Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V3),, ASK HERE for recommendations

dogbert_chew
post May 22 2022, 04:36 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(lowstate @ May 22 2022, 02:38 PM)
cant decide if its a good idea to get a 10years old hybrid machine, wear and tears on parts etc
With these concerns, why consider at all ?

Bought a Prius for 139K, sold it for less than half the value after 5 plus years. Enjoyed the drive and power. Because im heavy footed got average < 20km per liter 50-50 city highway.

Its low volume car here and CBU japan so any major parts going to be expensive now. Risky.
dogbert_chew
post May 23 2022, 06:30 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ May 23 2022, 01:17 AM)
Planning to buy my first car

Budget: <RM60k car value
Condition: New or reliable used car
Type: Sedan / SUV
Transmission: Auto
Usage: City driving, occasional interstate travel (maybe like once every few months)

Remarks: Short waiting period,
Reliability,
safety,
comfort of driving.

used to drive parent’s honda hrv

1. Persona Executive (RM50,800)
Large boot space,
rear seat looks spacious,
good handling & safety.

reliability issues (CVT, power window, etc),

2. Saga Premium (RM41,800)
sizeable boot space and rear space,
no complaints on the handling/comfort driving.
No cvt, so perhaps no issues on gearbox?

reliability of the product
3. New 2022 Perodua Myvi 1.5H (RM53k)

Reliable brand (less issues than proton)

Inferior handling vs Proton, small boot size

If buying new, likely to get at the end of this year (w higher pricing from SST reactivated) unless less popular models like Iriz.

Reliability is mentioned several times,buying public has a better perception of Perodua.

Handling is Proton forte but if you mainly city driving, then won't matter so much. Outstation once every few months, just drive within speed limit. The online reviews might emphasize it a lot, better we go test drive ourselves see if really any difference at city speeds.

Do you need the boot space on a regular basis ? Actually a hatchback ia more versatile when it comes to carrying bigger bulky items say from Ikea, most reviewer only mentioned boot space for luggages where sedans have advantage. Try fitting a bicycle into sedan wink.gif

From your three selection above, my recommendation Myvi 1.5 with the superior D-CVT transmission giving similar feel to HRV one.
dogbert_chew
post May 24 2022, 10:14 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ May 24 2022, 04:44 AM)

Can I just check if Myvi would last longer than Persona? Planning to use this for 10-12 years max and not planning to upgrade anytime soon after this purchase.

Very much depends on how owner maintain.

Personally i think Persona is a tough car and will last very long but friends' Myvis overall track record has been impressive. Also second hand value is crazy good so far should u choose to upgrade.
dogbert_chew
post May 24 2022, 04:41 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 24 2022, 03:37 PM)
nothing wrong with any car, myvi ke, saga ke, as long as they think they make the right choice for themselves.
I've seen family with 2 kids riding on the same motorbike too, also no wrong. if that's the only thing they can afford.
Agree w this. An ex colleage bought second hand Viva for wife and 2 kids. He rode motorbike to work. Hardworking guy, few years later got 2nd hand avanza for wife and 4 kids and he drive the Viva. Sat in his car out for lunch, very nicely maintained no problem at all.

dogbert_chew
post May 25 2022, 12:02 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(paulPan @ May 24 2022, 08:28 PM)
2. Budget : RM 60-70k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Looking for new
4. Specs : Nothing specific, safety with 6 airbags.
7. good boot size for weekend grocery run

daily communte (60+ km a day). Most on the kesas, so should be stable at highway speeds.
Will only be used for city driving, no balik kampung
shorter the waiting period

persona premium with 6 airbags wait period is too long (Some say 4-6 months).
Myvi boot space is small.
ativa has a better boot space, nice interior, but have heard concerns about the noise from the engine which can be loud; plus its a relatively new car which has yet to prove its long term reliability. 
Any popular new car, lucky to get less than 4 months. Just setting expectations from what i heard.

If daily highway, my vote goes to Persona. But Kesas rush hour also cannot go fast. So any of your 3 choices above can be determined by other factors. Eg If you had good after sales suport experience for Bezza, might be tempted to stick w Perodua.

Side note: the Ativa engine at idle is less noisy vs X50. But due to better Geely soundproofing, they are equally quiet inside.
dogbert_chew
post May 27 2022, 11:20 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ May 26 2022, 09:30 PM)
1. Brand:  Pick Up Truck
2. Budget: ≤ RM140,000
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used (1-2 Years)

Looking for 2nd hand (that will save me at least 10~20k) will do.
Sorry no idea about truck.

But am curious, is it normal within truck community to buy a 1-2 year old second hand to try save 7-14% instead of buying new ?
dogbert_chew
post May 29 2022, 07:44 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Lieblingsmonster @ May 29 2022, 02:44 PM)
I booked persona in april and the SA said waiting time is 2-3 months. but now SA also dont dare to promise arrival time  bangwall.gif
borrowing a car from friend but got some issue, car need to give back.
So currently looking for second hand car  doh.gif
Or anyone knows any new car that has a short queue? dont mind if the budget need to stretch to 70k-80k
Persona premium ?
Booked April likely get Nov-Dec. Sorry bro
dogbert_chew
post Jun 8 2022, 12:00 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(mynewsin @ Jun 7 2022, 10:18 AM)
Hi Guys, looking for recommendation between Proton X50,Honda XRV and Toyota Corolla Cross. Never own these brand before. not really sure about the after sales service
X50 order now probably get in 2024
XRV not sold here
Cross non hybrid is your best bet to get it this year with
UMW service > Proton.
dogbert_chew
post Jun 13 2022, 01:33 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Z@ne @ Jun 12 2022, 05:12 PM)
2. Budget : 25k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
5. Transmission : Auto
7. Type : 5 seater SUV.
8. Remarks : Planning on getting a 2nd hand SUV just to travel to LRT and back home. 8km 1 way. 

I have short listed 2005 CRV and 2001 Rav 4.
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 13 2022, 01:12 AM)
If you look hard enough probably can get 08/09 Santa Fe 2.2 Diesel.
Much better than old CRV and Rav4
Or a Perodua Nautica, Toyota Rush in those 08/10 years, much newer and smaller engine?
dogbert_chew
post Jun 14 2022, 02:59 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehl @ Jun 14 2022, 08:10 AM)

2. Budget : 80k+-
3. New/Used/Unreg : new or used
7. Type : prefer hatchback & compact due to parking space
8. Remark: reliable, plan to use it at least 7years as family car, city drive daily <15km,90% city drive maybe few times a year travel to other state. Penang area

Plan to get it on Q4 or Q1-2 next year.
How big your family?
For higher reliability and keep more than 7 years suggest buy new.
Penang city drive with heavy traffic get SUV for height easier to see ahead.
Compact SUV I suggest Ativa. (X50 delivery in 2023 uncertain)
If don't need height Myvi is cheaper alternative. Want branded then Yaris. Both compact enough
dogbert_chew
post Jun 14 2022, 05:23 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehl @ Jun 14 2022, 04:35 PM)
Thanks for the reply, 2 +1baby in the future, as long it able to fit in baby car seat and those baby stuff will do.

So summarize above the option will be
1. Myvi
2.Yaris
3. Used Altis

Yaris worth 20k+ on top of myvi?
Altis is around 4.6M long LOL.
If no need compact, with growing family can
consider new City Hatchback.

Still suggest new car unless you have some knowledge and experience with car mechanics outside service centres
dogbert_chew
post Jun 15 2022, 12:58 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehl @ Jun 14 2022, 07:58 PM)
How about new persona?
Have u test drive?

What do u think vs King of the road Myvi..
dogbert_chew
post Jun 15 2022, 02:56 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(lawrencehl @ Jun 15 2022, 11:06 AM)

No yet, if it consider a good choice I will go for test drive.

Myvi with reliable engine & ASA safety features in this price range other than that nothing to expect from it.

1. Myvi
2. Persona
Worth 20k+ to go for Japan brand?
3.Yaris
4. City HB
If you prioritize handling and a slight conti weighty feel then PIES comes into the picture. If no idea what im blabbering about, perodua has a better reputation in reliability and resale value.

The Bsegment Japanese trio of H, T & N has its own followers, again if cannot distinguish their advantages during a test drive over local cars, then better stick to Proton/ Perodua for significant savings.

Can't just summarise your options based on LYN individual preferences.
dogbert_chew
post Jun 28 2022, 02:14 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Breluu @ Jun 28 2022, 01:56 PM)
2. Budget: Around RM70K or less
3. New/Used/Unreg: New or used but only japanese (not too old)
4. Specs: Prefer higher CC 2.4 / 2.5
7. Type: C segment or D segment
8. Remarks: Currently driving Avanza 2006 year , dilemma new Alza or Used D segment car like accord 2.4 or CRV 2.4 or CX5 2.5

Looking forward to the New Alza, but when think about my current car Avanza 1.3...... i feel the power is really really....... suck to be honest.
so i turn my target to used car D segment accord, camry and SUV like crv or cx5 (all either 2.4 or 2.5 only)
Most of the time travel from Johor to Kuala lumpur (highway is 70%, city 30%) avanza really cannot... and too old
I've driven the Avanza 1.3 a few months and agree w you. It really sucks.. But it is not the engine. The transmission has been geared to pull full MPV load with suspension tuned accordingly. I can only use max 1 hour before thinking of driving off a cliff. There must be a reason why u have an Avanza in the first place.

Anyway if you don't need a MPV, a new B-Segment Japanese sedan or hatchback will certainly feel MILES better for 70-30 highway city use. Just quickly book one by 30jun to enjoy SST exemption for slightly above 70K

No need to over react and aim for second hand D segment which may be many times more expensive to maintain. Petrol price also might not stay at RM2.05 ya, I think la
dogbert_chew
post Jun 28 2022, 07:58 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jun 28 2022, 04:58 PM)
Currently eyeing for new Honda City/HRV, never driven an SUV before. I know that the maintenance and fuel consumption will be higher for SUV. Both of the cars are B-segment but let say comparing 90k City V 1.5 and 125k(approximately) HRV E 1.5T. Does the extra performance, higher ground clearance and other properties justify the extra 35k pricing? What's the reason of people nowadays choosing an SUV instead of settling down for a lower price Sedan?
To make matters worse for the HRV, it is priced closer to the Civic rather than City.

For me its a combination of height
- higher ground clearance for potholes
- higher seat to see ahead better (since rear tints for cars now at 0%)
- and subjectively, i find it easier to get in and out

As well as size ( bigger than the B segment City)
with larger hatchback opening (eg loading bicycles)

The BRV vs City is a closer match pricewise. But the choice would be obvious. 7 seats vs 5

This post has been edited by dogbert_chew: Jun 28 2022, 08:01 PM
dogbert_chew
post Jul 11 2022, 03:01 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Jul 4 2022, 02:07 AM)

2. Budget: RM100K
3. New/Used/Unreg: new, used, unreg
4. Specs: above 1.0L
7. Type: MPV/minivan
8. Remarks:
able to climb hill
for car camp
able to move big item from time to time
5 seater is good enough
back seat able to flip to the flat ground,
sliding door
Not sure which hill you intend to climb with 1.0L MPV, i think the smallest displacement in Malaysia is 1.5L

Also moving big items is very vague, how big? 😁

I only recommend new ya, within 100K u have 3 choices
Exora, Xpander, new Alza.. all no sliding doors.

Can test drive and come back here w more questions else you need to look for used models.
dogbert_chew
post Jul 14 2022, 08:40 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(zodius @ Jul 14 2022, 10:21 AM)
So far I am looking at new Alza
Xpander is quite attractive but I do hope they bring in the new 2022 Xpander...
Alza 62-75K
Xpander 92K

As they are similar (if Xpander comes in CVT instead of ancient 4AT), it is still a massive price advantage for locally priced Perodua

Xpander can only fight Veloz overseas at similar price range.
dogbert_chew
post Jul 16 2022, 10:01 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(free2d @ Jul 16 2022, 07:40 PM)
Looking for a new MPV. Budget RM200k max with sliding door.
Any recommendation?
Serena, Starex, Carnival.. A quick search reveals

Perhaps you can go to their respective threads to find out owner experience.
dogbert_chew
post Jul 19 2022, 07:34 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jul 19 2022, 11:36 AM)

2. Budget: 20-30k++
4. Specs. = as long as powerful than current kancil 660 laugh.gif  laugh.gif
5. Transmission: Automatic
7. Type: hatchback
New Axia G AT 67hp RM33K 5yr warranty
dogbert_chew
post Jul 20 2022, 01:20 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jul 19 2022, 10:36 PM)
no thanks milo tin
Sorry, i thought Axia acceptable because you were considering this..

26 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.4221sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:10 PM