Problem with temperature? Seek consultation here, DO NOT OPEN NEW THREAD
blessedvillain
Mar 1 2008, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Mar 1 2008, 11:15 AM) haih ... i'm a bit frustrated. why is it with arctic freezer 7 pro on 3GHz c3d e4300 the temps are 46'c @ idle and 68'c @ load (using ac mx-2) ...i feel something is wrong tried to re-sit the proc & hsf 2-3 times and it's the same .. everything seems tights/firm to me ... and my casing is an open-case what's your temperature b4 this?
mmohdnor
Mar 1 2008, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Mar 1 2008, 06:21 PM) what's your temperature b4 this? i was using intel stock cooler .... idle ~56-59'C and load around 75-78'C the temp dropped but seems not like a 'typical' ac freezer 7 pro leh
Kataro
Mar 2 2008, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Mar 1 2008, 06:49 PM) i was using intel stock cooler .... idle ~56-59'C and load around 75-78'C the temp dropped but seems not like a 'typical' ac freezer 7 pro leh  did you apply the mx-2 correctly? How is the air flow of your casing? Could be the open case disturb the air flow of your casing...might be other reason too...
IcEMoCHa
Mar 2 2008, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Mar 1 2008, 11:15 AM) haih ... i'm a bit frustrated. why is it with arctic freezer 7 pro on 3GHz c3d e4300 the temps are 46'c @ idle and 68'c @ load (using ac mx-2) ...i feel something is wrong tried to re-sit the proc & hsf 2-3 times and it's the same .. everything seems tights/firm to me ... and my casing is an open-case seems like a case of bad ventilation... even though ur casing is open.. there must be good air flow for the heat dissipation..
sparrowed
Mar 4 2008, 12:11 AM
got a bad temperature with my processor. my specs below: E2160 + IP35E stock heatsink (the super small one) capalang thermal paste (white) i know how to apply good amount of thermal paste, thermal problem didnt happen to me in my previous Sempron palermo 754 rig (max load is 55C only at 2.3GHz). The idle temperature is around 34-35 sometimes even drop to 33-32. my max load can be seen at the pic below.  will getting a bigger heatsink, maybe sub-RM50 heatsink can solve my temperature problem? or maybe the old pentium4 heatsink? i know sophisticated expensive heatsink can lower the temperature, but im looking at cheaper solution as there's no point of getting uber expensive heatsink for a budget rig. This post has been edited by sparrowed: Mar 4 2008, 12:12 AM
a1098113
Mar 4 2008, 08:52 AM
chapalang TIM and the current cheapo heatsink will give you those temps.. at least get some good thermal paste. IT doesnt cost much. When it comes to cooling, it depends on your purpose. my proposed stand would be, AC Freezer 7 pro + tuniq tx2 bundled for rm150 or less. YOu will never go wrong spending extra for cooling. And its one off anyways. Budget rig or not. Added on March 4, 2008, 8:56 amQUOTE(mmohdnor @ Mar 1 2008, 06:49 PM) i was using intel stock cooler .... idle ~56-59'C and load around 75-78'C the temp dropped but seems not like a 'typical' ac freezer 7 pro leh  what casing are you using? AC Freezer works very well when u have a 120mm exhaust at the back. Coz its an heatpipe fin cooler. This post has been edited by a1098113: Mar 4 2008, 08:56 AM
sparrowed
Mar 4 2008, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 4 2008, 08:52 AM) chapalang TIM and the current cheapo heatsink will give you those temps.. at least get some good thermal paste. IT doesnt cost much. When it comes to cooling, it depends on your purpose. my proposed stand would be, AC Freezer 7 pro + tuniq tx2 bundled for rm150 or less. YOu will never go wrong spending extra for cooling. And its one off anyways. Budget rig or not. Added on March 4, 2008, 8:56 amwhat casing are you using? AC Freezer works very well when u have a 120mm exhaust at the back. Coz its an heatpipe fin cooler. I use artic silver 5 for quite sometime already (in previous rig), as the improvement isnt convincing (no difference at all with the white xxx brand thermal paste), i use back xxx brand. well, budget rig + extra cooling vs better processor will be a long debate, but for me i believe it is just a personal preference, if my thermal problem just cant solve i'd just settle with a bit lower clock. But I just wanted to confirm is it normal for super small heatsink to perform like that?
a1098113
Mar 4 2008, 10:11 AM
yes its normal and the sink i believe has a aluminium core.. hence ... AS5 is good but not the best, it had its hey day but no more.. There is TX-2 now. It does make a difference. No difference maybe last time. It all boils down to purpose. What do u need? at the end of the day?
mmohdnor
Mar 4 2008, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 4 2008, 08:52 AM) what casing are you using? AC Freezer works very well when u have a 120mm exhaust at the back. Coz its an heatpipe fin cooler. i'm using a cheap casing ...  ..but yeah i don't have any fan at the back of the casing .. any brand suggestion for this ? feel like don't want to spend too much for the 120mm fan btw, the airflow of the 120mm fan should be directed towards the inside casing right? This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Mar 4 2008, 02:17 PM
a1098113
Mar 4 2008, 03:56 PM
for the AC Freezer or any heatpipe finned cooler always remember to have an exhaust whatever said and done. This is just crucial. No the fan at the back should be like an Exhaust, thus meaning that it directs air out of the casing.
Kataro
Mar 4 2008, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(sparrowed @ Mar 4 2008, 09:52 AM) I use artic silver 5 for quite sometime already (in previous rig), as the improvement isnt convincing (no difference at all with the white xxx brand thermal paste), i use back xxx brand. well, budget rig + extra cooling vs better processor will be a long debate, but for me i believe it is just a personal preference, if my thermal problem just cant solve i'd just settle with a bit lower clock. But I just wanted to confirm is it normal for super small heatsink to perform like that? AS5 should give different result from normal TIM...it is depend on how you apply it and depend on the type of proc u use...example, single core will only need a single drop of TIM at the middle of the IHS, dual core will need to put it as a line...some might prefer to apply a very thin layer of TIM...and it need 200 hours to sink in too...I get impressive result with AS5...so I no doubt with AS5...
a1098113
Mar 4 2008, 10:07 PM
no such theory la bro, the most important thing about a TIM is the spread on the core. how much spread will it cover when it burns in. Regardless of aesthetic value of lines and dots. U just need a rice grain of TIM and it works wonders.
campsol2k
Mar 4 2008, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(sparrowed @ Mar 4 2008, 09:52 AM) I use artic silver 5 for quite sometime already (in previous rig), as the improvement isnt convincing (no difference at all with the white xxx brand thermal paste), i use back xxx brand. well, budget rig + extra cooling vs better processor will be a long debate, but for me i believe it is just a personal preference, if my thermal problem just cant solve i'd just settle with a bit lower clock. But I just wanted to confirm is it normal for super small heatsink to perform like that? imo, its not really normal to have temps like yours. my friend's e2160 temp is around 43 degree idle 50 degree during load using stock cooler as the temps reported by gigabyte easytuner. in your case, I dont know what was the cause of your problem... might be bad cpu stepping, bad case ventilation, improper mounting -insufficient pressure, inadequate cooling capacity- cpu cooler too small or fan spins too slow ... who knows? Consider lapping your heatsink should improve the temp i guess. This post has been edited by campsol2k: Mar 4 2008, 11:03 PM
hermit23
Mar 6 2008, 04:24 PM
Anyone still using 5000+ BE? My temps a bit doubtful, using Gigabyte G-Power Cooler Pro with Tuniq tx-2 paste, added vltage to 1.4v and multiplier 16x to 3.2ghz but the temp is only idle 17c and load max reached 35c. USed speedfan, pcwizard and hwmonitor to get the temps. Pplz advice if its weird or theres something wrong, thanks.  Just ran Prmie95 and max reched 41C This post has been edited by hermit23: Mar 6 2008, 07:44 PM
Kataro
Mar 6 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 4 2008, 10:07 PM) no such theory la bro, the most important thing about a TIM is the spread on the core. how much spread will it cover when it burns in. Regardless of aesthetic value of lines and dots. U just need a rice grain of TIM and it works wonders. You know what...previously without proper reading on AS5 online manual, I apply TIM on my Pentium D using rice grain method, the temp do drop but not too much...then on 16 Feb this year, I refer to the online manual and reapply again with line method for dual core proc...I get another 3C drop on idle and 9C drop on load...I am so happy that I check the online manual again...
a1098113
Mar 6 2008, 10:39 PM
oh serious? i should try this method too then. how do u go about doing it bro? can send me a link ah? coz i am used to the conservative style.. something new i learnt today  thanks.
bryanyeo87
Mar 7 2008, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(hermit23 @ Mar 6 2008, 04:24 PM) Anyone still using 5000+ BE? My temps a bit doubtful, using Gigabyte G-Power Cooler Pro with Tuniq tx-2 paste, added vltage to 1.4v and multiplier 16x to 3.2ghz but the temp is only idle 17c and load max reached 35c. USed speedfan, pcwizard and hwmonitor to get the temps. Pplz advice if its weird or theres something wrong, thanks.  Just ran Prmie95 and max reched 41C Use the latest coretemp, those brisbanes have faulty DTS QUOTE(Kataro @ Mar 6 2008, 10:16 PM) You know what...previously without proper reading on AS5 online manual, I apply TIM on my Pentium D using rice grain method, the temp do drop but not too much...then on 16 Feb this year, I refer to the online manual and reapply again with line method for dual core proc...I get another 3C drop on idle and 9C drop on load...I am so happy that I check the online manual again...  thats because yours is a dual die cpu, c2d's will not get that sort of effect, maybe 1c at most
Hikaru
Mar 10 2008, 07:53 PM

I've been suspecting some problems with overheating in my computer for awhile now... wanna ask expert opinion here~ I think there are ventilation problems with the setup as it is now.
It's an open case but the case is in one of those desk bottom slots... meaning all 4 sides are closed, only front and bottom are through.
Temperatures: Motherboard 42 °C (108 °F) CPU 63 °C (145 °F) GPU 63 °C (145 °F) Seagate ST3320620AS 58 °C (136 °F) Seagate ST3320620AS 66 °C (151 °F) Seagate ST3500630SV 64 °C (147 °F)
Cooling Fans: CPU 3096 RPM
Casing is PowerLogic Atrix. There's one stock 90mm fan blowing outwards at the back of the case, but that's it.
The CPU fan is a Cooler Master Hyper 48, with Artic Silver 5 as thermal paste. CPU is a Pentium 4 Prescott 640 3.2Ghz.
I've a feeling that the hard disks are too hot now - cause they are piled on top of one another in the HDD cage.
The graphics card fan is also problematic I think. It's a XFX GeForce 7800GT xXx Edition with it's stock cooling, and in a graphics stress test earlier, the temperatures of the graphics card actually go up to 110c. I think that the fan is weak or slow or something (It's very noisy too)
It's pretty much a big mess now, but what I'm thinking of doing now: 1. Changing processor to a Core 2 Duo soon, so processor temp should be lower with the same cooling? 2. Thinking of changing my graphics card to 9600GT... 3. Thinking of a way to let the hard drives be cooler than it is now...
Any ideas people? Thanks in advance
This post has been edited by Hikaru: Mar 10 2008, 07:54 PM
IcEMoCHa
Mar 11 2008, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(sparrowed @ Mar 4 2008, 12:11 AM) got a bad temperature with my processor. my specs below: E2160 + IP35E stock heatsink (the super small one) capalang thermal paste (white) i know how to apply good amount of thermal paste, thermal problem didnt happen to me in my previous Sempron palermo 754 rig (max load is 55C only at 2.3GHz). The idle temperature is around 34-35 sometimes even drop to 33-32. my max load can be seen at the pic below. will getting a bigger heatsink, maybe sub-RM50 heatsink can solve my temperature problem? or maybe the old pentium4 heatsink? i know sophisticated expensive heatsink can lower the temperature, but im looking at cheaper solution as there's no point of getting uber expensive heatsink for a budget rig. hmm... looks like wrong temp readings... anyone with the same setup as you having same problems?
kyLL
Mar 13 2008, 10:19 AM
judging by everyone's temperatures, im guessing my cpu temp of 55C is way too high?
am running a E8400 with stock cooler.
Idle is 55C. climbs to 70 on load. O_O
dont know if the stock cooler is on properly..
[EDIT] Ran Prime95 last night and the temp shot up to 70 in less than 10 minutes. o_o
This post has been edited by kyLL: Mar 14 2008, 08:09 AM