127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

~House of Poodles~, Post and talk all about poodles here :)

magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 12:31 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 5 2007, 12:00 AM)
what about the body?... how do u manage?... how old is ur poodle now?...
I DIY everything coz here in KL can be expensive I am terribly worried about my Ladee getting infection... once a fren sent her 2 dogs for grooming & they came back with skin problems... when they send to vet, vet said maybe the grooming equipments not disinfected properly...  ohmy.gif

I pulg her ear hair once every 2 weeks & trim her coat every 1.5 months... got a pet grooming clipper specially for her...  tongue.gif
he is abt 5mths old, bday 30/07.
paiseh to tell you that we seldom cut his hair, just let it grows "naturally". or at least i nv cut before, i dont think my little sis cut his hair often also (she is the official owner and caregiver, the rest of us are just his playmates and "resource provider"). that is why u will see our poodle looks a bit different from the typical one.... blush.gif
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 12:33 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 12:31 AM)
paiseh to tell you that we seldom cut his hair, just let it grows "naturally". or at least i nv cut before, i dont think my little sis cut his hair often also (she is the official owner and caregiver, the rest of us are just his playmates and "resource provider"). that is why u will see our poodle looks a bit different from the typical one.... blush.gif
But ur poodle is really a cutie wub.gif. I like the fur - hehe. If I want to groom myself tongue.gif, what type of scissor should I get?? But the first grooming, I'll leave it to the groomer at the shop. Try and observe how they do it and I'll know how to diy too - hehe. I cut my bf's hair spikey 3 times already wink.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 5 2007, 12:34 AM
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 12:36 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 12:33 AM)
But ur poodle is really a cutie wub.gif.  I like the fur - hehe.  If I want to groom myself tongue.gif, what type of scissor should I get??  But the first grooming, I'll leave it to the groomer at the shop.  Try and observe how they do it and I'll know how to diy too - hehe.  I cut my bf's hair spikey 3 times already  wink.gif
either u use normal scissors or get those special one from pet shop, personally i find that they are the same tongue.gif
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM

2,761 posts

u mean normal scissors for cutting hair ?? With the "teeth" one or without the "teeth" ? I got two scissors - one is normal scissor and one is for cutting layer - hehe.

Better go back to my studies. Tomorrow 2 papers and I'm not prepared yet.
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 12:56 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM)
u mean normal scissors for cutting hair ??  With the "teeth" one or without the "teeth" ?  I got two scissors - one is normal scissor and one is for cutting layer - hehe.

Better go back to my studies.  Tomorrow 2 papers and I'm not prepared yet.
aiyo it depends on you lah doh.gif
if u want layer, then use the layer one. if you dont want layer, just the normal one lah tongue.gif . your dog cant say no also.... rclxm9.gif you are his/her stylist mah

but my friend got a dog very funny. everytime after his hair being cut, he will hide himself somewhere and dont see ppl other than for food (within the house ofcoz). according to my friend his dog feel "malu" (coz my friend only anyhow cut, he just wants his hair to be short).
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 04:06 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 12:56 AM)
aiyo it depends on you lah doh.gif
if u want layer, then use the layer one. if you dont want layer, just the normal one lah tongue.gif . your dog cant say no also.... rclxm9.gif you are his/her stylist mah

but my friend got a dog very funny. everytime after his hair being cut, he will hide himself somewhere and dont see ppl other than for food (within the house ofcoz). according to my friend his dog feel "malu" (coz my friend only anyhow cut, he just wants his hair to be short).
Hahahahaa... cute little fella. First time hear dogs will also malu .. LOL laugh.gif. Then how often do u send him for the ear grooming thingy? I didn't know I have to pluck the fur from the ears. Share some more of ur experiences with ur poodle tongue.gif. notworthy.gif I'm getting to know more and more info on poodle from u guys here. Really appreciate those info hands.gif icon_idea.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 5 2007, 04:07 AM
magnumao
post Jan 5 2007, 08:50 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 04:06 AM)
Hahahahaa... cute little fella.  First time hear dogs will also malu .. LOL laugh.gif.  Then how often do u send him for the ear grooming thingy?  I didn't know I have to pluck the fur from the ears.  Share some more of ur experiences with ur poodle tongue.gifnotworthy.gif  I'm getting to know more and more info on poodle from u guys here.  Really appreciate those info  hands.gif  icon_idea.gif  thumbup.gif
this is to prevent ear infection, dog's ears get infected easily. so must keep their ears clean and dry. long fur inside the ears can grow gems.
that was the 1st time we brought xiaomao to pluck his inner ear hair after so many months (he joined us on 07/10/06), end up kena lecture by the shop. they said cannot wait until it grows so long, got smell already. must do it more often, like ard 1mths+ once.
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 06:46 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 08:50 AM)
this is to prevent ear infection, dog's ears get infected easily. so must keep their ears clean and dry. long fur inside the ears can grow gems.
that was the 1st time we brought xiaomao to pluck his inner ear hair after so many months (he joined us on 07/10/06), end up kena lecture by the shop. they said cannot wait until it grows so long, got smell already. must do it more often, like ard 1mths+ once.
Yerrrr ... painful neh. Every month need to pluck some more. Ur poodle didn't struggle ??
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 5 2007, 10:06 PM

150 posts

Gud to know u are not the chain up or caged up type... rclxms.gif

I've done survey on food at one phase coz I was obssessed with getting the best food for Ladee... I bought holistic food & also tried cooking but in the end I found that Nutro Choice suits my Ladee best & brings out good coat... I personally dun recommand Eukanuba & Science Diet coz if u look at the ingrediants, I feel these are expensive junk just selling brand name...

Not sure how Crate training is done coz i only used paper toilet training & my other dog, a MS only pees & poops in the garden... knows how to tell us when she needs to go... tongue.gif

I am dun encourage poodle with cert coz the gene pool is small... not name pure bred poodle with cert in Klang Valley as I know... I am worried that poodle with MKA cert are inbred which is not gud & may cause health probelms... unless for the past 2 years there are many more ppl who have imported poodles from abroad, I dun see the trens of in breeding changing... sad.gif
sampan1027
post Jan 5 2007, 10:07 PM

138 posts

plucking the fur in the ear won't be so painful one .. once your poodle get used to it, it won't struggle anymore .. juz stay there and let u do your thing. But have to make sure don't kena the skin/meat of the ear. Once terkena, MAYBE your poodle wont let you do it anymore in the future coz no sense of security already.
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 5 2007, 10:10 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(magnumao @ Jan 5 2007, 12:31 AM)
Xiao Moa shud be going thru coat change between 6 months to 10 months of age... now shud be ok to maintain but soon u may start to see matts all over so just gotta be watch that... diferent ppl have different preference on how to keep their poodle coat... I use to experiment with different styles but now stick to the common 'teddy bear' look... smile.gif
casablanca2
post Jan 5 2007, 10:16 PM

354 posts

i actually hav done a bit study for poodle although i dont hav one.. i know poodle wont shed like other breed tht's y it's one of my choice if i am going to keep a dog. some said poodle is quite barky but some said it's ok. mayb every dog is the same when they r new to the surronding, depends on how the owner train them.
i need to know is poodle a suitable choice to keep in apartment?

something out of topic.. are there anything like certain breed is better wit certain brand of food?for example poodle better wit Nutro Choice, maltese better wit blackwood and westie better wit royal canin? or it's depends on the dog itself? coz i heard many ppl said blackwood is good..
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 5 2007, 10:17 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 06:46 PM)
Yerrrr ... painful neh.  Every month need to pluck some more.  Ur poodle didn't struggle ??

I pluck out hair from Ladee ears every 2 weeks & use those ear cleaning solution to drop in her ears... magnumao is rite bout the ear cleaning... if u leave it to grow long, there are high chances that ur poodle may develop ear mites & that is not sumthing u'd wan... I usually drop some soliution in her ear & give it a lil' rub then pluck out the excess hair with a tweaser...

as for grooming, u can actually get those ikea kitchen scissors which comes in 3 in a set & that works very well coz of the sizes...

there are some poodles that develop eye problem commonly known as tearing... u gotta be aware of that... this can be an inherited problem or cud be cause by ear which are dirty or infected... there are some types of supplement u can feed to help the problem but it cannot cure it...
Sc@ryM@ry
post Jan 5 2007, 10:23 PM

150 posts

weather a poodle is suitable for appartment living or not depends... in terms of size i m sure they are but in terms of time & management u'll need to consider how much time do can u spend wif ur poodle... they are very affectionate & can be very active & needs to be stimulated with games & toys... my poodle is not yappy & she seldom's bark... she is however very socialble & loves company.. if left alone she'll go into depression...

I feel what brand of food each dog takes varies according to each individual dog itself... there is a general guide which u can find in the internet about poodles food but I find that not accurate... some poodles do well with blackwood but my ladee dun & she only takes to Nutro Choise lamb & rice formula...
sampan1027
post Jan 5 2007, 10:28 PM

138 posts

Yalor .. Every dog food is good(i'm not talking about those very commercialised ones) but it won't be good unless your dog loves it and is suitable for it. So i suggest right you can go to any pet shop and ask for food samples to try at home first. To see whether they are suitable to what brand and which flavour of food.
casablanca2
post Jan 5 2007, 10:31 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(sampan1027 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:28 PM)
Yalor .. Every dog food is good(i'm not talking about those very commercialised ones) but it won't be good unless your dog loves it and is suitable for it. So i suggest right you can go to any pet shop and ask for food samples to try at home first. To see whether they are suitable to what brand and which flavour of food.
i dont hav dog yet..go pet shop take samples and try it wit myself kah? sweat.gif
rite now i am not ready yet although i dream to hav one. blush.gif
casablanca2
post Jan 5 2007, 10:34 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 5 2007, 10:23 PM)
weather a poodle is suitable for appartment living or not depends... in terms of size i m sure they are but in terms of time & management u'll need to consider how much time do can u spend wif ur poodle... they are very affectionate & can be very active & needs to be stimulated with games & toys... my poodle is not yappy & she seldom's bark... she is however very socialble & loves company.. if left alone she'll go into depression...

I feel what brand of food each dog takes varies according to each individual dog itself... there is a general guide which u can find in the internet about poodles food but I find that not accurate... some poodles do well with blackwood but my ladee dun & she only takes to Nutro Choise lamb & rice formula...
sorry, forget to quote urs, tht's y reply in seperate post.
i am working so i can only be wit them after work and during weekend. is tht sufficient enuff? how bout feed them wit raw food? i read throu one thread bout raw food here suggest tht it's the best meal for ur dog. wat do u think? unsure.gif
BelleG
post Jan 5 2007, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:34 PM)
sorry, forget to quote urs, tht's y reply in seperate post.
i am working so i can only be wit them after work and during weekend. is tht sufficient enuff? how bout feed them wit raw food? i read throu one thread bout raw food here suggest tht it's the best meal for ur dog. wat do u think?  unsure.gif
How often do u guys bath ur poodle?
I heard from someone, tat u hv 2 bath them twice a week.....
I was surprise, cos i hv 4 poodles, i bath them once a week only, but i wipe their coat everyday am & pm after their meal
I also put cologne once a week.....
Syrian
post Jan 5 2007, 11:44 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 5 2007, 10:06 PM)
Gud to know u are not the chain up or caged up type...  rclxms.gif

I've done survey on food at one phase coz I was obssessed with getting the best food for Ladee... I bought holistic food & also tried cooking but in the end I found that Nutro Choice suits my Ladee best & brings out good coat... I personally dun recommand Eukanuba & Science Diet coz if u look at the ingrediants, I feel these are expensive junk just selling brand name...

Not sure how Crate training is done coz i only used paper toilet training & my other dog, a MS only pees & poops in the garden... knows how to tell us when she needs to go...  tongue.gif

I am dun encourage poodle with cert coz the gene pool is small... not name pure bred poodle with cert in Klang Valley as I know... I am worried that poodle with MKA cert are inbred which is not gud & may cause health probelms... unless for the past 2 years there are many more ppl who have imported poodles from abroad, I dun see the trens of in breeding changing...  sad.gif
Then how do I make sure the poodle is really a pure breed TOY type? If later I got a wrong breed - quite ma fan coz I stay in condominium and it's not suitable for a standard size dog.

QUOTE(sampan1027 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:07 PM)
plucking the fur in the ear won't be so painful one .. once your poodle get used to it, it won't struggle anymore .. juz stay there and let u do your thing. But have to make sure don't kena the skin/meat of the ear. Once terkena, MAYBE your poodle wont let you do it anymore in the future coz no sense of security already.
Pluck ALL the fur inside the ear until "botak" ?

QUOTE(casablanca2 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:16 PM)
i actually hav done a bit study for poodle although i dont hav one.. i know poodle wont shed like other breed tht's y it's one of my choice if i am going to keep a dog. some said poodle is quite barky but some said it's ok. mayb every dog is the same when they r new to the surronding, depends on how the owner train them.
i need to know is poodle a suitable choice to keep in apartment?
I'm staying in condo and I'm planning to get a poodle somewhere in June. Need to find out more information first before I get her. As with barking, I think it depends to the personal characteristic of the doggie. All dogs will bark but it really depends on the internal side of them. Jz like some babies always cry but some babies seldom cry. Correct me if i'm wrong on this concept tongue.gif.

QUOTE(sampan1027 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:28 PM)
Harh!! Can get samples from pet shop one ar ???

QUOTE(BelleG @ Jan 5 2007, 11:32 PM)
How often do u guys bath ur poodle?
I heard from someone, tat u hv 2 bath them twice a week.....
I was surprise, cos i hv 4 poodles, i bath them once a week only, but i wipe their coat everyday am & pm after their meal
I also put cologne once a week.....
Why wanna put cologne?? They got strong body odor? I saw most ppl said they bath their doggie once a week only wor.

P/s: Btwn, can any one of you post up a picture on the newspaper training thingy? And then if u put newspaper, the poodle won't unintentionally peed on the wall mer?? And then, if u jz line newspaper on the floor, won't they stepped into their own urine?? Coz newspaper is slow absorbent of liquid. I wanna know more about the poo pee training thingy.

Sc@ryM@ry, the tearing thingy u mentioned, I searched in the internet and I know what is it liao. My friend's maltese also got tearing. I read in the maltese thread, they teach ppl to use 'corn starch' to rub on the tear wor. Will it work for poodle?

This post has been edited by Syrian: Jan 5 2007, 11:46 PM
Syrian
post Jan 6 2007, 01:08 AM

2,761 posts

List of questions to ask:

1. If after meals, i wait for 30 minutes, then I take the poodle to his "toilet". Do I make him squat down there or what?? And how do I know if he wanna poop or not??

2. Do I always leave her water bowl there?? Or give her water after meals, then remove it?

3. After bathing, need to blow dry?

4. Which gender is more recommended?? Female or male?

5. Besides those "pelleted" food, what else should I buy for him?? Eg Nylone bone, etc .. wud are the stuffs to get her??

I'll post some more questions when I've thought about them .

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:40 AM