41 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Home Theatre Projector Talk, Epson TW700 Transformers Movie pic pg 33

Jack28HT
post May 22 2007, 11:48 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 22 2007, 05:51 PM)
I just went to AV Designs with Mr. Tan, Director of Mediaplex to see James Tan at AV Designs. Went there specifically to see the JVC DLA-HD1.

One word: Awesome.

The blacks are a breaktrhough in digital projectors. Notch above the VPL-VW50 'Pearl' from Sony. The picture is Punchy, and sharp. They fed a Standard definition DVD when we went in the showroom. At first, I thought it was HD, but the Gennum Processor did an amazing job. Well done JVC!

Pearl to Mitsu and Now the JVC.

Now I'm just making a screen. Constant Image height 2.35:1, might do 126" wide, even if i change to 1.78:1 (16:9) I'll get a 100" image. Nice.
Wow, psp_BOY, when will you get the HD1? Are you getting Stewartfilm screen? Which model? This means you'll be adding anamorphic lens to your HD1 as well? Is your offer still good to see your setup ? This is a must see man...
psp _BOY
post May 23 2007, 06:45 AM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ May 22 2007, 11:48 PM)
Wow, psp_BOY, when will you get the HD1? Are you getting Stewartfilm screen? Which model? This means you'll be adding anamorphic lens to your HD1 as well? Is your offer still good to see your setup ? This is a must see man...
around august smile.gif

I'm doing my own screen with paint mixture good for ambient light from avsforum. Haven't decided on Lens, but My D2 will be doing all the scaling.
TSjasonlky
post May 23 2007, 10:11 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 22 2007, 11:14 PM)
Seems like PsPBoy is getting heavy nowadays. Jason... may be its time to put your thread title to Home Theater project talk for budget players...
Tim, we are not HT projector Nazi's right? We accept all projector talk whether the owner is fat or thin. Dunno what is PsPBoy's disposition, but we welcome his mini reviews of what he has seen.

Now the JVC, I have already revealed my adoration for this projector. I cannot afford it now, but u know what..... its only gonna get better.... and its gonna get cheaper!!! Note that the JVC HD1 in its present configuration is not suitable for most of us that need flexibility. U won't be able to watch Astro with lights on thats for sure. The HD1 is a step in the right direction, no silly gimmicks to achieve good contrast etc. How I wish I could get one!!!

This post has been edited by jasonlky: May 23 2007, 10:15 AM
dirtrun
post May 23 2007, 12:42 PM

3,136 posts

Hehehe,

Well, at least for me... a price tag of close to 30k is way, way over my league so I ll read here quietly and go back and watch my el cheapo system la...

Enjoy your system, Bro PSP...
Dirtrun
psp _BOY
post May 23 2007, 02:16 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 23 2007, 10:11 AM)
Tim, we are not HT projector Nazi's right?  We accept all projector talk whether the owner is fat or thin.  Dunno what is PsPBoy's disposition, but we welcome his mini reviews of what he has seen.

Now the JVC, I have already revealed my adoration for this projector.  I cannot afford it now, but u know what..... its only gonna get better.... and its gonna get cheaper!!!  Note that the JVC HD1 in its present configuration is not suitable for most of us that need flexibility.  U won't be able to watch Astro with lights on thats for sure.  The HD1 is a step in the right direction, no silly gimmicks to achieve good contrast etc.  How I wish I could get one!!!
You're so right! Sony's coming out with the VW-60 and VW-200. VW60 might have a 4kUS price tag, but will be better than the Pearl. Technology's a b****h, If you keep on waiting, don't buy anything at all.

JVC doesn't use a dynamic Iris to get good contrast hehe.

How much is blackout cloth per yard?

I need to find the paint[s] as well for screen. But, I'm sure after all this, it'll be worth it smile.gif
TSjasonlky
post May 23 2007, 02:28 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 23 2007, 02:16 PM)
You're so right! Sony's coming out with the VW-60 and VW-200. VW60 might have a 4kUS price tag, but will be better than the Pearl. Technology's a b****h, If you keep on waiting, don't buy anything at all.

JVC doesn't use a dynamic Iris to get good contrast hehe.

How much is blackout cloth per yard?

I need to find the paint[s] as well for screen. But, I'm sure after all this, it'll be worth it smile.gif
Those active in this thread have already settled for a projector oledi, most are not waiting.

The AVS forum has many formula and mixes, do share which one you have chosen for your screen paint.

We are all waiting with baited breath to see your HT... sure our Dad/family won't mind having some of us over?

psp _BOY
post May 23 2007, 02:47 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 23 2007, 02:28 PM)
Those active in this thread have already settled for a projector oledi, most are not waiting.

The AVS forum has many formula and mixes, do share which one you have chosen for your screen paint.

We are all waiting with baited breath to see your HT... sure our Dad/family won't mind having some of us over?
HAH! I researched since end of 2004 for a projector. God, the things have changed so much now. Sony launched their Qualia 004 around that time, something awesome even till now.

Then in February 2005 i think, Sony launched it's VPL-VW100, which set a new pricepoint for 1080p. It was magnificent, blacks were good back then, contrast was awesome, one of the few to actually accept 1080p[60] through HDMI at that time! Then Sony set a new pricepoint again with the Pearl, one and a half years later. It was superior to the Ruby in contrast ratio, blacks, input capability(1080p[24]), size, and much cheaper.

JVC launched it's DLA-RS1/HD1 sometime in december last year. Since then, many have sold their Sim2s,Marantzs, Rubys, Pearls. etc. For the JVC. Until now, it's only competitors are the Sharp XV21000, Marantz VP-11S1, and Sim2's HT3000. Many others like Runco, Digital Projection, and Sim2's HT5000 are a notch above the JVC, Sharp, and Marantz. Thus, The JVC-DLAHD1/RS1 will be hanging around at the top of the below-$20,000USD league.

Added on May 23, 2007, 2:51 pmRS-MaxxMudd (for moderate ambient light)
16 oz. Delta Pearl Metallic #02601
12 oz. Delta Silver Metallic #02603
7 oz. UPW flat
4 oz. Delta Pale Metallic Gold #02624
14 oz. Minwax Polycrylic - Satin finish

Anyone know where to get these paint colours?

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: May 23 2007, 02:51 PM
shipal
post May 23 2007, 08:52 PM

Validating
247 posts

Wow .... spend all that money on equipment, but DIY on screen?
psp _BOY
post May 23 2007, 09:47 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 23 2007, 08:52 PM)
A good 2.35:1 screen branded, 127" wide, costs at least 12k, If I could get at least 50% the performance of that with RM500, That's RM11,500 saved.

The cost of rufurbishing the room.

Haha.
timothyy
post May 23 2007, 10:06 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(shipal @ May 23 2007, 08:52 PM)
I donno why, but I seem to like you more everytime you reply. Kekekeke rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Now, your statment is really true. If I were to spend that kinda money, if not RM10k on screen, I'd at least spend RM3k (10%) on the screen.

It is like driving a BMW 5 series and use Simex tyres. Although either Perillys or Michilin (note that I can't spell both names but Simex as I am on the Simex league) or Simex can still make your car moves, but heck... 1 sen price 1 sen goods la.

Oh, dirt, after this, I think I better follow you... In fact worse than you as I don't have a projector even... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
psp _BOY
post May 23 2007, 10:35 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 23 2007, 10:06 PM)
I donno why, but I seem to like you more everytime you reply. Kekekeke  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Now, your statment is really true. If I were to spend that kinda money, if not RM10k on screen, I'd at least spend RM3k (10%) on the screen.

It is like driving a BMW 5 series and use Simex tyres. Although either Perillys or Michilin (note that I can't spell both names but Simex as I am on the Simex league) or Simex can still make your car moves, but heck... 1 sen price 1 sen goods la.

Oh, dirt, after this, I think I better follow you... In fact worse than you as I don't have a projector even...  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Any idea where to get a 3k 127" wide 2.35:1 screen?

Our damage is already around 100k, and still haven't termasuk renovating shocking.gif

The RS-MaddMudd is good enough, at least for a year or two. smile.gif
dirtrun
post May 24 2007, 09:59 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 23 2007, 10:06 PM)
I donno why, but I seem to like you more everytime you reply. Kekekeke  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Oh, dirt, after this, I think I better follow you... In fact worse than you as I don't have a projector even...  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Follow me where... I aint got no money to go anywhere la... hehehe biggrin.gif ...

I like and agree with your first statement, man ... and I would like to add dat your manna my venom la, so to each his own ... it dont mean dat a diy screen is inferior especially when you are talkin living within a budget or is our bro s having a blank check syndrome... BTW i know of a guy who has a 1080p PJ too but shooting on a white wall only and he is having de time of his life - what does dat make him??? smile.gif

Bro Tim your simile on tires is funny la ... hehehe biggrin.gif but I think Beemers come wif Contis not Michelins or Pirellis( See, I got de spelling rite cos I am a Motorhead too... in a previous life... cool2.gif )

Okay I am going to keep quiet and read now...
Dirtrun

timothyy
post May 24 2007, 03:03 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 23 2007, 10:35 PM)
Any idea where to get a 3k 127" wide 2.35:1 screen?

Our damage is already around 100k, and still haven't termasuk renovating  shocking.gif

The RS-MaddMudd is good enough, at least for a year or two. smile.gif
You know... if you have spent RM100k, then you should spend at least RM10k on the screen.
You need a nice gray wolf or fox or dog screen but not Goo Paint. Don't save on that money. If you go to Projector Central and read, they did give you a rule of thumb on the screen.

Why? I started reading on screens when I got to know a 110" (white) commercial screen costs about RM3k. This was from an AV shop in Damansara. From that time, I know I only can afford DIY. But for you, you already 90% complete... why spoil the 10%?

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 24 2007, 09:59 AM)

Follow me where... I aint got no money to go anywhere la... hehehe biggrin.gif ...

I like and agree with your first statement, man ... and I would like to add dat your manna my venom la, so to each his own ... it dont mean dat a diy screen is inferior especially when you are talkin living within a budget or is our bro s having a blank check syndrome... BTW i know of a guy who has a 1080p PJ too but shooting on a white wall only and he is having de time of his life - what does dat make him???  smile.gif

Bro Tim your simile on tires is funny la ... hehehe biggrin.gif  but I think Beemers come wif Contis  not Michelins or Pirellis( See, I got de spelling rite cos I am a Motorhead too... in a previous life... cool2.gif )

Okay I am going to keep quiet and read now...
Dirtrun
Don't "jar" me like that la...

psp _BOY
post May 24 2007, 03:51 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ May 24 2007, 03:03 PM)
You know... if you have spent RM100k, then you should spend at least RM10k on the screen.
You need a nice gray wolf or fox or dog screen but not Goo Paint. Don't save on that money. If you go to Projector Central and read, they did give you a rule of thumb on the screen.

Why? I started reading on screens when I got to know a 110" (white) commercial screen costs about RM3k. This was from an AV shop in Damansara. From that time, I know I only can afford DIY. But for you, you already 90% complete... why spoil the 10%?
Don't "jar" me like that la...
Some dude with 94" DIY screen and sever ambient lighting, 4805 on low lamp mode CLICK!

I see No reason spending that much (10k) now. Making a DIY screen for a cheaper price is good enough for 1 or 2 years. The projector doesn't need help with blacks, and because the blacks are so low and deep, The whites pop out, and at 800 lumens at it's very brightest (Dynamic mode), it has a higher lumen count compared to other 1080p projectors below RM30k. The Optoma HD81 does 650 lumens in its 'best' mode, while the JVC does around 700, yet, HD81 owners have theirs on 150" screens, some DIY and they're not changing their screens just yet. I feel that the DIY screen will do good for at least a year or two.

psp _BOY
post May 24 2007, 07:41 PM

1,978 posts

Besides the lens that I'm getting will improve brightness on the 2.35:1 screen. Therefore, again I'll be using a DIY screen for quite some time.

Of course karaoke sessions need light, tongue.gif

I'll just on the 2 scone lights at the back of the room which doesn't effect the screen. Everyone's happy. Woo~
TSjasonlky
post May 25 2007, 03:15 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 23 2007, 02:47 PM)
16 oz. Delta Pearl Metallic #02601
12 oz. Delta Silver Metallic #02603
7 oz. UPW flat
4 oz. Delta Pale Metallic Gold #02624
14 oz. Minwax Polycrylic - Satin finish

Anyone know where to get these paint colours?
DIY is a great way to go. And I think sometimes when u pay more..... u just pay more and dun get anything extra. Screens are easy to DIY... once u have settled on the material and mix u want.

I think there is a standardised industry accepted colour chart that u can use to find the right shade from another manufacturer.... read this on AVS. Do a search for this colour/shading chart and see if our local paints have something to match.

As for myself, I'll be trying a matt white canvas stretched over a wooden frame.

This post has been edited by jasonlky: May 25 2007, 03:26 PM
htkaki
post May 25 2007, 04:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

seriously, I wld invest in a proper draper than DIY a screen unless I m a pro in this field.

Go for Draper USA and not Stewart. It sld be about your budget. I did ask abt it b4.

http://www.draperinc.com/Screen_Pages/Cine...tion_screen.htm

Musical Image
dirtrun
post May 25 2007, 05:26 PM

3,136 posts

Well,

Looks like dis batch of enthusiasts dont feel like spending on a branded screen...

Cheers
Dirtrun
psp _BOY
post May 25 2007, 06:52 PM

1,978 posts

I'll wait a couple of years before I upgrade to a proper screen. The paint mixture has a gain of 1.3, which is approximately the same as most branded gray screens.
TSjasonlky
post May 26 2007, 10:32 AM

451 posts

Let me offer my very humble take on screens.

Screens are an important part of the HT... insofar as you need one!! In my honest opinion, screens and cables share one thing in common.... there is a lot of misinformation in it and kiasu type of selling to pressure people into spending unnecessarily. A typical fabric used for home decoration would cost RM4 per metre, but when one of the manufacturers relabel it as screen, the price goes up tenfold. And just like cables.... screens just beg to be DIYed due to its simplicity. A little reserarch on the net and you are good to go.

Unless you have a problematic room with a lot of ambient light or very low lumen projector e.g. CRT projectors, u should not have to be forced to pay the unsightly prices demanded by the manufacturers and resellers.

41 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:19 AM