Technical PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread V2, Note: Please read discussion guidelines

slickz
post Jan 18 2007, 10:29 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

muehehehe..... it was nothing la.... tongue.gif just on the spur of the moment kind of thing. I think links are fine, as long as they are not warez related.
slickz
post Jan 18 2007, 06:06 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 18 2007, 04:37 PM)
this is mine. i honestly thinks it rocks like a hurricane!

yeah it rocks! I like. biggrin.gif

this is mine currently. made it myself nod.gif

slickz
post Jan 18 2007, 08:11 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jan 18 2007, 06:49 PM)
nice biggrin.gif sure photoshop expert laugh.gif

ps: can help me make 1?  brows.gif
since u asked nicely I'll make you one smile.gif
slickz
post Jan 18 2007, 09:24 PM

2,149 posts

here's for king83, without my name so it can be used for others. tongue.gif have fun

anyone else is also welcome to use it smile.gif

slickz
post Jan 18 2007, 11:39 PM

2,149 posts

another one I did for fun XD, credit goes to a guy in deviantart for the chibi Big Boss drawing though. I didn't draw that.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 18 2007, 11:40 PM
slickz
post Jan 19 2007, 04:30 PM

2,149 posts

LOL! I've made one last one before the gathering.... this one is quite cool, I like it a lot!

since I release it only here so can consider as limited edition lah! icon_rolleyes.gif

And here's the wallpaper. It was quite a b*tch to do this wallie actually

it just works so well with the limited edition camo psp thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 19 2007, 04:33 PM
slickz
post Jan 21 2007, 12:57 PM

2,149 posts

I doubt this mod will be kind to your psp's lifespan. I remember a homebrew dev (fanjita I think) didn't include 333mhz for Wlan since it makes your psp too hot.
slickz
post Jan 21 2007, 07:59 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(elan @ Jan 21 2007, 05:28 PM)
Urm one noob question here, but hope someone can assure me.

If i install 3.03OE-B and my kernel is 1.5, can i play original UMD game straight or do i still have to install additional patch?
I still use orignal UMD for MGS Portable Ops. Recently updated to 3.03 OEB as well no problems running. Can switch psp to sleep mode anytime I like without hanging the game.
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 01:06 AM

2,149 posts

Anyone with good knowledge on using in7ane's map download software for the mapthis homebrew?

1. Have u tried scanning our local roadmaps and loading them as png?
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 02:26 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 01:06 AM)
Anyone with good knowledge on using in7ane's map download software for the mapthis homebrew?

1. Have u tried scanning our local roadmaps and loading them as png?
nobody tried before? rolleyes.gif I guess I'm into unfamiliar territory here....

just bought psp-290 gps module.After asking 5 shops then only I found one. Even that was the last display unit. gonna try uploading maps later today brows.gif
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 10:42 PM

2,149 posts

just back from a loooong day out. Thanks for the tutorial Ninja biggrin.gif It confirmed my guesses for the gmdl tool. So far from what I see the whole process takes time. It takes time for the thing to complete the download, then I thought of preparing my psp before buying so can use straightaway.

Too bad it took 39 minutes to upload the map to the psp since my map was far too big, even though it was just showing the klang valley area. oTransfer speeds get really2 slow when there's a lot of files to be uploaded rolleyes.gif Apparently the tool breaks up the map into tiles and separates them into 2x, 3x zoom and so forth. So I didnt have time to get the map prepared.

I used the prx's from the 3.03 dump to set it up and the homebrew started fine though. Currently downloading MSN maps for klang valley area.

Initial impressions
The unit, like the chotto shot, was made out of silver/chromelike surface and matte white. It was much smaller than what I imagined and the antenna was fatter than what I imagined too.

Since I only found the unit after wandering 5 shops, I decided the RM250 pricetag that the seller asked was somewhat justified. rolleyes.gif despite the fact that the unit was already opened. He was courteous as well. SG Wang 1st floor somwhere in the center shop. I didnt see any chinese speaking indian guy so I guess it is safe.

I used my MGS Portable Ops UMD to do the initial test drive. It certainly took its time to lock on to the satelites though. For my unit and from my area (KLCC, Plaza Low Yat) It took about 6-7 minutes for the recruiting screen to show the locations of the soldiers. Supposedly from the preview around websites says it takes 1 minute warm up time.

Starting the unit inside a moving car also takes roughly the same amount of time. Connection gets lost inside tunnels though. The screen is fixed towards north but the soldier points pan around the screen accordingly.

More on the gps as I spend more time on it.I noticed that the gmdl tool has the option to use PNG files as maps. I wonder if we can somehow scan kl roadmaps that has longitude and latitude data and then use that.... I'm gonna see what I can find out. Any info from sifus here would be very much appreciated as well.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 22 2007, 10:47 PM
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 10:49 PM

2,149 posts

nope, the official software was not included inside the thing. weird eh? Ninja, u didnt get any software with the unit as well right? The reason I bought the gps was because the homebrew now supports the unit as well!

GPS receiver lets u know ur location in the world, potentially it can help u name the stars over your sky, get directions in a city u have never been to, find your way out of a jungle, bla bla bla.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 22 2007, 10:51 PM
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 11:10 PM

2,149 posts

sokay smile.gif I stand corrected on the long startup time. Sometimes it will take that long, sometimes not. I cancelled gps scan and started it back and it took 53 seconds to get connected again.
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 11:45 PM

2,149 posts

still downloading map ... 3000 pieces left to go sweat.gif tu pun belum upload to psp lg.... I was going to look for the homestar portable but apparently one forumer said it is impossible to use if we dont understand japanese, unlike normal japanese games where u can figure out what does what. Besides the names of the stars are probably in japanese as well.
slickz
post Jan 22 2007, 11:55 PM

2,149 posts

well the whole of KL and some of Klang Valley, also Rawang to Seri Kembangan area, Meru all the way to kampong Seri Medan. That does it, I'm gonna take japanese for my curiculum course....muahaha... there's also a japanese learning homebrew IINM.

update: I located up to 10 satelites just now, I got a fix on 5 satelites and it recorded my latitude and longitude up to 5 decimal points. It detected my speed as well but with some minor errors in two decimal points. The thing is it wont show where I am on the map! The map loaded up fine but the marker is definately at the wrong place.

I tried selecting the adress geolookup and it complained that geodata file is missing? Is that the culprit?

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 23 2007, 01:00 AM
slickz
post Jan 23 2007, 03:15 PM

2,149 posts

after using 2.71 usbacc.prx for the first time, lock on time improved tremendously and I got 8 satelites in view with 4 locked on before 5 minutes. This is a far cry from the 20 minutes plus that failed when I tried locking on during the day. biggrin.gif

There is a slight deviation from my actual location though... about plus minus 5 to ten metres but still this is the first tryout with the 2.71 usbacc.prx. Still using 3.03 usbgps.prx though biggrin.gif
slickz
post Jan 23 2007, 04:11 PM

2,149 posts

sure no prob.... this thing is tempting me to get lost and find my way back.... hahaha.... goin to take a nice long walk this evening
slickz
post Jan 23 2007, 07:58 PM

2,149 posts

I was actually walking to the right side of the road today during the walk but the arrow shows I'm inside the house .... this is still before the update

but reception is very good. Look at the number of satelites found and the number of satelites locked on! No connection dropout, even while passing under a metal roof. I guess it takes thick concrete to block the signal

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 23 2007, 08:02 PM
slickz
post Jan 23 2007, 08:13 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jan 23 2007, 08:06 PM)
just one question, after that i m going to join the GPS group..tongue.gif

Thanks alot..smile.gif
bought it at sungei wang for RM250, 1st floor, shop somwhere to your left after exiting the staircase (that has the green elephant massage center above it) from lowyat. The shop is in the middle of that corridor. They said the unit I was eyeing was the last unit but with SG Wang reputation, you can never be too sure yeah?

No its not a live camera. Just a google satelite map photo. Live camera would violate some privacy laws I'm sure and probably a military guarded secret. Take note that malaysia's map for google is noneexistent for the moment, you will have to rely on MSN maps which are not that detailed in the first place if u want to use it to balik kampung.

I'm quite disappointed as to why they dont have detailed road maps of malaysia online. We're not that ULU anymore what. Look at singapore they have the roadmaps damn detailed. By looking at the google map some might conclude that malaysia is one of those underdeveloped countries.

Must....find.....a.... way.... to..... get...... detailed roadmaps......

This post has been edited by slickz: Jan 23 2007, 08:22 PM
slickz
post Jan 25 2007, 10:20 PM

2,149 posts

for once I'm updating on the same hour it was released. Yeah done. <3 seconds startup time. Just for that I think its worth it biggrin.gif

0.0508sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:41 PM