QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 4 2017, 11:30 AM)
Take them away. Free. Lol only left w.k 1 though. If you got the patience to finish dis. RPG Chatroom, Chat about RPG's old and new.
RPG Chatroom, Chat about RPG's old and new.
Jan 4 2017, 05:44 PM
82 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Jan 4 2017, 05:51 PM
496 posts Joined: Nov 2016 From: KUL | PEK |
Jan 4 2017, 06:01 PM
1,056 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Miss the good old days when u start games like Ff6,7,8,9,10 ,xenogears , chrono triggers, tales series and star ocean, breath of fire 3,4 it actually makes u felt like you are in that world. Nowadays the RPG is all about how flashy the graphics only, lack of content and story. Ni no kuni still somehow feels like the old RPG but character is lifeless. kids these days only like FPS?
Jan 4 2017, 06:08 PM
82 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Jan 4 2017, 06:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
288 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(hz428 @ Jan 4 2017, 06:01 PM) Miss the good old days when u start games like Ff6,7,8,9,10 ,xenogears , chrono triggers, tales series and star ocean, breath of fire 3,4 it actually makes u felt like you are in that world. Nowadays the RPG is all about how flashy the graphics only, lack of content and story. Ni no kuni still somehow feels like the old RPG but character is lifeless. kids these days only like FPS? Kid (people my age included) these day loves graphic die die must be godlike graphics, 3rd person, fast action based They macam no feeling and just swallow shit story or the lack of it |
Jan 5 2017, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(Jigoku @ Jan 4 2017, 06:30 PM) Kid (people my age included) these day loves graphic die die must be godlike graphics, 3rd person, fast action based i made my niece play ni no kuni and now she is the one more excited for the second intallment. hahah. They macam no feeling and just swallow shit story or the lack of it the biggest gripe i have now with the RPG industry is the action oriented gameplay. I hate that there arent many turn based RPG's coming out. everything is on the fly, and i cant control the other players from doing bullshit attacks/casting, etc.... dont care too much about graphics, but cant be so bad lah. hahaha. |
Jan 5 2017, 09:58 AM
286 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
The trend has changed. The departure of the latest FF series from the traditional ATBS system would only meant that developers have to succumb to the demand and preference of gamers. "Hardcore" gamers who lived through turn based RPG such as the majority of us here in this thread unfortunately only consists of a handful of a small slice in the pie chart.
Nowadays gamers prefer action oriented genre. Add a good gun and sword with splashes of blood and a little decapitation with excellent graphics, and basically you are good to go. Gamers in this generation do not understand the concept behind random encounter, and the battle system which is determined by your choice of action in the menu. Gamers in this generation demand "fast paced action oriented", and turn based would probably be a step backwards. I would pay for a good old traditional turn based JRPG. I would die for a remastered Xenosaga trilogy. We live in an era where games have evolved so much since the NES days. Alas, so has JRPG. We don't see Suikoden anymore, or our beloved Breath of Fire. Perhaps our only hope lies in the Dragon Quest franchise, and Megaten series (which is never a frequent release). World of FF surprisingly incorporated turned based, and I loved every moment of it. At the end of the day, my opinion is, we adapt to the changes of time, assimilating both the good and bad of everything. |
Jan 5 2017, 10:05 AM
90 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
I wouldn't hate so much about how turnbased rpg bcome obsolete but turn to action based... sometimes i just hate how RGN god screw you up, think Super Robot Wars, the first game that makes me started hating turn based so bad which u have no aboslute control but rely on chance... I rather rely on reflex & skill XD...
anyway, it's the story especially side quests that add up, oh I wasn't so into graphics, oboro muramasa/odin sphere kinda graphics are good enough for me... This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Jan 5 2017, 10:05 AM |
Jan 5 2017, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(Zeliard @ Jan 5 2017, 09:58 AM) The trend has changed. The departure of the latest FF series from the traditional ATBS system would only meant that developers have to succumb to the demand and preference of gamers. "Hardcore" gamers who lived through turn based RPG such as the majority of us here in this thread unfortunately only consists of a handful of a small slice in the pie chart. yeah its sad that the big titles are moving all towards action based. i suppose the generation now are just so impatient and everything becomes a button mashing experience. one of my favourite battle systems is FFX. and then standard turn based stuff. Nowadays gamers prefer action oriented genre. Add a good gun and sword with splashes of blood and a little decapitation with excellent graphics, and basically you are good to go. Gamers in this generation do not understand the concept behind random encounter, and the battle system which is determined by your choice of action in the menu. Gamers in this generation demand "fast paced action oriented", and turn based would probably be a step backwards. I would pay for a good old traditional turn based JRPG. I would die for a remastered Xenosaga trilogy. We live in an era where games have evolved so much since the NES days. Alas, so has JRPG. We don't see Suikoden anymore, or our beloved Breath of Fire. Perhaps our only hope lies in the Dragon Quest franchise, and Megaten series (which is never a frequent release). World of FF surprisingly incorporated turned based, and I loved every moment of it. At the end of the day, my opinion is, we adapt to the changes of time, assimilating both the good and bad of everything. man im really hoping to see a new suikoden release one day. and yeah... xenosage, BOF... fuu. those were the glory days of RPGs. i only played one dragon quest back in the day. but waiting for the next one! |
Jan 5 2017, 10:43 AM
1,844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom of Sarawak |
well... we live in a fast food era now
everything need to be fast, fast & fast hardly any new players will appreciate the turn based battle system, or random encounter, face it guys, those are already the relics from the past. well, consider us lucky we still have access to tonnes of those classic RPGs either in the form of HD re-releases, e-shop, or even emulators I'm not looking forward for any of the new JRPG releases already, (except the latest upcoming DQXI, which seems doesn't change much from it's original core), knowing their golden era already long gone, unlike last time I always flipping thru the game mags looking for latest JRPG news. |
Jan 5 2017, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jan 5 2017, 10:43 AM) well... we live in a fast food era now yeah that DQXI quite interesting. can switch to 2D sprites if not mistaken hahah. and also its turn based! yay!everything need to be fast, fast & fast hardly any new players will appreciate the turn based battle system, or random encounter, face it guys, those are already the relics from the past. well, consider us lucky we still have access to tonnes of those classic RPGs either in the form of HD re-releases, e-shop, or even emulators I'm not looking forward for any of the new JRPG releases already, (except the latest upcoming DQXI, which seems doesn't change much from it's original core), knowing their golden era already long gone, unlike last time I always flipping thru the game mags looking for latest JRPG news. |
Jan 5 2017, 10:54 AM
QUOTE Add a good gun and sword with splashes of blood and a little decapitation with excellent graphics, and basically you are good to go The thing with action based is that Dev seems to be throwing all their egg into just that action based,excellent graphics and totally disregard the story/content of the game. Look at the recent FFXV the horrible story, and you need to pay for more DLC story content. If this trend continue and Gamer continue to swallow we will reach a point where Dev will throw us with incomplete story and at the ending of it "Want to know more? Please buy xx and xx DLC" |
Jan 5 2017, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(Jigoku @ Jan 5 2017, 10:54 AM) The thing with action based is that Dev seems to be throwing all their egg into just that action based,excellent graphics and totally disregard the story/content of the game. those be fighting words.... stand by for rage. hahahah. jk jk. Look at the recent FFXV the horrible story, and you need to pay for more DLC story content. If this trend continue and Gamer continue to swallow we will reach a point where Dev will throw us with incomplete story and at the ending of it "Want to know more? Please buy xx and xx DLC" well isnt that what FFVII remake is gonna be like? they are splitting it to several games so that to get the full one you need i think 3 parts? and the way development is going the last one will release on next gen console.... T_T |
Jan 5 2017, 11:13 AM
70 posts Joined: Dec 2013 From: The streets of Tokyo drifting with Sean Boswell |
QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 5 2017, 09:33 AM) i made my niece play ni no kuni and now she is the one more excited for the second intallment. hahah. Well, you can try consider RPGs from Nippon Ichi Software.the biggest gripe i have now with the RPG industry is the action oriented gameplay. I hate that there arent many turn based RPG's coming out. everything is on the fly, and i cant control the other players from doing bullshit attacks/casting, etc.... dont care too much about graphics, but cant be so bad lah. hahaha. Atelier series, Hyper Dimension Neptunia, Trininty Universe, and many more.The graphic really old school despite the game is released on latest console On 2nd thought, how about latest RPG like I am Setsuna? Grand Kingdom and Resonance of Fate? If we want to consider games that not release on Sony's console, we can also try to look at old rpg games from Xbox 360 back then when Microsft funded Mystwalker and Square Enix to develop RPG games exclusively for Xbox360 just to beat Sony's PS3 last time. Examples are like Lost Odyssey, Last Remnant, Infinite Ryvius and Eternal Sonata. U can also give these title a chance. |
Jan 5 2017, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Jan 5 2017, 11:13 AM) Well, you can try consider RPGs from Nippon Ichi Software. the Atelier series i never got into, dont know why. i tried a few but didnt enjoy so much. maybe story? Atelier series, Hyper Dimension Neptunia, Trininty Universe, and many more.The graphic really old school despite the game is released on latest console On 2nd thought, how about latest RPG like I am Setsuna? Grand Kingdom and Resonance of Fate? If we want to consider games that not release on Sony's console, we can also try to look at old rpg games from Xbox 360 back then when Microsft funded Mystwalker and Square Enix to develop RPG games exclusively for Xbox360 just to beat Sony's PS3 last time. Examples are like Lost Odyssey, Last Remnant, Infinite Ryvius and Eternal Sonata. U can also give these title a chance. i was thinking to buy it. as got sale. Atelier Sophie for RM100.... hmm. maybe will try. i bought Rogue Galaxy last time but in the end didnt finish yet. always kena distracted. need to offline and play i think... as for setusna, i really wanna play hahaha. but waiting for discount. i dont really like buying digital game... too bad only PSN release. i only have PS console. laptop also work computer. which reminds me, i need to get back to my trails in the sky. |
Jan 5 2017, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 5 2017, 11:08 AM) those be fighting words.... stand by for rage. hahahah. jk jk. Not just the story thats bad and need to pay dlc for more content. Don't get me started on the sausagefest and now i read the new dlc thats coming offering 2-3 female character.well isnt that what FFVII remake is gonna be like? they are splitting it to several games so that to get the full one you need i think 3 parts? and the way development is going the last one will release on next gen console.... T_T Even the action based is mindless but bashing buttons to finish a battle and the worst part of it the camera.I mean seriously if you want to make it action based game how can you screw up the camera view? Half the time you did be "Where is Noctis? Is that Ignis? Oh wai...its just a wall" Its either the big ass boss blocking your view or the surrounding wall,tree blocking it. |
Jan 5 2017, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Jigoku @ Jan 5 2017, 11:25 AM) Not just the story thats bad and need to pay dlc for more content. Don't get me started on the sausagefest and now i read the new dlc thats coming offering 2-3 female character. Hahaha. Yeah that's what I'm hearing. I haven't played yet. Getting it next week from a friend. From the demo I already like wtf... But we will see. Gotta try out myself and see how it goes. I hate camera issues......Even the action based is mindless but bashing buttons to finish a battle and the worst part of it the camera.I mean seriously if you want to make it action based game how can you screw up the camera view? Half the time you did be "Where is Noctis? Is that Ignis? Oh wai...its just a wall" Its either the big ass boss blocking your view or the surrounding wall,tree blocking it. |
Jan 5 2017, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(hutazi @ Jan 5 2017, 11:35 AM) Hahaha. Yeah that's what I'm hearing. I haven't played yet. Getting it next week from a friend. From the demo I already like wtf... But we will see. Gotta try out myself and see how it goes. I hate camera issues...... Some of the camera angle problem as seen below video» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 6 2017, 10:36 AM
123 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Jan 6 2017, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(Jigoku @ Jan 5 2017, 06:40 PM) Some of the camera angle problem as seen below video i feel need to makan motion sickness pills wei...» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(danger46 @ Jan 6 2017, 10:36 AM) i never played any KH game till the end. the disney char i cannot take seriously... is it really good story? |
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:11 PM |