Kodi Official Discussion Thread V2, Free and Open Source (GPL) Media Center

sheridankamal
post Oct 25 2017, 08:27 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2017, 01:45 AM)
just noticed my q10pro auto updated to 17.5 w/o me doing anything.

all is ok.

googling a bit, it looks like the problem u faced happened to a lot of users, various boxes.
Same as mine, but the sad part Kodi crashes all the time. Won't load. Does that mean i need to self update the app?
TSvoncrane
post Oct 25 2017, 08:32 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Oct 25 2017, 08:27 AM)
Same as mine, but the sad part Kodi crashes all the time. Won't load. Does that mean i need to self update the app?
The effects after an update is the same regardless of done manually or automatically. You need to find the cause of the crashes. Is it due to the device or corrupt files/addon in Kodi.
lek_e30
post Oct 25 2017, 08:48 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 25 2017, 07:50 AM)
Reset your router, ensure it is setup with Google DNS

alrite

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 25 2017, 08:13 AM)
Yeah, I disabled automatic updates on all apps when possible and on the Play Store, cuz I like to manually initiate an update and watch for changes instead of being surprised and not immediately know that the app was updated. Good thing, the issue was an easy fix. So no biggie.  smile.gif
Install the official YouTube addon. Use that to test that Kodi is able to connect and stream.
Tq
sheridankamal
post Oct 25 2017, 09:50 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 25 2017, 08:32 AM)
The effects after an update is the same regardless of done manually or automatically. You need to find the cause of the crashes. Is it due to the device or corrupt files/addon in Kodi.
Just curios how do i remove corrupt thingy in Kodi if couldn't get in, is there any other access? Or are you suggesting to uninstall and do fresh installation?

AVFAN
post Oct 25 2017, 10:21 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Oct 25 2017, 09:50 AM)
Just curios how do i remove corrupt thingy in Kodi if couldn't get in, is there any other access? Or are you suggesting to uninstall and do fresh installation?

u will need to check the file log and identify the culprit.
then u go into the kodi folder to find that, remove it.

if too difficult, try this:

yr box q10pro, homescreen has a quick clean app - find it at the bottom left, a "broom".
if not there, go to myapps to find it.
give it a clean to clear cache, junk files.

if still no good, u will have to uninstall complete, reinstall.
sheridankamal
post Oct 25 2017, 10:27 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2017, 10:21 AM)
u will need to check the file log and identify the culprit.
then u go into the kodi folder to find that, remove it.

if too difficult, try this:

yr box q10pro, homescreen has a quick clean app - find it at the bottom left, a "broom".
if not there, go to myapps to find it.
give it a clean to clear cache, junk files.

if still no good, u will have to uninstall complete, reinstall.
Noted, will give it a try.

AVFAN
post Oct 25 2017, 10:33 AM

24,456 posts

there now seems to be 17.5.1 to fix that crash issue:

http://www.aftvnews.com/kodi-version-17-5-...ndroid-devices/

http://www.redmondpie.com/kodi-17.5.1-apk-...up-crash-issue/
Condoliza
post Oct 25 2017, 10:52 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2017, 01:45 AM)
just noticed my q10pro auto updated to 17.5 w/o me doing anything.

all is ok.

googling a bit, it looks like the problem u faced happened to a lot of users, various boxes.
Same here u9-H ,auto update.

It seems to be working ok though,will it also auto update to the 17.5.1? or i need to do that manually?

thanks.
AVFAN
post Oct 25 2017, 10:57 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(Condoliza @ Oct 25 2017, 10:52 AM)
Same here u9-H ,auto update.

It seems to be working ok though,will it also auto update to the 17.5.1? or i need to do that manually?

thanks.
should not need to.

if 17.5.1 is official, it will be in playstore, yr box will auto update a day or 2 later.

not sure if this means the latest 17.5 in playstore is actually 17.5.1:

IMPORTANT: If you are having issues with Android v17.5 update please redownload the "v17.5.1" version.
https://kodi.tv/blog

puchongite
post Oct 25 2017, 10:57 AM

33,671 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 25 2017, 07:51 AM)
Calling Aznhusband bro, icdrama ain't working this morning... Thanks bro
Not working in Kodi but still working in RSS player. Seems it's better to use RSS player, let prone to disruption.
AVFAN
post Oct 25 2017, 11:20 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 25 2017, 10:57 AM)
Not working in Kodi but still working in RSS player. Seems it's better to use RSS player, let prone to disruption.
icdrama rss is more reliable becos the developer/owner maintains it.

in fact, it is better as there are more HD streams there.

azn is kind enough to keep it working in kodi so far, albeit gaps in updates.
lek_e30
post Oct 25 2017, 11:30 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

i hv install RSS on my phone, when i found the video i wanted to see and selected the reso, it doesnt play and goes to home screen.... any setting i should do?
AVFAN
post Oct 25 2017, 11:42 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Oct 25 2017, 11:30 AM)
i hv install RSS on my phone, when i found the video i wanted to see and selected the reso, it doesnt play and goes to home screen.... any setting i should do?
like everything under the sun, not all links, all videos work all the time... whatever app, whatever device.

becos these are free and owners don't do it 100% for free!

if some don't work, find others that work.

if ALL don't work, there is a problem, discuss in relevant thread.

RSS reader app-handphone problems, best u find the right phone or box thread to discuss.

also, when bringing up kodi problems in this kodi thread, please quote the device u r using with some details.

becos devices differ a lot - some work better than others; some have perennial problems due to poor hardware or firmware.

cyberkoh88
post Oct 25 2017, 12:04 PM

183 posts

try to install RSS player from my UBOX Gen 3 (Android Lollipop), go to PlayStore, cannot download and install, so just download the RSS player apk from the net and install it, successfully install but when i try to play the video, cannot....try the same file on my iphone or ipad, can play successfully....would like to know restriction bcoz of my box or because of the OS (Android Lollipop)....
puchongite
post Oct 25 2017, 12:10 PM

33,671 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Oct 25 2017, 12:04 PM)
try to install RSS player from my UBOX Gen 3 (Android Lollipop), go to PlayStore, cannot download and install, so just download the RSS player apk from the net and install it, successfully install but when i try to play the video, cannot....try the same file on my iphone or ipad, can play successfully....would like to know restriction bcoz of my box or because of the OS (Android Lollipop)....
Haha it sounded like you try to use RSS player to play local file ? Did you ?
lek_e30
post Oct 25 2017, 12:16 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2017, 11:42 AM)
like everything under the sun, not all links, all videos work all the time... whatever app, whatever device.

becos these are free and owners don't do it 100% for free!

if some don't work, find others that work.

if ALL don't work, there is a problem, discuss in relevant thread.

RSS reader app-handphone problems, best u find the right phone or box thread to discuss.
also, when bringing up kodi problems in this kodi thread, please quote the device u r using with some details.

becos devices differ a lot - some work better than others; some have perennial problems due to poor hardware or firmware.
note taken, i guess i treat this thread like hotline, everything also can ask tongue.gif
cyberkoh88
post Oct 25 2017, 12:48 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 25 2017, 12:10 PM)
Haha it sounded like you try to use RSS player to play local file ? Did you ?
no, to play ICDrama
puchongite
post Oct 25 2017, 12:54 PM

33,671 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Oct 25 2017, 12:48 PM)
no, to play ICDrama
Okay looks like there is a need for a thread on RSS player. Otherwise the Kodi people are going to make noise if we discuss too much of RSS player here. sweat.gif
TSvoncrane
post Oct 25 2017, 01:55 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(sheridankamal @ Oct 25 2017, 09:50 AM)

If you've got a recent backup and don't want the hassle of troubleshooting, etc. I actually recommend you nuke the installation aka uninstall and install afresh. Else...

Force quit Kodi first.. Say the issue is a Kodi file, then you have to use a File Manager app to navigate to where the file is stored on your device. I suggest copying the file off to a non-Kodi related folder (eg, downloads) before deleting it. Exit the file manager and relaunch Kodi to see if the issue is solved. As AVFAN suggested, some troubleshooting is required. If that doesn't help or don't know how to go about it, then yes... Go in settings and clear the Kodi app's data + cache. This is somewhat equal to a fresh install.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2017, 10:57 AM)
should not need to.

if 17.5.1 is official, it will be in playstore, yr box will auto update a day or 2 later.

not sure if this means the latest 17.5 in playstore is actually 17.5.1:
Thanks for the heads up.. Prime example of not allowing app auto-updates as sometimes, updates may cripple an app that was working perfectly before it. Like computer graphics drivers. Best to wait and see how others react to the update than deal with the graphics mess afterwards.. biggrin.gif .. Checked the Play Store and the version is still V17.5. V17.5.1 can be downloaded directly off Kodi's website.

kodi-17.5.1-Krypton-armeabi-v7a download.

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Oct 25 2017, 12:16 PM)
note taken, i guess i treat this thread like hotline, everything also can ask tongue.gif
Not everything, Just a Kodi-related hotline.. smile.gif

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 25 2017, 12:54 PM)
Okay looks like there is a need for a thread on RSS player. Otherwise the Kodi people are going to make noise if we discuss too much of RSS player here.  sweat.gif
No lah, we ain't that stuck up.. Comments such as icdrama down but RSS player works/not is okay. Aznhusband does work at it..

^pomen_GTR^
post Oct 25 2017, 02:09 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 25 2017, 08:13 AM)
Yeah, I disabled automatic updates on all apps when possible and on the Play Store, cuz I like to manually initiate an update and watch for changes instead of being surprised and not immediately know that the app was updated. Good thing, the issue was an easy fix. So no biggie.  smile.gif
Install the official YouTube addon. Use that to test that Kodi is able to connect and stream.
on unlimited data like unifi...i just let auto update... lol...

on phone...manual update (notification only) for saving data quota laugh.gif

302 Pages « < 214 215 216 217 218 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:16 AM