126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

kabukiawie
post Mar 21 2007, 02:59 PM

2,039 posts

for s478, 865 and 875 perform better than other chipset. smile.gif
edministrator
post Mar 21 2007, 05:17 PM

1,940 posts

865 & 875 perform better due to the 800FSB support, and of course matured chipset quality compared to previous 845 and below.
shinjite
post Mar 21 2007, 06:52 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Thats 1 of the reasons I choose 865 smile.gif
Cheaper yet got PAT, can rival the 875
raymond5105
post Mar 21 2007, 07:45 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 21 2007, 02:59 PM)
for s478, 865 and 875 perform better than other chipset. smile.gif
QUOTE(edministrator @ Mar 21 2007, 05:17 PM)
865 & 875 perform better due to the 800FSB support, and of course matured chipset quality compared to previous 845 and below.
QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 21 2007, 06:52 PM)
Thats 1 of the reasons I choose 865 smile.gif
Cheaper yet got PAT, can rival the 875
But all of these happened years ago.Now less and less ppl using S478 mobos as most of them are going in to C2D. Thus the S478 mobo now can be said very cheap already,even the perofrmance mobo. thumbup.gif
KahLooN
post Mar 21 2007, 09:27 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

As i have mention early, here is the what i can achieve currently. Just that the ram timing has to be lossen to 2.5-4-4-8 in order to get to 250Mhz.

Initial testing at 250Mhz with 2.5-3-3-8 return an immediate error in SP2004 eventhou the VDimm is set ranging between 2.6-2.8V. I think im getting a bad pair of ram coz comparing my previous Partriot can hit 250Mhz flawlessly at 2.5-3-3-8 with juz 2.65V.

Aslo i notice that the board have a very bad voltage flunctuation. The 1st column is set in BIOS while the 2nd column is read in ABITEQ. Im not sure whether ABITEQ is the culprit or not.

VCore 1.525V 1.55V
VDimm 2.7V 2.76V

And one question, how to enable PAT in this board? hmm.gif
Haha.

This post has been edited by KahLooN: Mar 21 2007, 09:29 PM

pengster
post Mar 21 2007, 09:36 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

lol now only i noticed that "Hyperpath" is actually PAT laugh.gif

btw kabukiawie,have you enabled the hyperpath in ur mobo and where is it located?haha.

edit : oh wait,its the Memory Acceleration Mode right? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Mar 21 2007, 09:41 PM
raymond5105
post Mar 21 2007, 10:48 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Mar 21 2007, 09:27 PM)
As i have mention early, here is the what i can achieve currently. Just that the ram timing has to be lossen to 2.5-4-4-8 in order to get to 250Mhz.

Initial testing at 250Mhz with 2.5-3-3-8 return an immediate error in SP2004 eventhou the VDimm is set ranging between 2.6-2.8V. I think im getting a bad pair of ram coz comparing my previous Partriot can hit 250Mhz flawlessly at 2.5-3-3-8 with juz 2.65V.

Aslo i notice that the board have a very bad voltage flunctuation. The 1st column is set in BIOS while the 2nd column is read in ABITEQ. Im not sure whether ABITEQ is the culprit or not.

VCore    1.525V    1.55V
VDimm    2.7V        2.76V
Haha.
KahLoon,the bios itself can't enable the PAT if i am not mistaken.You can use Tweak 865/875 software or MemeSet 3.0 . Both of these tweaking software are very good and either one of them can let you enable the PAT or it's called GAT on Abit mobo. thumbup.gif I was able to turn on the GAT function last time with this mobo. thumbup.gif Damn a rock mobo.

shinjite
post Mar 22 2007, 12:03 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Mar 21 2007, 09:27 PM)

VCore    1.525V    1.55V
VDimm    2.7V        2.76V
Haha.
To enable the GAT settings, use PSB 667 in the boot strap option in BIOS

raymond5105
post Mar 22 2007, 08:32 AM

5,341 posts

shinjite,just saw your signature.Since when you have upgrade your proc and RAM ? brows.gif Nice system with ES proc and 2GB of RAM.
kabukiawie
post Mar 22 2007, 08:45 AM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Mar 21 2007, 09:36 PM)
lol now only i noticed that "Hyperpath" is actually PAT laugh.gif

btw kabukiawie,have you enabled the hyperpath in ur mobo and where is it located?haha.

edit : oh wait,its the Memory Acceleration Mode right?  sweat.gif
most probably it is. smile.gif i tried before with sandra memory bandwidth: auto=3.4k, enable=4k. Besides that i didnt see any of the setting is related to PAT. tongue.gif i check using cpuz. Tweak865/875 also can check.

raymond5105
post Mar 22 2007, 09:11 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 22 2007, 08:45 AM)
most probably it is. smile.gif i tried before with sandra memory bandwidth: auto=3.4k, enable=4k. Besides that i didnt see any of the setting is related to PAT. tongue.gif i check using cpuz. Tweak865/875 also can check.
kabukiawie,you are using the stock heatsink on your Asus mobo right? I found that during loading,the passive heatsink might be a bit hot. wink.gif I think if it's too hot it will causing restart as well,am i right?Beside using the Tweak865/875 can boost up the whole system a bit but not really observerable.
edministrator
post Mar 22 2007, 10:23 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 22 2007, 09:11 AM)
kabukiawie,you are using the stock heatsink on your Asus mobo right? I found that during loading,the passive heatsink might be a bit hot. wink.gif I think if it's too hot it will causing restart as well,am i right?Beside using the Tweak865/875 can boost up the whole system a bit but not really observerable.
he recently changed the stock sink to TR XP120, very nice! thumbup.gif
raymond5105
post Mar 22 2007, 12:55 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Mar 22 2007, 10:23 AM)
he recently changed the stock sink to TR XP120, very nice!  thumbup.gif
No,i didn't mean the proc heatsink. I was talking on the northbirdge heatsink. biggrin.gif I think he knows what am i talking about.
kabukiawie
post Mar 22 2007, 01:11 PM

2,039 posts

if oc the NB sink is quite hot. You also using the same mobo as mine with oc, so you should notice that. last time when using the stock hfs, the northbridge sink is quite hot as it also absorb the heat from cpu. sad.gif

have you ever try to apply as5 on it? Ori stock northbridge uses the plastic/rubber type thermal paste. Last time it was hot, now just wam2 only. Before 37-40C and now 35c+- according to mbm. smile.gif

i change the paste is because i take the northbridge when installing xp120, so at the same time just clean and apply as5 on it. smile.gif

Maybe you can try get a fan to cool it instead of leave it passive. Just my suggestion.

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Mar 22 2007, 01:13 PM
raymond5105
post Mar 22 2007, 01:47 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 22 2007, 01:11 PM)
if oc the NB sink is quite hot. You also using the same mobo as mine with oc, so you should notice that. last time when using the stock hfs, the northbridge sink is quite hot as it also absorb the heat from cpu. sad.gif

have you ever try to apply as5 on it? Ori stock northbridge uses the plastic/rubber type thermal paste. Last time it was hot, now just wam2 only. Before 37-40C and now 35c+- according to mbm. smile.gif

i change the paste is because i take the northbridge when installing xp120, so at the same time just clean and apply as5 on it. smile.gif

Maybe you can try get a fan to cool it instead of leave it passive. Just my suggestion.
Oh i am not aware about this.Later i will try to apply the AS5 and see.When overclocking and loading,it's damn hot.It made me worry about the northbridge,afraid not stable.Thanks for your suggestion.
shinjite
post Mar 22 2007, 04:09 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 22 2007, 08:32 AM)
shinjite,just saw your signature.Since when you have upgrade your proc and RAM ?  brows.gif Nice system with ES proc and 2GB of RAM.
Oh my sig ah....laugh.gif
Changed since beginning of the year loh~~~ tongue.gif
raymond5105
post Mar 22 2007, 04:58 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 22 2007, 04:09 PM)
Oh my sig ah....laugh.gif
Changed since beginning of the year loh~~~ tongue.gif
Haha only today i realised that your system has been upgraded for so long. laugh.gif I think now you should be very happy on your system.
kabukiawie
post Mar 22 2007, 05:35 PM

2,039 posts

No prob. haha..... i can sure that as5 is far better than the plastic thermal paste. it take me sometime to 'peal' it off from the sink and chip. i should do that when i got my as5 earlier.

@ shinjite
2GB ram sure sweet. smile.gif did i see windows xp sp1 on your siggy? Cool.... laugh.gif

SUSbudakdegilz
post Mar 22 2007, 05:43 PM

1,138 posts

do any of u guys want to sell hsf for s478...searching on trade zone nothing huh...!!! cry.gif
shinjite
post Mar 22 2007, 05:54 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 22 2007, 04:58 PM)
Haha only today i realised that your system has been upgraded for so long. laugh.gif I think now you should be very happy on your system.
Yeah definitely better than my 2.4B XD
Encoding was faster too
Not exactly new ler, the rest all the same thing, just the core change only tongue.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 22 2007, 05:35 PM)
No prob. haha..... i can sure that as5 is far better than the plastic thermal paste. it take me sometime to 'peal' it off from the sink and chip. i should do that when i got my as5 earlier.

@ shinjite
2GB ram sure sweet. smile.gif did i see windows xp sp1 on your siggy? Cool.... laugh.gif
Yup 2GB rams smile.gif
Yeah Windows XP SP1 here XD
Lazy to upgrade to SP2, my next reformat will be SP2 or probably by that time change to Vista liao

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:33 AM