124 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V1, Turbo kick in yo...

knwong
post Jul 14 2016, 10:47 AM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 09:50 AM)
Why would airbags deploy? Unless the front impact was considerable. Don't seem so in the pic.
Then can gauge how impactful is the crash
blurkia
post Jul 14 2016, 11:08 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 14 2016, 10:47 AM)
Then can gauge how impactful is the crash
Airbags are sensitive topic nowadays haha.
cipher3344
post Jul 14 2016, 11:08 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 09:49 AM)
Not sure if you are referring to the Civic or the Wira being a Milo tin?

Either way, ppl need to depart from that old mentality of seeing a smashed up car and assuming its a milo tin. That's the crumple zones and its specially designed to crumple and absorb the energy from the impact by controlled deformation. If this energy is not absorbed or dissipated, it will be directly transferred to the passenger cabin. This is basic Laws of Physics.

Newton’s first law states that an object in motion will stay in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force. As a result, if a vehicle is travelling at 110kmph, the passenger bodies inside are as well, and if the vehicle hits a solid wall and comes to a stop immediately without any crumple zones, the bodies will continue going in the same direction at 110kmph.

Passengers will continue to move forward at the same speed until they come in contact with a part of the automobile or another human being, causing severe injury. Even after a human body comes to a stop in an accident, its internal organs continue to move, slamming against each other because of the impact, often causing serious internal injuries and bleeding.

That's why crumple zones are very important. But crumple zones need to be paired with a strong passenger compartment to prevent intrusion or structural collapse.

If you walk around the Civic and do the 'knocking assessment' you will find a lot of hollow sounds. Being hollow is ok because it means that there is internal space for the crumple zone to collapse and its energy absorbed. In most continental cars like BMW, Audi, Merc and VW, you will find less 'hollow knocking sounds'. This is because these manufacturers generally include a lot of energy absorbing materials within the crumple zones. Try closing the boot of the BMW 5 Series for example and ull understand what I mean. But if the Civic were to follow the same route and include all these energy absorbing materials within the crumple zones, im certain we will be paying about 100K more.

Most importantly, Honda has done a very good job with its chassis and strengthening the passenger compartment. That's why the Civic gets the highest crash rating of Top Safety Pick Plus by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety America (IIHS).

It also obtained a 5 Star overall crash rating by the NHTSA with individual 5 star ratings for frontal crash, side crash and rollover. Just for info, the 2015 BMW 3 Series also obtained an overall 5 Star rating but only got a 4 star rating for frontal crash.
good statement, lesson learned. LIKE+
sean2823
post Jul 14 2016, 12:27 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 13 2016, 11:01 PM)
Car loan interest so low why wana pay more n reduce? Use the money and invest elsewhere and earn higher returns la.
Bro. Pls do not compare fixed rate with the flexible rate of term loan for housing etc. The car hp rate of 2.75% actually would cost more than 5% interest per annum eventually. Unless u have good investment which could guarantee return more than such rates, why not? If only FD, it is advisable to settle loan first.
sanggilisamba
post Jul 14 2016, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jul 13 2016, 05:19 PM)
That's what I was told too.
All are saying the same. Their reply, 'no directive from HQ yet'.
cybermaster98
post Jul 14 2016, 01:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sean2823 @ Jul 14 2016, 12:27 PM)
Bro. Pls do not compare fixed rate with the flexible rate of term loan for housing etc. The car hp rate of 2.75% actually would cost more than 5% interest per annum eventually. Unless u have good investment which could guarantee return more than such rates, why not? If only FD, it is advisable to settle loan first.
I know all about effective rates which is why I still say don't waste money reducing car loans. Why do u think I always go for 90% max 9 yrs loan?

There are many investments out there with varying levels of risk which also provide potentially much higher returns.

(p/s: FD is not an investment vehicle anymore. Most ppl either 'invest' in FD to offset inflation or because they dont know what else to pump their money into. Even then nowadays FD returns are not enough to offset inflation)
doreamon1987
post Jul 14 2016, 02:32 PM

91 posts

hi guys~ did anyone of u buy the sun shade for your front windshield (which is nicely fitted)? if yes, dont mind to share where u guys bought it? biggrin.gif
Xaphier
post Jul 14 2016, 02:37 PM

495 posts

I have seen several people recommending Llumar Diamond 6 for tint. I've seen the package, Llumar Diamond 6 VLT is 63%

I am looking for something with 50% VLT. Is it possible to have Llumar Diamond 6 to be slightly darker? (While JPJ compliance of course)
isr25
post Jul 14 2016, 02:41 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Jul 14 2016, 02:37 PM)
I have seen several people recommending Llumar Diamond 6 for tint. I've seen the package, Llumar Diamond 6 VLT is 63%

I am looking for something with 50% VLT. Is it possible to have Llumar Diamond 6 to be slightly darker? (While JPJ compliance of course)
Don't forget that your car windows also has VLT figures too. With the tint, it might be close to 50% already.
Sanity
post Jul 14 2016, 03:00 PM

289 posts

I just removed my tint for my myvi and puspakom test shows the VLT for all windows is already 74%. Wonder if the so called JPJ compliant tint is valid.

Puspakom officer explained to me that it is only valid if you have a letter from JPJ which they will not approve easily.

This post has been edited by Sanity: Jul 14 2016, 03:01 PM
giggs_509
post Jul 14 2016, 03:05 PM

1,475 posts

Last time installed crystalline 70 (68% vlt) and recently after inspect puspakom result is 56-57% vlt. Maybe the low vlt due to degrade after few years also not sure. So llumar 63% vlt if combine with vehicle glass maybe nearer to 50% vlt already.
cybermaster98
post Jul 14 2016, 03:08 PM

4,440 posts

JPJ will use their new tint guidelines to rake in more money for their coffers. They are getting more and more desperate by the day. I would strongly suggest you stick to JPJ compliant tints.

Anyway Llumar Diamond 6 is for safety with good heat rejection. I would think having 50% VLT is dangerous for side windows especially at night.
ddr3
post Jul 14 2016, 03:12 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 01:37 PM)
I know all about effective rates which is why I still say don't waste money reducing car loans. Why do u think I always go for 90% max 9 yrs loan?

There are many investments out there with varying levels of risk which also provide potentially much higher returns.

(p/s: FD is not an investment vehicle anymore. Most ppl either 'invest' in FD to offset inflation or because they dont know what else to pump their money into. Even then nowadays FD returns are not enough to offset inflation)
heheh, need to call you sifu cybermaster ald. any good suggestion for investment? rclxm9.gif
sean2823
post Jul 14 2016, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 01:37 PM)

Thanks for sharing. Investment risk and return would depend on each individual on risk appetite. Some ppl stil prefer FD even know it could not fight with inflation.

In fact, Malaysian nowadays mostly already in high debt ratio. For me, in uncertain economic situation, i would prefer to be more prudent, to reduce debt as much possible. Just my personal opinion. Cheers!
sean2823
post Jul 14 2016, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 03:08 PM)
JPJ will use their new tint guidelines to rake in more money for their coffers. They are getting more and more desperate by the day. I would strongly suggest you stick to JPJ compliant tints.

Anyway Llumar Diamond 6 is for safety with good heat rejection. I would think having 50% VLT is dangerous for side windows especially at night.
I think most tint cannot go thru puspakom even with 70VLT, as glass VLT already there. As long as not too dark by visual, should be ok.
cybermaster98
post Jul 14 2016, 04:42 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sean2823 @ Jul 14 2016, 04:31 PM)
Thanks for sharing. Investment risk and return would depend on each individual on risk appetite. Some ppl stil prefer FD even know it could not fight with inflation.

In fact, Malaysian nowadays mostly already in high debt ratio. For me, in uncertain economic situation, i would prefer to be more prudent, to reduce debt as much possible. Just my personal opinion. Cheers!
Yes true.

But debt isn't always bad the same as risk. Debt is only bad when it's not managed well. But a smart investor will know how to utilise smaller debt / borrowings to invest and increase ROI. Good investment is basically good risk mitigation. We don't run from risk. We manage it. biggrin.gif

GeekinE90
post Jul 14 2016, 05:22 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2016, 05:42 PM)
Yes true.

But debt isn't always bad the same as risk. Debt is only bad when it's not managed well. But a smart investor will know how to utilise smaller debt / borrowings to invest and increase ROI. Good investment is basically good risk mitigation. We don't run from risk. We manage it.  biggrin.gif
For some, borrowing ~RM100k and trying to figure out where to put it to get a nice ROI is another headache that needs to be managed. i.e. how much margin on top of the interest you are paying on the loan do you expect to make from just ~RM100k?!

For many cash rich folks, taking RM100k loan facility to try to find ways to invest is not worth the hassle and headache with the loan facility. If you can borrow a few millions to put into good investment, the satisfaction from the margin of return is worth the headache and hassle of using debt to invest.

To each their own la...

TShihihehe
post Jul 14 2016, 07:52 PM

13,791 posts

anyone here get the insurance done by yourself?

i can save some cost or something if i do by my own but SA said is good to have HIP for first year
lionking7791
post Jul 14 2016, 07:59 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 14 2016, 07:52 PM)
anyone here get the insurance done by yourself?

i can save some cost or something if i do by my own but SA said is good to have HIP for first year
As I know HIP will pay full of the sum insured if you claim it but other than HIP, can not get full sum insured.
TShihihehe
post Jul 14 2016, 08:06 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ Jul 14 2016, 07:59 PM)
As I know HIP will pay full of the sum insured if you claim it but other than HIP, can not get full sum insured.
that's what i been told too
also, my SA able to give slightly more rebate if i take HIP because he has a commission from it

124 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:55 AM