126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Mar 14 2007, 11:22 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 14 2007, 05:06 PM)
Very nice temp... Should get the Ultra 120 ! Better
Your point is? Freaking newbie that dont know a clue about computer. Anyway, I reported your post to mod. smile.gif
You can find those board in lowyat. Those board is too weak to show the true power of C2D. Waste money! hehe
Thanks..Ultra90 barely fit into my board and want to get Ultra120? laugh.gif wont even fit man..haha laugh.gif

those people that buy a LGA775 mobo with AGP and DDR slots are just wasting their hard earned money. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 14 2007, 11:17 PM)
man. i used to think fanboyism war is like Intel vs AMD but i guess someone proved me wrong today. smile.gif

man.....Intel vs Intel. haha. anyway that dude is flagged for warning. smile.gif have a nice day.
thank you very much goldfries cheers.gif some people just don't know when to keep their mouth shut. laugh.gif
kabukiawie
post Mar 15 2007, 08:36 AM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Mar 14 2007, 11:22 PM)
Thanks..Ultra90 barely fit into my board and want to get Ultra120? laugh.gif wont even fit man..haha  laugh.gif

i thought ultra90 and ultra120 have the same height. Just checked, the height different is 15mm. tongue.gif

sang_karim
post Mar 15 2007, 09:12 AM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

@kabukiawie

hehe...just wanna ask...how long u will hold on on ur socket 478 before u gonna turn into dark side?? rolleyes.gif quite tempting seeing ur guy's spec ... hehe ... if i'm gonna buy new rig...it only will happen after 3 years.... (government loan) only can make computer loan once after 5 years ...hehe biggrin.gif
edministrator
post Mar 15 2007, 10:13 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Mar 15 2007, 09:12 AM)
@kabukiawie

hehe...just wanna ask...how long u will hold on on ur socket 478 before u gonna turn into dark side?? rolleyes.gif quite tempting seeing ur guy's spec ... hehe ... if i'm gonna buy new rig...it only will happen after 3 years.... (government loan) only can make computer loan once after 5 years ...hehe biggrin.gif
i will answer to that. He will stick to his current rig until:

1. When the darkside becomes lighter, when the cost is getting lesser. As we all know, new C2D and chipsets/hardware line ups are coming soon with attractive $$$. Imagine a year down the line.

2. Technology is still moving too fast and vista+dx10 is just out. DX10 hardware mid-end not launched yet. Wait until tech stabilizes a bit.

3. When he raises enough funds for the new rig. Now many things on hold due to work and other stuff.

Me & kabukiawie have been monitoring tech for long time now, and we practice 'Buy only when neccessary'. nod.gif Our flow of income cannot match the flow of technology updates. Impulsive buying is not a good financial practice. sweat.gif But still, we love tech! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: Mar 15 2007, 10:20 AM
sang_karim
post Mar 15 2007, 10:33 AM

1,557 posts

hehe....nice reply...i like that quote 'Buy only when neccessary' hehe.... have to satisfy for what u have rite now sweat.gif .. when the timing is rite...go for kaw2 setting... hehe.. drool.gif
edministrator
post Mar 15 2007, 11:10 AM

1,940 posts

yes, definately. go kaw kaw settings (i would go for moderate 'best performance-price' items) when time is right. Consider this:

Why you need c2d or X2 when you only do surfing, office work, and watching anime, burning cd/dvd? Any P4 rig or celeron, sempron, athlonxp would do the job nicely, even a duron and P3. Planning and 'lust' control is essential for budget concious consumer. smile.gif Maybe upgrade speaker or widescreen LCD is better for these level of consumers. rclxms.gif

But, if $ is not an issue for us, i would say, Why Not? Go 4 It~! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: Mar 15 2007, 11:17 AM
sang_karim
post Mar 15 2007, 12:09 PM

1,557 posts

yeah...agree with u....only hardcores know what they want and what they need....luckily i'm not that hadrcore .. just like to know bout new tech ... my 478 will serve me for another three years ... have to take good care of it... hehe... thumbup.gif
raymond5105
post Mar 15 2007, 01:48 PM

5,341 posts

Actually nobody doens't want the C2D,it's just the $$ problem only.And yet i agree that buy what you feel neccessory as the tech is growing daily.
kabukiawie
post Mar 15 2007, 02:39 PM

2,039 posts

haha, yea, right. biggrin.gif i wont move to darkside so soon. Now i just see hows the technology settle down like multicore cpu, ddr2/3, dx10 gc, vista etc. ofcoz, $ is the main factor stopping me from migrating. I admit that i am not a hardcore user. i even seldom rip dvd on my system. As long as it can serve me well. I wont mind use it for another 1 year. icon_rolleyes.gif Now slow slow kumpul $. brows.gif

busta_dude
post Mar 15 2007, 02:55 PM

302 posts

Anybody know where can I get this P4 S478 3GHz 800Mhz FSB?In Low Yat maybe? I wanna buy one la. Is there any stock in Low Yat recently? Anybody got info? sad.gif
goldfries
post Mar 15 2007, 02:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

LYN Garage Sale would be the place to source for it.

put up a [WTB] thread and in fact, put it on your siggy too. smile.gif that's how i get my stuff to be noticed.
raymond5105
post Mar 15 2007, 04:54 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 15 2007, 02:39 PM)
haha, yea, right. biggrin.gif i wont move to darkside so soon. Now i just see hows the technology settle down like multicore cpu, ddr2/3, dx10 gc, vista etc. ofcoz, $ is the main factor stopping me from migrating. I admit that i am not a hardcore user. i even seldom rip dvd on my system. As long as it can serve me well. I wont mind use it for another 1 year. icon_rolleyes.gif Now slow slow kumpul $. brows.gif
Same with me,later in future we will afford to get the better one than current C2D. thumbup.gif Between,on current spec with o/c little bit might be good enough for play light weight games like CS.
pengster
post Mar 15 2007, 10:23 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 15 2007, 08:36 AM)
i thought ultra90 and ultra120 have the same height. Just checked, the height different is 15mm. tongue.gif
yeah and if i got teh ultra120 it'll be sticking out of my casing laugh.gif and it'll hit my nb heatsink too doh.gif

gonna turn to the darkside once intel slashes it's prices on those C2Ds rolleyes.gif
and that rig will last me another 4 years laugh.gif
kabukiawie
post Mar 15 2007, 10:38 PM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Mar 15 2007, 04:54 PM)
Same with me,later in future we will afford to get the better one than current C2D. thumbup.gif  Between,on current spec with o/c little bit might be good enough for play light weight games like CS.
i saw the tech changing so fast. Now even have some news for ddr3, multicore etc. vista still not a must to upgrade. So better stick with 478 lo. haha....Thats what i think.

QUOTE(pengster @ Mar 15 2007, 10:23 PM)
yeah and if i got teh ultra120 it'll be sticking out of my casing laugh.gif and it'll hit my nb heatsink too  doh.gif
gonna turn to the darkside once intel slashes it's prices on those C2Ds  rolleyes.gif
and that rig will last me another 4 years laugh.gif
easy, just potong a hole and let ultra120 have fresh air outside the case. laugh.gif

another 4 years?? maybe 10x core already lo. haha

pengster
post Mar 16 2007, 06:18 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 15 2007, 10:38 PM)
i saw the tech changing so fast. Now even have some news for ddr3, multicore etc. vista still not a must to upgrade. So better stick with 478 lo. haha....Thats what i think.
easy, just potong a hole and let ultra120 have fresh air outside the case. laugh.gif

another 4 years?? maybe 10x core already lo. haha
dont have the proper tools to do that man laugh.gif become like those crazy air intakes on those cars? laugh.gif

well my this rig survived for 4 years already.with dual core and 2gb ram shoud'nt be a problem to last another 4 years.with some upgrades lah of course tongue.gif
edministrator
post Mar 16 2007, 07:14 PM

1,940 posts

in the end, money matters. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: Mar 16 2007, 07:14 PM
kabukiawie
post Mar 17 2007, 10:17 AM

2,039 posts

haha..... if kena strike 4d 1st price then i will consider migrate. laugh.gif

have think of upgrade my gc...hehe. think only.......tongue.gif

raymond5105
post Mar 17 2007, 03:09 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Mar 17 2007, 10:17 AM)
haha..... if kena strike 4d 1st price then i will consider migrate. laugh.gif

have think of upgrade my gc...hehe. think only.......tongue.gif
Kena 4D is hard,always depends on luck one.I also never kena 4D before. drool.gif If got $$ sure will get new rig man,migrate to the drakside. icon_idea.gif
edministrator
post Mar 17 2007, 05:51 PM

1,940 posts

my car number kenak twice last year, once in 4D once in toto, but i never buy.... cry.gif

Anyway, P4 is still vastly used in offices and home. As far as productivity is concerned, we'll hardly see corporations and organisations majorly shift to new cpu/applications/OS due to the software+hardware cost involved, compatibility issues, etc. Don't fix it if it aint broke! My office using Dell machines with P4 1.7 + Winxp is still going strong for word processing, no plans for upgrades anytime soon.

So let's continue on using our P4 to the fullest. As far as power is concerned, using P4 as ultimate gaming machine might be a thing of the past. I am considering salvaging from garage sales of p4 and cheapo stuffs for building a HTPC rig. maybe can build one under RM800? thumbup.gif But then, might as well going down the newer AMD route with the same budget? Oh my, choices, choices! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: Mar 17 2007, 06:06 PM
kabukiawie
post Mar 17 2007, 07:58 PM

2,039 posts

oh? going to build HTPC?? laugh.gif a p4 478 can easily cary d job well. Just silent the rig 1st.some stock hfs is noisy. gc try get the fanless cooling. smile.gif

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:22 PM