24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

RPG Chatroom, Chat about RPG's old and new.

Dominic Toretto
post Dec 22 2016, 05:53 PM

70 posts

if newcomers rpg said that FFXV's brotherhood was awesome gilerr, they totally never played Legend of Dragoon. That part where the hero, the knight and the king did a 3some brofist before the knight departed to afterlife was very memoriable. Almost cried when the king said to the knight "no, you're not dead"
El-LoboSolitario
post Dec 23 2016, 02:47 PM

90 posts

You guys were right... the game developers emphasize on graphics so much that majority of the time spent developing were just making the game look good these days... and then they don't have time for contents...

I found Falcom is another company that fell to this bullcrap game developer symptom now... and learned to do worse, they don't bother give much update, then port to other platform with added content... e.g. Tokyo Xanadu & YS8 (enhanced version on PS4! vita owners got the cheesy version) and Sen no kiseki 3 (leave vita only players a cliffhanger)...

El-LoboSolitario
post Dec 23 2016, 02:53 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Dec 22 2016, 05:53 PM)
if newcomers rpg said that FFXV's brotherhood was awesome gilerr, they totally never played Legend of Dragoon. That part where the hero, the knight and the king did a 3some brofist before the knight departed to afterlife was very memoriable. Almost cried when the king said to the knight "no, you're not dead"
the only thing I found awe with FFXV was the summoning... anything else just meh... or make me puke or dozing off...

SE could have done away with FFXV by remaking LOD, or forgetten FF like VI if they bother with graphics... cos contents of the old titles are more abundant and are already there... anyway, they can choose what game to develop just like we can choose what game to buy after review...

guess i was too bored, I went to buy Saga new title Scarlet Grace... damn... I could only say I missed Frontier series or romancing series, I will always remember old glories of the JRPG past cry.gif ...

This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Dec 23 2016, 02:56 PM
Dominic Toretto
post Dec 23 2016, 03:04 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Dec 23 2016, 02:53 PM)
the only thing I found awe with FFXV was the summoning... anything else just meh... or make me puke or dozing off...

SE could have done away with FFXV by remaking LOD, or forgetten FF like VI if they bother with graphics... cos contents of the old titles are more abundant and are already there... anyway, they can choose what game to develop just like we can choose what game to buy after review...

guess i was too bored, I went to buy Saga new title Scarlet Grace... damn... I could only say I missed Frontier series or romancing series, I will always remember old glories of the JRPG past cry.gif ...
Legend of Dragoon was under Sony company, not Square.

Square just need to get back Hinorobu Sakaguchi from Mystwalker coz FF series went downfall after Hinorobu left Square. If Kojima is mastermind storytelling for MGS, then Hinorobu is for FF. Without Kojima, MGS is just a name or brand for ridiculous game. Without Shinji Mikami, Resident Evil is just a soulless boring game that just borring its title. Same as Final Fantasy also.

The only RPG games that I think worth playing due to it still retain its classic gameplay and story telling eventhough it expand to many series was Tales of series. All praise Hideo Baba.
El-LoboSolitario
post Dec 23 2016, 03:19 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Dec 23 2016, 03:04 PM)
Legend of Dragoon was under Sony company, not Square.

Square just need to get back Hinorobu Sakaguchi from Mystwalker coz FF series went downfall after Hinorobu left Square. If Kojima is mastermind storytelling for MGS, then Hinorobu is for FF. Without Kojima, MGS is just a name or brand for ridiculous game. Without Shinji Mikami, Resident Evil is just a soulless boring game that just borring its title. Same as Final Fantasy also.

The only RPG games that I think worth playing due to it still retain its classic gameplay and story telling eventhough it expand to many series was Tales of series. All praise Hideo Baba.
Ooops, I messed up the developer for LOD, lol blink.gif

Well, the game creators could have done what Iga did, go on kickstarter, forget their glorious past and might as well start a brand new one rolleyes.gif better answer to fans than corp management ...

I stop paying attention to Tales series since tales of heart R... cos BanCo has forsaken the market of handheld, as I am one of those solely carry handheld gaming system blush.gif
Jigoku
post Dec 23 2016, 03:26 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Dec 23 2016, 02:47 PM)
You guys were right... the game developers emphasize on graphics so much that majority of the time spent developing were just making the game look good these days... and then they don't have time for contents...

I found Falcom is another company that fell to this bullcrap game developer symptom now... and learned to do worse, they don't bother give much update, then port to other platform with added content... e.g. Tokyo Xanadu & YS8 (enhanced version on PS4! vita owners got the cheesy version) and Sen no kiseki 3 (leave vita only players a cliffhanger)...
They have time for contents when it earn them money, DLC DLC DLC give you half baked story then later tell you buy this DLC DLC and you get the full story.

Instead of give you full story then expansion which you need to buy for extra or continuation of the ending whistling.gif

Games that i enjoy during PS2

Ar Tonelico Series
Wild arm
Suikoden series
Xenosaga
Grandia
Atelier IRIS
Shin Megami Tensei
Tales and whatever tales somemore
Disgae
MS saga a new dawn my favourite gundam rpg
Radiata stories

This post has been edited by Jigoku: Dec 23 2016, 03:32 PM
danger46
post Dec 23 2016, 05:15 PM

123 posts

Remaster for ps4 blink.gif
Dominic Toretto
post Dec 23 2016, 05:37 PM

70 posts

Before Sword Art Online, there was a 'fake' MMORPG game called .Hack. It expanded from game, manga and many TV series.

That one was a hell of rpg that was based off 'fake' mmorpg world.

danger46
post Dec 23 2016, 05:58 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Dec 23 2016, 05:37 PM)
Before Sword Art Online, there was a 'fake' MMORPG game called .Hack. It expanded from game, manga and many TV series.

That one was a hell of rpg that was based off 'fake' mmorpg world.
omg i remember that game, back then it was my favorite game!

i hope the original 4 and GU get a remaster!

This post has been edited by danger46: Dec 23 2016, 05:59 PM
Poodlepaddly
post Dec 25 2016, 11:36 PM

82 posts

This new upcoming RPG looks good. Got the old school RPG feel, and the character design isn't bad. Feels a bit like... Valkyrie profile. (<< dang i just remembered this good RPG)

Anyone keen to host a thread for this? blush.gif

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: Dec 25 2016, 11:37 PM
laguna1811
post Dec 26 2016, 10:17 AM

476 posts

looks like majority here enjoy old time rpg just like me smile.gif
kind of disappointed on ff15... nearly lost old ff taste... sad
woff was much better, the old days yet fresh ff feel, and nostalgic ff music and cute chara and nice story
guess ff7 remake will be like ff15... haizzz... more on graphic and less content

now i only follow tales of titles, which they still keep the old battle system taste and contents

hmmm and when will kingdom hearts 3 release???

really miss old time chrono series and xenosaga series, oh yes and grandia was nice also... and legend of dragoon!
Poodlepaddly
post Dec 26 2016, 06:34 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(laguna1811 @ Dec 26 2016, 10:17 AM)
looks like majority here enjoy old time rpg just like me smile.gif
kind of disappointed on ff15... nearly lost old ff taste... sad
woff was much better, the old days yet fresh ff feel, and nostalgic ff music and cute chara and nice story
guess ff7 remake will be like ff15... haizzz... more on graphic and less content

now i only follow tales of titles, which they still keep the old battle system taste and contents

hmmm and when will kingdom hearts 3 release???

really miss old time chrono series and xenosaga series, oh yes and grandia was nice also... and legend of dragoon!
Yeah. I guess better graphic doesn't necessary means better game play. The story was more important.

But nowadays we are spoiled with choices. Maybe it was the lack of games in the earlier days that made us feel nostalgic to those older titles.
El-LoboSolitario
post Dec 29 2016, 03:26 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Dec 23 2016, 03:26 PM)
They have time for contents when it earn them money, DLC DLC DLC give you half baked story then later tell you buy this DLC DLC and you get the full story.

Instead of give you full story then expansion which you need to buy for extra or continuation of the ending  whistling.gif
Games that i enjoy during PS2

Hahaha, exactly... just a boiled down of smart phone in-app purchase which a $$$ model they learned from how people would pay a little but would add up and spend more than a retail game if unchecked...

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Dec 25 2016, 11:36 PM)
This new upcoming RPG looks good. Got the old school RPG feel, and the character design isn't bad. Feels a bit like... Valkyrie profile. (<< dang i just remembered this good RPG)

Anyone keen to host a thread for this?  blush.gif
Oh crap, I haven't even finished this game!!! I left it after a new classes update and went for Exist archive which then I also left it unfinished and moved onto other new games... I don't know why I just couldn't finish rpg these days... felt like they're kinda lackluster for me to keep playing...

and I can't believe mega_shok.gif I already set my eyes on aoki kakumei no valkyria (Valkyria azure revolution?) and yoru no nai kuni 2 (nights of azure 2?)... really like what u said, not much choices and you just have to stick with shit games or pull out altogether... glad Sen no kiseki 3 not released on vita, don't need to go thru the crap with Falcom anymore... may b the Ys origin would b the last title i would get...

This post has been edited by El-LoboSolitario: Dec 29 2016, 03:55 PM
Duckies
post Dec 29 2016, 03:30 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Suikoden series, Legend of Dragoon, Chrono Trigger, Chrono Cross and Tales of Destiny 2 was the best RPG I've ever played. Most of it I've re-played many times. Lately the newer Tales series wasn't as good as the old ones...the story just....no sense of urgency. Still remember you have to naik to the second world through a light of pillar in Tales of Destiny 2.

Suikoden was also very unique. 108 characters, war game and decision making simply make it the best RPG. I feel it's the same for now too but sadly it was forgotten cry.gif

FF13-1 was playable, 2 and 3...puuiiiii. Haven't tried FF15 but I feel over-rated.

Tales of Xillia 1 is good, I like the combo fighting system. Second one mehhh, reused a lot of map and dungeons. Tales of Zestiria new concept of fusion but story is so so. Upcoming Tales of Bestiria...I put low expectation.

Another RPG that continues til now is Persona series but I am not a big fan of Persona hmm.gif Not a big fan of Kingdom Hearts series too. Felt weird to play RPG along side with Disney characters sweat.gif

But I think turn based RPG is dying....current trend is shifting towards action based RPG. The last turn based RPG I know that's good is Persona and I am Setsuna.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Dec 29 2016, 03:35 PM
Dominic Toretto
post Dec 29 2016, 03:41 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 29 2016, 03:30 PM)
Suikoden series, Legend of Dragoon, Chrono Trigger, Chrono Cross and Tales of Destiny 2 was the best RPG I've ever played. Most of it I've re-played many times. Lately the newer Tales series wasn't as good as the old ones...the story just....no sense of urgency. Still remember you have to naik to the second world through a light of pillar in Tales of Destiny 2.

Tales of Destiny 2 got Light Pillar?

You mean Tales of Eternia?
Duckies
post Dec 29 2016, 03:46 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Dec 29 2016, 03:41 PM)
Tales of Destiny 2 got Light Pillar?

You mean Tales of Eternia?
Got, there's the part where you ascend to the second world. Ahh I only remember Farah and Reid, I can't remember the another girl name.

Melody?

This post has been edited by Duckies: Dec 29 2016, 03:46 PM
El-LoboSolitario
post Dec 29 2016, 03:49 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 29 2016, 03:30 PM)

Suikoden was also very unique. 108 characters, war game and decision making simply make it the best RPG. I feel it's the same for now too but sadly it was forgotten cry.gif

FF13-1 was playable, 2 and 3...puuiiiii. Haven't tried FF15 but I feel over-rated.

Tales of Xillia 1 is good, I like the combo fighting system. Second one mehhh, reused a lot of map and dungeons. Tales of Zestiria new concept of fusion but story is so so. Upcoming Tales of Bestiria...I put low expectation.

Another RPG that continues til now is Persona series but I am not a big fan of Persona hmm.gif Not a big fan of Kingdom Hearts series too. Felt weird to play RPG along side with Disney characters  sweat.gif

But I think turn based RPG is dying....current trend is shifting towards action based RPG. The last turn based RPG I know that's good is Persona and I am Setsuna.
I believed the TOD2 u talked about was actually Tales of Eternia (Rid as the protagonist)? cos TOD2 as I remember was the story about Stan's son Kyle fighting against a "fake god" and that crazy Balbatos, it also spots the harder battle system (the most game overs in all tales series i played) than Tales of Eternia, although both were very very awesome games...

Suikodens were good except that one on DS, ppffff, sad title... Breath of Fire series (1 ~4) were great too!

Never play any title of persona, perhaps i just don't like the art style and battle system (same reason for dragon quests...)

There are still some turn based RPG, at least on vita... but only slated for jpn release.... Setsuna was fun, but may b it's a side project, so can't complain much about its length...

I don't mind action rpg, but it just needs to have contents...

Duckies
post Dec 29 2016, 04:02 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ Dec 29 2016, 03:49 PM)
I believed the TOD2 u talked about was actually Tales of Eternia (Rid as the protagonist)? cos TOD2 as I remember was the story about Stan's son Kyle fighting against a "fake god" and that crazy Balbatos, it also spots the harder battle system (the most game overs in all tales series i played) than Tales of Eternia, although both were very very awesome games...

Suikodens were good except that one on DS, ppffff, sad title... Breath of Fire series (1 ~4) were great too!

Never play any title of persona, perhaps i just don't like the art style and battle system (same reason for dragon quests...)

There are still some turn based RPG, at least on vita... but only slated for jpn release.... Setsuna was fun, but may b it's a side project, so can't complain much about its length...

I don't mind action rpg, but it just needs to have contents...
Yea that was Rid. I didn't know it was called Tales of Eternia cause the game CD was written TOD2 laugh.gif

Breath of Fire IV was the best. The story of 2 dragons! And the battle system combo awesome man.

Nowadays most turn based RPG is on Vita or other handheld consoles cry.gif
Dominic Toretto
post Dec 29 2016, 04:09 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 29 2016, 03:46 PM)
Got, there's the part where you ascend to the second world. Ahh I only remember Farah and Reid, I can't remember the another girl name.

Melody?
Its Meredy

QUOTE(Duckies @ Dec 29 2016, 04:02 PM)
Yea that was Rid. I didn't know it was called Tales of Eternia cause the game CD was written TOD2 laugh.gif

Breath of Fire IV was the best. The story of 2 dragons! And the battle system combo awesome man.

Nowadays most turn based RPG is on Vita or other handheld consoles cry.gif
The game was originally released in Japan as Tales of Eternia. When they released it in North America, the name had to be change to Tales of Destiny 2 due to copyright issue with "Eternia" word eventhough the story and plot of the game is not a direct continuation from Tales of Destiny (Stahn was the main protagonist for TOD1). Few years later, Namco released the real direct continuation of TOD 1, called Tales of Destiny 2 but couldn't release in N/A becoz Tales of Eternia already use the name 'Tales of Destiny 2' when released in US.
Duckies
post Dec 29 2016, 04:11 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(Dominic Toretto @ Dec 29 2016, 04:09 PM)
Its Meredy
The game was originally released in Japan as Tales of Eternia. When they released it in North America, the name had to be change to Tales of Destiny 2 due to copyright issue with "Eternia" word eventhough the story and plot of the game is not a direct continuation from Tales of Destiny (Stahn was the main protagonist for TOD1). Few years later, Namco released the real direct continuation of TOD 1, called Tales of Destiny 2 but couldn't release in N/A becoz Tales of Eternia already use the name 'Tales of Destiny 2' when released in US.
Ahh I never got to play the real TOD2 sweat.gif

24 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:42 PM