Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=71507.0

i like drama when i don't have to pay for it laugh.gif
justnits
post Mar 16 2016, 05:56 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 16 2016, 05:42 PM)
Imagine if Miami Nights got fulfilled while your PBT4 didn't. Then what?
Then what? Then cry in a corner for the money that I was involuntarily forced donate for someone. bye.gif

Well I did try to bring about changes in the Group Buy rules back then when everyone is still bashing the so called "whiners" for complaining about Ivan's lack of updates.

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=77272.0

Unfortunately no foo chuk have been given by the moderators. Somehow I am not surprised whistling.gif
justnits
post Mar 23 2016, 05:03 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 23 2016, 04:37 PM)
I assume I get that from pharmacies? Any recommended brands?
I use polident denture tabs.
Most pharmacy got.
justnits
post Mar 31 2016, 08:08 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Mar 31 2016, 02:04 AM)
Hey guys, I want to try my hand at soldering (have a faulty Ducky keyboard with me a customer traded in for a LingYi keyboard + top up cash so I figured this would be a good learning experience)

It is using Cherry MX blues, I think I won't be able to swap the faulty keys with the less used keys since got at least 4 switches that are damn near unusable, so I'll need to find spare switches already.

Can anyone advice/or if anyone here is selling a few unused switches? Kaihl works too, as long as it is Cherry compatible.

Also this one is an LED keyboard, should I consider getting replacement LEDs or re-use them? Thanks!
What's the problem with the ducky board?

At least 4 keys not registering?

My recommendation is, best to get cherry mx's blue switch for better overall consistency with the other switches, unless you planning to replace all of them, then feel free to choose any switch you like.

As for LED, it's better to replace them all, or at least the ones you have to remove to remove the switch, because to desolder factory made keyboards, you need very high temperature to melt the solder (about 350-400 degree). Very high chance the led might just kaput or you'll reduce the lifespan.

When you solder LED, best practice is to solder one of it's leg first, then move on to other led first, this is to let the LED cool off first before soldering the other leg. Ideally you just need to use 2 seconds to solder one of the LED's leg.
justnits
post Apr 1 2016, 10:08 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Apr 1 2016, 04:12 AM)
done and hi  thumbsup.gif

WTShare my amatur expeliyen after a visit to ultimate zone and using MKB for roughly 2 months. Molested a few other(very few since im alone,not buying/asking anything and the salesperson watching my moves) MKBs and knowing switches i can guess the MKB switch. My personalhumble views :-

1. While RED dont feel mechanical(non-tactile,non-clicky) it does feel so much better than membrane as u dont need to bottom out keys. I misclick a lot while using back membrane kb at frens house. Thus switch colour is still a personal preference. No one can choose what's the best for u but personally, blue is the best !  thumbsup.gif

2. Colour is one thing, brand is another. I tried typing randomly on some display Ducky(Cherry) and Tesoro(Kailh) and i noticed the consistency of switch. Some keys on Tesoro dont click, or making some weird click compared to other keys and this happen on 'K','L','P' key area. Or is there any Tesoro MKB with diff switches in diff area? coz i dont open the keycaps to really check the switch and iirc there is no Tesoro model with this feature. As for the Ducky, not much complain except for the price and stabs doh.gif. Cant compare how badly molested those MKBs are, but before buying one i had in mind that switches last 20-50M strokes. And this comparison is basically blues as i can easily notice the diff. Cant say much for other colour switch. Me myself not yet test many switch so better not say much. Other switch brands no comment, but heard so much gooding review on Gateron(cheaper but rare). So i stand my ground on Cherry and Kailh is a big no for me(unless i got for free.typicalmlaysian whistling.gif). There are other known brand Razer, Outemu, Zealio, etc but no MKB design with those switch brands fancy my wallet to surrender all its content. Note that this is focusing on MX stem(korek me if im wrong) and not other types of switches. This is strictly my personalhumble view so again its ur choice. Ive made mine.

All in All Ultimate Zone is really Ultimate Paradise(for noobs like me) and this is only my personalhumble view. u can comment my opinion with ur own. Thank You  notworthy.gif
and note me if im wrongly posting this.
nice to see people who actually did a little research and go on a journey to look for the right switch for themselves instead of just asking questions repeatedly on the forum thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

after understanding more about blue switch, i don't blame kailh for the supposed not so good QC over the clicky blue switch.
clicky blue requires a bit more QC than it's other siblings due to it's nature.
CODE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pu1gP4PfqCQ

go to 1:30 to see what they did to ensure they get the right sound for their clicky blue switch.

but what your post interest me most is your comment about ducky's price and stabs.
which model are you looking at and at what price?
also what about the stabs?
justnits
post Apr 1 2016, 10:13 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(technoraver @ Apr 1 2016, 09:59 AM)
Good morning sifu's sifu's sekalian
would like to ask for some opinion regarding this KB casing..
im very new thus i'm unsure whether will this fix my KBC poker 2 & is the price reasonable (Â¥ 129.00/MYR 79.89) for a acrylic case?

https://world.taobao.com/item/520285012755....0.P7ubpo#detail

Thank you in advance  notworthy.gif
IMHO, i think that price is quite reasonable.
justnits
post Apr 1 2016, 02:52 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Apr 1 2016, 02:39 PM)
Thanks for the compliment, but im really very picky when buying my stuff *read=cheapo* so, much research and googling will be done before buying. dowan to buy now, regret later.
Notice the video awhile ago, but nvr thought of watching it. After watching it, as luke said, never realise so much science has been put in producing it. BIG  rclxms.gif to cherry.

well as for the price and stabs, its not a bad comment thou.

1. Price - Have to pay premium to get premium stuff. Surely top brands cant get china stuff price. So basically no arguments on price.

2. Stabs - Uses Cherry instead of Costar. This is oso personal views coz tried some filco at low yat before and yes the longer keys dont wobble much and not as 'mushi' and 'dendi' as Cherry stabs.

P/s : ignore the dendi part. Too much dota2 nowadays.
1. Well you already know what to expect for the price you pay smile.gif

2. Ahh, the dilemma between costar and cherry stabs.
I like Costar stabs because it gives a natural feel for longer keys, but I don't like it when I want to change keycaps sad.gif
With clipping mod, video below, it makes Cherry stabs feels very very closely to Costar's natural feel, after clip mod and lubing it of course. Also, changing keycaps with Cherry stabs is a lot more easier.

CODE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6hPoe3srcw

For me personally, I'd choose Cherry stabs over Costar because I change keycaps quite often.
Owning one Filco board is enough for me smile.gif
Even for that I won't be changing the keycaps often, just will remove them for cleaning once it's dirty.
justnits
post Apr 1 2016, 05:01 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Apr 1 2016, 03:19 PM)
but for those off-the-shelf boards is kind of a pain in the A** to do the clipping mod + lubing because need to desolder all the switches (if it is plate-mounted)  doh.gif

the effort required for your feelios is too much in  my opinion...

this can be take into account with ease when you are building custom boards though, coz you can do so before soldering  smile.gif
Depends on your keyboard i think?
If I recall correctly, I was able to remove the stabs from my shine 2 by desoldering the switch that is sitting in between the stabs only, not the whole board.

Maybe KuzumiTaiga can help us verify when he mod his biggrin.gif

justnits
post Apr 2 2016, 12:37 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Apr 1 2016, 11:16 PM)
Guys, I found a KB lying around from my old x86 computer from 25 years ago. Seems to be cherry switch. Going to test it next week if it still will work or not.

It was kept in the attic of my old house.
holy sheet! vintage blues! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
justnits
post Apr 2 2016, 02:01 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Apr 2 2016, 01:24 PM)
Is this cherry blue key same as current  cherry blue that we buy from the market?
high chances it's different.
older ones tend to have better quality but i'm not sure how the clicky blue's "clicky" mechanism white piece survives through the time and heat.

justnits
post Apr 4 2016, 05:08 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Apr 4 2016, 05:02 PM)
Yeah, have seen the KBT Race and Race 2. Design a bit "dated". If Vortex comes out with a Pok3r design in TKL, "TAKE MY MONEY NOW!!"
what do you mean by pok3r design in tkl?

compact tkl?
or just tkl in general?
justnits
post Apr 5 2016, 09:16 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Apr 5 2016, 05:41 AM)
I wonder if my Blackwidow TE Chroma's keycaps can be changed/customized?

Feel like swapping for the Corsair K65 soon. Wanna try out the Cherry Red switches.
If you want to change a few keys, there's no problem with that.
However if you want to change a full set, there might be some challenge over there.
justnits
post Apr 15 2016, 04:25 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(damned_dude @ Apr 15 2016, 02:40 PM)
Hi guys..

What are the term used for Cherry/gateron brown switch on taobao?

I'm trying to get a Varmilo keyboard with brown switch.. but it's so confusing  cry.gif It's the only channel available too. ebay lacking of selection and mechanicalkeyboards.co.id only has blue switch in-stock.
I'm out of option..
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=79037397

second post got guide, have you seen it? can copy paste the chinese word from there biggrin.gif
justnits
post Apr 16 2016, 10:07 AM

2,968 posts

blues are good mang.
i like them so much until i like my linear switch with mx blue's spring.

the clicky feel and sound is the one that makes me on form when typing lol!
justnits
post Apr 16 2016, 05:39 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 16 2016, 03:00 PM)
I feel you man. Those crispy clicky sounds it makes. But it's too stiff for me. I wish they have something like Brown or Red with clicky sound.
put brown springs into mx blue = profit? lel
or buy 55g springs.
justnits
post Apr 18 2016, 09:51 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Apr 17 2016, 11:28 PM)
Hi clackers, you guys still here smile.gif

Today decided to some cleaning and i found my Poker 2 which is stored in a carry case. Its been 2 years since i use the Poker 2.

Just now when i try to use it, some keys are not responsive and some dont register at all...

So decided to open it up and see whats what.... i apply a 100 times clicking every keys and it seems that now it is a little better.

Do the contacts in the switches get oxidized or corrode if left no used for a ling time?
welcome back antonio! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

not too sure about the oxidized part, but i think i noticed a similar situation as you when i left my keyboard untouched for about half a year, 1 or 2 of my keys don't register properly or don't register at all.
i didn't bother to open them up, i just tapped at it very furiously since i was playing game and kept losing because of it lol! (it's using an old WYSE black switch.)
then i just left it to collect dust again and then picked it up to use again after i got new keycaps.
for some unknown reason, it works again. rclxub.gif

i know the switch stem and the copper contact point tend to have slimy/greasy substance growing on it after a while as i have seen from most switches that i harvested from old boards.
justnits
post Apr 18 2016, 11:27 AM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Apr 18 2016, 10:29 AM)
Yap... i guess the theory behind the contacts/keypresses wasn't registering properly might be the contacts in the switch has some dust or rust.

As i'm typing this and hammering most of the keys all nite since yesterday, i guess the responsiveness has come back....too responsive until some keys registers double and sometimes triple....

And affter like 6 hours of using the Poker 2 Red, i now remember why I kept it away last time....

IT DAMN LIGHT!!! I'm so useeedd to browns , Reds justs feel like typing on a ccake...

p/s: i purposely lefft the errors in spelling to show there are still some erratic on some of the switches.
double or triple register is not good >.<
i am surprised it happens to linear switches, i thought usually it happens to blue switches.

my guess is there's dirt inside interfering with the contact point, but if it's me, i'd just replace all the switch lol!
justnits
post May 13 2016, 09:12 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ May 13 2016, 02:44 PM)
Hi sifu. I'm wondering if there's any shop at Kuching that allow us to try the mechanical switches? If I'm not mistaken, there are one forumer from Kuching that own quite a collection too. Would be nice to try red, brown and blue switches and compare them together.
OMG!!! DIABOLIQUE 60% SIFU!!!
WELCOME BACK!!!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0785sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:32 PM