LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V9, Zoom-Zoom w/ Kodo

mr.steven65
post Aug 16 2016, 09:20 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Aug 16 2016, 09:10 PM)
Worthwhile features - HID headlights, auto cruise, smart city brake, blind spot monitoring, adaptive headlights, keyless entry, auto dimming mirror

Not so important - auto wiper, auto headlights on, auto climate control, auto high beam control, power adjustable seats, lane departure warning, DRL, LED tail lights, better looking control knobs, navigation, paddle shifts

Driver preference - 18" rims and Toyo performance tyres instead of 16" rims and Toyo tyres.

Common features - leather seats, 6 airbags, reverse camera, bluetooth telephony, infotainment display, push start, ABS, EDB, BA, DSC

Well, you decide whether it is worth RM15K or not.

My personal view:

This is why I brought GL version 1 month ago don't need pay 15k extra Accesories
lucifal
post Aug 16 2016, 10:57 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(LionMY @ Aug 16 2016, 11:47 AM)
Noted with thanks.  Looking at year end sales for more discount then.
Good luck on it. Mazda is popular for not having any year end sales. Max you might get is another 1-2k discount which will be available only after Jan 2017.

ZaiZai1989
post Aug 16 2016, 11:16 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(mr.steven65 @ Aug 16 2016, 09:20 PM)
This is why I brought GL version 1 month ago don't need pay 15k extra Accesories
drool.gif drool.gif
thats why i also bought GL, then upgrade to used oem 18" and a pair of original paddle shifters.. gao dim both in less than 2k.. drool.gif drool.gif
ZaiZai1989
post Aug 16 2016, 11:18 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Aug 16 2016, 11:30 AM)
HB is not worth it. You are paying hi spec price for mid spec.

Hi spec is worth the RM15K especially if you like big rims. If not the GL is the same engine and body and give you the same driving pleasure minus the gadgets and big rims.

In short if you have the budget go for HS. If not the GL is still a very good car.
but 16" compare to 18" is going to disappointment u very much at high speed stability and cornering.. but in exchange more comfortable drive, less tyre noise n car feels lighter to rev.. haha
mr.steven65
post Aug 17 2016, 07:58 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Aug 16 2016, 11:16 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif
thats why i also bought GL, then upgrade to used oem 18" and a pair of original paddle shifters.. gao dim both in less than 2k..  drool.gif  drool.gif
Heng la ur 18in simi rim gt picture mou :3:3
LionMY
post Aug 17 2016, 08:16 AM

142 posts

Actually what I am thinking of is after deducting where the RM 15K go to, I think the amount we are spending on those gadgets that GL may not have, it may be good investment if we have the extra money for Hi-Spec Sedan M3...

Trade in 16" for 18" rim & tyre - deducted RM 4K (may be)
Leather seats instead of fabric - deducted RM 2K
Add DRL - deducted RM 1K (may be)
Bi-Xenon with Auto Leveling headlight instead of Halogen - deducted RM 2K (may be)

Balance RM 6K go the rest extra features may comes about RM 800/feature,

As all everyone said loud and clear, if extra penny is not an issue, why not?

Furthermore, those items all covered by warranty and insurance (in case of accident or theft) if anything happen to your ride.

This post has been edited by LionMY: Aug 17 2016, 08:21 AM
amduser
post Aug 17 2016, 08:48 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Aug 16 2016, 11:18 PM)
but 16" compare to 18" is going to disappointment u very much at high speed stability and cornering.. but in exchange more comfortable drive, less tyre noise n car feels lighter to rev.. haha
QUOTE(LionMY @ Aug 17 2016, 08:16 AM)
Actually what I am thinking of is after deducting where the RM 15K go to, I think the amount we are spending on those gadgets that GL may not have, it may be good investment if we have the extra money for Hi-Spec Sedan M3...

Bi-Xenon with Auto Leveling headlight instead of Halogen - deducted RM 2K (may be)

Furthermore, those items all covered by warranty and insurance (in case of accident or theft) if anything happen to your ride.
bi-xenon headlight unit cost 2k per side if i'm not mistaken, and plug and play those aftermarket taobao bi-xenon headlight unit to GL unit but the AFS wont work, the AFS sensor alone is around 1k

each of the i-active sense features will cost more than 1k each, no one has reported a faulty and claimed from sc yet, so this is just purely assumption

the electric powered adjustable seat also wont be less than 1k

the cheapest add on is probably the cruise control + paddle shift and the reverse cam which you can done 3 of them for less than 1k

and the taillight unit alone is also 1k+ per side, can source from taobao then plug and play
LionMY
post Aug 17 2016, 09:23 AM

142 posts

Apparently I am too conservative about the add-on prices to those extra features on Hi-Spec Sedan.

Hopefully there will be extra discount towards the year-end sales (may be not) due to the launching of the CIVIC X this year. Previously M3 may enjoy exclusive market segment due to poor sales from 9th Gen CIVIC and less features but over priced ALTIS. If M3 market share drop tremendously because of CIVIC X, probably Mazda Malaysia need to work harder to push their sales to counter HONDA attack.

What I am trying to say is Mazda can be lansi about their little discount due to no competition earlier due to HONDA lack of their star product in the C segment market.

Hope to see some changes in Mazda sales strategy at the year end sales which will definitely benefit Mazda hardcore fans here.
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2016, 09:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(LionMY @ Aug 17 2016, 09:23 AM)
Apparently I am too conservative about the add-on prices to those extra features on Hi-Spec Sedan.

Hopefully there will be extra discount towards the year-end sales (may be not) due to the launching of the CIVIC X this year.  Previously M3 may enjoy exclusive market segment due to poor sales from 9th Gen CIVIC and less features but over priced ALTIS.  If M3 market share drop tremendously because of CIVIC X, probably Mazda Malaysia need to work harder to push their sales to counter HONDA attack.

What I am trying to say is Mazda can be lansi about their little discount due to no competition earlier due to HONDA lack of their star product in the C segment market.

Hope to see some changes in Mazda sales strategy at the year end sales which will definitely benefit Mazda hardcore fans here.

LOL..

Hardcore fans will buy it irrespective of % or not..
But seriously, you are thinking too much like an accountant.. in the end, its only money n you wouldnt be able to take it with you.. live a little..

Ginny88
post Aug 17 2016, 09:44 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(LionMY @ Aug 17 2016, 08:16 AM)

The only HS feature you can add to GL by the official SC is navigation for RM600. All other additions have to be done buy 3rd party and potentially void your warranty.

Also note that all aftermarket HID kits are illegal and they don't come with auto levelling. Adding DRL is not RM1K. Few hundred can kaw tim.

The leather seat for GL is already included but some SA offer an extra RM2K discount if you want fabric seats.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Aug 17 2016, 01:08 PM
ZaiZai1989
post Aug 17 2016, 09:44 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(mr.steven65 @ Aug 17 2016, 07:58 AM)
Heng la ur 18in simi rim gt picture mou :3:3
The 18" rims is high spec mia rims la.. Second hand one. Previous owner traded in original 18" for after market rims..
mr.steven65
post Aug 17 2016, 10:06 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Aug 17 2016, 09:44 AM)
The 18" rims is high spec mia rims la.. Second hand one. Previous owner traded in original 18" for after market rims..
Wa how much wor u brought wor
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2016, 10:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(mr.steven65 @ Aug 17 2016, 10:06 AM)
Me..

also curious to know..
Include ori toyo tyres??
amduser
post Aug 17 2016, 01:38 PM

5,542 posts

Hopefully there will be extra discount towards the year-end sales (may be not) due to the launching of the CIVIC X this year.  Previously M3 may enjoy exclusive market segment due to poor sales from 9th Gen CIVIC and less features but over priced ALTIS.  If M3 market share drop tremendously because of CIVIC X, probably Mazda Malaysia need to work harder to push their sales to counter HONDA attack.

c'mon la, those who like mazda will get mazda, the seaweed is nothing to shout about, if you upgrade from B segment then yes, the seaweed is a better car, but those who driven m3 will stay with m3

m3 is a clear win on interior, exterior, handling and driving experience, we dont brag about it because majority of peoples in malaysia is bias towards toyota and honda, go test drive then you will know why

those add-on features for hi spec is subjective to individual, if you dont like it you dont get it, if you like it you get it, i personally find that the extra active safety feature is useful to me, the SCBS help me avoid potential accident a few times, rear view monitoring can even detect motor without headlight at dark road that is usually hard to spot them using your rear view mirror

you can say mazda is stingy about their discount, but m3 is still the most worth to buy in JDM C-segment, priced reasonably at 124k for some of the advanced active safety features that you cant find on other JDM C-segment and dont see many owners complain about defects on their car, that is the same even if you go to international forum, if got defect we can just drive in to sc and get a new part exchange with big fuss except for the time spent in sc

if you want to be calculative, actually the more discount mazda give to their new cars, the lower the resale value of your car, look at VW jetta, almost 50% drop in price last time? that's definitely affect the resale value for those previous owner as well as new owner

i dont know seaweed fansboy is kiasu or what, but comparing a 2016 car with a 2014 car laugh.gif if you like turbo and aircon that blow hot air, by all mean go ahead with civic since the car is faster on straight road, lower ride height and bigger interior for big family
amduser
post Aug 17 2016, 01:41 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mr.steven65 @ Aug 17 2016, 10:06 AM)
2nd hand 18" OEM rims with good condition is priced around 1.3k to 1.5k without tyres, it wont be more than 1.8k

18" rims is very heavy, better go for aftermarket 18" if you have the budget tongue.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2016, 01:59 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 17 2016, 01:41 PM)
2nd hand 18" OEM rims with good condition is priced around 1.3k to 1.5k without tyres, it wont be more than 1.8k

18" rims is very heavy, better go for aftermarket 18" if you have the budget tongue.gif
Thanks for the feedback..
Agree.. but sometimes they want the ori look and you can't get that with after market rims
Also.. it would be more expensive [by a lot] unless you go for replica ones..
Ginny88
post Aug 17 2016, 02:06 PM

1,032 posts

Discount is a matter of pricing. You can price high and give big discount or price lower and give smaller discount. It depends on your pricing strategy, nothing to do with lansi.

The Civic IX generation was beaten soundly on pricing by CKD Mazda 3. With the Civic X the pricing is closer now so maybe it is Mazda which influence Civic pricing.

By all means test drive and see which car suits you. The Civic wins on space but the M3 wins on handling. In the long run a NA car is easier and less costly to maintain than a turbo car.

wkc5657
post Aug 17 2016, 02:32 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 17 2016, 01:41 PM)

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 17 2016, 01:59 PM)
Thanks for the feedback..
Agree.. but sometimes they want the ori look and you can't get that with after market rims
Also.. it would be more expensive [by a lot] unless you go for replica ones..
Wa...2nd hand ori rims so expensive... mega_shok.gif

I once gatal go ask a reputable seller here for this wheel :
http://konigwheels.com/wheels/flow-formed-wheels/rennform/

Costs only RM2000 for whole set and some more this wheel is lighter by about 25% for 18 x 8 size.

If you read through the details, although it is rather affordable, it is not low quality stuffs. They licensed Enkei's MAT process for this range of rims. So quite a steal laugh.gif laugh.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2016, 02:43 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 17 2016, 02:32 PM)
Wa...2nd hand ori rims so expensive...  mega_shok.gif

I once gatal go ask a reputable seller here for this wheel :
http://konigwheels.com/wheels/flow-formed-wheels/rennform/

Costs only RM2000 for whole set and some more this wheel is lighter by about 25% for 18 x 8 size.

If you read through the details, although it is rather affordable, it is not low quality stuffs. They licensed Enkei's MAT process for this range of rims. So quite a steal  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Supply and demand.. I personally don't think its overtly expensive - l am sure if you were to order from Mazda, itll be more..

Rims are kinda like buying handbags , sad to say.. sometimes its the brand that counts.. l guess the only way to know is if you were to use it yourself - on paper, it does look good la..

LionMY
post Aug 17 2016, 03:02 PM

142 posts

Well said amduser/dirtrun/Ginny88 on M3. Thank you for all your valuable advices.

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:38 AM