> LYN OFFICIAL VAPING THREAD V33, Eat Vape Sleep Vape Shit Vape - Repeat

Eiraku
post May 17 2016, 07:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ May 17 2016, 06:51 PM)
try looking for vt40? second hand is good enough.
Well that should depend on his wattage needs, yeah? The VT40, for all its features, only does 40. It's an awesome mod nonetheless, but only a second hand beater might be sold for less than RM300.

So, earl-ku what do you need, features wise? Try to figure that out first, blindly getting a mod out of sheer "oh that's a good mod" from others might not result in you getting the best mod for *yourself*.

For one, it sounds that the Crown works good for you. Try to get just the tank and try it out with your Subox first. As crappy as the Subox/Kbox might seem, it already does 50w (although of course, the firing might feel different to the IPV D2) - and a new tank changes a lot more than you would think.

Than, if you feel you need more in terms of power or battery life, you can consider upgrading your mod... maybe something like the VTC Mini (smaller, 1-batt, less powerful) or the Cuboid (bigger, 2-batt, more powerful). Both are my to-go recommendations for good cheap workhorse mods.

IMHO ler.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 17 2016, 08:48 PM
Memories_Fallen
post May 17 2016, 07:52 PM

:)
2,119 posts

hey guys im using avocado dripper tank..is using twisted 24gauge good? i heard it fires extremely slow...im more to flavor wise than cloud, but heck im using a dripper anyways lol so whats a good setup? plan to do single coil around 0.4ohm only, no nid for double haha
andyng38
post May 17 2016, 10:44 PM

2,399 posts

Been asked about why in many youtube vids on rolling wicks, the guy just simply tears off a bit of cotton from the ball, anyhow rolls it between his hands, and shoves it into the coil. Well I don't do it that way.

Wickipedia biggrin.gif This is how I prefer to use ball cotton. If I don't have time/energy, then cotton pads are way handier...but I find this ritual of working with a ball of cotton to be very relaxing.

Firstly note how the fibers run in the ball of cotton. Select a portion where MOST of the fibers will be running in the same direction, and tear off an appropriately sized piece.

Gently tug the piece, one small part at a time to thin it out and make it more even in density. Lumpy cotton makes for uneven wicking rates.

Remember you want the fibers to be running ALONG the length of the wick. Choose the proper orientation and roll away!

Got 2 wicks out from that piece, but the work is not done yet.

Place the wick on a towel and roll it more to get a more even cylinder-shape...but don't compress it too much! U want the wick to still have some bounce in it.

Install the wicks, trim, prime, juice up and enjoyyyy!
snake1983
post May 17 2016, 11:00 PM

31 posts

andyng38 I'm using kendo now, not to be poisoning anyone just my own verdict this shit is worth the moolah

have some hard time to calculate how much cotton I suppose to tear off and roll it like the Scottish technique, still learning to use lesser cotton( wasted quite abit) despite the fact is not cheap to gone to waste, so all the cut of the cotton I keep it and might reuse them in the future preventing gone to waste.

dripping juice and soak the cotton also completely different challenge, first fillin into juice the cotton seem like unable to suck up the juice and I have pull them out with a tweezers and try to press them a little pressure then the whole roll of cotton only become wet previous the side is hardly even soak in. second fillin on my second dripper found a way to make the cotton soak up easily. just fire 1-3s allow the heat to suck up the juice and it works within a minutes cotton completely wet and ready to vape.

final verdict
Vape on it, flavours intensity increased, cloud production even greater hold quite huge amount of juice and very clean taste no cotton taste at all. Now have to test how long it can hold of the taste and how long the cotton will require a change.

Oh last thing im always firing at 40w but now it does give me a sense that I able to fire more higher so im firing at 50w now let see how well the cotton can last from the heat.
amco
post May 17 2016, 11:29 PM

785 posts

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=AwrSbl0iNzt...LrN_kPMPtW0xx4-

Check this out. Obs Crius Plus 25mm

andyng38
post May 17 2016, 11:30 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(snake1983 @ May 17 2016, 11:00 PM)
andyng38 I'm using kendo now, not to be poisoning anyone just my own verdict this shit is worth the moolah

have some hard time to calculate how much cotton I suppose to tear off and roll it like the Scottish technique, still learning to use lesser cotton( wasted quite abit) despite the fact is not cheap to gone to waste, so all the cut of the cotton I keep it and might reuse them in the future preventing gone to waste.
dripping juice and soak the cotton also completely different challenge, first fillin into juice the cotton seem like unable to suck up the juice and I have pull them out with a tweezers and try to press them a little pressure then the whole roll of cotton only become wet previous the side is hardly even soak in. second fillin on my second dripper found a way to make the cotton soak up easily. just fire 1-3s allow the heat to suck up the juice and it works within a minutes cotton completely wet and ready to vape.

final verdict
Vape on it, flavours intensity increased, cloud production even greater hold quite huge amount of juice and very clean taste no cotton taste at all. Now have to test how long it can hold of the taste and how long the cotton will require a change.

Oh last thing im always firing at 40w but now it does give me a sense that I able to fire more higher so im firing at 50w now let see how well the cotton can last from the heat.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif I'm happy u r enjoying the kendo! I made a little how-to in post#1164 in case anyone needed it.

Suggest u first practice making wicks on cheap pharmacy cotton balls (but don't use them to vape unless they been boiled to get rid of bleach etc). In time, u can easily agak-agak quite accurately how much cotton to tear off, and how much to roll to suite the inner diameter of yr coils.

Those pieces of Kendo can be reused. If in the future u find that the wick u r rolling is a bit thin and not wide enough, u can patch that area up with one or a few thinly-stretched out bits of Kendo. If you have the time (and a lot of bits), they can even be "weaved" into a new wick! Very little waste.

In most of my max VG juices, I add some saline solution to improve lubricity, enhance flavor and minimize dry-mouth (VG is a humectant and can be very drying). Because of that I guess, I have no probs priming any wick...just paint it on and the juice will work into the cotton in 10-15 seconds. But your pulse-firing will work too.

I've taken kendo wicks up to 85W...no problems...so u should be able to easily fire at 50W or higher. Enjoy the sweet fruits of yr wicking work!! smile.gif
am3rr
post May 18 2016, 12:11 AM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

where cam i get saline solution
Eiraku
post May 18 2016, 12:15 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

For folks who think that the RX200 is too much mod for their hands and the Pico too little: Behold, the just announced Wismec RX75.

Single 18650, 75w TC mod (with the Pico chipset aka the 75w RX200 chipset) and the RX200S/VTC Mini screen.

Expect the same firing character as the Pico (same chipset and battery configuration after all), just in a more VTC sized body. Main fire switch is kinda like a Presa apparently (the entire glossy black part under the tank).

Not personally interested (well, my Pico literally does everything it can... in a smaller package), but really, JayBo is on a roll lol.

Oh and Joyetech announced the VTC line successor, the VTwo and VTwo Mini too. Pictures? Well, it's a VTC mini... with a clock display... so yeah.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 18 2016, 12:41 AM
andyng38
post May 18 2016, 01:14 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ May 18 2016, 12:11 AM)
where cam i get saline solution
2.5 grams of non-iodized salt to 236.5ml of R.O.(reverse osmosis) water. U can get Himalaya natural rock salt and R.O. water at Giant hypermart.
rjb123
post May 18 2016, 01:26 AM

1,820 posts

You can also buy Saline pretty cheap in pharmacies and some supermarkets
am3rr
post May 18 2016, 01:43 AM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ May 18 2016, 01:14 AM)
2.5 grams of non-iodized salt to 236.5ml of R.O.(reverse osmosis) water. U can get Himalaya natural rock salt and R.O. water at Giant hypermart.
thanks. im soo gonna try this.

what the usually precentage u use for saline water.

2%?

This post has been edited by am3rr: May 18 2016, 01:46 AM
Memories_Fallen
post May 18 2016, 01:51 AM

:)
2,119 posts

hey guys anyone know where to get sticker for ipv d2, cloupor gt and sigelei 75w? thanks
andyng38
post May 18 2016, 02:21 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ May 18 2016, 01:43 AM)
thanks. im soo gonna try this.

what the usually precentage u use for saline water.

2%?

You're welcome smile.gif

There's no usual percentage. It depends on your intention, VG percentage, the kind of juice, and how much less-dry u want yr mouth to be when u vape.

A few examples:

Fruity juices: 1%-1.5% can make most fruit flavors "pop" and be more prominent. A few flavors eg green mango can get by with 0.75% and still be ok. Rose candy benefits from 0.5% saline.
Creamy juices: 2% will make a pie crust/cookie/donut juice taste more savory.
Tobacco juices: 0.75%-1% can lessen harshness and make a tobacco flavor taste more full-bodied,smoother and emphasize the mid-notes. If using Blackfire, it may need up to 1.5%, depending on % of flavoring.
Popcorn juices: If u want a salty flavor to contrast with the caramel, or compliment the butter, you'll have to start at a minimum of 4% saline. Any less and u won't really taste much salt. I'd say 5 or 5.25% is better...BUT your other flavorings will have to total at or over 21% in order to compensate for the dilution by the saline.

Bear in mind that I'm just relating my own experiences...you may have to adjust the saline and flavorings to suit yr own tastebuds, but those percentages can give u a decent starting point.
Nub!
post May 18 2016, 02:26 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ May 18 2016, 02:21 AM)
You're welcome  smile.gif

There's no usual percentage. It depends on your intention, VG percentage, the kind of juice, and how much less-dry u want yr mouth to be when u vape.

A few examples:

Fruity juices: 1%-1.5% can make most fruit flavors "pop" and be more prominent. A few flavors eg green mango can get by with 0.75% and still be ok. Rose candy benefits from 0.5% saline.
Creamy juices: 2% will make a pie crust/cookie/donut juice taste more savory.
Tobacco juices: 0.75%-1% can lessen harshness and make a tobacco flavor taste more full-bodied,smoother and emphasize the mid-notes. If using Blackfire, it may need up to 1.5%, depending on % of flavoring.
Popcorn juices: If u want a salty flavor to contrast with the caramel, or compliment the butter, you'll have to start at a minimum of 4% saline. Any less and u won't really taste much salt. I'd say 5 or 5.25% is better...BUT your other flavorings will have to total at or over 21% in order to compensate for the dilution by the saline.

Bear in mind that I'm just relating my own experiences...you may have to adjust the saline and flavorings to suit yr own tastebuds, but those percentages can give u a decent starting point.
Im a beginner in brewing my own juice for personal use. So just came across this conversation. How does saline water help in brewing? It makes the juice taste better?
hobies82
post May 18 2016, 09:21 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(hobies82 @ Apr 16 2016, 08:25 AM)
Hi guys, Ive been brewing for almost a year and have spend thousands on R&D and i've finally perfected Five Pawns Gambit clone. Therefore, im sharing with LYN members. Currently have 1.5 liters worth of gold here. Letting go at RM25/30ml. Postage on you though. Please PM me if interested. Thanks.

Just an update. Less than 10 bottles left. Once gone its gone. Gonna venture into other flavours.
mi-g
post May 18 2016, 10:53 AM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

QUOTE(hobies82 @ May 18 2016, 09:21 AM)
Just an update. Less than 10 bottles left. Once gone its gone. Gonna venture into other flavours.
cod location where?
TristanX
post May 18 2016, 11:08 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(hobies82 @ May 18 2016, 09:21 AM)
I make Gambit regularly.
andyng38
post May 18 2016, 12:02 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Nub! @ May 18 2016, 02:26 AM)
Im a beginner in brewing my own juice for personal use. So just came across this conversation. How does saline water help in brewing? It makes the juice taste better?
In post#1174 I had described 4 of the ways saline helps improve certain types of juices.

It provides our tastebuds some contrast, counterpoint and reinforcement of the focal flavor(s) in a juice. The water in saline helps smooth flavors and provide better mouth-feel. VG (glycerol) and PG (propylene glycol) are forms of alcohol (the "ol" at the end of their names is a clue to their origin) and do tend to have a very drying effect on tongue and mouth tissues...adding a bit of water in the form of saline helps lessen that drying effect.

On a slight tangent, we add salt to many of our foods for the same reason....to improve flavor. Our bodies need salt too for proper functioning. Try adding a small pinch of salt to yr coffee or tea...u may be surprised at an enhanced taste! smile.gif
I find it a bit ironic that Na and Cl in their original forms are poisonous to us, but when combined to become NaCl, it becomes a substance that is essential to human life.

One more very easy way to make yr juices taste even better: don't put in nicotine. You'll get more flavor. But if u still need nic, then just go ahead lah.
Nub!
post May 18 2016, 12:28 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ May 18 2016, 12:02 PM)
In post#1174 I had described 4 of the ways saline helps improve certain types of juices.

It provides our tastebuds some contrast, counterpoint and reinforcement of the focal flavor(s) in a juice. The water in saline helps smooth flavors and provide better mouth-feel. VG (glycerol) and PG (propylene glycol) are forms of alcohol (the "ol" at the end of their names is a clue to their origin) and do tend to have a very drying effect on tongue and mouth tissues...adding a bit of water in the form of saline helps lessen that drying effect.

On a slight tangent, we add salt to many of our foods for the same reason....to improve flavor. Our bodies need salt too for proper functioning. Try adding a small pinch of salt to yr coffee or tea...u may be surprised at an enhanced taste! smile.gif
I find it a bit ironic that Na and Cl in their original forms are poisonous to us, but when combined to become NaCl, it becomes a substance that is essential to human life.

One more very easy way to make yr juices taste even better: don't put in nicotine. You'll get more flavor. But if u still need nic, then just go ahead lah.
Really thank you so much for your explanation. I shall look into it and mix accordingly.

Appreciate it.

Edit - I would like to go jn more defails on my juice.

Usually fruity flavour like apple, manggo lassi, yellow manggo and green manggo.

Using premix vg/pg 70/30 3mg nic.

Everytime I brew I make 25ml cuz my test tube only 25ml with 15% flavouring included.

All with 7 drops of sucralose and 7 drops of cooling agent.

So from what I understand I need to bump up my flavouring to 20% with few drops of saline? I learnt that contacg lense solution is also saline, cna I use that?

This post has been edited by Nub!: May 18 2016, 12:36 PM
andyng38
post May 18 2016, 12:45 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Nub! @ May 18 2016, 12:28 PM)
Really thank you so much for your explanation. I shall look into it and mix accordingly.

Appreciate it.

Edit - I would like to go jn more defails on my juice.

Usually fruity flavour like apple, manggo lassi, yellow manggo and green manggo.

Using premix vg/pg 70/30 3mg nic.

Everytime I brew I make 25ml cuz my test tube only 25ml with 15% flavouring included.

All with 7 drops of sucralose and 7 drops of cooling agent.

So from what I understand I need to bump up my flavouring to 20% with few drops of saline? I learnt that contacg lense solution is also saline, cna I use that?
DON'T USE CONTACT LENS SOLUTION!! It is not meant for vaping...some have preservatives and antibacterial/antifungal chemicals in it.

Simple recipe for DIY saline at post #1170. U can scale it down to make smaller batches if u can't use so much at a time. Fresh saline is always better....less chance of contamination.

If u use saline at 4%-5.25% and up, then bump up yr flavorings to at least 21%. If it's only 0.5%-2% saline, u can probably get away with not adding more flavoring. Trust yr tastebuds to adjust accordingly.

128 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0329sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:20 AM