. Plan your stay in Kyoto as well since the train from osaka to kyoto usually takes around 1 hour.
Make sure to take account into your shopping day as well. Shopping usually can just take away your half day or even whole day itself.
Hallo, this is my second Kansai trip icon_rolleyes.gif

staying in shin osaka and planning to buy the kansai hiroshima pass or kansai wide area pass because im staying at shin osaka so no problem

going to use taxi also for short distance for them to be tired

I've read a few reviews on Himeji, lots of people said that just go there and take pics there sweat.gif sweat.gif

the interior is not worth it unless you're an architectural freak as many of the exhibits is at the museum or a replica already

most probably now i am going to Kurashiki and Kobe on the Himeji day. Himeji for pictures purposes only.

so newest plan

This post has been edited by adix4: Sep 19 2016, 03:54 PM
RaptoR
post Sep 19 2016, 06:33 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Sep 19 2016, 03:46 AM)
I'm thinking should I slot in the Universal Studio Japan or not..
If to choose between USJ and Disneyland which is more preferable? (Just wondering)

I'm bringing my mum to Japan tho.. and she's 5x

Anywhere is recommended for senior citizens? smile.gif I hope my mum would enjoy this trip.

It's a 11 days 10 nights trip.. Gonna start planning now! Already bought my air ticket, but I'm wondering would it be better if I were to follow tour instead of planning the trip myself since I'm bringing my mum for travel?
USJ is very much suited for teenagers and adults, rides are very very enjoyable! Not too sure if an elderly person will enjoy as they will probably just
spend time walking around and admiring the props and relax.

Tip - plan ahead, buy tickets online with a help of someone who can read japanese or do some googling, you can actually buy it yourself. Get express pass
especially if you're a fan of roller coaster (their flying dinasaur is one of its kind ride, you're facing downwards). Go early, make sure you have google maps to take the train and reach there early. (before 8.30 if you can) Then, get on the long queue ride first. And leave late at night, to enjoy the night parade. I covered USJ in 1 day and took easily 10 rides biggrin.gif Flying dinasaur, spider man, harry potter, jaws, jurassic park, back to the future etc, some even managed to sit twice since evening certain rides less queue as well!

There's a website that checks the queue time, (search for USJ wait time) it's definitely very helpful and you can see the peak hours waiting time.

Hope this helps.
look416
post Sep 19 2016, 09:20 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 19 2016, 11:47 AM)
Hallo, this is my second Kansai trip  icon_rolleyes.gif

staying in shin osaka and planning to buy the kansai hiroshima pass or kansai wide area pass because im staying at shin osaka so no problem

going to use taxi also for short distance for them to be tired

I've read a few reviews on Himeji, lots of people said that just go there and take pics there  sweat.gif  sweat.gif 

the interior is not worth it unless you're an architectural freak as many of the exhibits is at the museum or a replica already

most probably now i am going to Kurashiki and Kobe on the Himeji day. Himeji for pictures purposes only.

so newest plan

hmm.gif
V2 works better, cause your v1 will cause too much fatigue around D3 and D4. Traveling in train, especially in long hours will cause a lot of fatigue.
But your V2 D4 is abit funny, 2pm you go to Kyoto, take account of your bus and train, it will cause you around 1.5 hours to reach there. so you will only left with 30 minutes for kiyomizu dera. Better go there directly if you insist on visiting kiyomizu dera, or even better that you move the plan to D5. Save your time for shopping in dotunburi and shinsaibashi, or even go for observatory to see sunset.
One thing to mention, dont ignore the fatigue you can get for long hours travel. I assume everyone will be very tired for the D3 trip, so you have to make it to be relaxing for the next day.

Loongy22
post Sep 19 2016, 11:16 PM

316 posts

Any idea where I might find kaki for a Comiket trip?
ntdote
post Sep 19 2016, 11:32 PM

324 posts

Are designer labels ie. Lv, prada etc cheaper at japan compared to malaysia? Equivalent to europe?
popcorn513
post Sep 19 2016, 11:52 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(Loongy22 @ Sep 19 2016, 11:16 PM)
Any idea where I might find kaki for a Comiket trip?
Anime shrine
工藤新一
post Sep 20 2016, 12:08 AM

472 posts

Hi all,
I'm going Japan at 5-13 Dec.
Now planning
5-11 Osaka, Kobe, Kyoto
11-13 Tokyo

But now suddenly think of going Shirakawa-go, but don't know how to plan the trip.
is it better that I stay at Shirakawa-go on 10 Dec, then go Tokyo ok 11 Dec from Kanazawa?
stephankaan
post Sep 20 2016, 09:45 AM

138 posts

is it a good time to visit tokyo end january to february?
TSRegentCid
post Sep 20 2016, 11:25 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(stephankaan @ Sep 20 2016, 08:45 AM)
is it a good time to visit tokyo end january to february?
Japan 365 Days also good to go.
End of January to Feb are extremely cold

SUPERBGEEK
post Sep 20 2016, 06:02 PM

44 posts

Noob question:
1) I have booked 10 nights in Osaka in Airbnb, so, I am planning to spend a day in himeji and kobe , 2 days in Kyoto and 1 day in Nara. What will be the cheapest transportation this way? Osaka is my base, so I need to travel to the cities everyday, and the remaining time will be spent in Osaka. Suggestions are welcomed. Any day trips which are interesting and worth to go?

2)Equipped with a 2 day Osaka Amazing pass and universal studio tickets, I am planning to stay 5 days in Osaka, a little too much? Or less?

My itinerary:
Day 1: Arrive at Kansai Airport. Take a bus to my apartment. Do some shopping
Day 2: Use my Osaka Amazing Pass
Day 3: Use my Osaka Amazing Pass
Day 4: Go Universal Studio
Day 5: Kyoto
Day 6: Kyoto
Day 7: Himeji and Kobe
Day 8: Nara
Day 9: Not Sure
Day 10: Not sure
Day 11: Half day at Osaka, shopping.

2 days are free, any suggestions. Thanks rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by SUPERBGEEK: Sep 20 2016, 06:13 PM
Tally33
post Sep 20 2016, 06:07 PM

106 posts

Just realised that Sapporo to Abashiri & Sapporo to Obihiro/Kushiro trains suspended, so i have to cancel my plan to Asahikawa, Sounkyo and furano & biei? sad.gif
shortleg88
post Sep 20 2016, 06:12 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(SUPERBGEEK @ Sep 20 2016, 06:02 PM)
Noob question:
1) I have booked 10 nights in Osaka in Airbnb, so, I am planning to spend a day in himeji, 2 days in Kyoto, 1 day in Kyoto and 1 day in Nara. What will be the cheapest transportation this way? Osaka is my base, so I need to travel to the cities everyday, and the remaining time will be spent in Osaka. Suggestions are welcomed. Any day trips which are interesting and worth to go?

2)Equipped with a 2 day Osaka Amazing pass and universal studio tickets, I am planning to stay 5 days in Osaka, a little too much? Or less?

Thanks rclxms.gif
1. Look for Kansai Thru Pass, best pass in this area. Perhaps 1 3-days pass and another 1 2-days pass.

2. Osaka 5 days might be a bit too much. But depends on preference also, Kyoto is more towards scenary and shrine visit which might be boring to some.
SUPERBGEEK
post Sep 20 2016, 06:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Sep 20 2016, 06:12 PM)
1. Look for Kansai Thru Pass, best pass in this area. Perhaps 1 3-days pass and another 1 2-days pass.

2. Osaka 5 days might be a bit too much. But depends on preference also, Kyoto is more towards scenary and shrine visit which might be boring to some.
I used hyperdia and came to a conclusion that Kansai Thru Pass doesn't makes money worth, or very hard to use the pass up to its value. Maybe I will buy a day for Himeji and Kobe. Thanks anyway.

3 days must be spent in Osaka, as I bought a 2 day Osaka Amazing Pass and one day will be distributed towards Universal Studio.

Thanks anyway biggrin.gif
lucaswjk
post Sep 20 2016, 08:28 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 19 2016, 11:26 AM)
I didn't told you take out Furano/Biei means it worth to go.
Most of those blog guide writer also been Hokkaido once or twice only.....they also dunno anything...Hokkaido it self I already been there 57 times.  Enough to beat any one here to Japan record.
I told you to take out Jozankei because this place was very small and not worth to spend whole day here plus Sounkyo Autumn scenic view are 5 times more prettier than Jozankei too.
yup sounkyo wub.gif my fav place in whole hokkaido

fyi sounkyo autumn foliage is very hard to catch (the mountain range is very wide) and very far from asahikawa sweat.gif
the time i go there, i believe the leaf oni convert max 60-90% (depend on area)

and jozankei autumn foliage it very beautiful also
has it own specialty... it is recommended to go coz it is very near to sapporo

i been to both place, if got time better go both place

disclaimer: im not flower guy... more like scenery guy
furano to me is just so so
deodorant
post Sep 20 2016, 11:26 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Hoheikyou dam @ Jozankei damn nice also leh.

Maybe it's cos I go wrong place in Sounkyou. But to me Hoheikyou better lol.

Jozankei

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.1028sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:54 AM