Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Ramjade
post Jun 10 2016, 08:57 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 10 2016, 08:33 PM)
Had a pretty bad experience with Bangkok Bank (KL Branch). To open an account, you will need to wait for a few days for verification and approval. The weird part is that they will even run a CTOS check on you for FD Placement...
Tell them you keep your interest, I keep my money. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
nexona88
post Jun 10 2016, 10:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

Had a pretty bad experience with Bangkok Bank (KL Branch). To open an account, you will need to wait for a few days for verification and approval. The weird part is that they will even run a CTOS check on you for FD Placement...
why the bank so strict one bangwall.gif

if like that better put FD or open acc at others banks thumbsup.gif
sandkoh
post Jun 10 2016, 10:44 PM

817 posts

so few branch yet act so tough.
Nauts
post Jun 11 2016, 05:29 AM

340 posts

Alliance Bank, 4% for 3 months, Minimum RM 100k
TSOM
post Jun 11 2016, 09:02 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ Jun 11 2016, 05:29 AM)
Alliance Bank, 4% for 3 months, Minimum RM 100k
do you have a link? I can't find it on their website.
SUSMNet
post Jun 11 2016, 09:44 AM

11,954 posts

How much is their FD rate?
sandkoh
post Jun 11 2016, 09:55 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 11 2016, 09:44 AM)
How much is their FD rate?
4.35% 12 month
Micajoda
post Jun 11 2016, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jun 10 2016, 07:25 PM)
For the extra good stuff, need to put in some effort. Currently only 2 meets your request.
4.5% for 12 months at a few Affin Bank branches. Telephone the various branches (not the general call line) and see whether the branch still have it and any minimum conditions. This is rather unusual as promos usually are for all branches..
4.35% for 12 months minimum 10k at Bangkok Bank. There are only a few branches in Malaysia.
Both pay interest on maturity.
Looks like most folks here are trying shorter periods at 4.3% and below hoping to catch a possible increase in FD interest promo rates.
Thanks. smile.gif

Will check with Affin next Monday. Bangkok Bank has no branch here.

I went into PBB yesterday to check their promo rate offer @ 4.30% pa (4.1 for 6M + 4.5 for 6M) , go staright to customer service counter and spoken to one of the staff for 5 mins, intended to go for my 1st palcement with PBB (withdraw from my CASA) and got a queue no. for calling to speak to customer service. Again ?? confused.gif

Other bank i did it at cashier counter for 1st placement.

Waited for 10 mins, pretty slow in calling CS queue no. and noticed only the cashier queue no. was called non stop.

Walked off, can't wait too long as need to return to office. sad.gif

What is the current eFD rate for PBB?
TOMEI-R
post Jun 11 2016, 10:19 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Its pretty common that banks will do a credit check on you even for fd placement. Try to check the contents of the forms they ask you to sign when you open an account/ place an fd with them. But seriously, few days just to open an account is a bit too much.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 11 2016, 10:19 AM
cappuccino vs latte
post Jun 11 2016, 10:54 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(Micajoda @ Jun 11 2016, 10:09 AM)
Thanks. smile.gif

Will check with Affin next Monday. Bangkok Bank has no branch here.

I went into PBB yesterday to check their promo rate offer @ 4.30% pa (4.1 for 6M + 4.5 for 6M) , go staright to customer service counter and spoken to one of the staff for 5 mins, intended to go for my 1st palcement with PBB (withdraw from my CASA) and got a queue no. for calling to speak to customer service. Again ?? :confused:

Other bank i did it at cashier counter for 1st placement.

Waited for 10 mins, pretty slow in calling CS queue no. and noticed only the cashier queue no. was called non stop.

Walked off, can't wait too long as need to return to office.  sad.gif

What is the current eFD rate for PBB?
My experience with PBB was 1st placement have to go through CS. Subsequent placements just did it at counter.
szejz123
post Jun 11 2016, 02:41 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 11 2016, 10:19 AM)
Its pretty common that banks will do a credit check on you even for fd placement. Try to check the contents of the forms they ask you to sign when you open an account/ place an fd with them. But seriously, few days just to open an account is a bit too much.
yup, took about 4 business days for them to open the account and clear the cheque. hmm.gif
Jty
post Jun 11 2016, 04:04 PM

102 posts

Hello!

Fairly new to getting serious in FD investment.

Want to ask all sifus here regarding the maybank eflexi.
I know that it is a step up FD investment but here's something I don't understand,

According to maybank the effective rate is 4.3 percent. but in iMoney there is a comparison and it seems that the return is way higher than 4.3? is this a mistake in calculation from iMoney?

I also know that this campaign does not entitle you to reinvest the money earn from interest back to the FD.

Let's say the amount put in is Rm10,000 the return after 12 months should be RM430 right? but why is iMoney calculate as 568 confused.gif

sandkoh
post Jun 11 2016, 05:38 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 11 2016, 02:41 PM)
yup, took about 4 business days for them to open the account and clear the cheque.  hmm.gif
fd start date not day you went there, start date 4 days later?
nexona88
post Jun 11 2016, 05:41 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 11 2016, 02:41 PM)
yup, took about 4 business days for them to open the account and clear the cheque.  hmm.gif
it's too much leh.. freaking 4 days bangwall.gif
wil-i-am
post Jun 11 2016, 05:41 PM

10,001 posts

Now only I know
sandkoh
post Jun 11 2016, 05:43 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 11 2016, 05:41 PM)
it's too much leh.. freaking 4 days  bangwall.gif
freaking inefficient! bruce.gif bye.gif
nexona88
post Jun 11 2016, 06:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 11 2016, 05:43 PM)
freaking inefficient! bruce.gif  bye.gif
better deposit the money some other banks cool2.gif

really surprise foreign bank can sucks like tis innocent.gif
sandkoh
post Jun 11 2016, 09:19 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 11 2016, 06:44 PM)
better deposit the money some other banks  cool2.gif

really surprise foreign bank can sucks like tis  innocent.gif
not all foreign banks are alike.
Nauts
post Jun 12 2016, 06:35 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jun 11 2016, 09:02 AM)
do you have a link? I can't find it on their website.
Not sure of the link but it was sent to me by my Alliance Bank PFC.

Until end of June only i think.

szejz123
post Jun 12 2016, 10:41 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 11 2016, 05:38 PM)
fd start date not day you went there, start date 4 days later?
basically, 13 May (friday) wrote down details and passed the cheque.
19 May (thursday) - they called to collect the FD cert. SMS came saying "Cheque amount debited from account".
20 May (friday) - collected the FD cert, cert stated FD starts on 19 May. shakehead.gif

129 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:18 AM