Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

derail
post Jul 28 2016, 05:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 27 2016, 07:40 PM)
To use IPA or not to use IPA? That is the question. Haha.
I'd follow Mike's suggestion.
To inspect defect removal - IPA to strip
For coating - IPA to strip
Sealant & wax - no IPA unless stated by manufacturer
That sounds right since many sealants/waxes that are in some solvent base anyway so its pointless to wipe down with ipa only to apply a product like FK1000 which contains alot of petroleum solvent.

What about sio based sealants like reload/gyeon cure/fireball coat? Do you normally wipe down with ipa after polishing (before applying the lsp)?

And do you know where to get hand polishing pads which I was asking in my earlier post?

gfwong
post Jul 28 2016, 06:06 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jul 28 2016, 05:08 PM)
That sounds right since many sealants/waxes that are in some solvent base anyway so its pointless to wipe down with ipa only to apply a product like FK1000 which contains alot of petroleum solvent.

What about sio based sealants like reload/gyeon cure/fireball coat? Do you normally wipe down with ipa after polishing (before applying the lsp)?

And do you know where to get hand polishing pads which I was asking in my earlier post?
Last time, I've used Permanon, which is SiO2 based and the instructions stated that the surface needs to be oil free. The package that I purchase came bundled with a strong degreasing shampoo. So I guess we need to strip for SiO2 based stuff.

However, i think dish washing liquid can be used too besides IPA.

For pads, I usually buy from eBay but all for DA. You can find lake country and hex logic hand pads too. For more cutting, you can try lake country orange ccs pad. You might need another green or white pad for finer finish with a polish.

This post has been edited by gfwong: Jul 28 2016, 06:14 PM
douglas_tong
post Jul 28 2016, 11:21 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Jul 28 2016, 05:08 PM)

Clean it with IPA will do. That's my opinion.
Recently I'm too lazy. Since I have carpro essence now, I just do a quick/finishing polishing with soft foam and surface is ready for reload.

With essence , reloads seems to last longer
ralfvi
post Jul 29 2016, 11:42 AM

109 posts

guys can recommend good shop to do detailing.
and is there a need for coating or just polish and wax would be enough.
gfwong
post Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(ralfvi @ Jul 29 2016, 11:42 AM)
guys can recommend good shop to do detailing.
and is there a need for coating or just polish and wax would be enough.
Just my 2 sen.

If you look at the price of coating charged by those "professional", you can basically repaint the whole car. And coating last like a year or 2 maybe?
I don't know but I am still skeptical in coating? 9H hardness? It's just pencil hardness but most claimed to be glass or diamond!: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pencil#Gradin..._classification

It is a pity, the author of this blog did not update the results for this test: https://wetshine.net/2011/06/09/mega-coatin...st-application/
But he did reply in the comments:

Anyhow, this could be out-dated with better and newer coatings. Maybe others could share their thoughts?

This post has been edited by gfwong: Jul 29 2016, 10:02 PM
windskill
post Jul 30 2016, 10:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM)
Just my 2 sen.

If you look at the price of coating charged by those "professional", you can basically repaint the whole car. And coating last like a year or 2 maybe?
I don't know but I am still skeptical in coating? 9H hardness? It's just pencil hardness but most claimed to be glass or diamond!: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pencil#Gradin..._classification

It is a pity, the author of this blog did not update the results for this test: https://wetshine.net/2011/06/09/mega-coatin...st-application/

Anyhow, this could be out-dated with better and newer coatings. Maybe others could share their thoughts?
Yeap. Watermark is still an issue that coating cannot 100% resist it, but only can try to minimize it. The best way to reduce waterspotting issue is to lay a base coa (hard coat) + top coat(soft coat), whereby top coat is quite hydrophobic.

But still, IMO, if I have fully corrected a car's paint, it would prefer to apply hard coating, at least, than to apply wax/sealant because the coating helps to preserve the good condition of paintwork for longer period. And basically I don't really have to polish the car in anytime soon (probably 3 years+ and above).

Just my opinion smile.gif
chong1228
post Jul 31 2016, 02:46 AM

Hey guys, anyone here done for coating?
Doing research for making coat for my car.

Seirra Glow SG-5 with warranty 5 years / Pomponazzi 880-X with warranty 3 years. Price same for both.
Which one is better? Or anyone has done from either these 2 above? Thanks.
cranx
post Jul 31 2016, 03:38 PM

1,360 posts

anyone knows where I can do undercarriage spray for my car? mainly from behind I could see a little brownish rusty components..
derail
post Jul 31 2016, 05:04 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM)
Just my 2 sen.

Yes pencil hardness is not the same as the mohs scale. Theres a product at Kalex (Keho) which had 'reduced watermark tech'. No idea how good it is.

QUOTE(chong1228 @ Jul 31 2016, 02:46 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here done for coating?
Doing research for making coat for my car.
Seirra Glow SG-5 with warranty 5 years / Pomponazzi 880-X with warranty 3 years. Price same for both.
Which one is better? Or anyone has done from either these 2 above? Thanks.
Theres old threads about coatings like Sierra glow. Never tried it myself because of the high price and waterspotting issue. There might be restrictions on what sort of maintenance you can do post-coating within the warranty period eg no polishing.
red-queen
post Jul 31 2016, 11:30 PM

1,310 posts

anyone know where i can purchase menzerna and valetpro products around pj area?

looking for menzerna jescar power lock polymer sealant and valetpro bilberry wheel cleaner. thanks!
IvanWong1989
post Aug 1 2016, 08:43 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hello
Newbie here.

Wnat to ask. Any simple beginner way to "fix" clearcoat damage by bird poop?

They are like tear drops in size in multiple places.
Just want to protect the paint underneath. Dun want rust. Any idea waht to use?
windskill
post Aug 1 2016, 10:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 31 2016, 11:30 PM)

looking for menzerna jescar power lock polymer sealant and valetpro bilberry wheel cleaner. thanks!
Menzerna you can go to facebook and look for "Menzerna Malaysia". I think they do not have stock for powerlock currently, as I just asked from them 1-2 months ago. Not sure about now.
For ValetPro, I don't think we have distributor in Malaysia yet. Have to source in from eBay or some where else.

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 1 2016, 08:43 AM)
Hello
Newbie here.

Wnat to ask. Any simple beginner way to "fix" clearcoat damage by bird poop?

They are like tear drops in size in multiple places.
Just want to protect the paint underneath. Dun want rust. Any idea waht to use?
Depends on the severity of the damage caused by bird poop. If it has etched the clearcoat, then you have to go for polishing, starting from the mildest (eg:AIO) and work your way up. If it is not severe, can try claybar.

This post has been edited by windskill: Aug 1 2016, 10:47 AM
N33d
post Aug 1 2016, 10:55 AM

896 posts

hi
long time did not follow this thread
getting busier to take some time off for serious detailings
therefore, decided to bought a AIO wax yesterday, meg cleaner wax, to do one step since my paint is still in good condition
took 1 hours to wash and another 2.5 hours to wax the car with cleaner wax, i was surprise by the result. Paint is now sleek and free of swirls under the sun. i even use it on my headlight and my it made them look like new. 70% those plastic oxidation is gone. Could not believe how easy is this product. Maybe my eyes are cheated by the filler? laugh.gif
one down side of using this wax is.... it makes more severe paint defects such as watermark more prominent as the less severe one has been removed from the eyes.

my plan for future maintanenance is to use cleaner wax once every 3 months and OCW or ulti spray wax as drying aid. should be enough for protection i think
red-queen
post Aug 1 2016, 12:55 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Aug 1 2016, 10:44 AM)
Menzerna you can go to facebook and look for "Menzerna Malaysia". I think they do not have stock for powerlock currently, as I just asked from them 1-2 months ago. Not sure about now.
For ValetPro, I don't think we have distributor in Malaysia yet. Have to source in from eBay or some where else.
Depends on the severity of the damage caused by bird poop. If it has etched the clearcoat, then you have to go for polishing, starting from the mildest (eg:AIO) and work your way up. If it is not severe, can try claybar.
thanks for the info! no choice, valetpro need to buy online then.

thanks!

derail
post Aug 2 2016, 09:46 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 31 2016, 11:30 PM)

There are longer lasting and easier to apply products available locally compared to powerlock.
Duragloss 101/105 is similar to powerlock and is available retail through their local distributor and lelong.
The better products are:
Optiseal (detailien) - spray on, no need to buff off, just as durable.
Gyeon cure (waregem)/Fireball coat (check facebook) are spray on products and silica/glass based so should last longer. Very similar to Carpro reload. I'm testing fireball coat right now.

windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 11:18 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 2 2016, 09:46 AM)
There are longer lasting and easier to apply products available locally compared to powerlock.
Duragloss 101/105 is similar to powerlock and is available retail through their local distributor and lelong.
The better products are:
Optiseal (detailien) - spray on, no need to buff off, just as durable.
Gyeon cure (waregem)/Fireball coat (check facebook) are spray on products and silica/glass based so should last longer. Very similar to Carpro reload. I'm testing fireball coat right now.
Fireball Ultimate Coating Wax can last about 1 month-ish, according to the seller.
douglas_tong
post Aug 2 2016, 01:41 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Aug 2 2016, 11:18 AM)
Fireball Ultimate Coating Wax can last about 1 month-ish, according to the seller.
All these similar spray sealants are charm! So easy in application.

Back then I tried osren paint restorer 51 topped with carpro reload on my gf car. Lasted almost 2 months, horizon panels lasted only 1 month, vertical panels was still going strong

My car with essence as primer and carpro reload as secondary layer lasted more than 2 months. But I topped it up last week anyway.

Carpro reload will sheet instead of bead after few washes. I assume it's the same for the other 2. So can't really tell if protection is still there or not. After all, sheeting or beading =/= protection.
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 04:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 2 2016, 01:41 PM)
All these similar spray sealants are charm! So easy in application.

Back then I tried osren paint restorer 51 topped with carpro reload on my gf car. Lasted almost 2 months, horizon panels lasted only 1 month, vertical panels was still going strong

My car with essence as primer and carpro reload as secondary layer lasted more than 2 months. But I topped it up last week anyway.

Carpro reload will sheet instead of bead after few washes. I assume it's the same for the other 2. So can't really tell if protection is still there or not. After all, sheeting or beading =/= protection.
Yeap these spray sealants actually make our lives easier smile.gif
I do agree with you that beading or sheeting does not mean the surface is protected. But I believe most of the people (including me) tend to attribute water sheeting/beading properties as the presence of surface protection on the paint, as apparently, this is the most straightforward observation. Haha.

Interested to know where to get carpro essence here? That sounds pretty cool.
douglas_tong
post Aug 2 2016, 07:06 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Aug 2 2016, 04:35 PM)
Yeap these spray sealants actually make our lives easier  smile.gif
I do agree with you that beading or sheeting does not mean the surface is protected. But I believe most of the people (including me) tend to attribute water sheeting/beading properties as the presence of surface protection on the paint, as apparently, this is the most straightforward observation. Haha.

Interested to know where to get carpro essence here? That sounds pretty cool.
I got mine from waregem. (500ml)
Waxxon is the sole distributor here, but only selling 1 litre at Rm400, (last i heard)

it contains a lot of filler (semi-permanent) but really brings the shine out. many are saying it's comparable to klasse aio, but essence last much longer.
Some detailer did a test to remove essence after curing and felt short of oven cleaner to remove it. It was really hard to strip it according to him
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 07:21 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 2 2016, 07:06 PM)
I got mine from waregem. (500ml)
Waxxon is the sole distributor here, but only selling 1 litre at Rm400, (last i heard)

it contains a lot of filler (semi-permanent) but really brings the shine out. many are saying it's comparable to klasse aio, but essence last much longer.
Some detailer did a test to remove essence after curing and felt short of oven cleaner to remove it. It was really hard to strip it according to him
I have heard of many good-ness about carpro essence. Wow that's cool, as matching the description of "highly durable resin". Haha. I should really get one soon and try it out. I am pretty sure it will be a great AIO.

Talking about stripping wax/sealant, it is actually harder than we thought, especially with those sealant that contain polymers nowadays.

805 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:41 AM