Amateur Radio User, Ham
tempe
Dec 22 2009, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Dec 20 2009, 10:22 PM) ah yup i ordered one  but waiting for it now read a lot of reviews of it Added on December 20, 2009, 10:48 pmanyway anyone has a aprs map for peninsular? like google map kind for uiview? Well... it has FM stereo and torch-light too...
kaikon
Dec 23 2009, 01:07 AM

Alamak what is a px888 ... let me google hahaha. RM340 should be good buy. Give a review,if good get me one too. QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 22 2009, 01:49 PM) Bought PX888 for RM340 .. good buy or not? 
wiraone
Dec 23 2009, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Dec 20 2009, 10:22 PM) Added on December 20, 2009, 10:48 pmanyway anyone has a aprs map for peninsular? like google map kind for uiview? Don't use uiview, so don't really know .. but you can always depend on aprs.fi .. you can zoom in and out .. and it just like google map, oh wait .. it is based on google map  .. problem is, you need to be online to view other stations. Added on December 23, 2009, 7:44 amQUOTE(kaikon @ Dec 23 2009, 01:07 AM) Alamak what is a px888 ... let me google hahaha. RM340 should be good buy. Give a review,if good get me one too. No idea really what the diff between px777 and px888 .. bought it and was thinking of stripping it off and make it a full time aprs station .. but yet to do it.. This post has been edited by wiraone: Dec 23 2009, 07:44 AM
mitodna
Dec 23 2009, 08:42 AM
Good price for the PX888, is it UHF? I remember 9W2ECH at Lowyat is selling too, forgot the price.
wiraone
Dec 23 2009, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 23 2009, 08:42 AM) Good price for the PX888, is it UHF? I remember 9W2ECH at Lowyat is selling too, forgot the price. Nope, it is VHF ones .. and I'm having a hard time trying to program it manually.. since it has lit-ion battery, I might want to use it as my normal handy and let the ft-60r be my permanent aprs digi
someone_stupid
Dec 23 2009, 12:22 PM
ah tat is a very simple set no? but but why say since it's lit-ion u use as normal handy?
wiraone
Dec 23 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Dec 23 2009, 12:22 PM) ah tat is a very simple set no? but but why say since it's lit-ion u use as normal handy? Because my FT-60R uses nimh .. hehe.. can't tx for long
someone_stupid
Dec 24 2009, 12:27 AM
ohhhhh lit-ion is better in terms of batt life?
wetwetwater
Dec 25 2009, 11:59 PM

WOW! that's very cheap for a px888. May i know the location of the seller pls? im also attracted to the li-ion batt fact of it.
arGh! yet to get my call sign. only waiting for signature fr 9M.
yawn..
termignoni
Dec 26 2009, 05:01 AM
hi guyz.. i'm looking for a Wouxun KG-UVD1 dual-band handy.. what's the cheapest price u guyz have gotten for it? and the shop?
i've been reading through a few pages and read that it actually had a decent review.. was putting my eyes on the VX-7R, but maybe save a little on the handy and top up some for an icom rig.. heheh..
cheers guyz..
mitodna
Dec 26 2009, 11:49 AM
@wetwetwater , try to get 9M Signature, cause now they will only issue 1st January till 31st December, my AA is like that, spoke to new upcoming 9M also like that, they only official from 1st January.
someone_stupid
Dec 26 2009, 01:28 PM
har u mean if u dun apply for a callsign within a yr it goes expired?
mitodna
Dec 26 2009, 02:32 PM
No, I mean the cycle changed, not on the day you register. Your exam result should be valid for more than 1 year, mine more than 2 years still can register.
someone_stupid
Dec 26 2009, 05:05 PM
bro u lost me there :s
mitodna
Dec 26 2009, 05:21 PM
I mean, when you register, they will put effective on 1st January. Instead of when they register it.
cheewooi
Dec 28 2009, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 17 2009, 12:50 PM) Kaikon, why not go to Jalan Pasar and asked if any of them sell the stickers? Hehehe.. if not, just peel off the SIRIM sticker from those chepo 3-pin plugs .. should work a treat .. But guys, really .. if you think your rigs are not certified, better not go near MCMC and showing off .. hehehe.. And this is the good time for MARTS to come into action .. oh, forgotten that MARTS is already dysfunctional.. I took the RAE test few weeks back. 1 week before RAE test, I attended a seminar organized by MCMC central region. Somebody queried them regarding the amateur rig bring in from other country. According to the one of the MCMC director, SIRIM approval is not required for amateur devices, you only need your AA (of cause the device you bring in must fit the requirement in your AA and license type)
mitodna
Dec 28 2009, 08:01 PM
Aww, saw 7800R a little more than V8000, should I just get V8000, first rig, need input of course hard to compare, but still,
wiraone
Dec 28 2009, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(cheewooi @ Dec 28 2009, 08:56 AM) I took the RAE test few weeks back. 1 week before RAE test, I attended a seminar organized by MCMC central region. Somebody queried them regarding the amateur rig bring in from other country. According to the one of the MCMC director, SIRIM approval is not required for amateur devices, you only need your AA (of cause the device you bring in must fit the requirement in your AA and license type) May I know what the director's name? Should give him a jolt for giving out conflicting information .. FYI, amateur radio equipment should be certified by SIRIM but certification is not needed if it is already in the MCMC/SIRIM approved list. The list was last updated in 2004 and many of the equipment listed in the approved list are already obsolete and no longer in production. According to regulation, any telecommunication devices need to be certified by SIRIM and if you're importing the equipment, they need to go though customs. Our friends in Perak had a problem with the authority I think last year and they were asked by MCMC to get their equipment certified by SIRIM.. and during the last RAE at USM, a seller was in trouble because she didn't go through the proper processes when selling her equipment. Added on December 28, 2009, 10:41 pmQUOTE SIRIM sticker from those chepo 3-pin plugs Opss .. if you're referring to the above statement .. I'm making a joke about this SIRIM certification .. anybody could just print/pull out stickers from existing equipment and slap them on the radio .. Anyway, latest I heard, they're going to update the list to the latest and greatest radio equipment available in the market sans those china/thai made radios. This post has been edited by wiraone: Dec 28 2009, 10:41 PM
rioven
Dec 31 2009, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(cheewooi @ Dec 28 2009, 08:56 AM) I took the RAE test few weeks back. 1 week before RAE test, I attended a seminar organized by MCMC central region. Somebody queried them regarding the amateur rig bring in from other country. According to the one of the MCMC director, SIRIM approval is not required for amateur devices, you only need your AA (of cause the device you bring in must fit the requirement in your AA and license type) yeah..i was there too..that was they said QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 28 2009, 10:32 PM) May I know what the director's name? Should give him a jolt for giving out conflicting information .. FYI, amateur radio equipment should be certified by SIRIM but certification is not needed if it is already in the MCMC/SIRIM approved list. The list was last updated in 2004 and many of the equipment listed in the approved list are already obsolete and no longer in production. According to regulation, any telecommunication devices need to be certified by SIRIM and if you're importing the equipment, they need to go though customs. Our friends in Perak had a problem with the authority I think last year and they were asked by MCMC to get their equipment certified by SIRIM.. and during the last RAE at USM, a seller was in trouble because she didn't go through the proper processes when selling her equipment. Added on December 28, 2009, 10:41 pmOpss .. if you're referring to the above statement .. I'm making a joke about this SIRIM certification .. anybody could just print/pull out stickers from existing equipment and slap them on the radio .. Anyway, latest I heard, they're going to update the list to the latest and greatest radio equipment available in the market sans those china/thai made radios. wiraone...about the director name...i will give info via PM. It's a good news if they update list on radio equipment
wiraone
Dec 31 2009, 08:23 AM
Got it rioven .. there will be a meeting with MCMC to discuss about this equipment list by few parties who're concerned about this certification thingy and hopefully this will be resolved ASAP.