Technical PSP Homebrew Discussion Thread V2, Note: Please read discussion guidelines

TSNinja
post Jan 18 2007, 07:07 AM, updated 19y ago

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Quick Reminder: PSP Homebrew Discussion Guidelines

Our PSP community is constantly growing everyday. Many of us especially the new PSP owners will be anxious to find a place to discuss and ask questions about the PSP on the internet. And most of us, if not all will be interested with PSP homebrew discussion. So, to avoid any homebrew discussion that leads to 'warez' talk, the following guidelines must be followed:

Please limit your DevHook and custom firmware (for example: 3.03 Open Edition) discussion to firmware XMB menu features and how to load homebrew only. This includes IRShell 3.0 and HEN (Homebrew Enabler). Discussions detailing how to pirate games or how to get/run/download pirated games/loaders (Fastloader, UMD Emulator, etc) is not allowed. Topics regarding piracy will be heavily moderated to prevent encouraging it's use and will be left to the moderators' discretion. You best bet is to avoid this topic entirely when posting.

Don't ask for ROMs, or other copyrighted material (firmware dumps, etc). Do not give the names of websites that host these files. If you have any questions that you think is not appropriate to discuss here, use Google to find your answer or you can PM and ask other forum users.

Thank you all for your time and efforts with this.

Previous homebrew discussion thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/246556
TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 10:46 AM

1,764 posts

LoL.. I should change this thread title to PSP Wallpaper Discussion Thread V2.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 19 2007, 08:44 AM)
btw, someone please make a wallpaper of the logo on ninja's avatar  cry.gif
Here u go.. tongue.gif

Another two..

TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 10:48 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jan 19 2007, 10:47 AM)
thanks ninja... but gua nak the salutation logo on ur avatar tongue.gif
You want the salutation logo only on the wallpaper? tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 11:13 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jan 19 2007, 11:02 AM)
is it possible to edit the 1st pic, just remove the big black metal gear picture?

and if possible again, in red.. tongue.gif

blush.gif
tongue.gif

TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 07:45 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 19 2007, 05:14 PM)
shit!
*steals slickz wallpaper*

Ninja, I think kalau buat competition PSP wallpaper sure rocks.

The winners prize?

Everybody in the htread has to call him daddy for a week..LOL
Daddy? laugh.gif i dun want to win lah liddat...
TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 07:49 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 19 2007, 07:46 PM)
Help me!

I got problem playing batuk at firmware 3.03OEB like my all time fav MGSPO,GTA:VCS and best2 game... sad.gif

Pls help!
Read the guidelines, dude. No batuk discussion here. Google up.
TSNinja
post Jan 19 2007, 08:09 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 19 2007, 07:53 PM)
Sorry very bro!!! biggrin.gif

BTW,if I go to the gather can u help me up on this? biggrin.gif

Thx!
Can.. tongue.gif or you can ask taiko2 here for some help through PM.
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 02:52 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 02:26 PM)
nobody tried before?  rolleyes.gif  I guess I'm into unfamiliar territory here....

just bought psp-290 gps module.After asking 5 shops then only I found one. Even that was the last display unit. gonna try uploading maps later today  brows.gif
Not that difficult actually. I used it to extract Kuala Lumpur map from MSN Virtual Earth. But, the only thing is now the map is not that detail as I mentioned to you before. And, Google Map does not provide detail maps for Malaysia either, except for satellite images.

# Download the application here: http://homepage.mac.com/f.levin/psp/gmdl0.2.15aGPSFS.zip
# Extract the zipfile to your PC, and browse to /bin/debug folder
# Double-click 'Google Maps Download.exe'
# When the program loads up, it will prompt you to update to the latest version.
# After updating, main program window where it shows GoogleMap website, type Kuala Lumpur (or any other place) on the input box and click Search
# Less the zoom to have full map displayed
# Since GoogleMaps does not provide maps for Malaysia, you have to click on MSN Map selection on the left hand side
# Click Preview 1X to check the map part actually used by the program. If it cuts out wanted part of the map less again the zoom and/or move the map a little
# When you are satisfied click the Set Dir button, browse your Hard disk and create a new folder somewhere. This new folder's name must start with underscore, like "_Kuala Lumpur", quotes excluded.
# Click Download the Map button
# Wait till download finishes, and downloaded files are packed
# Copy the folder to maps folder on your PSP
# Load up MapThis and, then connect your GPS to your PSP
# Select your map from the list
# Press 'Start' button and scroll down the option list and select 'GPS Info'
# You will see your GPS information, and to locate your exact position, the GPS need to lock-on to 4 satellites

# After lock-on, your position will be shown on the map

Happy GPS-ing... icon_rolleyes.gif

TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 02:59 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Jan 22 2007, 02:53 PM)
There's a HP PDA phone with a built in keyboard (can't remember the model). It comes with an internal GPS antenna and preloaded with a Malaysia map. Maybe owners of this phone can email you the map.
MapThis only support GPSFS raster file format maps captured from maps.google.com/MSN Virtual Earth. I'm still doing some research whether we can convert and generate existing West Malaysia map used in Garmin GPS system to format used by MapThis.

This post has been edited by Ninja: Jan 22 2007, 03:00 PM
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 03:21 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(amir_links @ Jan 22 2007, 03:04 PM)
guys,i bought my PSP yesterday (Sunday,21/01/07,6.45pm). during the negotiation process, i ask about the differences between latest version and updated version. mine is 3.0x (something,forget the exact version). the sales person said,the PSP can be affected by viruses if u surf not securely.is it true? he told me that, once get virused,ur PSP can't be used anymore.there will be software problem.is it true?let say i want to transfer video n mp3 from my PC to the mspd,let say there is virus in my PC,is it safe for transferring?have u guys faced this viruses problem? btw,what is the common problem of the PSP?

thank u guys.or i might say, SIFUs!!
I'm not sure whether PSp can be affected by virus through web surfing. But, I do know that there's a virus called Trojan.PSPBrick, as a Category 1 threat (Category 5 being the worst). If I'm not mistaken, the virus was embedded into some downgrader for PSP. Once installed, it deletes system files and brick the PSP.

QUOTE(Xrossfire @ Jan 22 2007, 03:10 PM)
The PSP GPS Module is on my wishlist, next round of bulk.
What's the market price for it? So I can see whether I can get any better price than outside.

After I get the GPS, I want to become a padawan learner under Master Ninja tongue.gif
Bought it for RM225 last month. So, average price should be around RM220-250. biggrin.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 04:08 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(mambo @ Jan 22 2007, 03:59 PM)
malaysia can use gps ready ka?

i mean whole malaysia? if me in sarawak can use also i might be interested to get one.. hehe
Can use'lah... tongue.gif currently there are 27 GPS satellites orbiting the earth, that will figure out the distance to each, and use this information to pinpoint our location on earth, no matter where you are.

So, you can use it everywhere; land, sea, jungle, except if you land on the moon.. cannot use.. tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 11:26 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 10:49 PM)
nope, the official software was not included inside the thing. weird eh? Ninja, u didnt get any software with the unit as well right? The reason I bought the gps was because the homebrew now supports the unit as well!

GPS receiver lets u know ur location in the world, potentially it can help u name the stars over your sky, get directions in a city u have never been to, find your way out of a jungle, bla bla bla.
Nope. No official software included. But, in Japan the Maplus Portable Navi software is sold together with the GPS for almost RM350++. And, yes.. Maplus Portable Navi only supports Japan map only. Not for other region.

Anyway, I really like the POI(Point of Interest) features in MapThis. Can record down and save our location of interest directly to the map.

Sony GPS is definitely slower when doing initial lock-on to satellites, but once it gets a lock-on, when disconnected, it will resume back faster than initial trilateration.

Btw slickz, my GPS located 10 GPS satellites during intial trilateration just standing in front of my house. How many did you get?

TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 11:32 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 22 2007, 11:28 PM)
haiz, before this u said MapThis wasnt compatible?..
Duhhh... tongue.gif yes, I did say it's not compatible. I've been following the progress with the developer. He only received his Sony GPS early this month. Then, baru dia start hacking the device to provide support for his software, MapThis. He released MapThis with official GPS support last week. tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 11:39 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 22 2007, 11:34 PM)
was setting up the thing is like rocket science? laugh.gif
wow, tabik2.

waaa, ps3 owner i c.. @.@
Not rocket sciencelah.. just plug-and-play only laugh.gif only part when generating the maps, have to think a little bit..
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2007, 11:52 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 22 2007, 11:45 PM)
still downloading map ... 3000 pieces left to go sweat.gif tu pun belum upload to psp lg.... I was going to look for the homestar portable but apparently one forumer said it is impossible to use if we dont understand japanese, unlike normal japanese games where u can figure out what does what. Besides the names of the stars are probably in japanese as well.
3000? Did u generate the whole map for Klang Valley ka? laugh.gif

Yeah, Homestar Portable is in Japanese. I'm still trying to get my copy. Can't wait to try it out. Now, can watch the star in style. Khehehe..
TSNinja
post Jan 23 2007, 05:49 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jan 23 2007, 03:50 AM)
hey brother ninja. can you please show us all about this gps map thingy from a-z? better if you blog it la. abit hard la to follow the step. thinking of buying a gps unit.
Orait, will create a separate tutorial afterwards when I'm free. Dun worry.

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 23 2007, 03:15 PM)
after using 2.71 usbacc.prx for the first time, lock on time improved tremendously and I got 8 satelites in view with 4 locked on before 5 minutes. This is a far cry from the 20 minutes plus that failed when I tried locking on during the day. biggrin.gif

There is a slight deviation from my actual location though... about plus minus 5 to ten metres but still this is the first tryout with the 2.71 usbacc.prx. Still using 3.03 usbgps.prx though biggrin.gif
Deniska just released a small update for MapThis 0.461S.

Download here: http://www.sendspace.com/file/t8f684

Just replace the eboot file with the previous version.
TSNinja
post Jan 25 2007, 10:21 PM

1,764 posts

Great update from Dark Alex... again.. laugh.gif

768 Kbps bitrate limitation for AVC videos is now patched. Now, we can encode our videos with higher quality, matching those quality in UMD and P-TV videos.

Now, have to edit my transcoding.ini. doh.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 26 2007, 09:52 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Jan 26 2007, 09:28 AM)
where ur source from?
my friend
Things just got worse for Sony with team Noobz declaring that they have found an expoit for ALL PSP firmware! Seems as if thigns weren't truly limited in terms of the GTA exploit and within a week, a v3.03 downgrader should appear via the use of this exploit!

You remember that the only thing holding us back from a downgrader for v3.03 was the lack of a user-mode exploit?

Well, we don't like to be held back from anything, so we went back to basics and looked over some of the old exploits. And what do you know? We found one!

We did a little digging into the old GTA exploit, and discovered that it hadn't been properly patched after all. We'll leave it as an exercise for the interested reader to figure out exactly how we got past the patch (and to give Sony a little while longer before the head-slapping "Doh!" moment ).

But the short version is that we can now run code again via Grand Theft Auto : Liberty City Stories. You want some proof? Check out the Goofy Hello World download below.

- You need an original, unpatched GTA:LCS game. See here and here for tips on how to check your version, although it can be confusing. The new copies that you find in the shops now will not work.
T- his only works for Liberty City Stories, not Vice City Stories.
- Extract the files from the ZIP into the /PSP/SAVEDATA folder on your memory stick.
- Start the GTA game, and enjoy the feeling of freshly-minted homebrew

And what of the future? Well, we should have a 3.03 downgrader ready within the week, using this exploit. Watch this space!

Source: Noobz.eu

TSNinja
post Jan 26 2007, 10:02 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jan 26 2007, 09:55 AM)
Hahaha... I have the unpatched GTA: LCS ori UMD with me..downloading it to test...
Bleh bukak bisnes downgrading balik, bro.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 26 2007, 09:55 AM)
HAHAHAHA! now i can get the MGS PO version psp!
Me want blue PSP.... drool.gif

TSNinja
post Jan 26 2007, 10:27 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Jan 26 2007, 10:23 AM)
so like theres suppose to have a folder in psp tha contains all the coldboot/gameboot/ltn0.pgf etc? copy and paste? so confrim no need to use customizer/XFlash/PSPFiler?
Actually, you are accessing your flash0 directory from your PC. When you activated 'Toggle USB for flash0', you can browse through the flash0 using Windows explorer like what we usually do, when accessing MemorStick contents. So, just cut & paste any mods that you want, like custom XMB icon, you can just paste your custom 'topmenu_plugin.rco to flash0:/vsh/resource directly.

0.0496sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:02 PM