Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

dogbert_chew
post Sep 29 2022, 11:25 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ Sep 28 2022, 08:57 PM)
replace my current 2018 Honda City and without bursting the current monthly payment.

1. Brand : Honda / Mazda
2. Budget : <90K
4. Remarks : Large Bootspace and Good Fit Finish
Since you are already familiar with Honda support infrastructure, how about the smaller newer HRV?

Check out the bootspace see if sufficient for your needs.
The rear ultraseats still unbeatable flexibility vs other brands.
dogbert_chew
post Oct 2 2022, 09:37 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Oct 2 2022, 04:52 PM)
Previously sought for recommendations in early August with budget up to 85k. At that time, six options were given to me - Saga/Persona/Bezza/Vios/City/Almera.

My budget has now increased to 100k. Does this give better options in selection of car models?

For new cars, nope.
Just better variants of Vios, City, Almera for sedans.
Mazda 2 just slightly over 100K but strictly for their brand enthusiasts due to minimal space.
The next new sedan would be Corolla at ard 125K.

You might do some research into other body types apart from sedan as some have really good safety features and fuel consumptions
dogbert_chew
post Oct 4 2022, 04:55 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Oct 2 2022, 09:59 PM)
Thanks! What non-sedans would you recommend with a budget of 100k?
Sorry for delayed reply, was travelling back from a race.

Actually the brands and models can be determined by your preference for more active eg Pre-Collision Braking or passive safety which reduces the severity of actual impact like stronger chassis.

One ex colleague Myvi got rear-ended by a lorry and asked what is the safest vehicle he can buy under 100K. He bought this.

dogbert_chew
post Oct 6 2022, 05:37 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(quireyuyue @ Oct 6 2022, 04:34 PM)
2. Budget : 100k+-
3. New/Used/Unreg : NEW
7. Type : SUV
8. Remarks :  plan to go off road once in a while.
Offroad ?
You need 4WD or at least AWD for less rugged terrain.
No new models for this ard 100K, perhaps others can recommend used options.

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Oct 6 2022, 05:38 PM
dogbert_chew
post Oct 12 2022, 05:54 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Oct 12 2022, 01:01 PM)

2. Budget : 40 - 70k
3. New/Used/Unreg : NEW / USED
7. Type : MPV
8. Remarks : 7 seater for family, long distance, reliable

Options : New Alza vs Used Wish 2013 vs Any other good/reliable used MPV
Under full load eg 6-7 adults, the Alza 105hp 138Nm struggles with slopes or heavy acceleration with the CVT clearly heard straining if you floor the accelerator.
Doors and tailgate is hollow and flimsy doesn't inspire passive safety confidence.

One clear redeeming factor is the wonderfully balanced chassis allowing high speed sweeping corners near Karak & Jelapang

Do go and test drive w your family to check first before considering and note the long waiting period
dogbert_chew
post Oct 15 2022, 11:44 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Oct 2 2022, 09:59 PM)
Thanks! What non-sedans would you recommend with a budget of 100k?

Certain sedans also not safe when rear-ended

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Oct 15 2022, 11:45 PM
dogbert_chew
post Oct 16 2022, 10:56 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Oct 16 2022, 08:08 PM)
maybe I should look for other options such as SUV/MPV.

Which SUV/MPV car brands or models are usually considered more reliable in terms of build quality and safety features, with budget of 100k?
Can browse through this.. X70 just an example

https://aseancap.org/v3/listings/proton-x70/
dogbert_chew
post Nov 9 2022, 12:19 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Nov 8 2022, 07:01 PM)
1. Brand : Mazda CX-30 High or Hyundai Kona N-Line
2. Budget : RM170k OTR
3. New/Used/Unreg: New
4. Specs: Fully loaded!
5. Transmission: Not a CVT smile.gif
7. Type : SUV / Compact SUV

Key things I'm looking for are reliability and safety / quality of life features which I thought the CX-30 (booked since May 2022) can provide. I've just test drove the Hyundai Kona N-Line and was quite impressed with its smooth transmission and suspension for city driving - I load in about 15k km a year or less as car is mostly for conservative city driving and the occasional trip from outstation trip from Selangor.

My question is, would the Kona be a better buy than the CX-30 or should I just stick to the CX-30? Am open to other models but I can't seem to think of anything else besides these 2 models for a relatively compact SUV with most features expected of cars today.
Most Japanese brands gone down the CVT route, u only have Mazda models within this SUV segment and price range providing automatic transmissions.

Koreans Sorento or SantaFe too big, so the Kona N is just nice.

If you're brave enough, can consider Peugeot 3008 for its handling or even VW Tiguan though i doubt they can match either vehicles you have shortlisted above.

If you're nuts, can look at Suzuki Jimny 1.5NA at RM170K LOL
dogbert_chew
post Nov 9 2022, 09:50 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Nov 9 2022, 09:36 PM)

To be honest, how is the aftersales service at Hyundai Sime Darby? I checked online but reviews are mostly good, aside from the slightly longer than expected waiting time.
One of my close buddies bought a brand new Sonata,
the pain and frustration he went thru left a deep impression on me.

Suggest you solicit for actual owner experience. This applies for other brands model as well.
dogbert_chew
post Nov 11 2022, 03:58 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(nazfaliq @ Nov 10 2022, 06:21 PM)
Hello all, looking for some opinion on used C segment sedan USED car.
1. Brand - Anything other than P1&P2 that easy to maintainence, cheap maintainence. (RV not an issue)
2. Budget - About RM 40k ish
3. New / Used - Used
4. Model - C segment, newer the better, as long cheap maintainence
5. Transmission - Auto
6. NA or FI: no problem as long cheap maintenance
7. Type - Sedan
8. Remarks - C segment with moderate comfort and safety, moderate FC (if better ofc good) and CC maximum 1.8

Is kimchi cars is Elantra and Cerato are easy, cheap to maintain nowadays?
Yes, Japanese cars are reliable, easy to maintain, but since I dont care about RV, maybe I can get newer Kimchi car with that budget.

But if kimchi cars are totally unreliable and expensive to maintain, I will avoid.

Even if you find a good used car from close friend or relative, the maintenance will always be higher than a new model.

So you need to consider the total ownership cost over 5 years. Roughly buy & yearly maintenance (excl fuel, tyres)

Elantra 2016 45K & 3Kx5 = 60K (may be higher)
Persona 2023 45K & 1Kx5 = 50K (assured under warranty)
RV not discussed. Excl new S50 sedan no price yet

Please check if there is a lot of difference in comfort & safety to consider the higher risk of used car at this segment/ price range.

dogbert_chew
post Nov 16 2022, 06:04 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Nov 15 2022, 05:18 PM)
new Mazda CX-3 but space

used 2019 CX-5 AT transmission

new HR-V/ Corolla Cross?  CVT

except Subaru none know how to repair

2. Budget: 120-130k
3. New/Used/Unreg - New/Used(>2018)
5. Transmission : AT (preferable)
7. Type : SUV/Hatchback
Bro, after multiple postings 😅 easier to list down cars u have eliminated. Eg MPVs u previously considering?

For new SUV or hatchback between 100 - 130K that is
Not CVT & Not Mazda
Only X50 / X70

Used cars will let others feedback.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 12 2022, 06:17 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Dec 12 2022, 09:28 AM)

but before that, may I know if they are able to assist in cancelling the insurance of car as well as interchange my carplate to my wife car since I really like my carplate (special plate series)

AFAIK, you cannot interchange two old vehicle registration numbers.

Need to buy a new vehicle (motorbike also can),
then transfer your old vehicle number to it.

Yoir old vehicle then get the new number.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 15 2022, 03:10 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(McFcker @ Dec 15 2022, 11:23 AM)
Hey need some advice here.
I've gotten a new daily ride.
Plan to sell my current manual 10 year old daily to get either :
Swift Zc31s or Satria Neo R3.
Both are around similar price range with the satria being slightly cheaper.
This will be a weekend car.
Which of this 2 should i get? Most prob planning next year to change
Interesting..
Can list down pros and cons for all 3 cars?
Swift, Neo & current manual what car?
dogbert_chew
post Dec 20 2022, 12:55 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 19 2022, 10:38 PM)
What are any good beaters under 20k (that are not national cars preferably)?

What I have gathered:
1) 1997 or 2005 Toyota Corolla
2) 2002 Toyota Camry
3) 2009 Nissan Sentra
4) Anything else?

What I need the car to do is just mainly city driving, occasionally long distance.
I care for my cars, service on time, never race them.
Of the above choices or other cars, what workhorses can still tahan for another 10 years?

People around me told that my choices are already too old, spare parts starting to be scarce.
Yr Ativa already perfect for city drive with low end max torque from the turbo and slightly higher view for jams and elevated ride for potholes.

What exactly are you looking for in these 20 yr old beaters, Ride & handling? How about Peugeot

https://www.mudah.my/+2016+Peugeot+308+1+6+...SH-96328551.htm

Money pit though.. Need deep pockets.

dogbert_chew
post Dec 20 2022, 03:32 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Dec 20 2022, 03:07 PM)
Sold to save up for more important things :x Now looking to cash buy a beater/daily.

24K new.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 20 2022, 11:04 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(knighty @ Dec 20 2022, 09:39 PM)

2. Budget. -  closer to 20k
5. Transmission - Auto
7. Type. - Sedan or hatchback
doesn't cost a bomb to repair/break down often
very fuel efficient.
groceries, visiting family etc within PJ.
Won't be travelling out of town much.
Used peroduas generally higher priced,
if can find well maintained Proton would be cheaper. Eg.

https://www.mudah.my/2011+Proton+SAGA+FL+1+...A+-98854716.htm

But most importantly, beware of

dogbert_chew
post Dec 24 2022, 08:46 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(jonathan_kkc @ Dec 22 2022, 10:50 PM)
Family with 2 toddlers. Budget is 60k.
Looking for comfort (spacious) and safety (airbags).
1) New Proton Persona 2022 Premium
2) Used Hyundai Sonata 2016

PS: I didnt pick any Perodua because waiting list seems too long. Prefer car that can collect within 3 months.

As most order the higher variants, the base Alza X RM63K waiting time i heard ard 4-6months. Might be a better choice than a 7 yr old used car.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 26 2022, 10:10 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Dec 26 2022, 02:37 PM)
I'm not a car guy
comes to purchasing a car, i have no idea at all.
yet to visit any recon car shop,
i have absolutely no idea about car,
chances of me kena tipu hidup hidup is high.

So far we have Saga FLX Executive, 8 years,
Mazda BT50 sold

planning to buy new car
sedan, SUV or hatchback. not MPV,
budget 250k,
time for me to buy a new nice car.

Having a 1/4 million budget for a car is nice.
Before spending this, research and plenty of test drive is recommended as you have not even narrowed down the vehicle type or even size segment to target. How about EVs, do they suit your lifestyle?

And growing family, would you need to carry your kid's bicycle in the future? What vehicle would the wife drive, the aging Saga? Or get another car when Saga hits 10+.

If it is purely one car to max out the budget, the Mini variants might be suitable and you can ask your sis about BMW maintenance costs.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 28 2022, 10:32 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Dec 28 2022, 01:27 PM)
new car
Budget: below RM150k, the lower the better
No Proton and Perodua
Type: hatchback, compact SUV, sedan with short rear like Honda City is fine...
Usage: Mainly city driving

order of priority:
Value for money, reliability, efficient fc, looks good n modern...prefer higher cars

Also, I see most models now comes with Hybrid option. Is it worth getting a hybrid or better stick to normal petrol cars?

If you prefer shorter cars (in mm)

Yaris 4140
City Hatch 4345
HR-V 4385
Vios 4425
City Sedan 4550

Can go test drive these models above by just visiting UMW and Honda outlet.

Anticipated low mileage & less things to go wrong, just stick to cheaper normal petrol cars no need hybrid.

dogbert_chew
post Dec 28 2022, 10:48 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(jon360x @ Dec 28 2022, 07:26 PM)

rm36-40k
at least reliable enough as a daily
Manual trans

NEW
PROTON SAGA

old cars
PROTON SATRIA NEO R3
PROTON INSPIRA
Corolla Blacktop swapped
Civic 1.6 B16A (both EJ sedans are fine for me)
Satria GTi / Putra

Some of us here are waiting for the new Perodua Axia manual launching 2023 hoping the price falls 25-29K. Another option for you to consider.

Will let others feedback on the old cars.

26 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

1.3845sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:26 PM