127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

~House of Poodles~, Post and talk all about poodles here :)

Pucca
post Jan 6 2007, 04:42 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 4 2007, 04:36 PM)
how old?... colour?... male / female?...  smile.gif
1 or 2 yrs +, brown just like the toy poodle selling outside, female.... her toy poodle looks like her.. just the size might be 15x bigger
sampan1027
post Jan 6 2007, 10:39 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM)
List of questions to ask:

1. If after meals, i wait for 30 minutes, then I take the poodle to his "toilet".  Do I make him squat down there or what??  And how do I know if he wanna poop or not??

2. Do I always leave her water bowl there?? Or give her water after meals, then remove it?

3. After bathing, need to blow dry?

4. Which gender is more recommended?? Female or male?

5. Besides those "pelleted" food, what else should I buy for him?? Eg Nylone bone, etc .. wud are the stuffs to get her??

I'll post some more questions when I've thought about them .
1. U dont really need to wait for 30 mins.. juz look at what your dog is doing all the time(after meal). When they wanna she-she or poo-poo that time, they will always sniff around and when they found the right spot, they will turn in sniff+turning in circles. Upon seeing this, quickly transfer your puppy to the 'toilet'. Repeat this all the time, everyday after meal until your puppy gets the message.

2. Dogs, like human also need alot of fresh water everday. I personally dont provide water in bowls but i use the bottle (eheh i dunno what it's called but u can find it easily in pet shops) so u just put that somewhere so that your dog can have water all the time.

3. It is best to blow dry after bathing so that can prevent your dog from catching a cold and also your dog can be as clean as possible. When they are wet, if they lie down on the floor, their coat will easily stick with the dirtiness and germs on the floor. So their body will have the smelly odour very fast. Besides that, blowing dry will also make your dog's coat condition better just like human hair icon_rolleyes.gif

4. Female is more easily trained. Male however , because of their natural instincts, they will tend to pee around to mark their territory. 1 male is okay .. but with other dogs coming to your place for visit, they will tend to pee around to mark territory.

5. You can buy any snacks u want for your dog. When they are still puppy, buy those snacks which they can bite very long and will help them clean their teeth and also prevent them from biting your belongings and furniture biggrin.gif
casablanca2
post Jan 6 2007, 11:05 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 11:44 PM)
I'm staying in condo and I'm planning to get a poodle somewhere in June.  Need to find out more information first before I get her.  As with barking, I think it depends to the personal characteristic of the doggie.  All dogs will bark but it really depends on the internal side of them.  Jz like some babies always cry but some babies seldom cry.  Correct me if i'm wrong on this concept tongue.gif.
Harh!! Can get samples from pet shop one ar ???
icon_idea.gif i plan to get after chinese new year.. mayb we can buy together then got discount haha biggrin.gif
sample of dog or cat food can get at pet shop. they will give u a small packet only la

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM)
List of questions to ask:

1. If after meals, i wait for 30 minutes, then I take the poodle to his "toilet".  Do I make him squat down there or what??  And how do I know if he wanna poop or not??

2. Do I always leave her water bowl there?? Or give her water after meals, then remove it?

5. Besides those "pelleted" food, what else should I buy for him?? Eg Nylone bone, etc .. wud are the stuffs to get her??

I'll post some more questions when I've thought about them .
rclxms.gif i dont need to ask question lor.. syrian help me ask all..
i think if male will pee at the wall to mark their zone n female same as human got period issue tongue.gif
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 6 2007, 12:34 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:34 PM)
sorry, forget to quote urs, tht's y reply in seperate post.
i am working so i can only be wit them after work and during weekend. is tht sufficient enuff? how bout feed them wit raw food? i read throu one thread bout raw food here suggest tht it's the best meal for ur dog. wat do u think?  unsure.gif
I feel eeky bout raw food & plus feeding own prepared food, we wud not know for sure if our goggies have sufficient nutrients... I do know of ppl who strongly advocate raw... if u decide on that then u gotta look for lotsa info...
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 6 2007, 12:36 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(BelleG @ Jan 5 2007, 11:32 PM)
How often do u guys bath ur poodle?
I heard from someone, tat u hv 2 bath them twice a week.....
I was surprise, cos i hv 4 poodles, i bath them once a week only, but i wipe their coat everyday am & pm after their meal
I also put cologne once a week.....
I bathe my Ladee once a week... just for the record, poodles are very clean dogs & if kept indoors, they dun get dirty much... they hardly ever smell too... thumbup.gif another thing is that bathing ur dog too often is not recommanded coz it will strip away the natural oil which helps keep the coat nice & shiny... i dun use cologne coz heard from a fren some years back her dogs got terrible skin probelms after using them... naturally i became paranoid... tongue.gif

Do share some pics of ur poodles?... all females or males or mix?...

This post has been edited by Sc@ryM@ry: Jan 6 2007, 12:56 PM
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 6 2007, 12:44 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 11:44 PM)
Then how do I make sure the poodle is really a pure breed TOY type?  If later I got a wrong breed - quite ma fan coz I stay in condominium and it's not suitable for a standard size dog.
Sc@ryM@ry, the tearing thingy u mentioned, I searched in the internet and I know what is it liao.  My friend's maltese also got tearing.  I read in the maltese thread, they teach ppl to use 'corn starch' to rub on the tear wor.  Will it work for poodle?
linage is improtant... do request to look at parents of the pup... the thing here in our country there are no guarantee given by breeders so that is y i say u gotta really scout around for the best breeders... i wud recammand that u go & look at pups from now & study the environment of breeders & make comparision... take some time during weekends to do that... the effort will be worth it coz u'll be able see for urself... just taking ppl's word for the trust usually dissapoints... since u've edi got few contacts, make gud use fo them...

may ppl experiment with different method on how to control the tear stains problmes but i personally have seen in frens dogs the best solution is taking the Shiny brand vitamin... it's liquid form & fed orally... the tearing problem shud not accur if the breeding stock are healthy & dun have the gene probelm... tearing caused by ear infection can be solved if ear infection is treated...
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 6 2007, 12:53 PM

150 posts

Syrian,

1. If after meals, i wait for 30 minutes, then I take the poodle to his "toilet". Do I make him squat down there or what?? And how do I know if he wanna poop or not??
u dun need to wait 30 mins after food... u can take imidiatedly... my Ladee & RuYi usually poops strainght after food... take them to the designated toilet spot & let them walk about... when u see them makeing a circular walk, that means they wanna poo or pee...

fresh bowl of water shud be present at all times... i change the water twice a day, once in the morning & once in the afternoon after work...

I do blow dry my furkids... they get sun daily in the mornings for about 5 to 10 minutes in the garden...

if u are living in appartment, i wud recommand female coz they dun mark or spray on walls... however not all male dogs do that... if u are worried about females 6 months once heat, when they come on heat u can alwiz use a trainer pants... it works like a diaper but if nobody is at home to remove it for her to go toilet then that wud be a problem... having said that, my Ladee is very discreet about her heat & keeps herself very clean... we hardlt egt any stains in the house at all... I only use the trainer pants for my MS...

chew bones are gud & toys... it wud help keep ur poodle occupied when u're away... by & by u'll discover for urself what ur poodle likes & u can get her her favourite... a ball is alwiz gud
Syrian
post Jan 6 2007, 09:08 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 6 2007, 11:05 AM)
icon_idea.gif i plan to get after chinese new year.. mayb we can buy together then got discount haha  biggrin.gif
sample of dog or cat food can get at pet shop. they will give u a small packet only la
rclxms.gif i dont need to ask question lor.. syrian help me ask all..
i think if male will pee at the wall to mark their zone n female same as human got period issue  tongue.gif
Hahahahaa ... if u can think of some other questions, jz post - Then we can learn more first before getting a poodle. I'm getting "HER" somewhere in June. Need to wait bf start working, then only can realy really really guarantee can feed her. If buy now, then only depends no my own pocket money - enuff for makan, not enuff for jabs and grooming. So, I dun wanna take the risk to get HER now. Later she suffer ; I sendiri also ma fan tongue.gif.
Syrian
post Jan 6 2007, 09:10 PM

2,761 posts

Does it mean I need to leave the water bowl or the water dispenser thingy there 24 hours ... BUT the food dish need to be removed and not to be put there 24 hours lar ..

Got picture to show the newspaper thingy for pee poo ?? tongue.gif. I'm very concern abt the toilet training thingy. Will they step on their own pee IF u jz place newspaper on the floor?? Coz newspaper do not absorb liquid immediately .
casablanca2
post Jan 6 2007, 09:13 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 09:08 PM)
Hahahahaa ... if u can think of some other questions, jz post - Then we can learn more first before getting a poodle.  I'm getting "HER" somewhere in June.  Need to wait bf start working, then only can realy really really guarantee can feed her.  If buy now, then only depends no my own pocket money - enuff for makan, not enuff for jabs and grooming.  So, I dun wanna take the risk to get HER now.  Later she suffer ; I sendiri also ma fan tongue.gif.
Oo.. i think i gonna get a "her" too coz stay in apartment. got boy boy keep together wit u so nice. i keep for myself only, no gal gal keep wit me cry.gif
i can always ask my doggie sifu if i got questions. she very pro, her dog got appear in tv ads and newspaper b4 thumbup.gif so i just check here to see wat i miss out lor and learn more thing from all poodle owners here notworthy.gif
Syrian
post Jan 6 2007, 09:22 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 6 2007, 09:13 PM)
Oo.. i think i gonna get a "her" too coz stay in apartment. got boy boy keep together wit u so nice. i keep for myself only, no gal gal keep wit me  cry.gif
i can always ask my doggie sifu if i got questions. she very pro, her dog got appear in tv ads and newspaper b4  thumbup.gif so i just check here to see wat i miss out lor and learn more thing from all poodle owners here  notworthy.gif
LOL. If i alone jaga her - kenot neh. During holidays, I'm forced to go back to hometown and my parents dunno I'm going to get a doggie. If let them noe, mati ar tongue.gif. Later say I come West to study or play sweat.gif. HOlidays, my bf can jaga her lor coz he will be working and kento go back hometown.

U noe wud information that wasn't mentioned in here, jz post up and share with ME laugh.gif. The behaviour, playfulness, etc - I'm not so concerned about that coz I believe all dogs have their own personalities and it depends on how u teach and train them. So, it shouldn't be a problem for me. I'm only concerned about the pee poo thingy as to how to train. Later pee and poop on my tilam - mati. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 6 2007, 09:23 PM
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 6 2007, 09:59 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 09:10 PM)
Does it mean I need to leave the water bowl or the water dispenser thingy there 24 hours ... BUT the food dish need to be removed and not to be put there 24 hours lar .. 

Got picture to show the newspaper thingy for pee poo ?? tongue.gif.  I'm very concern abt the toilet training thingy.  Will they step on their own pee IF u jz place newspaper on the floor?? Coz newspaper do not absorb liquid immediately .
u're rite... water must be present at all times but food shud be served accoring to time & if they dun eat within a certain time frame shud be removed...

I'll take some pics of Ladee toilet & show u later... she is very careful & almost never gets her lil' paw dirty... I have a tray & line it with newspapers... if just newspapers on floor u mayhave to put really think layers...
Syrian
post Jan 7 2007, 01:45 AM

2,761 posts

i kept thinking about the "stepping onto her own urine" thingy. Then I thought of getting something absorbent which would absorb the urine immediatley so she won't step on her own urine. THought of cats littering sand - but i think the sand would stick to her paw tongue.gif. Then thought of those littering crystal for cats - i think it'd be harsh on her paw - not too sure. Wud other options u guys use ?? or jz plain newspapers?

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 7 2007, 01:46 AM
sampan1027
post Jan 7 2007, 10:21 AM

138 posts

There is this absorbent pad esp. for dogs sold in pet shops. It is quite expensive though.. if i'm not mistaken it's around RM20 for .. dunno how many pieces rclxub.gif

They absorb pee well and wont stink the house also thumbup.gif

So u can train your puppy to pee on the pad too biggrin.gif
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 7 2007, 10:48 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 7 2007, 01:45 AM)
i kept thinking about the "stepping onto her own urine" thingy.  Then I thought of getting something absorbent which would absorb the urine immediatley so she won't step on her own urine.  THought of cats littering sand - but i think the sand would stick to her paw tongue.gif.  Then thought of those littering crystal for cats - i think it'd be harsh on her paw - not too sure.  Wud other options u guys use ?? or jz plain newspapers?
U can use only newspaper initially to let her get used to the idea that she gotta pee where the newspaper is... slowly u can get those mats ppl used in public toilets so the area is raised a lil & she wud not stain her paw... I never have problem about this stepping on pee problem though... Ladee is exceptionally terrified of pee & poo so she is very careful not to stain herself... when she pee, she balances herself & usually as she squad, one of her hind lig is lifted to up to avoid the pee from stainingher paw... immidiately after pee, she'll leave the tray....

some ppl toilet train thier pups using cages... when the pup needs to pee & poop, they will go in the cage... becoz the cage is elevated formthe tray there is no problem about staining but bare in mind poop willnot go thru the wires...
casablanca2
post Jan 7 2007, 07:53 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 6 2007, 09:22 PM)
LOL.  If i alone jaga her - kenot neh.  During holidays, I'm forced to go back to hometown and my parents dunno I'm going to get a doggie.  If let them noe, mati ar tongue.gif.  Later say I come West to study or play sweat.gif.  HOlidays, my bf can jaga her lor coz he will be working and kento go back hometown.

U noe wud information that wasn't mentioned in here, jz post up and share with ME  laugh.gif.  The behaviour, playfulness, etc - I'm not so concerned about that coz I believe all dogs have their own personalities and it depends on how u teach and train them.  So, it shouldn't be a problem for me.  I'm only concerned about the pee poo thingy as to how to train.  Later pee and poop on my tilam - mati. doh.gif
okay, no problem. right now i am discussing bout good breeder wit her. see where can get responsible and nice poodle breeder hehe.. but she said better go to meet the breeder n see the parent, surronding myself. mayb i will invite her to go wit me la since she so pro.. once is confirm, i will let u know, then u see u wanna join or not la smile.gif
Syrian
post Jan 7 2007, 07:55 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 7 2007, 07:53 PM)
okay, no problem. right now i am discussing bout good breeder wit her. see where can get responsible and nice poodle breeder hehe.. but she said better go to meet the breeder n see the parent, surronding myself. mayb i will invite her to go wit me la since she so pro.. once is confirm, i will let u know, then u see u wanna join or not la  smile.gif
Sure. Thanks in advance biggrin.gif.

By the way, roughly how much do you guys spend on your poodle per month?? Estimate the costs to the cost of a toy poodle inclusive food, grooming, jabs, etc.

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 7 2007, 11:03 PM
BelleG
post Jan 8 2007, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 6 2007, 12:36 PM)
I bathe my Ladee once a week... just for the record, poodles are very clean dogs & if kept indoors, they dun get dirty much... they hardly ever smell too...  thumbup.gif  another thing is that bathing ur dog too often is not recommanded coz it will strip away the natural oil which helps keep the coat nice & shiny... i dun use cologne coz heard from a fren some years back her dogs got terrible skin probelms after using them... naturally i became paranoid...  tongue.gif

Do share some pics of ur poodles?... all females or males or mix?...
Mine is all female.... i dun wanna breed them.... IT's toy poodle
I'll try to post up some pic soon

Angeling
post Jan 9 2007, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 4 2007, 05:05 PM)
Not really with location of breeder but have been checking the price range from lowyat - those few ppl who sells dogs.  As for colour - either white, brown or cream biggrin.gif. Gender still not decided yet but most probably a female. Wud kinda food do u give to ur poodle?  And do I need a cage or can jz tie it with collar and leash when i zzzz at nite?
i also planing to have a toy poodle, i enquiry for the price, mini poodle is 550 - 750, toy poodle is 850 - 1000, of course no cert. got cert is very expensive, i think i will buy it on february, march or april.

home breeder is cheaper compare with the pet shop, and scare pet shop will use mini poodle cheat you. because when they are baby, they just the same, only when they grow up u only know are they is toy poodle or mini poodle.

and difficult to find lo...T.T

Syrian you found cheap toy poodle tell me ah, is TOY POODLE, pure breed.
Syrian
post Jan 9 2007, 01:41 PM

2,761 posts

haven't found a cheap one yet .. i'm still considering on the costs and everything per month.

127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:29 PM