41 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

psp _BOY
post May 26 2007, 11:44 AM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 26 2007, 10:32 AM)
Let me offer my very humble take on screens. 

Screens are an important part of the HT... insofar as you need one!!  In my honest opinion, screens and cables share one thing in common.... there is a lot of misinformation in it and kiasu type of selling to pressure people into spending unnecessarily.  A typical fabric used for home decoration would cost RM4 per metre, but when one of the manufacturers relabel it as screen, the price goes up tenfold.  And just like cables.... screens just beg to be DIYed due to its simplicity.  A little reserarch on the net and you are good to go.

Unless you have a problematic room with a lot of ambient light or very low lumen projector e.g. CRT projectors, u should not have to be forced to pay the unsightly prices demanded by the manufacturers and resellers.
Correct.

There are some people in the AVSforum using laminate DIY screens for their single CRT projectors. Not Stacked, not blended, but single. That'll be around 350 lumens for a Sony G90 CRT, which member Clarence, in AVS has. His screen is 10 feet wide and he's never been happier. My Home Theater has no lighting issues, no sunlight since we have overlapping curtains (Both blackout) and we have only 4 sconces for lighting. Turn them off and close the curtains and my room can be a batcave. I don't see why the JVC, a 750 lumens at it's best mode, can't handle a 10.5 feet wide 1.3 gain homemade screen. These people use 500 dollar screens on their $30kUSD CRT projectors, mine is $6k.

There's a manufacturer in US, SMX screens, they used to sell their fabric for DIY. Now they don't. Their screens are 1.16 gain accoustically transparent screens. Many people are happy with it.

DIY ain't bad. I'll be happy with it, I really think so.
shipal
post May 26 2007, 09:58 PM

Validating
247 posts

Would be interesting to see a shootout comparison between DIY and market screens.
psp _BOY
post May 26 2007, 10:08 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 26 2007, 09:58 PM)
Would be interesting to see a shootout comparison between DIY and market screens.
I'll try and organise one at mediaplex once I get the BOC and paint mix done.

But, not anytime soon. Maybe around september. sweat.gif
viosafc
post May 27 2007, 09:13 AM

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 24 2007, 09:59 AM)
Okay I am going to keep quiet and read now...
Dirtrun
At least you do say a word....i dare not to utter any word here. Only do some reading....feeling like a Proton owner in a Ferrari forum.

karyeowl
post May 27 2007, 09:25 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 26 2007, 10:08 PM)
I'll try and organise one at mediaplex once I get the BOC and paint mix done.

But, not anytime soon. Maybe around september. sweat.gif
Please count me in for the shoot out on DIY screen and those Branded screen. cool2.gif

There are many paint formula in avsforum, and those people have made many details comparison against commercial screens. Why don't we just emulate whatsoever to our liking? rclxub.gif

Some like grey, silver and white screen. Those are to your preference. icon_rolleyes.gif

I have built my DIY screen with merely less than RM150, and my Z2 costed RM8K (4 years ago) I am very happy with the results. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by karyeowl: May 27 2007, 09:26 AM
psp _BOY
post May 27 2007, 10:07 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ May 27 2007, 09:25 AM)
Please count me in for the shoot out on DIY screen and those Branded screen. cool2.gif

There are many paint formula in avsforum, and those people have made many details comparison against commercial screens. Why don't we just emulate whatsoever to our liking? rclxub.gif

Some like grey, silver and white screen. Those are to your preference. icon_rolleyes.gif

I have built my DIY screen with merely less than RM150, and my Z2 costed RM8K (4 years ago) I am very happy with the results.  whistling.gif
How much is BOC ar sweat.gif
TSjasonlky
post May 29 2007, 03:43 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 27 2007, 10:07 AM)
How much is BOC ar sweat.gif
Dunnolah bro, but dun think it would cost very much at all.
psp _BOY
post May 29 2007, 04:34 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 29 2007, 03:43 PM)
Dunnolah bro, but dun think it would cost very much at all.
Hmm, yea, thnx.

Will have to go and pay downpayment on special order products soon, to keep the project going hmm.gif .

Eh, what size screen are you planning to do ar? Your projector bright enough for 120" screen kan?

Woo~ Going to bangkok on thursday, we'll be going to Sim2 and Marantz showroom again, just to 'jamu mata'.
shipal
post May 29 2007, 07:21 PM

Validating
247 posts

Any direct links with pictures? There's too much material/threads to browse thru to find in aVS.

QUOTE(karyeowl @ May 27 2007, 09:25 AM)
psp _BOY
post May 29 2007, 09:09 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 29 2007, 07:21 PM)
Any direct links with pictures? There's too much material/threads to browse thru to find in aVS.
Some dude with 94" DIY screen and sever ambient lighting, 4805 on low lamp mode CLICK!

Also check on the threads with RS-MaxxMudd mixture. the one I'll be using.
htkaki
post May 31 2007, 02:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

saw it in NST today. Sony launched 2 budget entry levels 720p projectors. Wonder Sony in The Curve have these babies or not.
shipal
post May 31 2007, 08:43 PM

Validating
247 posts

Don't see any proper comparison except for wall vs DIY screen.

Wonder if the photos are having same exposure settings. If set on AUtO, may not be correct for us to view.

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 29 2007, 09:09 PM)
Some dude with 94" DIY screen and sever ambient lighting, 4805 on low lamp mode CLICK!

Also check on the threads with RS-MaxxMudd mixture. the one I'll be using.
TSjasonlky
post Jun 4 2007, 02:59 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 31 2007, 02:45 PM)
saw it in NST today. Sony launched 2 budget entry levels 720p projectors. Wonder Sony in The Curve have these babies or not.
Any more news about these new babies? Sure its not SVGA, coz I saw a new range of SVGA projectors being "marketed" as Home Theatre projectors.... quiet and bright with reasonable contrast. Price is less than RM4k... b4 discount!

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Jun 4 2007, 03:00 PM
htkaki
post Jun 5 2007, 03:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jun 4 2007, 02:59 PM)
Any more news about these new babies?  Sure its not SVGA, coz I saw a new range of SVGA projectors being "marketed" as Home Theatre projectors.... quiet and bright with reasonable contrast.  Price is less than RM4k... b4 discount!

Cant remember it. But, the model no start with VPL. Sld be HT proj, right?

Turnip
post Jun 5 2007, 04:53 PM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

man u guys have 'best best' stuff...read through the thread...i tink im cancelling on lcd...i think its about time for a projector... smile.gif
timothyy
post Jun 6 2007, 01:52 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Haleluia!!!!!
TSjasonlky
post Jun 6 2007, 04:14 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Jun 5 2007, 04:53 PM)
man u guys have 'best best' stuff...read through the thread...i tink im cancelling on lcd...i think its about time for a projector... smile.gif
Hey Turnip, welcome to the world of real Home Theatre, while we do not have reel to reel projectors, but we have the next best thing.... digital front projectors. Just choose you favorite flavour and pay on your way out, thank you...... next....

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jun 6 2007, 01:52 AM)
Haleluia!!!!!
And so the saga ends. Welcome back to Bro Tim. You are the only one to have converted from the Panny to the Epson, tell us how it feels and if you have gotten used to the picture? Changed any settings yet, calibrated yet?
timothyy
post Jun 6 2007, 07:25 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jun 6 2007, 04:14 PM)
Hey Turnip, welcome to the world of real Home Theatre, while we do not have reel to reel projectors, but we have the next best thing.... digital front projectors.  Just choose you favorite flavour and pay on your way out, thank you...... next....
And so the saga ends.  Welcome back to Bro Tim.  You are the only one to have converted from the Panny to the Epson, tell us how it feels and if you have gotten used to the picture?  Changed any settings yet, calibrated yet?
He! He!... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I dare note talk about my experience here la as you all are high end fellas talking about Pearl la, Ruby la, Diamond la... me on the other hand, only got batu marmar (thats marble for you).
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, I will post my screenshots in my Cinema in my Home section. As for the quality for the TW700... JAson, you need a screen. You know what? I prefer Epson than Panny!!!! Its brighter, color is stronger and I hardly can see the SDE even when I focused at the sharpest. I think the screen helped to smoothen the whole picture making it more movie like. Cheers. Check out my review later. I have yet to do it properly. Now, my whole living room looks like sh!t again.
TSjasonlky
post Jun 7 2007, 11:00 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jun 6 2007, 07:25 PM)
He! He!... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

I dare note talk about my experience here la as you all are high end fellas talking about Pearl la, Ruby la, Diamond la... me on the other hand, only got batu marmar (thats marble for you).
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Anyway, I will post my screenshots in my Cinema in my Home section. As for the quality for the TW700... JAson, you need a screen. You know what? I prefer Epson than Panny!!!! Its brighter, color is stronger and I hardly can see the SDE even when I focused at the sharpest. I think the screen helped to smoothen the whole picture making it more movie like. Cheers. Check out my review later. I have yet to do it properly. Now, my whole living room looks like sh!t again.
My screen is coming soon, the contactor will start work on my AV room in 2 weeks time.

Happy that u like the Epson TW700, well it does have superior contrast compared to the AX100... its not surprising that the colours are stronger and have more pop. The SDE does not bother me anymore... unless the movie is slow and boring!! Looking forward to a more detailed review.
timothyy
post Jun 7 2007, 02:30 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jun 7 2007, 11:00 AM)
My screen is coming soon, the contactor will start work on my AV room in 2 weeks time.

Happy that u like the Epson TW700, well it does have superior contrast compared to the AX100... its not surprising that the colours are stronger and have more pop.  The SDE does not bother me anymore... unless the movie is slow and boring!!  Looking forward to a more detailed review.
One thing... seems like when I am using HDMI, I can't change to progressive or Interlace. So... how ah? I can't seem to be able to choose the resolution also.

41 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.1004sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:23 PM