QUOTE(pai3355 @ Apr 14 2017, 02:33 PM)
MI did sell Tribeca in Singapore, but in very very very limited units only. Can still see Tribeca on road from time to time.LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG
LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG
Apr 16 2017, 08:42 AM
2,236 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BB Bangi |
Apr 16 2017, 08:44 AM
Apr 17 2017, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(lkoky @ Apr 17 2017, 09:29 AM) ya, safety was one of my prime concern. Forester got side airbag, while XV dont. The reason given by the sale was Forester has higher gravity, so higher chance of roll-over. that, is a prime example of bs from salesman...XV, like it's predecessor and models that came before it, were all designed to fit 7 airbags, and they exists as fully equipped model in other market. it's all down to cost, and how competitive MI want to be. Eg: XV in singapore (also under MI) is only available with the 1.6l engine, but comes with 7 airbag.. MI is trying to get a slice of pie in malaysia's SUV market, hence the aggressive pricing and high equipment levels in forester. In Malaysia market, the fact is forester offer better value for your money because of what MI is trying to achieve. This post has been edited by kevin613: Apr 17 2017, 10:32 AM |
Apr 17 2017, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(ejfong @ Apr 17 2017, 10:35 AM) true that! dollar/car more value than xv, but then again it boils down to what wifey prefers no? get her to test drive BOTH > < yes of course, outside of stating the facts, the rest all boils down to personal preference...i'm just trying to point out the BS from sales.. not saying XV is a bad car, but it's dated, and the replacement model has already been introduced. the "new car" feeling will be gone as soon as the new model is here.. of course, then there'll be argument about being test rat for new platform new model..LOL so, just buy what you're happy with. |
Apr 26 2017, 01:16 PM
New shoes for my ride...
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 27 2017, 07:10 PM
Apr 27 2017, 08:15 PM
Apr 28 2017, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 28 2017, 12:00 PM) Not for this year for sure. The 2017 is still the same as 2016. Only XV different, not just minor plastic facelift I was told by the salesman. So, heavy discount on 2016 would be great the way I see it Xv will be a generation different. The latest xv already launched in US, based in the latest impreza. |
May 3 2017, 10:15 AM
May 3 2017, 10:22 AM
installed Carbing Alu front struts bar with master cylinder stopper over the weekend.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « feeling some vibrations on my 3 pedals now, not sure if they comes from road via the suspension->strutsbar->master cylinder->pedals, or if it comes from the rubbing of master cylinder stopper with the intake hose. hoping the vibrations can be solved by trial and error.. |
May 8 2017, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(Kinoseng @ May 8 2017, 06:41 PM) Other models u mention i did considered but at the end shorlisted HRV and XV. XV 2.0iS is exactly almost similar as the crosstrek from wad the SA said. He said only name changes. But wad thy offer is the Crosstrek version. Maybe there is still stock left. HRV i did test drive before but nth special abt it from wad i felt. Going to test drive the XV soon 155k??? I am not in hurry to buy a new car as I have spare car now. Jz planning to change a small hatchback to compact Crossover. The Subaru SA estimate the new XV should be around rm155k. I nt sure how real it is but for sure it wont have much rebate compare to the current XV whn launching. I am interested with the XV also due to its rebate now and of cz its famous driving experience. Haha. For XV 2.0iS and STI version,my SA said thy are nt getting any rebate info from the HQ so thy only know the original price. Quite weird. Haha. So far wad thy can offer are the 2.0i, 2.0ip and the Crosstrek variant. my gut feeling is, impossibru... if new XV really 155k, then subaru can really close shop in malaysia like someone hoped liao... if new XV 155k, then how much will they have to price the forester? XV price cannot be higher than forester lah.. |
May 9 2017, 09:45 AM
May 9 2017, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(attw @ May 9 2017, 11:21 PM) Big difference. The XV is a B-segment SUV (think Honda HRV, Mazda CX3, Mitsubishi ASX) and the Forester is a C-segment SUV (Mazda CX5, Honda CRV, Nissan XTrail). The obvious difference is the size. Do you need more space or is space not a consideration? The other difference, as you mentioned, is the looks. The XV looks sportier and younger where else the Forester is more boxy and some people find it a little bit "uncle-ish". But this is obviously subjective as beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Also, as you observed, the Forester 2.0iP has more bells and whistles than it's XV counterpart but they both have Subaru's Boxer Engine and Symmetrical AWD, so in terms of the fundamentals, they're quite close. The Forester is bigger and heavier, so naturally it will consume for fuel, but it's not worse than most SUVs in it's class (don't compare it with mid-size sedans, of course). The xv, put simply, is just a jacked up Impreza hatchback(exact body panels with additional plastic trims, and dimensions except the height), it's not really designed to be an SUV, but more of a crossover. And it's actually a c-segment hatchback(similar to the likes of Ford focus hatchback /suprima S/Mazda 3 hatchback), not b-segment as claimed.So, yeah, go test drive both and see which suits your needs more. Cheers! |
May 12 2017, 09:39 AM
May 12 2017, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Beebeej @ May 12 2017, 02:30 PM) Oh each drive is fantastic ! Esp when you're at the traffic stop once the light turns green ...whoosh.....you're way ahead 😀 new forester no scoop though... LOLFew times when overtaking 4 to 5 long trailers and with two saloons in front tagging along..... haizzz it's a pain in the ass esp in trunk road...well even before the saloon in front get to see what's ahead you're already half way passed those lorries 😁😁 Yes overtaking is like a breeze best of all you feel so confident and less danger too !! Now I am worried the next new car for me would a new turbo Forrester.... Why?...because pockets not deep enough ...😬 |
May 12 2017, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(^pomen_GTR^ @ May 12 2017, 12:42 PM) high 5 bro... nope... current gen XV is actually one generation ahead of v10, and no longer uses EJ..mine is 99 SF5 definately...plus with lower stance..ppl call it wagon instead of CUV/SUV for what it was designed for in the first place.... yeah...it is wrx with different tune and look.... but Subaru is really LEGO car.... this part fit that car/model and interchangeable depend on model year and chassis base.... for current gen XV and forester is sharing platform with impreza ver.10 onwards and legacy BE5 model if not mistaken...means everything from under the bonnet all the way to under the floor till rear of the car is interchangeable.... but some or most of them need full swap..it wont work if just 1 small part swap.... atleast major component like suspension stuff is plug n play i'm driving a v10 sedan.. |
May 21 2017, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(katz79 @ May 20 2017, 10:53 PM) i've been their customer since 2008 when they are working at auto genesis. from ice to engine pnp mod done at my previous car. price is not the cheapest but it worth with the workmanship. u can pm(fb) them for more info +1 for EA autoworks, had my viper security installed by them. Price is definitely not the cheapest, but the workmanship is excellent. you get what you paid for. |
May 25 2017, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(metalfire @ May 24 2017, 10:43 PM) http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/2-in...sle?xtor=CS1-10 another takeaway from this, subaru is really tough...Subaru AWD will not help you if you drive like a mad fella. Caution to all while traveling during rainy days. at the speed that it crashes, the front door can still be opened, and the window is still intact eventhough it's frameless. |
May 25 2017, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(Haru16 @ May 25 2017, 05:35 PM) yeah, just edited, LOL. newbie in this thread any links from pauline tan will automatically be censored...<a href='http://<link removed>/2017/05/22/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-april-2017-by-brand/' target='_blank'>Paul Tan</a> https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3495227/all This post has been edited by kevin613: May 25 2017, 05:48 PM |
May 29 2017, 03:11 PM
had chance to sit in the 2017 impreza during a roadshow @ vivocity yesterday.
Fit and finish feels premium, and is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous gen XV/Impreza. it feels really upmarket now. but the headrooms seems to be sacrificed for the sloping roofline. when i took the rear seat, there's only 2 finger gap left between my head and the roof. Another possibility of the bad headroom could be due to the unit i sat in comes with sunroof, so maybe the roofliner is lower to accomodate for the sunroof. |
| Change to: | 0.7570sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:29 AM |