Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2016, 08:43 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hello
Newbie here.

Wnat to ask. Any simple beginner way to "fix" clearcoat damage by bird poop?

They are like tear drops in size in multiple places.
Just want to protect the paint underneath. Dun want rust. Any idea waht to use?
IvanWong1989
post Aug 6 2016, 08:47 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hi All,

Want to ask. This evening i was washing my car and i saw some possibly stbboorn tar/black residue sticking on my car. So i take my wet cloth and rub it trying to get it out. Was pressing quite hard.

Now there is a spot lighter , about the size of a 50 cent. Not reflective anyore. Dull.
Did i eat through the clear coat?

If i did, can i use a clearcoat meant for touch up to swab through it to apply a new clear coat?
IvanWong1989
post Aug 6 2016, 10:14 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 6 2016, 09:21 PM)
Use a tar remover product first since its probably smeared tar that makes the paint look dull. Highly unlikely that the clear coat could come off by using a wet cloth.
hmm... alright.

I was using touch up paint and clear coat to touch up "bird poop leftover etching", "scratches from other car kissng my bumper"
>< painting is really hard to make it nice....... but i think protection is better than none right? after bird poo eat through my clearcoat.

then this stubborn stain caught me and there it is in dull glory. LOL... alright, i'll try to use tar remover.won't mind uglier, but just dun want rust.
IvanWong1989
post Aug 7 2016, 09:20 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 6 2016, 09:21 PM)
Use a tar remover product first since its probably smeared tar that makes the paint look dull. Highly unlikely that the clear coat could come off by using a wet cloth.
Hi sifu. Thx alot. turns out not clearcoat gone... is smudge from the tar. i sprayed some wd 40 and it's ok abit now.

0.6157sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:01 AM