[V29] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

Nursh
post May 13 2016, 05:40 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(entity @ May 13 2016, 04:20 PM)
I'm sure you could, but I have no experience with soldering LEDS.  That said, are you sure a topre board is the right switch for you?  They're very different from Reds.
I'm not sure which is why I'd like to try it, since Novatouch and Topre are both expensive which is why I want to buy the cheap one to see if it fits me.
Chryos1029
post May 13 2016, 06:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ May 13 2016, 01:59 PM)
is it possible to replace the LED only on that keyboard if the LEDs fails? I'm planning to buy it to replace my Ducky One Red switches will that be a good idea?
Yup, you just need some soldering tool and it will do smile.gif
I'm not sure though, I'm going to Topre from Red too smile.gif
qaa7705d
post May 13 2016, 06:50 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ May 13 2016, 02:44 PM)
Hi sifu. I'm wondering if there's any shop at Kuching that allow us to try the mechanical switches? If I'm not mistaken, there are one forumer from Kuching that own quite a collection too. Would be nice to try red, brown and blue switches and compare them together.
go to Viva City Megamall at Tabuan..there got one shop that u can try many brand or switches of mech kb..sorry i cant remember the name or what floor is the shop located..ahaha tongue.gif
diaBoliQu3
post May 13 2016, 07:18 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(qaa7705d @ May 13 2016, 06:50 PM)
go to Viva City Megamall at Tabuan..there got one shop that u can try many brand or switches of mech kb..sorry i cant remember the name or what floor is the shop located..ahaha tongue.gif
Thank you... biggrin.gif

P/s: Gik aktif ko duhal, pikir sapa tek. Haha... Thanks dude.
TSquovadis123
post May 13 2016, 07:33 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ May 13 2016, 07:18 PM)
Thank you... biggrin.gif

P/s: Gik aktif ko duhal, pikir sapa tek. Haha... Thanks dude.
bruce.gif veteran spotted.
diaBoliQu3
post May 13 2016, 07:49 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ May 13 2016, 07:33 PM)
bruce.gif  veteran spotted.
Haha... Veteran la sangat. That title is too much for me. notworthy.gif
ntw
post May 13 2016, 09:11 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

Hi sifu. I'm wondering if there's any shop at Kuching that allow us to try the mechanical switches? If I'm not mistaken, there are one forumer from Kuching that own quite a collection too. Would be nice to try red, brown and blue switches and compare them together.
that would be tuhai-veteran 016... long time didn't grace us with his presence

This post has been edited by ntw: May 13 2016, 09:11 PM
justnits
post May 13 2016, 09:12 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

OMG!!! DIABOLIQUE 60% SIFU!!!
WELCOME BACK!!!
diaBoliQu3
post May 13 2016, 09:19 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ May 13 2016, 09:11 PM)
that would be tuhai-veteran 016... long time didn't grace us with his presence
He's from KK if not mistaken. He always got nice stuff to share and poison the fellow forumer here. Hehe... Salute him.
diaBoliQu3
post May 13 2016, 09:21 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ May 13 2016, 09:12 PM)
OMG!!! DIABOLIQUE 60% SIFU!!!
WELCOME BACK!!!
Hi there sifu. notworthy.gif Man, told ya that title doesn't suitable for me. I grew an inch. No more 60%, a tad longer and bigger than last time. laugh.gif
Lurker
post May 13 2016, 10:22 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Any ergodox ez users here?
TSquovadis123
post May 13 2016, 10:28 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ May 13 2016, 09:21 PM)
Hi there sifu.  notworthy.gif Man, told ya that title doesn't suitable for me. I grew an inch. No more 60%, a tad longer and bigger than last time.  laugh.gif
What keyboard you are using now ? laugh.gif
TSquovadis123
post May 13 2016, 11:16 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

I'm active and back again here.

Another mechanical keyboard giveaway starts again.
kibod.net is having a giveaway for a Cooler Master QuickFire XTi and a set of white backlit ABS doubleshot keycap, courtesy of Cooler Master Malaysia and Store Uni!

Link for giveaway: https://forum.kibod.net/index.php?topic=43.0

More happenings and events coming soon since I back active rclxm9.gif
irsyadfy
post May 14 2016, 12:56 AM

219 posts

wow another giveaway.
thank you sifusss
KbkB
post May 14 2016, 02:49 AM

22 posts

My old Ducky 9008s some keys had delay registering, so I desolder the affected switches and swapped with lesser used keys and they seem to be working thumbsup.gif . Pretty easy fix each switch has 4 points of solder 2 for the switch 2 for the LED. The LED solder was quite small & took some time to remove but with some patience can be done. Next time can try fixing my SS 7G which some keys double/triple register, should be easier since no LED to remove but don't know how the insides look yet.
dannrawr
post May 14 2016, 03:20 AM

140 posts

phew

Chryos1029
post May 14 2016, 08:32 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(dannrawr @ May 14 2016, 03:20 AM)
phew

woah, where did you get it from?
amazon?
ntw
post May 14 2016, 10:33 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(dannrawr @ May 14 2016, 03:20 AM)
phew

Now you can start collecting topre artisans!!!
weikee
post May 14 2016, 11:43 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(KbkB @ May 14 2016, 02:49 AM)
My old Ducky 9008s some keys had delay registering, so I desolder the affected switches and swapped with lesser used keys and they seem to be working  :thumbsup: . Pretty easy fix each switch has 4 points of solder 2 for the switch 2 for the LED. The LED solder was quite small & took some time to remove but with some patience can be done. Next time can try fixing my SS 7G which some keys double/triple register, should be easier since no LED to remove but don't know how the insides look yet.
Invest in a good solder sucker will help speed up the desolder. If the solder are small to be "melt", just add more lead into it and it will help melt the smaller solder (just make sure other solder point not shorted.
Ronin_Amin
post May 14 2016, 12:59 PM

490 posts

Hi guys. I don't know if you all remember me but I asked here a few months ago about which switch to get.
So I went and bought a second hand keycool 87 with red switches.

As you can see, or not, because camera quality is potato, the keycaps are a bit dirty probably due to the white colour.
So I took upon myself to clean it!
You can already see the denture tablets on the upper left corner of the picture.

Keycaps removed. Don't know if you can actually see but a lot of dust and hair in there.

Used a usb fan for drying the keycaps overnight.

The end product! A huge difference.

Big thanks to ripster555 from reddit for his cleaning guide.

Notes:
1. Costar stabilisers really are frustrating to work with but with patience it can be done.
2. You need a little bit of force when pushing the keycaps out and into the stabilisers (on youtube and internet they all didn't mention this!)
3. Got a mini heart attack when keyboard was not detected by the computer when I plugged into it the first time. After a couple tries, it starts to work.
4. My backspace keycap does not have the black things under it (the ones that connect to the wire stabilisers). Any idea where to get some?
5. Overall satisfied with my purchase and choice of cherry mx red switches. Now to learn touch typing and fully use this keyboard.

PS: Already been dreaming about getting a second keyboard tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:23 AM