5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Balance Transfer (BT) Plans V4 - Banks Offer List, Credit card debt consolidation

bearbear
post Apr 17 2016, 08:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 17 2016, 01:52 PM)

I have taken BT to the whole new level. Right now i have applied

1) Aeon CC
2) Public Bank CC
3) BSN CC

And soon i may wanna apply Affin (quite interest their 7% one time for 36mths repayment plan, that would translate into 2.4% below per annual which is very ideal for me.)

Any other CC that highly recommended?

Just notice Alliance Bank has 4% 24mths, oh my that might be another to get list lol.
Mind sharing link of Alliance 4%? Their website only can see (1) 6 months 0% for new to bank and (2) 8% p.a. for 24 months

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Apr 15 2016, 11:46 PM)
I understand that we cant BT to supplementary card (experience from Public Bank, Alliance Bank) but can we BT from Mr.A's supplementary card to Mr.A's principal card?

Regarding HSBC's BT program, let say I have RM3,000 (1st BT) with HSBC at 0% for 3mths . If I do another BT of RM5,000 without clearing my 1st BT (outstanding still have RM2,000), will I get interest charge? This is because I understand that there is no more 20 days interest free after having 1st BT and everyone would suggest to keep the card in drawer. I will call CS to confirm, but at the mean time, appreciate any advice or experience HSBC BT user. Thank you in advance!
My maybank statement always lump both principal and supp due amount and list it under principal. So far i can BT the total with no question asked.

Bank like RHB always split both principal & supp which i believe you then can't do what you intend to do.

So depends on how they treat your account and statement i guess.
bearbear
post Apr 17 2016, 10:10 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 17 2016, 09:28 PM)
ops, I was referring front page and didnt see clearly that it is no longer available. thanks for pointing it out  biggrin.gif
I just did some searching, i cant find any BT plan for Affin (unable to access their official website) and im not sure whether Ringgit Plus or Imoney is correct.  sweat.gif
Works fine for me, silly rates.

https://www.affinbank.com.my/getattachment/...P-Form.pdf.aspx
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 02:45 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 17 2016, 10:20 PM)
thanks for the link.

Its not silly at all, for 36mths u only pay for 7%, thats effective rate of 2.33% per annual.

I will prolly max up affin balance transfer 1st, and slowly pay it for 3 years.

BSN comes second (24mth @ 4.5%) and 3rd would be PBB (24mth @ 5%).

AEON will be last for short term cash rolling.  smile.gif
it is not 7% effectively as you have to pay back in equal for 36 months.

I believe you are catching the wrong concept, I hope you are not diggin bigger hole than you can fill.
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 09:03 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 18 2016, 07:23 AM)
Mind to elaborate it?
the difference between house loan (flexi) and car loan.

for this case they are doing it like car loan.

Quite sure the effective % per annum is more than double of 7% over 2 years
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 09:51 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 18 2016, 09:47 AM)
Now u caught my attention. How do they calculate the interest rate?
you are already been spoon-feeded with the calculator link, at the very least click in and find out wink.gif

As i told you, you pay 7% for full lump sum but you are paying back monthly installment equally for 36 months. Does it not make sense to you that the interest will be more than what they try to con you into?

tease you somemore, effective interest rate is >10% p.a.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Apr 18 2016, 09:52 AM
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 12:10 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Apr 18 2016, 11:46 AM)
Don't jump the gun. 7% is the up-front fee for 36 months, which equivalent to flat rate of 2.33% pa or effective rate of about 4.7% pa, which isn't bad compare to credit card debt at 18% or ahlong.

It is  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  that someone said to bring balance transfer to whole new level but couldn't differentiate between flat rate and effective rate.
Please read and re-read yawn.gif

I am not jumping the gun, i present you with facts. The calculator is there. wink.gif
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 12:10 PM

10,061 posts

Sorry double post

This post has been edited by bearbear: Apr 18 2016, 12:10 PM
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 01:39 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 18 2016, 01:11 PM)
Aiya i am not professional in financial. Learning together mar. As i said if the average less than 3% per annual i will not hesitate to get it. I still do not understand how he cals the rate.
very simple illustration

i loan you 1000 for 2 months, fee is 2%. you pay back equally 1010 per month.

After month 1, your make your payment thus your loan principal is 1000 (assuming you pay your fee upfront, as with BT usually). Problem is i still charge you 2% based on your initial loan principal of 2000.

Thus it is not 2%

Your case

It is 7% / 3 years IF you only pay back your loan principal (10k or 100k) at end of loan tenure. But you are paying monthly equally yet they charge the % based on your initial loan principal.

See the difference now? Well if you don't then i have to say just go ahead and make the bank richer.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Apr 18 2016, 01:41 PM
bearbear
post Apr 18 2016, 05:31 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Apr 18 2016, 05:09 PM)
Dude just spoken to Affin Bank staff, he said that up front is only once so 7% (36mths tenure) for ur total BT value.

Lets say u BT RM10 k
Up front payment is RM700
Ur principle will be split into 36mths which is average RM277.78 per mth.

For others i am not sure yet. Anyway thanks for pointing it out.
i said what i had to, so judge yourself smile.gif
bearbear
post May 16 2016, 01:57 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ May 16 2016, 11:52 AM)
hello mates, i saw that the cheapest BT is aeon cc? is there any annual fees or bank charges? i do not have any aeon CC now. any other cc that have 0% interest and maybe 0% fees and no bank charges at all ? be it annual fees or watever fees?
it is free for AEON but they have a rule of only one BT every 6 months.

Aeon CC annual fee are waived upon making 12 transactions a year.
bearbear
post May 29 2016, 09:43 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 25 2016, 03:26 PM)
Any bank can have balance transfer (one lump sum) without any instalment plan?
What is the point? Sorry what is your objective
bearbear
post May 30 2016, 09:38 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 30 2016, 01:56 PM)
The objective is to transfer from credit card A to B, then to C, then back to A again for the purpose of cash management  tongue.gif
either my logic fail or your's doesnt make sense.

assuming you owe 60k to bank A

balance transfer to bank B, 10k for 6 months.

doesn't that help your cash flow already?
bearbear
post May 30 2016, 10:11 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(newsongfashion @ May 30 2016, 10:08 PM)
It does help but let me give you another scenario.

I owe 60K to bank A. I don't have 10K for the first 6 months. I will have 60K after 6 months.

So by balance transfer from A, to B, to C, then back to A, to B and to C, I will have enough to settle full payment without having interest for the first 6 months. Don't know if it's possible or not.
not easy, you need to find 4 / 5 bank that offer no penalty on early settlement.
bearbear
post Jun 29 2016, 11:01 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 29 2016, 10:31 PM)
didn't notice can apply online, interesting.
bearbear
post Jun 30 2016, 10:17 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jun 30 2016, 07:07 AM)
Upfront fee of 3% for Balance Transfer 0% p.a 12 months is waived 2% during the Campaign period

So funny statement.. Only waive 2%
Not weird, it's 1% promo.

I believe this is one of the better deals compared to PBB & AEON which is totally 0 fee.
bearbear
post Jun 30 2016, 02:49 PM

10,061 posts

Yes Johore showed you the way, i did it last night and they sent me an e-mail almost immediately

But you can only choose the 3% / 12 months option, i suppose the 2% is by rebate later.

Quite convenient as no need to fill forms, just key in the credit card (other bank), amount and which Maybank CC you want the BT to go to.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Jun 30 2016, 02:56 PM
bearbear
post Jun 30 2016, 04:20 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jun 30 2016, 03:38 PM)
They will deduct 3% first month and rebate back the 2% on the following month.
Yup, saw it in their T&C.
bearbear
post Jul 4 2016, 11:25 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jul 4 2016, 11:22 PM)
Ok guys i didnt understand the FAQ number 4. Can anyone explain it further? I give example for me to easy understand.
Lets say my cc credit limit is 5000. And I used 3000 so my credit left 2000. If  I want BT (disregard bank choices) only 80% right? So the max I can BT is 80%x3000 or 80%x2000?
available credit so its based on 2k
bearbear
post Jul 8 2016, 12:18 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jul 8 2016, 12:14 PM)
After a few readings I get confused again and my previous question seems incorrect. Again I give an example.
I got 2 cards, A and B
Card A has CL 5k and card B 10k
I charged my card A 3000
I want to BT 3000 from card A to card B
We are only allowed 80% of CL to be BT correct? CL of the card that we want to transfer(card B)?
So technically i can BT full amount of 3000 to card B is it?
You BT to card B so you are allowed to BT up to 8k (provided your available credit is 10k)

QUOTE(garf @ Jul 8 2016, 12:15 PM)
hi, would like to know after bt approved. what next? the bank will directly pay the other bank or how? thanks
yes direct
bearbear
post Jul 8 2016, 02:07 PM

10,061 posts

lol bugger maybank 3% fee got gst thumbsup.gif bangwall.gif doh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:14 AM