Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

supersimple123
post Aug 9 2016, 11:34 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 9 2016, 07:17 PM)
I just finished one bottle of UQW.. i used it as drying aid the last portion and only realized how easy it is to apply spray wax as drying aid. kill 2 birds with 1 stone
I have read ppl also use OCW on everything too as it does not stain.
Yeah.. looked it up after your mention and it does look to have good reviews. Thanks =)

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Aug 9 2016, 10:44 PM)
I like OCW on its slickness.  smile.gif
Still beading 2 weeks after application.
Did you use OCW for interiors? Smells ok?
How is its ease of application? I read that it seems to require more buffing than D156. Does the 2 weeks include multiple rain showers? For the D156 i would say it feels less sleek (compared to initial application.. but still relatively sleek) after the 3rd heavy shower. But then i also apply the ultimate paste wax monthly so i don't really know the true durability of D156.

One negative thing thou for the D156 is that on front windscreen, there will be a little residual smear at the end of the windscreen blade reach upon first wiper use. Once u clear that up then no issues. Much easier to apply compared to rainx thou.

frozen7
post Aug 10 2016, 12:01 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 9 2016, 11:34 PM)
Did you use OCW for interiors? Smells ok?
How is its ease of application? I read that it seems to require more buffing than D156. Does the 2 weeks include multiple rain showers? For the D156 i would say it feels less sleek (compared to initial application.. but still relatively sleek) after the 3rd heavy shower. But then i also apply the ultimate paste wax monthly so i don't really know the true durability of D156.

One negative thing thou for the D156 is that on front windscreen, there will be a little residual smear at the end of the windscreen blade reach upon first wiper use. Once u clear that up then no issues. Much easier to apply compared to rainx thou.
I didn't use OCW for interior, afraid of the milky smell. biggrin.gif
Application wise I think it is more or less the same across all spray wax? Not sure how does it compare with D156, but it feel the same compared with 3M quick wax, spray and buff off.
Not really raining in my area for the past 2 weeks, but i did wash it once per week without topping up spray wax.
Spray wax can be used on windscreen as well?? I used Glaco on my windscreen.
supersimple123
post Aug 10 2016, 12:25 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Aug 10 2016, 12:01 AM)
I didn't use OCW for interior, afraid of the milky smell. biggrin.gif
Application wise I think it is more or less the same across all spray wax? Not sure how does it compare with D156, but it feel the same compared with 3M quick wax, spray and buff off.
Not really raining in my area for the past 2 weeks, but i did wash it once per week without topping up spray wax.
Spray wax can be used on windscreen as well?? I used Glaco on my windscreen.
I read that the 3M quick wax does not have a sleek feeling initially (side note... i believe 3M owns meguiars =p). Not really, from what i read there are differences amongst spray waxes. Some are easier to wipe off (they streak less), more durable, some attract more dust compared to others, some produce more gloss, have more fillers, etc. So i guess it depends on what one is looking for.

Yeah i use the D156 on all windows after weekly wash. My goal is to be as efficient as possible.. If i can use 1 product instead of 3 or 4.. that really saves time and i am more likely to be diligent =)

This post has been edited by supersimple123: Aug 10 2016, 12:34 AM
kitleon81
post Aug 10 2016, 01:42 PM

Just sharing guys, since this brand is relatively unknown:
http://procarcoatings.com/an-improved-alte...a-fine-crystal/

No wax, petroleum distillates, streaks involved. Works on all surfaces. I've yet to compare it with ocw but maybe one day I will. The other spray waxes I've tried are too streaky.
KingOfRiver
post Aug 11 2016, 12:00 AM

73 posts

Hi all, any good recommendation of polishing shop?
slk
post Aug 11 2016, 11:13 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(KingOfRiver @ Aug 11 2016, 12:00 AM)
Hi all, any good recommendation of polishing shop?
go direct to Osren HQ @ Kepong : http://osren.com/home
KingOfRiver
post Aug 11 2016, 01:13 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Aug 11 2016, 11:13 AM)
go direct to Osren HQ @ Kepong : http://osren.com/home
Thanks. But I am looking for car polishing service, not the products.
hihihehe
post Aug 11 2016, 05:33 PM

13,784 posts

has anyone tried ezytouchup?
small spot of paint chipped off and i thinking to do touch up by myself.
slk
post Aug 11 2016, 06:48 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(KingOfRiver @ Aug 11 2016, 01:13 PM)
Thanks. But I am looking for car polishing service, not the products.
yup... they do polishing too
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 11 2016, 05:33 PM)
has anyone tried ezytouchup?
small spot of paint chipped off and i thinking to do touch up by myself.
With a bit of patience, one can actually do quite a good job. It works, for sure, but its not as straightforward as just painting, unless its a very small chip.

This is what I did to my 2nd hand CRV. It involved polish/compound,sand paper #2000, and touch up paint. Make sure you get the exact code for your paint.

Not perfect, but a whole lot better me thinks

This post has been edited by kitleon81: Aug 11 2016, 08:12 PM
hihihehe
post Aug 11 2016, 08:40 PM

13,784 posts

Not afraid sand paper will rub off the original paint around it?
supersimple123
post Aug 11 2016, 08:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kitleon81 @ Aug 11 2016, 08:07 PM)
Not perfect, but a whole lot better me thinks
Nice job! Is that solid white?
Was it done by hand?
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 11 2016, 08:45 PM)
Nice job! Is that solid white?
Was it done by hand?
Yup solid white and done by hand
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 08:57 PM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 11 2016, 08:40 PM)
Not afraid sand paper will rub off the original paint around it?
that's where you have to be really patient. wet sanding helps, and a small item (a block of wood or a piece of plastic) held behind the sandpaper gives you much more control. besides it will take a lot to even get past the clear coat so no, not too worried. after the application i found no interface from the surroundings, just between the new paint and the old, but that's expected. you can buy clear coat and recoat, but from my experience its even more challenging, so i skipped this step. what happens is over time the new paint without clear coat may discolor a bit, but some polish and compound usually restores it.
Sanity
post Aug 11 2016, 09:01 PM

289 posts

Is headlight protectant applied on brakelights a bad idea? Works fine on my headlight but when applied on brakelights it gets cloudy and kinda difficult to remove. Should i let it just be as it is?

hihihehe
post Aug 11 2016, 09:08 PM

13,784 posts

QUOTE(kitleon81 @ Aug 11 2016, 08:57 PM)
that's where you have to be really patient. wet sanding helps, and a small item (a block of wood or a piece of plastic) held behind the sandpaper gives you much more control. besides it will take a lot to even get past the clear coat so no, not too worried. after the application i found no interface from the surroundings, just between the new paint and the old, but that's expected. you can buy clear coat and recoat, but from my experience its even more challenging, so i skipped this step. what happens is over time the new paint without clear coat may discolor a bit, but some polish and compound usually restores it.
i see.
i was looking at ezytouchup combo set with the tutorial video seems easy but that comes with recoat stuff
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(Sanity @ Aug 11 2016, 09:01 PM)
Is headlight protectant applied on brakelights a bad idea? Works fine on my headlight but when applied on brakelights it gets cloudy and kinda difficult to remove. Should i let it just be as it is?
Not sure exactly what you used, but it looks oil based. Your brake lamps/head lamps should be the same material, polycarbonate, maybe only less apparent on your headlamps. Hence, i'll use water based protection. Else, just skip protection and restore them (compound) periodically. I'm pretty sure you won't run out of polycarbonate smile.gif or just let it be, maybe try a quick detailer and see if it clears it up a bit.
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 11 2016, 09:08 PM)
i see.
i was looking at ezytouchup combo set with the tutorial video seems easy but that comes with recoat stuff
i got that too, but now my base coat almost finish and my clear coat still almost full. hahaha. tutorials are meant to make it look easy lah, I take them with a pinch of salt, unless of course, they're my tutorials. LOL
supersimple123
post Aug 11 2016, 09:24 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Aug 11 2016, 09:01 PM)
I would try to remove it soonest (if its hard to remove now.. imagine what baking under hot sun will do.. gentle on the products thou) and just use spray wax periodically to protect.

This post has been edited by supersimple123: Aug 11 2016, 09:29 PM
kitleon81
post Aug 11 2016, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Aug 11 2016, 09:24 PM)
I would try to remove it soonest (if its hard to remove now.. imagine what baking under hot sun will do.. gentle on the products thou) and just use spray wax periodically to protect.
isopropyl alcohol, sure come off. i know where to get some if you are interested smile.gif

805 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:23 AM