Asus P535, GPS PDA Phone
dokidoki
Oct 10 2007, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(tenable @ Oct 10 2007, 10:33 PM) hye to all.... well i'm searching for my first pda and asus p535 is one which i would consider... juz want to ask u guys...coz i heard people say if that asus pda has difficulties in finding its spare parts..and plus with asus poor after sales service...so iz it worth to buy this gadget?and also does there any prob with the gadget after we upgrade it to WM6? new stock all come with wm6..so far so good..this unit not give me any error yet..
jc79
Oct 11 2007, 12:17 AM

how to open word file with p535? i copy my word file from pc to p535, but can not open?
This post has been edited by jc79: Oct 11 2007, 12:17 AM
dokidoki
Oct 11 2007, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(jc79 @ Oct 11 2007, 12:17 AM) how to open word file with p535? i copy my word file from pc to p535, but can not open? ur p535 shd come with the mobile office...make sure the word document extension is doc..cos i not sure docx will work or not...
kerazul
Oct 11 2007, 01:56 AM
hi jc79 n doki doki, no, word mobile cannot support docx format
hi tenable, The distributor/service centre for Asus pdaphones is Phonestar. In terms of after sales service, its more or less the same with SIS (dopod) or Semitech (O2). So doesn't matter which model u buy, their after sales services suck.
In terms of spare parts available, Asus is gaining popularity in Malaysia, especially the P535 model. So they should have a supply of spareparts to service the existing users.
Generally, the P535 is less problem-prone as compared with other models frm other brands. It's a good choice if u ask me.
cheers
jc79
Oct 11 2007, 10:53 AM

sure the word file is in doc format.... but can not open de.... haiz
Added on October 11, 2007, 10:54 amand to day i found my incoming call ring tone very loud... even i already adjust the volume to 30% but it's still like 100% wor... how come?
This post has been edited by jc79: Oct 11 2007, 10:54 AM
dokidoki
Oct 11 2007, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(jc79 @ Oct 11 2007, 10:53 AM) sure the word file is in doc format.... but can not open de.... haiz Added on October 11, 2007, 10:54 amand to day i found my incoming call ring tone very loud... even i already adjust the volume to 30% but it's still like 100% wor... how come? did u install any software recently?...have u try to soft reset the pda?
stimix
Oct 11 2007, 11:28 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(tenable @ Oct 10 2007, 10:33 PM) hye to all.... well i'm searching for my first pda and asus p535 is one which i would consider... juz want to ask u guys...coz i heard people say if that asus pda has difficulties in finding its spare parts..and plus with asus poor after sales service...so iz it worth to buy this gadget?and also does there any prob with the gadget after we upgrade it to WM6? FYI, Asus is oledi the official OEM producer of O2 products...(Previously O2 phones are based on HTC platform)..and so lotsa parts sharing the same parts available by O2 atom, zinc, life & etc..... Just found out that the battery also share the same O2 battery, where OEM batteries widely available in LYP if the original kaput)...check this forum: http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showtopic=88467
jc79
Oct 11 2007, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Oct 11 2007, 11:25 AM) did u install any software recently?...have u try to soft reset the pda? no... i din install any softwares.... after soft reset still the same...
kerazul
Oct 11 2007, 04:13 PM
hi jc79, Hmmm... how many subdirectories did u put for ur doc files? copying them to ur device's My Documents folder and see whether u can open or not. Otherwise, there may be some extension error.
As for ur ringtone, where did u adjust ur volume? There are 2 sliders on the volume slider. The one on ur right is for ur ringtone
RM1
Oct 11 2007, 09:29 PM
Hello,
I have just booked a P535 from SEC (Star Electronics) for RM1988. They don't have stock so got to wait till Raya is over. No free miniSD with this one. Anyway, also went browsing for 2GB miniSD and the cheapest is RM80 (Kingston, I think).
I could not wait and not willing to pay for the Asus P750, which has everything, 3G, GPS, Quad GSM, etc.. Set to come out Oct or December. Price is unknown but its specs is all that anyone would want except QWERTY keyboard.
Went to search for spare battery for the P535 and the 'cheong' brand is RM80. Anyone can get better price or can get a higher capacity battery. I've spotted on the net, a 1450mAh and from Mugen, 3000mAh but the prices are not cheap esp the Mugen. 1300mAh is kinda small. Eten glowfish are using 1530mAh.
Anyway, hope to share and learn from you guys soon as a P535 user.
dokidoki
Oct 11 2007, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(RM1 @ Oct 11 2007, 09:29 PM) Hello, I have just booked a P535 from SEC (Star Electronics) for RM1988. They don't have stock so got to wait till Raya is over. No free miniSD with this one. Anyway, also went browsing for 2GB miniSD and the cheapest is RM80 (Kingston, I think). I could not wait and not willing to pay for the Asus P750, which has everything, 3G, GPS, Quad GSM, etc.. Set to come out Oct or December. Price is unknown but its specs is all that anyone would want except QWERTY keyboard. Went to search for spare battery for the P535 and the 'cheong' brand is RM80. Anyone can get better price or can get a higher capacity battery. I've spotted on the net, a 1450mAh and from Mugen, 3000mAh but the prices are not cheap esp the Mugen. 1300mAh is kinda small. Eten glowfish are using 1530mAh. Anyway, hope to share and learn from you guys soon as a P535 user. hope u get ur p535 soon..as now fresh gear oso offer almost the same price..rm1999..i saw they still got plenty of stock lo...the ori battery is 1300mah...u sure 1450mah wont spoilt the machine?
kerazul
Oct 11 2007, 10:23 PM
Nah... higher capacity battery will make it last longer only. Won't spoil the device. Unless it's one of those China brand chie kai battery that explodes la.  the "mAh" doesn't affect the amount of current going through the device.
dokidoki
Oct 12 2007, 08:40 AM
any1 using garmin que on p535?..i try to use garmin que but then seem like my gpsproxy just wouldnt work even though i set the setting rite  when see the log...got this uat error..
kerazul
Oct 12 2007, 09:07 AM
Hi doki doki, there's a version of GPS Proxy called the 2.2a made specially for Asus P535 coz the conventional one wouldn't run.
Try looking ard malsingmaps to download it and it should solve ur problem
RM1
Oct 12 2007, 09:26 AM
Found a 1600mAh for the P535 at eBay http://cgi.ebay.com/1600-Battery-for-Asus-...4QQcmdZViewItemLooks like it is cheaper to get at eBay (USD9.99 for battery + USD9.99 for Shipping and Handling). With 23% more capacity, that will make the P535 usual 5 hours GSM talk time to 6.5hours if assuming linear power usage. I can't wait to get it next week. I had Garmin Que installed on my HP hx4700 but no GPS unit. Mainly using it as a electronic map for manual navigation. I hardly use the 4700 due to its huge footprint and weight. Wanted a big screen but then the price to pay is it just too burdensome to carry it around. Wish all Muslim friends here "Selamat Hari Raya".
stimix
Oct 12 2007, 09:50 AM
Dunno
QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 12 2007, 09:07 AM) Hi doki doki, there's a version of GPS Proxy called the 2.2a made specially for Asus P535 coz the conventional one wouldn't run. Try looking ard malsingmaps to download it and it should solve ur problem That's the baud rate correction version but it is old version. The latest version for Asus is GPS proxy 2.2c2 (Only for Asus) & only available from Malsingmaps. It is solely for the purpose of using the latest "locked maps". 2.2a can be used only for the unlocked maps dated Jun'2007.
dokidoki
Oct 12 2007, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 12 2007, 09:07 AM) Hi doki doki, there's a version of GPS Proxy called the 2.2a made specially for Asus P535 coz the conventional one wouldn't run. Try looking ard malsingmaps to download it and it should solve ur problem kerazul..thank u very much!!!! now 2.2a the link dead edi..so must use 2.2c.. here is the guide. Added on October 12, 2007, 10:29 amQUOTE(RM1 @ Oct 12 2007, 09:26 AM) Found a 1600mAh for the P535 at eBay http://cgi.ebay.com/1600-Battery-for-Asus-...4QQcmdZViewItemLooks like it is cheaper to get at eBay (USD9.99 for battery + USD9.99 for Shipping and Handling). With 23% more capacity, that will make the P535 usual 5 hours GSM talk time to 6.5hours if assuming linear power usage. I can't wait to get it next week. I had Garmin Que installed on my HP hx4700 but no GPS unit. Mainly using it as a electronic map for manual navigation. I hardly use the 4700 due to its huge footprint and weight. Wanted a big screen but then the price to pay is it just too burdensome to carry it around. Wish all Muslim friends here "Selamat Hari Raya". once u get ur hand on this 1650mah battery..do let us know how's the performance for this battery on p535..then maybe next time we can buy from ebay This post has been edited by dokidoki: Oct 12 2007, 10:29 AM
jc79
Oct 12 2007, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(kerazul @ Oct 11 2007, 04:13 PM) hi jc79, Hmmm... how many subdirectories did u put for ur doc files? copying them to ur device's My Documents folder and see whether u can open or not. Otherwise, there may be some extension error. As for ur ringtone, where did u adjust ur volume? There are 2 sliders on the volume slider. The one on ur right is for ur ringtone Thanks kerazul... i tot the left one is for ringtone... haha... quite confused... btw, r u using map king 2007? actually how to use that application ah?
dokidoki
Oct 12 2007, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(jc79 @ Oct 12 2007, 11:37 AM) Thanks kerazul... i tot the left one is for ringtone... haha... quite confused... btw, r u using map king 2007? actually how to use that application ah? just on the mapking..then select gps to on the gps function..then wait for a while for the gps to locate signal...
kerazul
Oct 12 2007, 08:59 PM
Hi jc79,
I'm not using mapking2007. I'm using Handymap AI instead. No need to convert the files to-n-fro coz it supports all formats.
But to use it is all the same. As doki doki mentioned, just open the software and select the "GPS" portion of the "pie". Everything is automatic from there.
Then to set a destination, just tap on the big "Destination?" portion of the screen and input it there. It will automatically route u to it.