lsm1991
post Feb 3 2017, 12:34 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(TheScrub @ Feb 2 2017, 11:31 PM)
Hi, I would like to enquire for

1. Brand = Toyota Camry
2. Budget = RM 80,000++
3. New/Used/Unreg = Used ( Preferably 2012 car )
4. Specs = 2.0 / 2.4
5. Transmission = Automatic

Is it possible to get a 2012 camry with this budget?

Besides, may I know total there is how many variance for camry ( looking for the one with reverse camera )
** I only manage to get limited info for the spec variance
2 generations of the camry was available that year.... the older xv40 (09 facelift) and the newer xv50 (12 new model) one looks rounded, the other sharpish. getting the xv40 for 80 grand is easy... but the xv50 for 80k is slightly difficult.

*only one with the camera afaik is the xv50 2.5.....*

QUOTE(kirakun @ Feb 3 2017, 12:11 AM)
Yes it is possible, just click a few on mudah.my and u will get a list but few comes with reverse camera though.

http://m.mudah.my/view?ca=9_1_s&cg=1015&q=...&ad_id=51641674

If I'm not mistaken umw only brought in 2 variance for the previous generation namely e and g series with an addition of trd add on.
afaik... the xv40 was never available originally with a reverse camera.... not even as a factory option here but im only 99% sure

*edit.... my bad... it was an option.... an rm 4500 option rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Feb 3 2017, 12:41 AM
lsm1991
post Feb 3 2017, 10:48 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(TheScrub @ Feb 3 2017, 07:50 AM)
If i wish to add honda accord in the list, which one would you recommend ? ( considering the price /less problem, my sister insists to get the one at least with reverse camera)

Thanks smile.gif
for this money, you can probably get the 8th gen accord facelift.... (the accordana was based on it)
but reverse cameras? erm... good luck. short of aftermarket cameras (most which are not very good) it would be hard/impossible to find a unit with the oem camera. (the oem cameras are really clear with a rally wide angle view fyi, incase any dealer tries to claim his is the factory camera and not some cheapo rm20 unit)

look pass the reverse cameras and the last car you can look at is the teana. Classy car (moreso i might claim) and it comes with an even lower pricetag!
only issue with this car is that the 2.0 is lacklustre (powerwise) while the 2.5 is a v6..... see where this is going? v6's are good... really really good but! only if you have some money to spend.

lsm1991
post Feb 3 2017, 06:45 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 3 2017, 06:16 PM)
Forget about Camry/Accord/Teana/Mazda 6, just test drive a Toyota Mark X, way2 much better than any of those!  biggrin.gif
And no, maintenance of a 2.5ltr V6 Toyota Mark X will not cost you and arm and a leg as well! Just normal & still very reasonable for a d-segment car.
this is viable. infact its even nicer. with an even showier badge IF s/he is willing to get an older car.....
lsm1991
post Feb 4 2017, 07:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 4 2017, 06:24 PM)
Hey guys,
I am considering two cars

2012 Myvi 1.5 SE -RM32k
and
2009 Swift 1.5 - RM30k

which is better? swift is 8 years old so more maintenance?
spare parts more expensive?

While myvi newer, more parts, cheaper parts as well.
Myvi better HU, betted equipped, more powerful compared to swift
Also potentially better FC?
whats your priority..... your last paragraph already summarized it all.....
straight up, im going to tell you, the myvi will be cheaper to maintain.... common car = easier to get parts at a lower cost.

*edit spelling

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Feb 4 2017, 07:07 PM
lsm1991
post Feb 6 2017, 03:31 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 4 2017, 07:31 PM)
I suppose my priority is  cost of ownership, fuel, parts.

So i suppose Myvi still win in this aspect?
generally speaking... yes

QUOTE(henshin7 @ Feb 6 2017, 01:39 AM)
Hi friends, need help here.

1. Brand : Perodua
2. Budget : ~6k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs :
5. Transmission. : Automatic
6. NA
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

I'm just a fresh grad starting my life here. I have 6k cash now, so I'm thinking of buying either

1. Kancil 880 (A) 2004 6k
2. Kelisa (A) 2004 14k
3. Viva (A) 2008 14k.

I'm inclined to buy Kancil so I doesn't need to think about loan and stuff while I'm still doesn't have stable/confirmed job and income, but my family asked me to buy at least Kelisa for the good engine or Viva because of the year made.

If I buy Kelisa or Viva, I will have to pay 6k and take loan for another 8k. Will the interest be too high?

Any insights? I don't really have the knowledge about cars or anything.
Just need to go to work. I live with my parents, so no need long distance traveling.

Thank you
1)kancil, good choice. Very simple car, maintanance is really dirt cheap, but when getting a car this cheap, make sure you get a relatively decent unit (strongly suggest a manual unit since this think in automatic form is pathetic and somewhat stress inducing if you ask me)... a fair alternative is the 880 viva for around 8k...
2)meh skip this
3)better option than (2), for 14k you can get a newer 1000cc viva...

now some alternatives....
1)saga lmst/lmss/or older
-these things are tanks..... sure it costs alittle more than a kancil in general where tax, wheels, sparkies are concerned (mostly its the tyres) but, its really not alot.
-larger then a kancil, just as crude
-manuals please... old proton autoboxes are utter garbage
-i warn yu, lots of the meters have been tampered with... same applies to the rest..
2)wira
-even larger but if you dont need the space, nah~
3)savvy
-do NOT poke even with a stick... theres a reason these things while on paper are pretty good, have basically no resale value. I repeat, do NOT touch these things
4)tiara
-same as 3 (unless you have a junkyard full of bits for it, then yeah go ahead....)
lsm1991
post Feb 7 2017, 01:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 6 2017, 02:50 PM)
1. Brand : Toyota/Nissan
2. Budget : RM 150K or below
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : 1.8cc or above
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : Prefer SUV
8. Remarks :

Currently own Proton Saga 1.3cc Facelift ( First gen ). This year will be 7th year and will trade this car out and topped out abit for downpayment.

Nothing specified, prefer SUV type of car like Honda HRV type. Good in FC.

O ya, And one more thing, spacious seat as well. ( Like Nissan Almera passenger seat )
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 7 2017, 12:57 PM)
May I know which one you would recommend out of these 3? I heard rumours that Toyota CHR will be in Malaysia around March 2017. Not sure whether is true or not. And compare with these 3, is it much better or worse? Kindly enlighten me
wana point out a few things....
1) the cars andrew recommended are those actual large proper full sized suv's.... (yeah i suspected you were looking for one of those tiny suv's since the hrv came up)
2) almera spacious? not really... maybe space efficient but not really spacious.
3) first you must decide.... do you need/want an suv? Yes, you want/prefer one, so now.... suv? or compact suv?.... compact suv's are much smaller in comparison and in terms of value, usually not that great. (they are small sedans on silts anyway.)
4)modern engines quite fuel efficient..... dont think there are any distinct fuel guzzlers i your price range.... you might want to add a few additional preferences to the mix (budget looks healthy enough for you to do so)
lsm1991
post Feb 7 2017, 01:41 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Feb 7 2017, 01:14 PM)
wana point out a few things....
1) the cars andrew recommended are those actual large proper full sized suv's.... (yeah i suspected you were looking for one of those tiny suv's since the hrv came up)
I'm actually looking something like Toyota Fortuner Type of SUV. Cause this will be my family car.
2) almera spacious? not really... maybe space efficient but not really spacious.
Well, I have Nissan Almera and I can really say the back seat has the most spacious I have ever sat among others.
3) first you must decide.... do you need/want an suv? Yes, you want/prefer one, so now.... suv? or compact suv?.... compact suv's are much smaller in comparison and in terms of value, usually not that great. (they are small sedans on silts anyway.)
Yes, SUV has lots of benefit to me, especially long distance drive. And of course, safety is one of the reason why I prefer SUV than sedan. If not I would just pick Toyota Altis or Nissan Slyphy and get on with it. XD
4)modern engines quite fuel efficient..... dont think there are any distinct fuel guzzlers i your price range.... you might want to add a few additional preferences to the mix (budget looks healthy enough for you to do so)

This one I'm not quite sure. Maybe 12km per litre I think. Of course higher is better.

O ya, and one last thing. My current Proton Saga always has this Noise issue that does not have good sound proof. So not sure will these vehicle have any issue like this?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hmm.gif fortuner.... means you are looking for one of those full sized suv's. Why were you even thinking about the hrv/chr in the 1st place? these 2 cars are significantly smaller. Again I suggest you think about it and decide if you need a large machine.

i shall add another option to the mix (slightly above budget but might be doable). Should also add that theres no way you can get a fortuner with 150k.
the subaru forrester. look it up....
+this thing is loaded.... really loaded to the brim. powered boot, powered seats, complete safety features (short of merc's fancy systems ofc)
+large
+proper 4wd system
-downside? it looks like a box, not everyone appreciates its looks

now where fuel is concerned.....
These large suv's do drink more fuel. 12km/l possible only in long distance journeys, not something you should expect in town. dont expect such great figures from such a large car since you need to lug all that added weight around.

*also wana add... suv's are not really safer than sedans... you're a bigger target in event of a final destination event takes place, you flip more easily (flipping isnt good...)
lsm1991
post Feb 7 2017, 06:37 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(sscloudstrifey @ Feb 7 2017, 06:01 PM)
1. Brand : Any reliable hatchback
2. Budget : 20 - 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used/New
4. Specs : I KNOW NOTHING BOUT CAR LOL
5. Transmission :  auto because i just started driving and manual drives me crazy
7. Type : hatchback
8. Remarks : I am sorry for being a noob but this is my first car and I kind of travel back and forth from Ipoh to Shah Alam so I need a reliable hatchback. I actually have a few car in mind but can someone help enlighten me if it's okay to buy 2nd hand car, I mean in terms of maintenance would it cost more or anything. The few cars that I have in mind is

i) 2013 Suzuki Swift RM 42 800
ii) 2013 Hyundai i10 RM 21700
iii) New Proton Iriz (LOL)

I am actually leaning more towards Hyundai but I don't know if it's a good one? No one I know drives a Hyundai though.
Okay I know nothing bout cars so can someone help me? Is there any other better options or brands I have? I don't have much knowledge in this field. Every help is appreciated, thanks.  biggrin.gif
20-50k... thats abit strange....

if you want something dirt cheap to run, what you should consider is a used viva or axia
-generally both are reliable, will get you places and the maintanance is cheap
-easy to drive
-feature wise, well they are as basic as can get, safety features are as basic as can be.....

the i10, no comment, i have no love for em...

swift vs iriz
Far as going for a pocket friendly machine goes, a local car is cheaper to jaga (not that the suuzuki is very expensive, its also alright actually)
-would suggest however that you also consider a low milage used iriz.... 1-2 years old... less warranty but the car would still be in decent shape With some warranty left over for about a year, as a precaution.
-iriz has quite a fair amount of safety/entertainment features for the price
**should also mention that its definitely more expensive than the viva or iriz if that's not already obvious, its a larger car after all... tyres, cvt fluid are amongst the things that would cost more.

tbc*
lsm1991
post Feb 10 2017, 04:14 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 8 2017, 06:40 PM)
Guys, for budget about 80k its advisable to get a used d seg or a new b seg car ?
Mainly aim for travel comfort and plan just to own the car for about 3 years.
Also one of the concern is resale value after 3 years.
Any advise ?
premise 1)D segments depreciate very quickly
premise 2)new cars also depreciate quick for the first 2-3 years
wait what am i doing...
since your car will fall into either subgroup... meh... both are fair options to you... d segments will cost more to jaga but... given that you only want to keep it for 3 years, not really an issue long as you get a good unit.

**ohh just read guest wrote the same thing so you can just ignore this...

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Feb 10 2017, 04:15 PM
lsm1991
post Feb 11 2017, 11:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 11 2017, 10:18 PM)
Yup i am more leaning toward d seg but that is looking at about 6 7 years old car. Quite worry about the parts to change once getting it and when the time i want to dispose it already about 10 yrs old.
Disposing 10 years ++ old vehicle is hard ?
well assuming loan conditions remain the same as today when the time comes you want to sell the car, yes alightly more difficult to sell simply because they want to offer loans for cars that old.

far as parts go, well its wear and tear, cant do that much about it. a well kept car should be alright tho.... thats one reason people get new cars, headache free (unless the sc is garbage and cannot solve your issues)
lsm1991
post Feb 13 2017, 12:14 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Feb 12 2017, 06:57 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : Below 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used
4. Specs : Mid - high
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : 4-5 seater
8. Remarks : Safety is important. Reliable.

Guys, looking for replacement car for my aging Waja. Reliable car is a must, my Waja has served me well through the years but recently it has been breaking down. Its time to change.
copy paste from an earlier response, someone else was looking for a car for around your budget (45k) (2 pages back)
**you have to accept first and foremost that these cars will cost more to maintain than your waja.... these are more complicated cars with more goodies in them

QUOTE(roti_john @ Feb 13 2017, 11:34 AM)
1. Brand : Proton Saga (new) or Vios (used) or any
2. Budget : rm500 and below monthly payment
3. New/Used/Unreg : new/used
4. Specs : saga(premium) / vios (any)
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :  any
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks : low maintenance, good fc

hi guys, this is going to be my 1st car  biggrin.gif  dunno which to choose between those two. btw, going to be married soon. so sedan car would be my choice. thanks for help  notworthy.gif
what kind of person are you, do you tinker with cars? how much are you willing to spend of them? do you need a large sedan? town/long distance driving?

QUOTE(ChannelChan @ Feb 13 2017, 11:55 AM)
its alright i guess.. you should view it yourself but otherwise, on paper, all looks to be in order
lsm1991
post Feb 14 2017, 03:21 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 14 2017, 03:17 PM)
Let's play a game, guess the car based on the interior  cool2.gif

wad is dat... must be a trick.... japunis ahmoi... or tongsan ahmoi... i kenot diferentiate....
china kar?

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Feb 14 2017, 03:23 PM
lsm1991
post Feb 14 2017, 10:57 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(donkeydoink @ Feb 14 2017, 05:31 PM)
Hi guys, Need some recomendations to get a car :-

1. Brand. No Preference but reliability and reasonable spare parts required
2. Budget. RM80k
3. New/Used/Unreg. Used / Unreg
4. Specs. Bluetooth and Reasonably good stock audio system, at least 4 airbags, Bi-xenon lights
5. Transmission. Automatic
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type. Sedan or 2 Seater
8. Remarks. I am in my early 30s, single and would wish for a sporty car or at least looks sporty. Spacious is not a big issue for me. I am honestly contemplating the CRZ, a Mini Cooper or the new Mazda 2 but I am also open for more suggestions.
**first off dont remember nuts about the headunit features and all that... so yeah im sort of glazing over that....

crz
-a very sluggish car, all looks no go.... not even taking aboutt he automatic variant,that variant is even slower.
+on the plus side, its got the looks, its actually nice to drive, has the sporty feel (sit, drive it and it doesn't really feel that slow, you only realize you are slow when you see all those modified old cars fly by you. laugh.gif
+maintenance is pretty reasonable and fc while isnt exactly breathtaking, is alright (hybrid after-all)
+if you get bored of it and have serious dough to throw at it... supercharger kits (or a balls out k20 swap is a possible option)
*i do like this car quite abit but its a car for those who are not really into raw acceleration or speed and are more into the drive*

mazda is sort of an oddball here no? the other 2 being very distinct and noticeable cars.

not going to comment about the mini.... my experience with it is rather limited, friend had one (very early on) and the servicing costs were not really far off a peugeot (308t) so if thats in the bundle i honestly dont see why golf gti's, audi tt's and slk's are not in here..... hmm.gif

**wait... do you need a loan?? what kind of age of cars are considered acceptable?
***does it need to go as fast as it looks?

if you dont need a loan and are willing to drive an older car...

fairlady-z
+powerful car
+reliable (very much so)
+headturner
-not loadable
-cheaper than you think
-mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax mygod roadtax sweat.gif
lsm1991
post Feb 15 2017, 10:27 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(donkeydoink @ Feb 15 2017, 09:49 AM)
this is great! Thank you for your advice. I am considering a 5 year loan for 60k so i cant get a car that is too old.
Preferably somewhere below the age of 5 years old. Hence, Fairlady-z is out of the question.

Speaking for servicing cost, I honestly did not have that when i shortlisted Mini into consideration. Perhaps i may need to scrap that out too.
The only concern now that I ahve in regards to maintenance for the CRZ is the hybrid Battery, i heard it cost RM10k to replace!  cry.gif
noooo less than that, join the crz club and ask them.... from what i wass told, honda ima batteries have had their price tags revised (cheaper)

u should test drive the crz first before deciding. Its a nice car, just slow.... painfully so.

just to put it out there, there's also that (ugly) volester
but im biased against that car.... cannot seem to like it.
probably just me.shakehead.gif
lsm1991
post Feb 16 2017, 10:13 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Feb 15 2017, 11:46 PM)
what is the best sedan for about 100k now  confused.gif
this seems to be a conditionless question..... hmm.gif
no demands in age, size, power, fc.... lets give you what i consider appropriate
-S350L
+massive car, large enough to house a 'trump sized' ego, (in malaysian kampung language: enough space to fit 3-4 cows in the back with space to spare for some ayams)
+powerful, its got the power to propel itself to the century mark in around 5 secs. You may lay waste to these imbecile myvi's at traffic light sprints. (heck you can actually outrun most 'sports cars' around)
+so many toys and creature comforts, its probably a nicer place than most malaysian homes.
-maintanance (even per square foot, its high)
-fc (low if you compare against moving a house for example)
-parking might be alittle.... lets just say that if you park in regular parking bays, its easy to spot your car (actually this is a win rclxm9.gif )

lsm1991
post Feb 16 2017, 11:57 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Feb 16 2017, 11:45 AM)
how bout a new one ? Considering mazda 2 , civic , vios , ioniq actually
mazda 2
-small car
-theres a new model on the way, comes with the fancy much awaited G-vectoring and stuff BUT that also means a slightly higher pricetag
-personally find the hatch looks alright (hehe zenix no rike laugh.gif) but the sedan.... urgh.....

civic (this is way over 100k... if you mean the 1.5t)

vios
-at this budget, like the top range city better (side note city is also getting a facelift). The vios is a good deal compared to the city assuming you could not afford the top range city.
-veeoss is supposed to be updated but dont think its coming soon..

ioniq (this is over 100k...)
-on paper, the spec sheet is impressive to say the least
-fc figures on that specsheet make me shiver with rage.... vmad.gif
-too soon to talk about reliability, and if it has any issues (1st batches, expect there to be some flaws that need polishing along the way)
-resale is also a question mark (if you look back, generally speaking kimchi cars suffer from slightly lower resale value compared to their sushi counterparts PLUS WITH the current resale trend with hybrid cars....... whistling.gif i dont see good news here BUT things might change, who knows)
lsm1991
post Feb 17 2017, 10:46 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Feb 17 2017, 09:44 AM)
All sifu..im thinking of buying 2nd hand Lexus ct200 or new 10gen civic..what's your take?

I know it's totally different class but I like both the look, the ct looks classy and young..i like the ct because it's Lexus, suppose to be very reliable, very technology advance probably will future proof for another 6 years, nice driving feel like Mercedes, much cheaper cost 2nd hand around 80-90k and don't think it will have any steep depreciation 6yrs on, imagine if I buy those 80k at most I think drop another 30k coz new myvi around rm50k and I don't think myvi will have those stuff even in 6yrs time, hybrid very fuel saving, I only don't like about the smaller size for the passenger behind a bit not comfortable, but I expect it to serve me at least 6yrs and I'm single now so still ok, and another thing is the parts might be hard to find since it's being discontinued..

I like civic coz..it's civic. Though not big of a branding as Lexus. I haven't test drive this car yet, but I expect it to drive nice, more roomy can cater for business use and also no need to change car until even when I have family, I like the look especially with the pearl white color looks classy and business like, very versatile. Probably much faster compare to ct200. Just that since it's new car it is more exp and depreciate steeply, and not as fuel saving as ct200. The thing with civic is although a bit pricey (top range) you still see this car everywhere on the road, a bit too common.

I mainly need a car for city drive, for business, for attending weddings, for paktoh..something classy and girls magnet a bit..basically to just show off abit, but not too much..i can't just save all the money and die alone leh..lol..pls help..
Lexus ct200 < prius in a fancy lexus suit, Mercedes drive? Before you assume anything, go test drive a unit. let me pick away at what you have written down so far;
1)don't think it will have any steep depreciation 6yrs on, imagine if I buy those 80k at most I think drop another 30k coz new myvi around rm50k and I don't think myvi will have those stuff even in 6yrs time
Resale does not work this way, there are old cars with many features cars today dont come with. Look towards the s class benz, it dwarfs the average car in terms of tech used. If you say 'ohh its a benz its diferent' then lets take a more relatable model then the prius. You can get one for 50k+, now how much is the top spec bezza or myvi (top spec cause we want to make it a more 'level' playing field)... as you said, the prius does come with more features, why is it cheaper? blink.gif
answer: cause that's not how one would calculate resale value. However! in terms of depreciation, i guess 30+k depreciation would be a fair estimate (but its nothing to do with how you compared it against the myvi)
**should note that given the current trend, hybrid's resale tend to be on the weaker side... at least for now, this can change as more people thrust them.

2)hybrid very fuel saving
its also more expensive, think electric motors, looms, battery. All these can go wrong if you are unlucky... also you will need to service it at lexus/toyota (would have to do the same with a new honda so not really an issue....) Also remember that its a used car, lifespan of wear and tear bits are somewhat used, gona need to replace them down the road.
I know someone who has owned a prius for quite a while, al good all this while

3)parts might be hard to find since it's being discontinued
parts not an issue, fairly easy to source... its pretty much a prius..

4)far as future proofing for another 6 years
well nah, been beaten by the ioniq..... that thing nasty

The civic, well go test drive one, its nice
+it looks good (to me it really does...)
+its fairly powerful
+the interior is pretty nice
+its got a sporty kind of seating position (if you like the high up kinda seating, its not for you)
+interior room is fair (iirc rear space is even larger than the ct200)
+alot of toys if thats what you like...
-roof line (arce by the rear doors) is quite low, its an issue for old people, they have to bend to enter
-cvt kinda takes the turo experience out abit (gives you better milage so its a win lose)
-new cars depreciate, unavoidable, warranty duration is being burnt off anyway
-oil changes seem abit frequent to me... and its staggered.... its weird...(not exp so its not really an issue i guess, just a time factor)
-1.5t is exp no doubt.
*its a sporty experience, i guess designed for the younger sports car loving generation this car.
lsm1991
post Feb 18 2017, 11:26 AM

309 posts

eiii i like the civic!!! cry.gif

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 18 2017, 03:48 AM)

2007 Fiat Punto 1.4 @ RM38k CBU unreg - it is recon, don't mind the age of the car you can still register it as a new car with new car interest rates. Fiat...well don't know much about it, found it interesting because of the price, any takers?

this punto, its actually really basic and can be a real pain.... but dat pricetag for a euro axia (or is it closer to a myvi?)....
lsm1991
post Feb 23 2017, 02:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(gengreengeng @ Feb 23 2017, 02:21 PM)
Hye guys. Im planing to buy satria neo cps under 30k for weekend car and balik kampung. Usually i go to work riding a bike.  I planning to mod the engine to stage 1. Any comments or suggestions. Really need your opinion.
under 30k, you can probably afford the newer r3 'kited' variant (not the fully kitted performance editions).
well far as the car goes, its an alright car, nice to drive, tho the fc isnt great.

first thing's first. This line
'I planning to mod the engine to stage 1'
has no meaning to it whatsoever!! bangwall.gif
im much triggered by people ging on about stages of tunings~. Its all marketing, its technically a package. Each tuner/tuning house have their own 'stages'. There is NO defined meaning to it.
So for example a 'stage 1' kit done by AhSeng and a 'stage 1' kit done by Ahmad can mean 2 very different things... In the package offered by AhSeng, he could be offering an intake+exhaust upgrade for stage o1and stage 2 being a rechip...... while Ahmad's stage 1 could refer to a intake, exhaust, portpolish, cams, throttlebody, piggyback, and stage 2 here includes hotter cams, a reboring, stroking and god knows what else.... so yeah #rant

since you are talking about modifications, I'm gona get bashed by neo fans now im im going to put it out there, it isnt a very fast car. By right, i would compare it against the old b16's honda's or 4g92 mivec. CPS by right works similar to vtec or mivec, but honestly, its nowhere near as powerful as either of the two. even with mods (i still again dont know what you mean by stage 1)... the engine is where its sort of a let down. (it is however, still more powerful than most cars on the road, tho i suspect not for long.... many fat automatic 4 door every day sedans are getting the turbo treatment and are coming in the next few years) Sticking to na, dollar for dollar spent, it is very difficult for these to catch up with the aforementioned two.
lsm1991
post Feb 23 2017, 03:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(gengreengeng @ Feb 23 2017, 03:02 PM)
Wow.  Haha triggered.  Well i just want to find newer and cheap car to mod. This 1 said that stage 1 mod is like this.

1. Drop in air filter : Stainless steel mesh
• Improves engine breathing, increase power and engine response
actually very likely performance will go down UNLESS you have an air box and proper channeling (hot air really saps alot of power, have 1st hand experience here).
the gains going to be 0...  few reasons
1)rest of the system is a restriction wont flow more actually. If you wana flow more, the whole throttle body and maybe the inatek ports need to be ported to match.
2)car wont know what to do with the added flow anyway if you dont remap ke retune the ecu
>so i would personally guaranty, 0 gains from this alone BUT you will get that nice pish sound!! If you do want to convert into a open pod system regardless, make sure you have a proper air box built + proper ducting (be careful about mesh filters... they dont do much filtering.... honestly dont recommend them, if you want bling, go for one of those drop in kits, its better for your car.)

2. Spark plug cables : Triple core 10.2mm
• Improves engine response, better cold start, reduces voltage fluctuation from ignition coil to spark plugs ( more stable voltage )
>good stuff go ahead

3. Iridium spark plugs, Denso Iridium IT20
• Better firing power, more powerful and cleaner combustion
>last longer too, good stuff

4. Voltage stabilizer
• Improves engine response, more stable battery voltage, reduces voltage drop from additional accessories
>sure, dont expect the response to improve tho. Its only more apparent on older cars where the alternator, wirings and electrical stuff are old.

5. Custom exhaust work
• Increases engine performance ; suits Automatic and Manual transmission cars without sacrificing comfort and fuel economy
> a well designed unit will be great, tukar extractors together

6. Grounding cables
• Increases engine response, reduces voltage drop from additional accessories, more stable current
>no harm, again much more useful on old machines

7. Throttle body polish ; swap basis with T/Body learning
• Better throttle response, increases engine response
• Re-adjust idle speed to factory settings
>hmmm polish alone does not require a new filter, might get a tiny amount of power here? tiny tiny..
>throttle controller (this is what you want kan?)
hmmm hmm.gif
you will probably find that most of these cars have some of those bits. anyway some poison for you

this I like
A 4g63t.. the most powerful thing you can fit in BUT.... its illegal advertised as endorsed so some under counter money needed.

also rather decent
this is a 4g93t, abit less powerful but this is definitely endorsable. The engine costs a bomb due to demand.

30 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.4240sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:41 PM