What is the price difference compared to previous gen Impreza?
no point asking about the price difference in SG... it's determined by the COE at the time of purchase. which explains why 2G impreza is the most common on road in SG(cheap COE years), 3G impreza hatchback is also common, but sedan is much lesser cause it was introduced a year or 2 later(started selling around 20k COE, then gradually increase to 70k COE within 3 years), and 4G impreza is super rare(70-90k COE). and now MI launched the 5G impreza(current COE is around 50k), sales is not bad compared to 4G, as i can see it quite frequently on road now..
3G is the last manual Impreza that MI brought in... unless COE takes a dip, i dont foresee MI bringing in more variants... even the Levorg also limited to 1.6T only.
well, to be fair, MI is not the only one cutting down on the variants.. during the good old days of cheap COEs, one can choose to have manual Civic FD2/LancerGT/ImprezaRS. Now all comes in auto, and the Lancer is futher reduced to 1.5l only..
This post has been edited by kevin613: May 29 2017, 04:59 PM
In general I would say none is better than the other especially the branded one. Most of them basically same technology. The tint uses: 1) Dye 2) Carbon 3) Metallic 4) Ceramic
Like many ceramic based tint the warranty is at least 10 years but this company gives 15 years! However, be aware that this might be just marketing gimmick. I bet it is non-transferable and it is unlikely that the vehicle will have the same owner after 7~10 years
the bigger question mark is whether the company still around or not after 7~10 years... it's not uncommon for this kinda company to close down, change name, and start afresh offering another batch of customer 20years warranty...
any chance All New Subaru Forester be coming out after the XV? > <
It's definitely on the cards... But not anytime soon I guess. When it happens it'll most probably be launched in US first, same like the all new XV, which was launched in US early this year.
Anyway kudos for the active torque vectoring, previously only available on WRX, STI & Levorg now going down to our normal Xv range also. Still i would want Subaru Malaysia to give us an option for the eyesight technology.. More and more competitors are bringing in to compete, which include latest Honda CRV sensing technology...
like i mentioned long time ago, the active torque vectoring in XV/Impreza are brake-based. It's a clever technique to make the car turns better without complicated mechanism in gearbox and power transfer, but it remains to be seen if there would be any brake wear issues.. it's basically a double edge sword, it cuts both way..
dont bother with performance filter.... the stock oem filter and box is more than capable of higher power rating....
heck even the wrx/sti stock airbox supporting up to 360-400hp air flow.... if u guys wants power, then XT model is the correct way... but, upgrading the antiroll bar for forester and xv is the good beginner handling upgrade.....
already upgraded the rear arb to stock 2015 sti spec (Part Number: 20451VA000) since Dec last year when i change out all the rubber bushings.. then got a good deal on a set of 17" prodrive GC-07J, and Carbing Alu front struts with brake stopper earlier this year, and recently added a Grimspeed lightened crank pulley..
next up, eyeing a set of subaru red 4p/2p or brembo gold 4p/2p...
i'm lovin it..
This post has been edited by kevin613: Jul 3 2017, 12:52 PM
do u know how much is it? i guess my first mod to my fozzy is to change a better brake
no idea for brand new price.. in SG, used red set typically goes for S$350-500 depending on condition and what is included. brembo gold typically cost around S$900-1200 depending on condition.
my understanding is the front caliper and rotor is plug and play for most subaru model, but the rear will need a specially fabricated bracket to fit. maybe other sifu can share info on this.
also, dont forget to make sure your rims has enough clearance... stock rims i think wont clear brembos..
This post has been edited by kevin613: Jul 3 2017, 05:00 PM
here's a good video on the various kind of AWD systems currently used in Subaru's lineup. not all AWD are built the same, and there's a reason why the real STi (Not the bodykit dress-up variants of XV/Forester) costs so much more over the other models..
If anyone provide service... but I don't think there is any service provided. There was talk before to provide this traffic service but I guess they see no customer when Google is providing for free.
which is why i never bother to use those built in maps in HU. Map with live traffic data is way more useful than a map that doesn't optimize your route for you. i've automated my phone to launch google maps, set destination, set max brightness and media volume. so all i need to do when i get into my car is just to mount my phone on the wireless charging dock, and i can start to drive without doing anything else.
This post has been edited by kevin613: Jul 7 2017, 11:50 AM
Last time I tried Google live traffic and it was during festive season. Already night I checked the highway showed RED, means crawling. I can't wait any longer and so I just take my chance. To my surprised, the highway was cleared and I can drive even max speed
The Garmin will just log historical speed and so most of the offline apps in Malaysia because no service provided.
there are undeniable errors with the live traffic data, but based on my daily usage, the chances of error are extremely low.. i've took my chances by not following a couple of times, as google map tried to divert me from my usual route, and i ended up in massive jam.. immediate regret as the jam started just right after i passed the exit it asked me to go...
Thks. Just afraid Subaru car will be like drop half value in two years time, similar to those EUR brand except BMW n Merz. The rear seem spring is stiff and shock absorber not matching to it. Any aftermarket shock already for Forester.
are you looking for more comfort or better handling? if you want comfort, then stock shocks are the best for comfort already.. coilovers will only make matters worse..