805 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

derail
post Aug 6 2016, 09:21 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 6 2016, 08:47 PM)
Hi All,
Want to ask. This evening i was washing my car and i saw some possibly stbboorn tar/black residue sticking on my car. So i take my wet cloth and rub it trying to get it out. Was pressing quite hard.

Now there is a spot lighter , about the size of a 50 cent. Not reflective anyore. Dull.
Did i eat through the clear coat?

If i did, can i use a clearcoat meant for touch up to swab through it to apply a new clear coat?
Use a tar remover product first since its probably smeared tar that makes the paint look dull. Highly unlikely that the clear coat could come off by using a wet cloth.
IvanWong1989
post Aug 6 2016, 10:14 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 6 2016, 09:21 PM)
Use a tar remover product first since its probably smeared tar that makes the paint look dull. Highly unlikely that the clear coat could come off by using a wet cloth.
hmm... alright.

I was using touch up paint and clear coat to touch up "bird poop leftover etching", "scratches from other car kissng my bumper"
>< painting is really hard to make it nice....... but i think protection is better than none right? after bird poo eat through my clearcoat.

then this stubborn stain caught me and there it is in dull glory. LOL... alright, i'll try to use tar remover.won't mind uglier, but just dun want rust.
senscents
post Aug 7 2016, 12:54 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 6 2016, 05:24 PM)
Hmm...i just sent them an email to quote me the price of one gallon D156. Hopefully will get their reasonable price per gallon as i know distributor here jacked up the price by a huge margin
My distributor here sold one gallon at 300+, autogeek US is selling 2 gallon around 220 after converted to RM excl. shipping. That is damn cheap, around rm110 for a gallon!  drool.gif
Yeah, i need a gallon or two for the D156 as well as the M135 (UQD).
So anyone can source a cheaper gallon/drum of the D156 and M135. I think quite alot of people are intrested if the price are alot cheaper than the distributor.
N33d How much did they quote to you?

N33d
post Aug 7 2016, 02:01 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Aug 7 2016, 12:54 AM)
Yeah, i need a gallon or two for the D156 as well as the M135 (UQD).
So anyone can source a cheaper gallon/drum of the D156 and M135. I think quite alot of people are intrested if the price are alot cheaper than the distributor.
N33d How much did they quote to you?
not sure.. they have not gotten back to me yet
i have placed for 2 gallon D156, D160 and QID 1 gallon each
IvanWong1989
post Aug 7 2016, 09:20 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 6 2016, 09:21 PM)
Hi sifu. Thx alot. turns out not clearcoat gone... is smudge from the tar. i sprayed some wd 40 and it's ok abit now.
gfwong
post Aug 7 2016, 01:12 PM

135 posts

Sharing some thoughts on interior care.

Complete Interior Care
frozen7
post Aug 7 2016, 01:58 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Aug 7 2016, 01:12 PM)
Sharing some thoughts on interior care.

Complete Interior Care
Omg.. You have so many products for interior care alone. blink.gif
flyt0thesky
post Aug 8 2016, 08:32 AM

99 posts

Hi all, what is the best product to remove some minor scratches found on the bonnet? Just got my new car 2 days ago and I found some minor scratches on my bonnet this morning, like few shallow short lines, not those deep scratches.. mad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif Is there any product to remove it effectively?? My car colour is City modern steel.. Thanks in advance..

therain01
post Aug 8 2016, 08:18 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Aug 8 2016, 08:32 AM)
Hi all, what is the best product to remove some minor scratches found on the bonnet? Just got my new car 2 days ago and I found some minor scratches on my bonnet this morning, like few shallow short lines, not those deep scratches..  mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif Is there any product to remove it effectively?? My car colour is City modern steel.. Thanks in advance..
Probably done by cat. Those behated cats always sleep on my black color car. Scratches everywhere.

If it is the cat they would probably come again. It will be a never ending scratches removal fight. Applying wax should hide those light scratches, for temporary.
kitleon81
post Aug 8 2016, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Aug 8 2016, 08:32 AM)
Hi all, what is the best product to remove some minor scratches found on the bonnet? Just got my new car 2 days ago and I found some minor scratches on my bonnet this morning, like few shallow short lines, not those deep scratches..  mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif Is there any product to remove it effectively?? My car colour is City modern steel.. Thanks in advance..
Quick fix: Hand polish with a compound and polishing sponge (the round yellow types). Want it quick? Grab Meguiar's Ultimate Compound from the stores. Personally, I use Sensha Scratch Cut, more cost effective (PM me if you'd like to know more). The key is to rub it in with quite a bit of elbow grease and remove by wiping with a clean microfiber cloth. The scratches should minimize or disappear if they were shallow. If it's still there, repeat - hand polishing is very safe.

Remember that after you compound your surface is unprotected (or naked), so follow up with some wax or coating. All the best!
supersimple123
post Aug 9 2016, 09:15 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 7 2016, 02:01 AM)
not sure.. they have not gotten back to me yet
i have placed for 2 gallon D156, D160 and QID 1 gallon each
Its RM305.28 incl. GST. for the D156. I just bought 1 yesterday direct from Hypercoat @ USJ1. I checked with a dealer and he quoted the exact same price.. rounded up (RM306).
If anyone can get it cheaper i'm interested.
N33d
post Aug 9 2016, 09:27 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 9 2016, 09:15 AM)
Its RM305.28 incl. GST. for the D156. I just bought 1 yesterday direct from Hypercoat @ USJ1. I checked with a dealer and he quoted the exact same price.. rounded up (RM306).
If anyone can get it cheaper i'm interested.
look like everywhere the distributor is selling @300 per gallon here.

300 per gallon is quite expensive for this xpress wax. OCW whr ppl generally praised about its better longetivity than D156 sell for 250 per gallon here, +- rm20 for shipping. Which is still less than 300. If I still could not source for cheaper D156, i will go for OCW
supersimple123
post Aug 9 2016, 10:01 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 9 2016, 09:27 AM)
look like everywhere the distributor is selling @300 per gallon here.

300 per gallon is quite expensive for this xpress wax. OCW whr ppl generally praised about its better longetivity than D156 sell for 250 per gallon here, +- rm20 for shipping. Which is still less than 300. If I still could not source for cheaper D156, i will go for OCW
Yeah.. no fun to know car products are so expensive here.
Hows OCW compared to D156? I've only used the D156 so far (used many bottles of UQW then realised they had bulk size).
Used the D156 for everything (including interior) except fabric & tyres.. i do it after every wash as its super easy.
Is OCW similar in versatility? Might give it a try..

kitleon81
post Aug 9 2016, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 9 2016, 10:01 AM)
Hows OCW compared to D156? I've only used the D156 so far (used many bottles of UQW then realised they had bulk size).
Used the D156 for everything (including interior) except fabric & tyres.. i do it after every wash as its super easy.
Have you guys tried Sensha Fine Crystal? It is equally as versatile and designed to be applied on wet surfaces, saving time and never streaks. Best of all it isn't oil o wax based, and binds nicely to those glass coatings you might have on your car. I've used UQW before but it is getting prohibitively expensive.
tps18489
post Aug 9 2016, 01:49 PM

1,514 posts

Hello. Where can I get a claying kit that is good and reasonably-priced? Thanks. smile.gif
supersimple123
post Aug 9 2016, 02:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(tps18489 @ Aug 9 2016, 01:49 PM)
Hello. Where can I get a claying kit that is good and reasonably-priced? Thanks. smile.gif
I think Permaglass clay is quite reasonable.. don't really need a kit. If your car wash detergent has good lubricity you can use it diluted instead of a quick detailer.. much cheaper smile.gif
tps18489
post Aug 9 2016, 03:58 PM

1,514 posts

Just bought PG Wonder Clay No. 1.

Thanks for the recommendation. thumbup.gif
kitleon81
post Aug 9 2016, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 9 2016, 02:32 PM)
I think Permaglass clay is quite reasonable.. don't really need a kit. If your car wash detergent has good lubricity you can use it diluted instead of a quick detailer.. much cheaper smile.gif
Agreed. Those that recommend detailers are just making you overspend lol
N33d
post Aug 9 2016, 07:17 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 9 2016, 10:01 AM)
I just finished one bottle of UQW.. i used it as drying aid the last portion and only realized how easy it is to apply spray wax as drying aid. kill 2 birds with 1 stone
I have read ppl also use OCW on everything too as it does not stain.
frozen7
post Aug 9 2016, 10:44 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 9 2016, 07:17 PM)
I just finished one bottle of UQW.. i used it as drying aid the last portion and only realized how easy it is to apply spray wax as drying aid. kill 2 birds with 1 stone
I have read ppl also use OCW on everything too as it does not stain.
I like OCW on its slickness. smile.gif
Still beading 2 weeks after application.

805 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:37 AM