145 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Amateur Radio User, Ham

TSearl-ku
post Dec 27 2006, 05:53 PM, updated 16y ago

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

How many forumers here who are also playing with amateur radios?

Handie, mobile, portable? anyone?

International Sign for Amateur Radio

Amateur Radio on Wikipedia

Amateur Radio Stations in Lowyat.Net

bioweapon83 1 9W2JW - KL
Jleecy - 9W2JLE - KL
Illharess - 9W2MIT/ PRMIT - KL
tuo850 - 9W2CNI
emusmax - 9W2MEX
jamata - 9W2GSR - KL
twins - 9W2LPP
K1ngZ - 9W2DNI / PRAF
mEoWsMArt^ - 9W2JGV
skthien - 9W2SMJ
visitorfromhell69 - 9W2EVL
joejoney - 9W2SJG
siefu - 9W2HRZ - Terenganu
radiant - 9W2YPR - Perlis
wnazry - 9W2WNO
joncy - 9W2ACY

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jul 16 2008, 01:49 PM
TSearl-ku
post Dec 27 2006, 07:57 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

FAQ

Where do i go for more info?

Visit the following websites:

http://www.marts.org.my
http://www.mares.org.my
http://www.astra.org.my

How do i apply for a Class A or Class B license

Basically what you need to do is to sit for an exam, usually held bi-annually in June & December. Announcement usually out two months before the exam and announced at http://skmm.gov.my website. Usually, a month before the exam, many local radio clubs & radio NGOs will conduct classes. I'll surely advice you to attend these classes to get a better picture of ham radio.. tho' with just reading the materials found on the Internet could pass you.
This post has been edited by earl-ku: Aug 29 2009, 09:04 PM
TSearl-ku
post Dec 28 2006, 10:31 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

Show us your antenna and rig!

***waiting for submission

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Aug 29 2009, 09:04 PM
zx7177
post Dec 28 2006, 10:38 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

want to get it , but worried license is too hard to sit for , and also equipment expensive

any comments on the toughness of the test ?
harrychoo
post Dec 28 2006, 10:42 PM

3,589 posts

lol, my job is to write software for those things..
TSearl-ku
post Dec 28 2006, 11:01 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Dec 28 2006, 10:38 PM)
want to get it , but worried license is too hard to sit for , and also equipment expensive

any comments on the toughness of the test ?
not sure how the test from mcmc goes, but there are classes u can attend, class b license no morse code, just some technical questions... results for the Nov06 test is out today ...

or you can just join clubs like pkw or scs to learn first la ...

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Dec 28 2006, 10:42 PM)
lol, my job is to write software for those things..
what kinda softwares?
harrychoo
post Dec 28 2006, 11:03 PM

3,589 posts

softwares for amateur radio.

the license not too expensive..heard is around RM60 for 5 yrs..
TSearl-ku
post Dec 28 2006, 11:07 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Dec 28 2006, 11:03 PM)
softwares for amateur radio.

the license not too expensive..heard is around RM60 for 5 yrs..
class a
application is 50, annual is 30

class b
application is 50, annual is 24

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Dec 28 2006, 11:09 PM
SUSMalaysian
post Dec 28 2006, 11:08 PM

1,651 posts

can i get license to listen to police channel?
harrychoo
post Dec 28 2006, 11:09 PM

3,589 posts

application means?

actually a lot of my colleagues had a license oledi and own a portable..our company did offer us the test...now i waiting for my company to offer the test, then i will go take it.
TSearl-ku
post Dec 28 2006, 11:10 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

go take it, takda rugi mia ... planniig to take the next exam band may07 wan ...

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Dec 28 2006, 11:17 PM
TSearl-ku
post Dec 29 2006, 04:35 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian @ Dec 28 2006, 11:08 PM)
can i get license to listen to police channel?
i dont think so there is any license for you to get to enable you to listen in on police channel ... illegal here in MY, but u can try to use those scanner lo, which is also illegal here in MY
zx7177
post Dec 29 2006, 05:54 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 28 2006, 11:01 PM)
not sure how the test from mcmc goes, but there are classes u can attend, class b license no morse code, just some technical questions... results for the Nov06 test is out today ...

or you can just join clubs like pkw or scs to learn first la ...
what kinda softwares?
pkw ? scs ?? rclxub.gif

can give some sample questions ?

and also what model radio cheap and good for noobie use ?
TSearl-ku
post Dec 29 2006, 10:17 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

pkw and scs are amateur radio clubs which has their own repeater, so u can use this freq without getting a class b license.

start with handies fromicom and yaesu are ok, cheapest would be a icom v8, am using an icom v82 500 to 600 for a new set, yaesu cheapest would be 800 something and motorola bout 1.6k for a vhf model ...

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Dec 29 2006, 10:18 PM
zx7177
post Dec 29 2006, 11:11 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 29 2006, 10:17 PM)
pkw and scs are amateur radio clubs which has their own repeater, so u can use this freq without getting a class b license.

start with handies fromicom and yaesu are ok, cheapest would be a icom v8, am using an icom v82 500 to 600 for a new set, yaesu cheapest would be 800 something and motorola bout 1.6k for a vhf model ...
ooo , WITHOUT a license ?

interesting ..... you know anyone wanting to sell their handhelds ?
alqa
post Dec 30 2006, 12:51 AM

346 posts

there's a fellow in Lelong or Buysell that's selling radio sets at a reasonable price... but better check with him first, cos officially u need a license in order to buy the set. for seconds, maybe you should try the amateur radio forums
TSearl-ku
post Dec 31 2006, 03:05 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(alqa @ Dec 30 2006, 12:51 AM)
there's a fellow in Lelong or Buysell that's selling radio sets at a reasonable price... but better check with him first, cos officially u need a license in order to buy the set. for seconds, maybe you should try the amateur radio forums
you can find Chepot, pm me for his contact ... you dont really need alicesnse to get one, you need a license to transmit, if you buy and monitor its ok ... and to transmit in a private repeater, you need to join their club only. to tranmit in a public amateur radio frqquency qill require you to get a class A or B license ...
zx7177
post Dec 31 2006, 04:19 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 31 2006, 03:05 PM)
you can find Chepot, pm me for his contact ... you dont really need alicesnse to get one, you need a license to transmit, if you buy and monitor its ok ... and to transmit in a private repeater, you need to join their club only. to tranmit in a public amateur radio frqquency qill require you to get a class A or B license ...
cheapest radio which can use to monitor ? dun care even if self assembled wan , as long as its cheap biggrin.gif

edit : grammar . shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by zx7177: Dec 31 2006, 04:19 PM
TSearl-ku
post Dec 31 2006, 04:48 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Dec 31 2006, 04:19 PM)
cheapest radio which can use to monitor ? dun care even if self assembled wan , as long as its cheap  biggrin.gif

edit : grammar . shakehead.gif
haha i have no idea what model requires u to self assemble ... assemble the power calbes only ada la ... hahaha

try some basic handheld like the icom v8 or v82 single band - vhf only, or Yaesu - but most yaesu are dual banders uhf and vhf, so more exp ... expect 800 to 1k

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Dec 31 2006, 04:55 PM
outdoorxplorer
post Dec 31 2006, 05:23 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

I am interested but waiting to get B License first before making my way to a radio set...

145 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:41 AM