Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

SUSMNet
post Jun 6 2016, 08:30 PM

11,954 posts

For the maybank 4.5% pa FD campaign, can we withdraw it at other branch than the one that we open?
SUSMNet
post Jun 7 2016, 09:25 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Jun 6 2016, 08:33 PM)
you mean gia-i 4.5% campaign? over since jan!
I mean withdraw. Not deposit into the campaign.
SUSMNet
post Jun 11 2016, 09:44 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 10 2016, 08:33 PM)
Had a pretty bad experience with Bangkok Bank (KL Branch). To open an account, you will need to wait for a few days for verification and approval. The weird part is that they will even run a CTOS check on you for FD Placement...
How much is their FD rate?
SUSMNet
post Jun 28 2016, 07:37 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jun 28 2016, 05:36 PM)
bbgoat

regarding the 4.5% mbb gia which is last oct. I ask the teller to reconfirm to ensure the rate is stepped up. the branch manager call call call at behind don't know do what. And come out take the brochure which is ages ago. Show me the rate currently is at 4.0. I terus know liao, this branch filled with all stupid people. My placing is last OCT, how come still 4.0? should be at least at 7 or 8 months.

Then I say. Yea, now suppose to be stepped up rite because at 7 months. Then he jusy oh yea oh yea. correct . Ok yea. thanks. Just try to brush me off.

I am really like wtf moment there. Hope at the end of the day what I get is really 4.5%
I dont want to waste time calculate the interest.

At the end of tenure, I just check whether the interest that I get is 4.5% or not.

Let say RM10000, i should get RM 10450
SUSMNet
post Jun 28 2016, 08:12 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 28 2016, 08:03 PM)
Sure u can do that ! But the earlier u complain may be better. In case everyone "forget" that there is ever an effective 4.5% GIA-i promotion. The interest is paid monthly.

The choice is yours anyway ! biggrin.gif
Dont worry.
The 4.5% pa is paper based.
Its indicated at the paper.
SUSMNet
post Jun 29 2016, 07:11 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Jun 29 2016, 01:53 AM)
If you had paid attention to the nitty gritty of the step-up FD calculations, you should know you will not get 4.5% exactly. So if you hope to add all your monthly interests - you will be off.

If your effective date is anywhere from 1-28, (1-29 if covering February in a leap year), the bank does not need to know what is the actual effective date of each customer or placement as the total effective rate is actually the same for each particular month of the promo. Thus say you place in October 2015, there is a real common effective rate for those placing between 1-29 of October 2015. For November 1-29, there is another different effective rate figure, and so on until the promo ends. Undestandably, the banks would not like to tell you that certain months are better or worse otherwise customers may want to choose their months of placement and affect the promo targets.

However, for those who placed on say, 31 October 2015, the interest payment in February is on 29 February 2016 as there is no 30 or 31 in February and the payment must be made once each month. November, April, June and September being paid on the 30th instead. This affects the total number of days for each month's interest payment, and particularly confusing on the change of rate. Hence, the advice is not to place on the 29-31 of any month when dealing with step-up or monthly interest payments. Not only you can be confused, but even the banks may be confused if the staff or programmers do not understand that the number of days and step-up boundaries are affected due the need to pay once each month.
Bank calculate by day not month

SUSMNet
post Jul 3 2016, 10:54 AM

11,954 posts

CIMB eFD rate terrible low
SUSMNet
post Jul 10 2016, 11:02 AM

11,954 posts

For the affin 4.5% pa offer, can i place via maybank bank draft?

The starting date of the FD is the date that that i give them maybank bank draft or they need to wait my bank draft clear?

Can I open FD account only? I dont want to open the saving account.
SUSMNet
post Jul 25 2016, 09:30 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Jul 24 2016, 09:01 PM)
you dont need atm card for internet banking. see https://www.irakyat.com.my/personal/register/register.do
If I already have the ATM card, can I cancel it and remain using my online account?
SUSMNet
post Jul 26 2016, 07:22 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 26 2016, 05:18 PM)
Uplifted 2 MBB GIA-i FD's today. Seems like split into periods of 4% and 3.75% for the interests given.

IBFT to CB acct and used cheque to place FD in BR for 4.38%, with monthly interest.

Tried to cancel the Ko-op card, was told cannot as it will terminate the online acct. Same as for CIMB. Though some other banks allowed bank cards to be cancelled without affecting online acct.  biggrin.gif
They still using old technology system.

0.0805sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:34 AM