680 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V4 - Banks Offer List, Credit card debt consolidation

only_lonely1220
post May 23 2016, 10:57 AM

47 posts

Hi all, i have a little confusion here, and did not manage to look for the answer in previous thread.

I just recently applied for HSBC Platinum, and it comes with a 0% 6 months balance transfer offer, so I BT my Aeon 10k outstanding to HSBC, and i just got my first statement from HSBC, it shows the full 10k amount in the statement, current finance charges stated 0%, minimum payment is RM 500.

My question is, do I pay only the minimum amount stated in the statement, then make sure I clear all balance before the 6th month? So that no interest will incurred? Or, I need to pay 10k divide by 6 by myself?

Previously during Maybank 0% BT time, the amount to pay will be charged to CC every month, first time saw full amount straight charge to CC, can anyone experience this before explain to me? Thanks so much.

This post has been edited by only_lonely1220: May 23 2016, 10:58 AM
lamode
post May 23 2016, 11:31 AM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

QUOTE(only_lonely1220 @ May 23 2016, 10:57 AM)
Hi all, i have a little confusion here, and did not manage to look for the answer in previous thread.

I just recently applied for HSBC Platinum, and it comes with a 0% 6 months balance transfer offer, so I BT my Aeon 10k outstanding to HSBC, and i just got my first statement from HSBC, it shows the full 10k amount in the statement, current finance charges stated 0%, minimum payment is RM 500.

My question is, do I pay only the minimum amount stated in the statement, then make sure I clear all balance before the 6th month? So that no interest will incurred? Or, I need to pay 10k divide by 6 by myself?

Previously during Maybank 0% BT time, the amount to pay will be charged to CC every month, first time saw full amount straight charge to CC, can anyone experience this before explain to me? Thanks so much.
you can just pay the min amount, the rest of the balance (RM9.5k) will be interest free until the end of the 0% BT tenure.
but remember not to use this card, those retail transactions will kena interest. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by lamode: May 23 2016, 11:31 AM
only_lonely1220
post May 23 2016, 11:40 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ May 23 2016, 11:31 AM)
you can just pay the min amount, the rest of the balance (RM9.5k) will be interest free until the end of the 0% BT tenure.
but remember not to use this card, those retail transactions will kena interest.  bangwall.gif
I see, thanks for the clarification and information.
jacey
post May 24 2016, 02:42 PM

68 posts

How easy to transfer out the excess amount if i BT more than what i owed?
cheahcw2003
post May 24 2016, 10:51 PM

5,379 posts

rhb bank used to have good BT plan, but now no more.
citibank and cimb bank's BT are expensive.
laymank
post May 25 2016, 01:17 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ May 21 2016, 03:51 PM)
Any HSBC balance transfer, they don't split the monthly by month? Thanks
Don't understand your question.
newsongfashion
post May 25 2016, 03:25 PM

315 posts

Can a balance transfer to Debit Card (Visa or Master) account?
newsongfashion
post May 25 2016, 03:26 PM

315 posts

Any bank can have balance transfer (one lump sum) without any instalment plan?
brokenbomb
post May 29 2016, 06:22 PM

1,269 posts

currently have maybank 2 card and cimb cash rebate

which is the best bank to do BT?

bearbear
post May 29 2016, 09:43 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 25 2016, 03:26 PM)
What is the point? Sorry what is your objective
newsongfashion
post May 30 2016, 01:56 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 29 2016, 09:43 PM)
What is the point? Sorry what is your objective
The objective is to transfer from credit card A to B, then to C, then back to A again for the purpose of cash management tongue.gif
mamamia
post May 30 2016, 05:32 PM

6,429 posts

For AEON balance transfer, we can only send to them via fax? Can we email? I read post 1 stated the cs email, but I check the form instruction only fax

This post has been edited by mamamia: May 30 2016, 05:33 PM
lamode
post May 30 2016, 05:45 PM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ May 30 2016, 05:32 PM)
For AEON balance transfer, we can only send to them via fax? Can we email? I read post 1 stated the cs email, but I check the form instruction only fax
can email even not stated in form.
TSbrotan
post May 30 2016, 07:00 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(jacey @ May 24 2016, 02:42 PM)
How easy to  transfer out the excess amount if i BT more than what i owed?
Depending which bank and how frequently u do it

Mbb I have done a few times without issue
TSbrotan
post May 30 2016, 07:00 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 25 2016, 03:25 PM)
Can a balance transfer to Debit Card (Visa or Master) account?
Balance transfer only for credit card
TSbrotan
post May 30 2016, 07:01 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 25 2016, 03:26 PM)
That makes 0 sense
TSbrotan
post May 30 2016, 07:02 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ May 29 2016, 06:22 PM)
currently have maybank 2 card and cimb cash rebate

which is the best bank to do BT?
Check post no 1 pls
bearbear
post May 30 2016, 09:38 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 30 2016, 01:56 PM)
The objective is to transfer from credit card A to B, then to C, then back to A again for the purpose of cash management  tongue.gif
either my logic fail or your's doesnt make sense.

assuming you owe 60k to bank A

balance transfer to bank B, 10k for 6 months.

doesn't that help your cash flow already?
newsongfashion
post May 30 2016, 10:08 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 30 2016, 09:38 PM)
either my logic fail or your's doesnt make sense.

assuming you owe 60k to bank A

balance transfer to bank B, 10k for 6 months.

doesn't that help your cash flow already?
It does help but let me give you another scenario.

I owe 60K to bank A. I don't have 10K for the first 6 months. I will have 60K after 6 months.

So by balance transfer from A, to B, to C, then back to A, to B and to C, I will have enough to settle full payment without having interest for the first 6 months. Don't know if it's possible or not.
bearbear
post May 30 2016, 10:11 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 30 2016, 10:08 PM)
It does help but let me give you another scenario.

I owe 60K to bank A. I don't have 10K for the first 6 months. I will have 60K after 6 months.

So by balance transfer from A, to B, to C, then back to A, to B and to C, I will have enough to settle full payment without having interest for the first 6 months. Don't know if it's possible or not.
not easy, you need to find 4 / 5 bank that offer no penalty on early settlement.

680 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0184sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:18 AM