7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Amateur Radio User, Ham

kaikon
post May 24 2009, 10:51 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ May 23 2009, 09:50 PM)
piju;
wahh 2200 lehhh 2.2k for a new 1 lehh!!! nice set though drool.gif
Wahhh then can I sell my 2200H for 1.1k instead? hehe....
kaikon
post Jun 3 2009, 03:43 PM

60 posts

Well if anyone really interested in a 2200H, I got one 99% new. Used for less than a week and stored in my aircon room since.
Might let go at RM630 I think.

For base rig, get the 897 instead of the 857. Trust me drool.gif

kaikon
post Jun 4 2009, 08:50 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 4 2009, 03:09 PM)
A lot of modern HF mobile rigs could be configured to scan certain frequencies. No, you don't need to rotate those biggie knob .. and you may have heard that many DXers are on certain frequencies .. and local on certain frequencies .. just set them into the memory .. and do a scan on those set. And why not talking about HF antenna on the car? Have you heard about those ATAS/screw driver antennas?
Yes wiraone, have a used atas 120 with me that dont work too well. It can go up but sometime dont return. May offer to anyone here if interested or willing to repair. Currently it can only naik atas not bawah.

kaikon
post Jun 19 2009, 09:30 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 6 2009, 06:48 PM)
May be kaikon sudah upgrade ke better dual-band simultaneous monitoring rig macam ICOM IC-2820H or Kenwood TMV71A or even Yaesu FT-8800R ..
Sorry sorry guys, was away on duty for a while. Economy not good so have to find more business hehehehe.

Nah, the 2200h was bought for "pirate" duties with the scramble option card. This week would be pirate week so out it comes.

My current rigs (setup )

2m
2200H ( spare for ***** outing )
V8000 Inside big 4x4 + 1 almost condemn unit as spare

Dual Bander

8890 Inside little car
8800 Home unit
VX7R All purpose

HF/everthing

897 All rounder
706MK2G mainly HF

user posted image user posted image

kaikon
post Jul 14 2009, 11:20 AM

60 posts

bizkutrai you got PM brows.gif
kaikon
post Jul 15 2009, 12:32 AM

60 posts

wiraone, for me I want those 2 hf antenna since I am always staying in a hotel hehe.
kaikon
post Jul 15 2009, 04:52 PM

60 posts

Yeah man, I was eyeing the buddypole instead of that buddystick. That is really a lost chance for me. Lets see how the pricing comes in at. I am trying to set up a 10m this weekend. Wiraone wanna try CQ? I am roughly about 1,000km away from you. Lets say next wednesday night about 9pm at 28.400 see if we can make contact.

kaikon
post Jul 16 2009, 02:23 AM

60 posts

I think should be ok. I was able to hear a couple of KL dipole last weekend during the lighthouse contest. Lets give it a try, I am homebrewing a rotary dipole this weekend, must be very sure of my forward power before I hammer it down or else I will have a nice smelling fried 897. rclxms.gif

Added on July 16, 2009, 2:28 am
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jun 23 2009, 09:49 AM)
looook at those rigsssssssss!!!!!!!

anyway im looking for a decent gain dipole antenna for 2m/70cm anyone has any idea? i mean to homebrew wan ya
Dude, go homebrew a 3 element yagi for your 2m. Less than RM20 will get you one that works extremely well.

This post has been edited by kaikon: Jul 16 2009, 02:28 AM
kaikon
post Jul 17 2009, 02:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 17 2009, 01:41 PM)
yes! my fren n i are almost there on our own 3ele yagi!!!
though though, 1 thing we're boggling abt, how do we get started on the
28 - 29.7 mhz and the 50-54mhz part of our aa
1. Get a HF set
2. Get a 17ft wire
3. Cut the wire into 2 halves.
4. Tie each end to a post, wire up the middle part to your RG58.

There you go, a 10m dipole ready to listen. To tx you will need to get a swr meter to tune it properly flex.gif
kaikon
post Jul 17 2009, 06:42 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 17 2009, 04:24 PM)
OHhhh hmm sounds ez enufff! hf set.. hmm my 6r can operate on those bands wan can use ah?
Errrrrr 6r HF are FM. There is currently no activity there. You can CQ with another buddy with another 6r, those Frequencies but thats not too interesting hehehe

These HF we are talking about are on USB ( upper singleside band ).

Added on July 17, 2009, 7:35 pmOk now I got a good bonus question for any expert here. I am stuck a bit.

Who knows how to get the VX8 to tx a tone out of ham band freq aka 139.xxx

Cracked my head enough and now its open to anyone out there. Else this VX8 would make a good paperweight.

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by kaikon: Jul 17 2009, 07:35 PM
kaikon
post Jul 18 2009, 01:54 AM

60 posts

Added on July 17, 2009, 8:43 pmor tis 1
http://www.kb2ljj.com/data/yaesu/VX-8R.htm

[/quote]

This vx8 have been freebanded with that region code change but its unable carry the sub-audible tone. Tone however work from 140.xxx onwards.
kaikon
post Jul 23 2009, 01:16 PM

60 posts

Wiraone,

Postpone DX, I am not available tonight tongue.gif
Will info you the next date. So sorry, work catching up with me.
kaikon
post Jul 24 2009, 01:12 AM

60 posts

wiraone,

I am in Sabah land of the 9W6.
kaikon
post Jul 24 2009, 03:13 PM

60 posts

DX on which band boss? Next week I be at 9W8 land, lets see if I can set up my antenna tonight or weekend. I will beep you.

To Bizkutrai, thanks boss, both MFJ and Hygain HF antennas arrived safely by courier. The courier guy just left and later tonight I will open up the package and lug it all over E.Malaysia icon_rolleyes.gif

More toys for me.

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 24 2009, 01:06 PM)
Ah.. okay, I've done DX with 9W6MAN and err.. didn't remember the guy who just got 9M6 .. was it 9W2BOY?

Added on July 24, 2009, 1:09 pm

Cheap .. cheap one? Those WeiWeir or Puxing or Motorola/Kenwood ciplak for round RM350/pc I think .. Jalan Pasar or LowYat la Bro .. mana lagi smile.gif But if you're looking at RM500 and above HT, then .. FT-60R is quite good tho' a bit bulky but it is dual-bander .. ICOM IC-85, Spender etc.. quite OK jugak if you doesn't want to spend too much on much better quality HT.
This post has been edited by kaikon: Jul 24 2009, 03:15 PM
kaikon
post Jul 27 2009, 01:59 PM

60 posts

Get a V8 or VX170 also not that painful as those china mali sets tongue.gif

QUOTE(joncy @ Jul 24 2009, 10:14 PM)
if the moto (mt777) or kenwood (tk508) ciplak 1... it is usable... but the S meter is un reliable... for a normal qso or swling on vhf it is ok enough.. i also got 1.. in fact its my first rig..

how ever about wierweir i dunno.. but if puxing its might be better bcoz puxing px777 was the original model but still copy the design that ori from moto gp3x8plus series.. (correct me if im wrong...)
kaikon
post Jul 28 2009, 01:24 AM

60 posts

puxing and similar do not really have a VFO mode tongue.gif or tone search. Worse the S meter is either full or zero.

But half the price of either the icom or yaesu hmmm but icom or yaesu retains resale value.

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 27 2009, 11:54 PM)
true also if nt juz gotta wait till budget approves lor thn get something u wan and need rather thn something juz for the sake of having
kaikon
post Aug 24 2009, 04:00 PM

60 posts

Latest update ( saturday 22nd Aug )

VX170 = SGD170 + gst
VX3 = SGD230 + gst

Custom gorek RM50 <--- not good in hiding

icon_rolleyes.gif
kaikon
post Aug 25 2009, 10:37 AM

60 posts

Allo Wiraone,

Yupp there is still one Yeasu distributor in SG that charges GST. Very patriotic one hhehehe.
I forgot to get the form and stamp to get back the GST at changi.

by flight boss, KLIA kastam quite detail that day, of course no need AP cos RM50 also no receipt one whistling.gif

kaikon
post Aug 25 2009, 12:38 PM

60 posts

8800 if you are driving shouldnt be a problem ma. Might as well get locally, unless you are going to SG for vacation or other business.

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 25 2009, 10:59 AM)
ohhhh hmm there is still one yaesu distributor tat does tat? where bro? hmm do u think if i can bring a ft8800 over hahahaah
kaikon
post Aug 26 2009, 10:07 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 26 2009, 09:53 AM)
Customs don't really check lah .. unless you've very suspicious look .. smile.gif
Or carrying alot of fragile sensitive instruments in pelican cases. Surely open up and see if got VX3 and VX170 or not hehehe.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:32 AM