126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V3<<, The Journey Continues Here!

ryanso85
post Jan 4 2007, 12:43 PM

VVIP
562 posts

bros here
i goin to buy a second hand p4p800-X
any idea how i goin to test it?
thx
raymond5105
post Jan 4 2007, 02:02 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 3 2007, 11:11 PM)
i know, but not stable at 170fsb++, highest can go to 180++. Too bad, the steping not good at oc. If get same steping like nelza's D1 steping, at least can pump till 3.5GHz at stock.

i try 188fsb just now, heres the screenchots
[attachmentid=175157]

[attachmentid=175158]

at last, 40sec.

wink.gif
QUOTE(PeowYong @ Jan 4 2007, 02:20 AM)
my rig

[attachmentid=175218]

Pentium 4 2.8E@ 3.4GHz
Thermalright Ultra-120 paired with Thermaltake 120mm fan @ 2400rpm
ABIT IC7
2x Kingston d43 DDR400 @ 2.5 3 3 6
HIS ATI Radeon 9600XT
Powerlogic Atrix 500T

full load temp 69°c

cant get 39s in superpi using vista
I found that A version proc is better in Super PI 1M compare to the E version.A version is slighly slower than the E version though.
kabukiawie
post Jan 4 2007, 03:17 PM

2,039 posts

@shawty
haha......by default vcore, cpuz reads 1.4v+- sweat.gif i just maintain the vcore below 1.5v coz i use stock cooler.

i also wish to have that god mobo drool.gif

wao, you now bulk TR product, quite tempted to Ultra-90 drool.gif....haha...but pocket dry dry cry.gif

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Jan 4 2007, 03:18 PM
kabukiawie
post Jan 4 2007, 03:36 PM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 4 2007, 02:02 PM)
I found that A version proc is better in Super PI 1M compare to the E version.A version is slighly slower than the E version though.
of coz slower as the fsb is lower and lack of HT, E version is 800fsb, A version is 533fsb non HT. at the same speed there is no way that A version will outperform E version in most case. wink.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 4 2007, 05:37 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 4 2007, 03:36 PM)
of coz slower as the fsb is lower and lack of HT, E version is 800fsb, A version is 533fsb non HT. at the same speed there is no way that A version will outperform E version in most case. wink.gif
But the difference is the A version is slightly faster than the E version although the E version has higher clock speed and using 1:1 divider.A version is using 5:4 divider so resulting the RAM running at lower speed. You can refer the post screens on page 2.
sHawTY
post Jan 4 2007, 06:07 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 4 2007, 03:17 PM)
@shawty
haha......by default vcore, cpuz reads 1.4v+- sweat.gif i just maintain the vcore below 1.5v coz i use stock cooler.

i also wish to have that god mobo drool.gif

wao, you now bulk TR product, quite tempted to Ultra-90 drool.gif....haha...but pocket dry dry cry.gif
Seriously, 1.488Volts can kill you're processor anytime... laugh.gif
shinjite
post Jan 4 2007, 06:44 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

similiar with a Northwood going at 1.9V smile.gif

All those using dry ice or liquid nitrogen went over 2V too smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jan 4 2007, 06:44 PM
PeowYong
post Jan 4 2007, 07:36 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 4 2007, 11:13 AM)
PeowYong, i think your cpu temp is abit too high for Ultra120. it is better for you to check the heatsink contact with your processor. with ultra 120 shouldnt reach 69'c
i also think so... its just few °c lower than my previous cooler,
will try mounting it again after my exam

cant get less than 41s in superpi in vista which i can get it in xp

This post has been edited by PeowYong: Jan 4 2007, 07:36 PM
pengster
post Jan 4 2007, 09:08 PM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

woot shawty bulking TR hsf thumbup.gif eh can the HR01 be used with s478?might get from u that or ultra90 laugh.gif

btw for me running at 2.7ghz is it advisable if i dont pump up the voltage?
holy sh- my volts are fluctuating like hell doh.gif
shinjite
post Jan 4 2007, 09:18 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 4 2007, 09:08 PM)
woot shawty bulking TR hsf thumbup.gif eh can the HR01 be used with s478?might get from u that or ultra90 laugh.gif

btw for me running at 2.7ghz is it advisable if i dont pump up the voltage?
holy sh- my volts are fluctuating like hell doh.gif
if your volts are flunctuating, its better to raise it a bit in the BIOS
You can calculate ler by seeing how low it will flunctuate on load from idle
Then u set it in BIOS
kabukiawie
post Jan 4 2007, 09:45 PM

2,039 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 4 2007, 05:37 PM)
But the difference is the A version is slightly faster than the E version although the E version has higher clock speed and using 1:1 divider.A version is using 5:4 divider so resulting the RAM running at lower speed. You can refer the post screens on page 2.
Ops...i didnt notice that. tongue.gif But i notice that i running 4:5 divider it show a little boost than 1:1. maybe i try it later. Dunno how far my ram can go....sad.gif

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 4 2007, 06:07 PM)
Seriously, 1.488Volts can kill you're processor anytime... laugh.gif
i know, anything that obove default may having the risk. smile.gif

is the ultra come with 2 version? i read from review, there are for amd and intel ultra90. hmm.....

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Jan 4 2007, 07:36 PM)
i also think so... its just few °c lower than my previous cooler,
will try mounting it again after my exam

cant get less than 41s in superpi in vista which i can get it in xp

maybe like what irangan said, reinstall it and try to see any changes. is it vista is a bit resource hungry??

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Jan 4 2007, 09:48 PM
siauann
post Jan 5 2007, 12:52 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

hey guys..i stil got no time to test out my IC7 MAX 3 sweat.gif its been laying in my room for so long rclxub.gif
irangan
post Jan 5 2007, 04:00 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

just tested my new ram. not bad at all. can reach 229.5FSB smile.gif

p.s. anyone want to purchase 4 pieces of 512mb KVR? hehe..
kabukiawie
post Jan 5 2007, 08:51 AM

2,039 posts

i remember last time your result is around 226fsb 1:1, the new ram only a bit better than your previous ram, ofcoz now you are running 2GB ram. Ever try to push 5:4 on the cpu? maybe it can break trough 4GHz

@siauann
haha, let me try lo laugh.gif kidding
you want to keep it as antique in your room and let the legendary mobo collect dust? tongue.gif

raymond5105
post Jan 5 2007, 09:45 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 5 2007, 04:00 AM)

just tested my new ram. not bad at all. can reach 229.5FSB smile.gif

p.s. anyone want to purchase 4 pieces of 512mb KVR? hehe..
You RAM can go up to 230MHz or not? biggrin.gif Seems like your dream already come true. > 3.8GHz already.
siauann
post Jan 5 2007, 10:10 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 5 2007, 08:51 AM)
i remember last time your result is around 226fsb 1:1, the new ram only a bit better than your previous ram, ofcoz now you are running 2GB ram. Ever try to push 5:4 on the cpu? maybe it can break trough 4GHz

@siauann
you want to keep it as antique in your room and let the legendary mobo collect dust? tongue.gif
haha..u wan try ka? i sell u lor... tongue.gif
offer me ur price lar..i sell u cheap cheap...thn u got the legendary board n top the results here brows.gif
raymond5105
post Jan 5 2007, 11:04 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 5 2007, 10:10 AM)
offer me ur price lar..i sell u cheap cheap...thn u got the legendary board n top the results here brows.gif
Wah siauann,your board still haven't tested out ? laugh.gif Get C2D and forget the legendary board already? tongue.gif You don't have proc and RAM to test out is it?I think many of us here are willing to try up for you. biggrin.gif
irangan
post Jan 5 2007, 11:31 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jan 5 2007, 08:51 AM)

@siauann
ya i noticed that.. but at least this ram can break the 226FSB barrier. my old ram cant even break 228fsb with 5:4 divider.

no time to test that yet. sad.gif

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 5 2007, 09:45 AM)
You RAM can go up to 230MHz or not? biggrin.gif  Seems like your dream already come true. > 3.8GHz already.
ya.... at least i know my stupid processor can break the 3.8ghz barrier. my ram ar... my comp cant go in windows if the FSB 230 1:1 divider. so either my ram cant reach 230 or my processor already reach its limit.

QUOTE(siauann @ Jan 5 2007, 10:10 AM)

selling? i think my friend will be interested. btw how to define cheap smile.gif

raymond5105
post Jan 5 2007, 12:02 PM

5,341 posts

@ irangan,your proc now running at 3.9GHz sure very very shock in gaming one. thumbup.gif Hehe,won't feel the proc lagging at all.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jan 5 2007, 02:17 PM
shinjite
post Jan 5 2007, 02:31 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 5 2007, 11:31 AM)
no time to test that yet. sad.gif
ya.... at least i know my stupid processor can break the 3.8ghz barrier. my ram ar... my comp cant go in windows if the FSB 230 1:1 divider. so either my ram cant reach 230 or my processor already reach its limit.
if its CE-5, your RAM still can go higher

At 230Mhz FSB 1:1, Windows can't boot, refer below

1) High chances your CPU hit wall, raise Vcore. Above 1.6V still okay 1, just don't go above 1.7v

2) Whats your Vdimm? Most CE-5 chips max out at 2.7v, increase also no gain at all

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jan 5 2007, 03:19 PM

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:40 PM