Thread for Husband and Father, Lets share/discuss/info

audreyreiko
post Mar 10 2016, 07:43 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Mar 9 2016, 05:15 PM)
basically what your husband will do with the extra milk that baby not able to finish? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i think those who cant finish the milk can donate away to make breast milk soap.  i believe breast milk soap is far more better than goat milk soap...

just my two cents
If cannot finish, I try see later within 1 hour if baby can still drink it, if not, I will finish it off, usually we can agak-agak the amount quite well and don't have that much leftover.

If really got leftover, can keep in a container and later do breastmilk bath for baby, it's good for baby's skin.

As for breastmilk soap, one 1kg bar of soap only needs 15oz so basically like 2 Autumnz bag only, and yes my son still uses breastmilk soap till today. smile.gif
audreyreiko
post Mar 10 2016, 07:47 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 9 2016, 09:46 PM)
Hehe. True true. Been there the whole time so don't need to ask haha. But breast milk don't have to straight away throw. Can still be kept and used again later because its awesome like that. Formula, gotta throw away if the baby simply touches it and doesn't drink... spent hundreds of $$ poured down the drain....
A good rule of thumb is once breastmilk is heated up, normally baby should consume within 1 hour, if cannot finish, normally people don't re-freeze/ re-refridgerate it, though, in some cases I've done that before and and so far it was okay - not recommended though.

Best is to heat up say 2oz - 4oz per feed, that way you don't waste too much if baby cannot finish. Most of the time leftover ~1oz I will finish it off myself.
panda-man
post Mar 11 2016, 09:15 AM

2,691 posts

ah.. just spent the past few days in hospital. son got admitted with stomach flu. seemed to be a common occurrence as a few other kids all in for the same thing. kesian. but now out again and running around. so tired... but anyways happy with the doc and nurses so all good. *yawn*
serdangonline
post Mar 11 2016, 09:44 AM

140 posts

Gdday mate! Father of four dotter reporting in. Oldest is 12 and youngest is 2y'owl.
Newgen
post Mar 11 2016, 10:02 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 11 2016, 09:15 AM)
ah.. just spent the past few days in hospital. son got admitted with stomach flu. seemed to be a common occurrence as a few other kids all in for the same thing. kesian. but now out again and running around. so tired... but anyways happy with the doc and nurses so all good. *yawn*
Mind to share what is stomach flu's symptoms? and what's the cause of it?
Hope your kid will be fine soon!

This post has been edited by Newgen: Mar 11 2016, 10:03 AM
TSMoonRider
post Mar 11 2016, 10:10 AM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

QUOTE(serdangonline @ Mar 11 2016, 09:44 AM)
Gdday mate! Father of four dotter reporting in. Oldest is 12 and youngest is 2y'owl.
i got 3 sons .. oldest 10,8,3 ... i hope i can get a dotter icon_rolleyes.gif

panda-man
post Mar 11 2016, 10:16 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Mar 11 2016, 10:02 AM)
thanks,

the stomach flu seems to be bacterial and airborne, the doc said 'very contagious' so if another kid has it or an adult (we assumed my wife caught it first, but mild form) then its easily transferable, so need to keep hands and food clean.

symptoms for my son were sudden excessive vomiting. from 6am-10am my son vomited maybe like 10+ times. just vomiting stomach acid i guess as he didnt have any food, i guess the tummy is trying to purge whatever bacteria in the stomach. took him to the clinic and got referred as that amount of vomiting requires drip to prevent dehydration. so went to hospital to his ped and got admitted and on the drip. he couldnt eat or drink anything for a day. just would vomit everything back up, sometimes just look at food and would vomit. but after being on drip for 2 days he started eating normally again in more feedings and smaller portions. just got discharged yesterday afternoon. but still grumpy and tiring for all of us. but so kesian see him walking aroudn with the drip. after we took it off, ran like the wind hahahah.
Newgen
post Mar 11 2016, 11:03 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 11 2016, 10:16 AM)
thanks,

the stomach flu seems to be bacterial and airborne, the doc said 'very contagious' so if another kid has it or an adult (we assumed my wife caught it first, but mild form) then its easily transferable, so need to keep hands and food clean.

symptoms for my son were sudden excessive vomiting. from 6am-10am my son vomited maybe like 10+ times. just vomiting stomach acid i guess as he didnt have any food, i guess the tummy is trying to purge whatever bacteria in the stomach. took him to the clinic and got referred as that amount of vomiting requires drip to prevent dehydration. so went to hospital to his ped and got admitted and on the drip. he couldnt eat or drink anything for a day. just would vomit everything back up, sometimes just look at food and would vomit. but after being on drip for 2 days he started eating normally again in more feedings and smaller portions. just got discharged yesterday afternoon. but still grumpy and tiring for all of us. but so kesian see him walking aroudn with the drip. after we took it off, ran like the wind hahahah.
My my... glad to hear that bro...
Geezz....all kind of bacteria and virus lurking around now...
Have to keep clean and keep washing hands.

serdangonline
post Mar 11 2016, 12:22 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Mar 11 2016, 10:10 AM)
i got 3 sons .. oldest 10,8,3 ... i hope i can get a dotter  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hahahahah, mak anak den kato, tak koso dah nak beranak. Need new wife if I want a son. rclxm9.gif
blownfreaks
post Mar 14 2016, 12:00 PM

49 posts

A father of two kids (boy 6y/o and girl 4y/o), considered as experienced... smile.gif Feel free to ask any related questions...
TSMoonRider
post Mar 14 2016, 08:46 PM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

school holiday now.. where to go?
wai1460
post Mar 15 2016, 09:59 AM

267 posts

Sick season is coming again.

I just recover from sick (fever, cough, sore throat, flu) since last week & now my daughter is infected too. Majorly patient in clinic are diagnose with same symptoms according to the doctor.

Please take care of your own children.
panda-man
post Mar 15 2016, 10:01 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Mar 14 2016, 08:46 PM)
school holiday now.. where to go?
farm in the city is quite nice. but if big family can get pricey.

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Mar 15 2016, 09:59 AM)
Sick season is coming again.

I just recover from sick (fever, cough, sore throat, flu) since last week & now my daughter is infected too. Majorly patient in clinic are diagnose with same symptoms according to the doctor.

Please take care of your own children.
yeah. my family recovering now. and lots of people also sick. bleh.....
SUSeksk
post Mar 15 2016, 10:02 AM

586 posts

Father , husband to 7 year old boy and 3 month old boy..
feel as if i'm failure in life coz monthly income <5 K and not motivated to work sad.gif
wai1460
post Mar 15 2016, 10:12 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ Mar 15 2016, 10:02 AM)
feel as if i'm failure in life coz monthly income <5 K and not motivated to work sad.gif

May i know why you say say you're failure?
You should proud of yourself because you are able to raise your kids at this age.
Im also not a high income owner & also frustrated to work. But we have no choice, this is the decision we choose.

Treat it like a challenge & solve it happily.
Do tell/inform if you have problem to your family/friends/forum too.....dont keep the problems in your heart.
panda-man
post Mar 15 2016, 10:25 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ Mar 15 2016, 10:02 AM)
welcome bro. as above, why do you feel like a failure? salary around 5k is still good what. this is around the average household income in Malaysia. Does your wife work?

as for motivation, thats a common thing. not many are motivated to work but its a means to an end. for me, i hate work, middle class earner. but i work to live. work to feed my family. work to see my son smile. gave up a lot of things. but just need to keep at it.

if you have any problems, hope we can try our best to help you. and if not help at least give you an outlet to rant.

SUSeksk
post Mar 15 2016, 10:47 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Mar 15 2016, 10:12 AM)

May i know why you say say you're failure?
You should proud of yourself because you are able to raise your kids at this age.
Im also not a high income owner & also frustrated to work. But we have no choice, this is the decision we choose.

Treat it like a challenge & solve it happily.
Do tell/inform if you have problem to your family/friends/forum too.....dont keep the problems in your heart.
QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 15 2016, 10:25 AM)
welcome bro. as above, why do you feel like a failure? salary around 5k is still good what. this is around the average household income in Malaysia. Does your wife work?

as for motivation, thats a common thing. not many are motivated to work but its a means to an end. for me, i hate work, middle class earner. but i work to live. work to feed my family. work to see my son smile. gave up a lot of things. but just need to keep at it.

if you have any problems, hope we can try our best to help you. and if not help at least give you an outlet to rant.
i see a lot of my peers from school, especially who are earning big bucks flying here and there. i see ppl around me doing well buying big houses and big car. i know i should be very very motivated to provide from my children but i can't be bothered to stay late at work. i rather go home and play with them .. anyway work is a dead end job with no job security.. i'm almost in my 40s and i fear i;m letting my sons down... the way things are going i'm not sure i can provide tertiary education and plan for my retirement at the same time...

i love my kids but i'm wondering why i don't have the drive like others to work their socks off and earn big money for them.. i feel i'm letting them down.. i forsee in the future, my sons asking why i cannot afford to send them overseas..

sad.gif
panda-man
post Mar 15 2016, 11:27 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ Mar 15 2016, 10:47 AM)
i see a lot of my peers from school, especially who are earning big bucks flying here and there. i see ppl around me doing well buying big houses and big car. i know i should be very very motivated to provide from my children but i can't be bothered to stay late at work. i rather go home and play with them .. anyway work is a dead end job with no job security.. i'm almost in my 40s and i fear i;m letting my sons down... the way things are going i'm not sure i can provide tertiary education and plan for my retirement at the same time...

i love my kids but i'm wondering why i don't have the drive like others to work their socks off and earn big money for them.. i feel i'm letting them  down.. i forsee in the future, my sons asking why i cannot afford to send them overseas..

sad.gif
bro. i was there before and sometimes i still go there. but first of all. its nice to say dont compare yourself with others. but it always happens, its human nature. so what i do is, dont compare yourself with only one group of people. if you look at people who are earning big bucks, then compare with those earning small bucks. you may not be the most successful richest dude out there, but you most definitely are not the poorest one. i have a buddy who is around 23 and earning only RM900 and supporting his 3-4 siblings with the oldest in uni (he pays for the tuition). i dont have any idea how he does it... but suffice to say, he doesnt have much. also know many cousins and friends earning around 2-3k or less, but still support their families. i also know rich people, whole family working to the bone. when they all sit together the feeling of family isnt even there. feels like sitting in a meeting room. so everything got pros and cons. dont just look at the good and think, oh so nice, he's got it good. very high chance many are looking at you and thinking the same thing.

one of my favourite quotes which changed the way i think is.
"When I hear somebody sigh, ‘Life is hard,’ I am always tempted to ask, ‘Compared to what?’" — Sydney J. Harris

for school, when the time comes they can get a loan, or who knows even a scholarship. if you dont have the strong motivation to work, then push your kids and motivate them to study. one thing i plan to do with my son when he's older (as recommended by my aunty with very smart kids) is to sit down with them when they do their work. you can read a book, or newspaper, or study yourself. but when they are working, dont be lepaking watching tv, playing ipad, chatting away on the phone or whatever because they will feel they are missing out on the fun and just rush through everything so they can be free and join you. so when its their time for work, you also logout and sit there with them.

anyways just my 2sen, but hope can give you something to think about. and if you ever feel you cant provide for your kids or your kids feel ungrateful and that you arent giving them anything, then go visit rumah anak yatim.
abubin
post Mar 15 2016, 11:51 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Mar 11 2016, 10:02 AM)
stomach flu is basically the flu virus got into the stomach. Usually it starts off as normal flu in the nose or throat. Eventually the virus will get into stomach. This is pretty common. Just need to let them build up their immunity as virus cannot be killed. Yup..vomit is really common with stomach flu. Poor kids.
TSMoonRider
post Mar 15 2016, 02:46 PM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ Mar 15 2016, 10:47 AM)

i love my kids but i'm wondering why i don't have the drive like others to work their socks off and earn big money for them.. i feel i'm letting them  down.. i forsee in the future, my sons asking why i cannot afford to send them overseas..

sad.gif
earning less doesnt mean you are failure.. at least you got kids..

is not easy to get work life balance job.. unless you are IT field..

you might want to survey for migration ..

65 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:45 PM