Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

sonotme
post Apr 26 2024, 11:40 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Fight3Rz @ Apr 26 2024, 10:37 AM)
Guys I'm not sure this is the right section to ask, I'm having a Toyota vios 2021 g spec.... Due to unforeseen circumstances I need to use that car as a e hailing car.... But the problem is the 10k service at service center is so expensive.. Each service almost 1k....

The problem is their part is so expensive....
Any sifu have some good advice for me what to do... Just ignore the warranty service outside workshop or all the part change outside and still service in SC?

I hope some experiences Sifu can enlighten me about my cost..
I own 2021 g spec too. I dont think 10k service will reach rm1k. Should be <500?
If 10k is high, i cant imagine if its major service that includes aircond and gearbox.
Have u dropped those optional stuff? Use semi syn will be slightly cheaper but since ur doing ehailing it might due for service quick too.

Azran1979
post Apr 26 2024, 12:36 PM

410 posts

i just tried first time tried with cheap polish machine. rotary i think.

with mothers carnauba wax paste. usually i just apply by hand. now i got machine its easier to do.

i also bought some cheap cerium oxide to clear glass watermark. and some cheap clay bar to wipe beforehand (i wonder whats the difference with expensive clay bar some goes up to rm70 a piece)

so far so good.

anyone know what other wax brand i should try ?
echho
post Apr 30 2024, 04:34 PM

286 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone can provide correct steps to apply cushion foam?

I sprayed one layer of car cushion foam then used wet microfiber cloth to wipe down 2-3x. Then left to dry. This is the result. Now I can make whatever mark with my hand or microfiber. Where did I go wrong? Please help. 😭😭😭
V429
post May 2 2024, 11:17 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(echho @ Apr 30 2024, 04:34 PM)

Hi guys,

Anyone can provide correct steps to apply cushion foam?

I sprayed one layer of car cushion foam then used wet microfiber cloth to wipe down 2-3x. Then left to dry. This is the result. Now I can make whatever mark with my hand or microfiber. Where did I go wrong? Please help. 😭😭😭
Not sure how is your process, but can consider watching and following the below Youtube video (first half). Can substitute the detailing brush with a microfibre cloth if you dont't have one.

echho
post May 2 2024, 04:52 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ May 2 2024, 11:17 AM)
Not sure how is your process, but can consider watching and following the below Youtube video (first half). Can substitute the detailing brush with a microfibre cloth if you dont't have one.

Thanks. Thanks. I think I know why now. I didn't use enough water to extract the cushion foam. I just wipe down using drip free wet microfiber. πŸ˜…
neekun
post May 12 2024, 03:36 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 15 2023, 02:29 PM)
I would recommend going to ScottHD's channel on coating testing. You'd find that even with most "professional" grade coatings, they don't even last for more than 1.5 years. The hydrophobic effect will usually deteriorate after a year. Any 'maintenance' you do is basically adding another layer of topper which of course will once again increase the hydrophobics again.
Most shops often advertise coatings as added scratch resistance but it really does next to nothing to protect from scratches (this really pisses me off whenever I see them saying it protects your car that way). At best coatings are an added layer of UV protection for your clearcoat, and it does make it a bit easier to clean as contaminants will not bond directly onto the clear coat.
I've personally tested a few DIY coatings myself and concluded that my money is more worth doing it myself. I've tried IGL EZ Graphene, IGL Premier, Gyeon Cancoat Evo, Fusso Coat. Each bottle of coating stated costs only +/- RM150-RM250. And you will be able to coat at least 3-4 cars and the leftovers can be kept for 1-2 years if stored correctly. Currently I'm using Gyeon Cancoat as my coating layer, and IGL Premier as my maintenance solution. Premier isn't ceramic but a variant of water based silicone, very easy to apply as it does not dry off and leave high spots, lasts at least 3-6 months before I need another layer. 
Regarding your question on the curing time, the general recommendation for most coatings within the detailing community is to allow at least 1-2 days without exposure to water after application. With the assistance of IR curing it could potentially bring it down to a day.. however that really varies between coatings and how strong your IR lamp is. If exposed to water or rain it is recommended to rinse off with water and wipe it off to prevent any watermarks from forming. Do not wash with any shampoo for at least a week to allow sufficient curing time.
If car is coated with other brand of coating by shop, can use igl premier to maintain the water repellent properties? If can , is it just car wash and dry the surface and spray the igl premier evenly on surface will do?

Aeon_Clock
post May 19 2024, 11:40 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

question about coating. I have a 7 year old car and its been great. Initially installed a car coating back then for 2k and while yeah, it doesn't have hydrophobic properties, watermarks still stuck onto the paint, etc...the paint shine was great even after 5 years...which kinda beats the purpose I installed the coating in the first place...lol. Anyway I didn't have to send the car in for any polishing during those 7 years so that's one good thing and I had free maintenance. The warranty period is over and my car's been into one rear bumping accident...all of the coating on the rear is gone thanks to new paint repairs.

Earlier this year started searching for some coating companies again (coz the old one is too expensive for me now) and I'm seeing coating prices around RM500 which is great...a simple coating and fresh paint polish. But only recently had time to send the car in for coating and I'm seeing the advertisements changing to RM500 for tint & free coating..as though the coating is cheaper than the tint they're using sweat.gif

Do you guys have any advise on the recent coating industry now? Are these RM500 coatings okay to use or best to avoid? I need to polish the car now anyway so was thinking might as well go for a simple coating at least.

I've also come across some DIY coating ads...like Kaden coating. Looks simple enough, self application but to do it every 2-3 months is too hassle for my schedule now.
Scissorshand
post May 19 2024, 09:03 PM

1,691 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ May 12 2024, 03:36 PM)
If car is coated with other brand of coating by shop, can use igl premier to maintain the water repellent properties?Β  If can , is it just car wash and dry the surface and spray the igl premier evenly on surface will do?
Yup u can

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ May 19 2024, 11:40 AM)
question about coating. I have a 7 year old car and its been great. Initially installed a car coating back then for 2k and while yeah, it doesn't have hydrophobic properties, watermarks still stuck onto the paint, etc...the paint shine was great even after 5 years...which kinda beats the purpose I installed the coating in the first place...lol. Anyway I didn't have to send the car in for any polishing during those 7 years so that's one good thing and I had free maintenance. The warranty period is over and my car's been into one rear bumping accident...all of the coating on the rear is gone thanks to new paint repairs.

Earlier this year started searching for some coating companies again (coz the old one is too expensive for me now) and I'm seeing coating prices around RM500 which is great...a simple coating and fresh paint polish. But only recently had time to send the car in for coating and I'm seeing the advertisements changing to RM500 for tint & free coating..as though the coating is cheaper than the tint they're usingΒ  sweat.gif

Do you guys have any advise on the recent coating industry now? Are these RM500 coatings okay to use or best to avoid? I need to polish the car now anyway so was thinking might as well go for a simple coating at least.

I've also come across some DIY coating ads...like Kaden coating. Looks simple enough, self application but to do it every 2-3 months is too hassle for my schedule now.
Why not give the $500 package a try but also buy yourself a bottle of TW Graphene spray coating, keep in your car and once a month when you send the car for washing ask the shop to spray and wipe dry since you are too lazy to maintain. This will help extend coating while u enjoy the hydrophobic

This post has been edited by Scissorshand: May 19 2024, 09:06 PM
Aeon_Clock
post May 20 2024, 02:18 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ May 19 2024, 09:03 PM)
Why not give the $500 package a try but also buy yourself a bottle of TW Graphene spray coating, keep in your car and once a month when you send the car for washing ask the shop to spray and wipe dry since you are too lazy to maintain. This will help extend coating while u enjoy the hydrophobic
I don't mind but one part confuses me....some people are offering Graphene coating for this price, some are offering Nano Ceramic coating for this price. Like what's the difference? And that tint & coating package for the same price...makes you think what coating they're using...

Btw, how much is this TW Graphene spray? TW is Turtle Wax?

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: May 20 2024, 02:19 AM
Angry Clerk
post May 22 2024, 07:44 PM

253 posts

Hey guys, good news for me. They have installed power point at my condo car wash bay.

Please recommend me polish buffer machine and material required. I'm a total newbie and what I need to do :

1. Polish
2. Put on IGL EZ Coat

My normal wash would be IGL Wash, car previously coated with IGL EZ, but now already worn off. Body is rough and no longer smooth.

White color car, so far paint still don't have swirl mark, but there are watermark on roof and hood, very bad, I have used IGL Ecoclean Delete on them, only work partly.
Angry Clerk
post May 26 2024, 01:36 PM

253 posts

Guysssss all quit already ah 🀣🀣🀣πŸ₯²πŸ₯²πŸ₯²
DM3
post May 26 2024, 01:49 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

Haha no,i been doin and lately each time kena rain still will rinse n wipe n use some wac..1 week 2times+ coating
sonotme
post May 26 2024, 01:58 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ May 26 2024, 01:49 PM)
Haha no,i been doin and lately each time kena rain still will rinse n wipe n use some wac..1 week 2times+ coating
Got baby already, so less time to detail.. sometimes have to send to car wash then reach home to apply wax..
V429
post May 29 2024, 01:17 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ May 22 2024, 07:44 PM)
Hey guys, good news for me. They have installed power point at my condo car wash bay.

Please recommend me polish buffer machine and material required. I'm a total newbie and what I need to do :

1. Polish
2. Put on IGL EZ Coat

My normal wash would be IGL Wash, car previously coated with IGL EZ, but now already worn off. Body is rough and no longer smooth.

White color car, so far paint still don't have swirl mark, but there are watermark on roof and hood, very bad, I have used IGL Ecoclean Delete on them, only work partly.
My simple recommendations :

-Dont immediately jump to polish with machine & DIY ceramic coat your car. We go back to basics first.

-Buy clay bar to solve car paint being rough. Any brand is ok but I personally would avoid cheap 3M ones. Watch youtube on how & when to use clay bars. Can try to use diluted car shampoo as lubricant to save money.

-White cars will get black stains or turn yellow easily, advisable to get 'all purpose cleaners' type of products to clean these. If you want to save money, Sunlight dish soap diluted 1:4 with water & stored in a spray bottle works well to spot clean black stains.

-Protection products : Important to invest in a good branded spray sealant product to protect your car after cleaning. This helps keep your car cleaner for longer and avoid dirt from 'becoming too stubborn'.

-The above should be the sufficient to maintain your car, can try these out first then only go to the next level to do polishing if required.

Enjoy the process smile.gif

This post has been edited by V429: May 29 2024, 01:21 PM
Angry Clerk
post Jun 2 2024, 10:59 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ May 29 2024, 01:17 PM)
My simple recommendations :

-Dont immediately jump to polish with machine & DIY ceramic coat your car. We go back to basics first.

-Buy clay bar to solve car paint being rough. Any brand is ok but I personally would avoid cheap 3M ones. Watch youtube on how & when to use clay bars. Can try to use diluted car shampoo as lubricant to save money.

-White cars will get black stains or turn yellow easily, advisable to get 'all purpose cleaners' type of products to clean these. If you want to save money, Sunlight dish soap diluted 1:4 with water & stored in a spray bottle works well to spot clean black stains.

-Protection products : Important to invest in a good branded spray sealant product to protect your car after cleaning. This helps keep your car cleaner for longer and avoid dirt from 'becoming too stubborn'.

-The above should be the sufficient to maintain your car, can try these out first then only go to the next level to do polishing if required.

Enjoy the process smile.gif
Thanks, Previously I screwed up a bit with ceramic coat on side panels, have the watermelon skin look. That's why wanting to remove the coat πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Anyway, I'll try out your suggestion first
alanishev
post Jun 8 2024, 08:05 PM

32 posts

Hi all. This is my first post here in this thread. Im having a little bug splat problem as you can see in the photo.
Any advise what to do? Most bug remover strips wax. At least thats what i read. Any solutuon that does not involve reapplication of wax?

My current coting is as follow:

99 Fusso coat 12 month (march 2024)
Top with 99 mirror shine (may 2024)

Just to add, sometimes the only way to remove the splat is using my nailπŸ˜…. I also try to use PG quick detailer (that i bought long time ago) but fail.

Im looking for something such as spray that u can just spray on it and wipe easily to remove without stripping the wax of course. Is there such thing? Thanks

This post has been edited by alanishev: Jun 8 2024, 08:06 PM
dwRK
post Jun 8 2024, 10:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(alanishev @ Jun 8 2024, 08:05 PM)

Hi all. This is my first post here in this thread. Im having a little bug splat problem as you can see in the photo.
Any advise what to do? Most bug remover strips wax. At least thats what i read. Any solutuon that does not involve reapplication of wax?

My current coting is as follow:

99 Fusso coat 12 month (march 2024)
Top with 99 mirror shine (may 2024)

Just to add, sometimes the only way to remove the splat is using my nailπŸ˜…. I also try to use PG quick detailer (that i bought long time ago) but fail.

Im looking for something such as spray that u can just spray on it and wipe easily to remove without stripping the wax of course. Is there such thing? Thanks
no need to overthink... soak it a bit... wipe it off... clay it... gently use your nail... spot polish if needed... reapply fusso to the spots...

lee82gx
post Jun 11 2024, 10:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Hi everyone I just bought a 12V orbital polisher (China product). It comes with 3 types of pads and I want to use Meguairs Ultimate compound to remove swirls, water marks and small scratches on my 2 year old Honda.

May I ask which pad should I start with first?
Of course I will wash the car and likely gently clay the surface.
It currently has a layer of Soft Fusso 99 on it but I think its wearing out.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Jun 12 2024, 02:50 PM
N9484640
post Jun 14 2024, 09:20 AM

Chasing Electric
1,289 posts

I bought one of those mop for washing car, its good except that it gets too heavy when it soak up all the water. Its also very difficult to dry that thing as it retains a lot of water even after squeezing as much water out as I can.

Anyway I want to look for similar mops but dont get too heavy when it is wet. If you have experience any of these mop, please recommend with a photo so I can buy the same. Here is a photo of what I bought.

I also have a very old Meguiar's Ultra Plush mop but the mop head is a bit worn and old. I cant find a new refill for it as they discontinued it.

Angry Clerk
post Jun 17 2024, 05:41 PM

253 posts

My watermelon skin messed up coat still there , maybe need to go proper polish shop biggrin.gif

805 Pages « < 793 794 795 796 797 > » Top

0.2601sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:55 PM