125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Technical PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread V2, Note: Please read discussion guidelines

Bernard Yeo
post Jan 22 2007, 10:56 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 22 2007, 10:25 AM)
sad.... no homebrews lately sad.gif
i want a stable DH.... and with that, comes 3.03OE-C
If you mean DevHook, I told you DevHook 0.52 is extremely stable. And what's 3.03OE-C?

Maybe you don't see any homebrew you like. Try one of those modifiers instead. I like the Reboot/shutdown mod that replaces the empty Location-Free TV. Also try out the FTP Daemon Mod, which by default will overwrite your Network Updates function. Bye Bye USB Cable!

Of course, installing mods require a little flashing to the flash0. But there's a new PSP Filer 2.7 out to help you. biggrin.gif
tycheah_7
post Jan 22 2007, 11:23 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Jan 22 2007, 10:56 AM)
If you mean DevHook, I told you DevHook 0.52 is extremely stable. And what's 3.03OE-C?

Maybe you don't see any homebrew you like. Try one of those modifiers instead. I like the Reboot/shutdown mod that replaces the empty Location-Free TV. Also try out the FTP Daemon Mod, which by default will overwrite your Network Updates function. Bye Bye USB Cable!

Of course, installing mods require a little flashing to the flash0. But there's a new PSP Filer 2.7 out to help you. biggrin.gif
how can i have the FTP at the location Free TV menu ? I have my reboot/off mod at "network update" now...

Btw, if those too scared to flash their psp, the prx can also be put into plugin if you're using custom firmware that is...
figure8
post Jan 22 2007, 11:37 AM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(tycheah_7 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:23 AM)
how can i have the FTP at the location Free TV menu ? I have my reboot/off mod at "network update" now...

Btw, if those too scared to flash their psp, the prx can also be put into plugin if you're using custom firmware that is...
...but if u refer to ftp plugin, the only way to do it is by flashing.u need to replace the file, not loading the prx.

-plugin folder is for additional plugin such as screenshot, reboot/restart using button combo, etc.

Bernard Yeo
post Jan 22 2007, 11:43 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(tycheah_7 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:23 AM)

Rename the ftpd mod's filename to lftv_plugin.prx. That's what I read at maxconsole. If you're concerned with semi-bricking, there's Recovery.
tycheah_7
post Jan 22 2007, 11:45 AM

795 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Jan 22 2007, 11:43 AM)
Rename the ftpd mod's filename to lftv_plugin.prx. That's what I read at maxconsole. If you're concerned with semi-bricking, there's Recovery.
yeah, i read that too.... but doesnt seem to work with the flasher they provide... Maybe i'll try using XFlash

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:37 AM)
...but if u refer to ftp plugin, the only way to do it is by flashing.u need to replace the file, not loading the prx.

-plugin folder is for additional plugin such as screenshot, reboot/restart using button combo, etc.
ive read in another forum that the FTP prx can be used as a plugin... Have not ttried it personally
figure8
post Jan 22 2007, 11:48 AM

3,174 posts

and also u need to hexedit the topmenu_plugin.rco so u can change the text in the xmb

This post has been edited by figure8: Jan 22 2007, 11:52 AM
mfa333
post Jan 22 2007, 12:04 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

what's the best file manager to manage content inside memory stick? i tried File Assistant but the gui is so complicated...
figure8
post Jan 22 2007, 12:06 PM

3,174 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jan 22 2007, 12:04 PM)
what's the best file manager to manage content inside memory stick? i tried File Assistant but the gui is so complicated...
use pspfiler
http://www.geocities.jp/mediumgauge/

i still prefer do it manually rather that using xflash
snipersnake
post Jan 22 2007, 12:22 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 22 2007, 10:25 AM)
sad.... no homebrews lately sad.gif
i want a stable DH.... and with that, comes 3.03OE-C
come thingking of it, now we have 3.02 SE, loads every umd and what not...then devhook is forrrrrrrrrrrr........?????????
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 22 2007, 12:52 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Jan 22 2007, 11:43 AM)
QUOTE(tycheah_7 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:45 AM)
yeah, i read that too.... but doesnt seem to work with the flasher they provide... Maybe i'll try using XFlash
Of course the supplied flasher wouldn't work. It'll be looking for update_plugin.prx, not lftv_plugin.prx. I'm don't think x-flash has a function to flash lftv_plugin.prx. Try PSP Filer instead.

QUOTE(tycheah_7 @ Jan 22 2007, 11:45 AM)
ive read in another forum that the FTP prx can be used as a plugin... Have not ttried it personally
If the plugin is enabled in from the Recovery menu, then right from the start you'll not be able to access the video menu. That would suck.

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
come thingking of it, now we have 3.02 SE, loads every umd and what not...then devhook is forrrrrrrrrrrr........?????????
For experimenting some....things? With the exception of flashing prxs,
topmenu_plugin can be replaced,
some games that may face incompatibility with 3.0X custom firmware could be played in DevHook 0.52.
If you have a Location-Free TV console, you can use DevHook 0.52 to run it.

Speaking of Location-Free TV, Dark_Alex deleted the files for it to save space on the flash. I replaced a huge 1mb font called gb3s1518.bwfon in the flash with the default one, making some space.

So I wonder if Location-Free TV can be put back. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 22 2007, 01:06 PM
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 02:26 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 01:06 AM)
Anyone with good knowledge on using in7ane's map download software for the mapthis homebrew?

1. Have u tried scanning our local roadmaps and loading them as png?
nobody tried before? rolleyes.gif I guess I'm into unfamiliar territory here....

just bought psp-290 gps module.After asking 5 shops then only I found one. Even that was the last display unit. gonna try uploading maps later today brows.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 02:52 PM

[PBMY]â„¢ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 02:26 PM)
nobody tried before?  rolleyes.gif  I guess I'm into unfamiliar territory here....

just bought psp-290 gps module.After asking 5 shops then only I found one. Even that was the last display unit. gonna try uploading maps later today  brows.gif
Not that difficult actually. I used it to extract Kuala Lumpur map from MSN Virtual Earth. But, the only thing is now the map is not that detail as I mentioned to you before. And, Google Map does not provide detail maps for Malaysia either, except for satellite images.

# Download the application here: http://homepage.mac.com/f.levin/psp/gmdl0.2.15aGPSFS.zip
# Extract the zipfile to your PC, and browse to /bin/debug folder
# Double-click 'Google Maps Download.exe'
# When the program loads up, it will prompt you to update to the latest version.
# After updating, main program window where it shows GoogleMap website, type Kuala Lumpur (or any other place) on the input box and click Search
# Less the zoom to have full map displayed
# Since GoogleMaps does not provide maps for Malaysia, you have to click on MSN Map selection on the left hand side
# Click Preview 1X to check the map part actually used by the program. If it cuts out wanted part of the map less again the zoom and/or move the map a little
# When you are satisfied click the Set Dir button, browse your Hard disk and create a new folder somewhere. This new folder's name must start with underscore, like "_Kuala Lumpur", quotes excluded.
# Click Download the Map button
# Wait till download finishes, and downloaded files are packed
# Copy the folder to maps folder on your PSP
# Load up MapThis and, then connect your GPS to your PSP
# Select your map from the list
# Press 'Start' button and scroll down the option list and select 'GPS Info'
# You will see your GPS information, and to locate your exact position, the GPS need to lock-on to 4 satellites

# After lock-on, your position will be shown on the map

Happy GPS-ing... icon_rolleyes.gif

Bernard Yeo
post Jan 22 2007, 02:53 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 02:26 PM)
nobody tried before?  rolleyes.gif  I guess I'm into unfamiliar territory here....

just bought psp-290 gps module.After asking 5 shops then only I found one. Even that was the last display unit. gonna try uploading maps later today  brows.gif
There's a HP PDA phone with a built in keyboard (can't remember the model). It comes with an internal GPS antenna and preloaded with a Malaysia map. Maybe owners of this phone can email you the map.

How much did you buy your GPS module for? I need one!

This post has been edited by Bernard Yeo: Jan 22 2007, 02:56 PM
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 02:59 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Jan 22 2007, 02:53 PM)
There's a HP PDA phone with a built in keyboard (can't remember the model). It comes with an internal GPS antenna and preloaded with a Malaysia map. Maybe owners of this phone can email you the map.
MapThis only support GPSFS raster file format maps captured from maps.google.com/MSN Virtual Earth. I'm still doing some research whether we can convert and generate existing West Malaysia map used in Garmin GPS system to format used by MapThis.

This post has been edited by Ninja: Jan 22 2007, 03:00 PM
amir_links
post Jan 22 2007, 03:04 PM

guys,i bought my PSP yesterday (Sunday,21/01/07,6.45pm). during the negotiation process, i ask about the differences between latest version and updated version. mine is 3.0x (something,forget the exact version). the sales person said,the PSP can be affected by viruses if u surf not securely.is it true? he told me that, once get virused,ur PSP can't be used anymore.there will be software problem.is it true?let say i want to transfer video n mp3 from my PC to the mspd,let say there is virus in my PC,is it safe for transferring?have u guys faced this viruses problem? btw,what is the common problem of the PSP?

thank u guys.or i might say, SIFUs!!
Xrossfire
post Jan 22 2007, 03:10 PM

Ten Hut!
1,161 posts

The PSP GPS Module is on my wishlist, next round of bulk.
What's the market price for it? So I can see whether I can get any better price than outside.

After I get the GPS, I want to become a padawan learner under Master Ninja tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 03:21 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(amir_links @ Jan 22 2007, 03:04 PM)
guys,i bought my PSP yesterday (Sunday,21/01/07,6.45pm). during the negotiation process, i ask about the differences between latest version and updated version. mine is 3.0x (something,forget the exact version). the sales person said,the PSP can be affected by viruses if u surf not securely.is it true? he told me that, once get virused,ur PSP can't be used anymore.there will be software problem.is it true?let say i want to transfer video n mp3 from my PC to the mspd,let say there is virus in my PC,is it safe for transferring?have u guys faced this viruses problem? btw,what is the common problem of the PSP?

I'm not sure whether PSp can be affected by virus through web surfing. But, I do know that there's a virus called Trojan.PSPBrick, as a Category 1 threat (Category 5 being the worst). If I'm not mistaken, the virus was embedded into some downgrader for PSP. Once installed, it deletes system files and brick the PSP.

QUOTE(Xrossfire @ Jan 22 2007, 03:10 PM)
The PSP GPS Module is on my wishlist, next round of bulk.
What's the market price for it? So I can see whether I can get any better price than outside.

After I get the GPS, I want to become a padawan learner under Master Ninja tongue.gif
Bought it for RM225 last month. So, average price should be around RM220-250. biggrin.gif
mambo
post Jan 22 2007, 03:59 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

malaysia can use gps ready ka?

i mean whole malaysia? if me in sarawak can use also i might be interested to get one.. hehe
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 04:08 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(mambo @ Jan 22 2007, 03:59 PM)
malaysia can use gps ready ka?

i mean whole malaysia? if me in sarawak can use also i might be interested to get one.. hehe
Can use'lah... tongue.gif currently there are 27 GPS satellites orbiting the earth, that will figure out the distance to each, and use this information to pinpoint our location on earth, no matter where you are.

So, you can use it everywhere; land, sea, jungle, except if you land on the moon.. cannot use.. tongue.gif
Bernard Yeo
post Jan 22 2007, 04:13 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(amir_links @ Jan 22 2007, 03:04 PM)

You won't get the virus from internet surfing. Apparently the virus is embedded in a downgrading software. So don't download from untrusted sources or websites. Stick to maxconsole.net or psp-hacks.

PC viruses cannot affect PSPs, because it cannot execute their code.

Common problems for PSP includes easily scratchable screen, easily broken when dropped, and lack of sleep for some people. Of the 3 problems, only the last one cannot be solved easily.

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:59 AM